Hallstatt Hideaway
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hallstatt Hideaway

Dr.-Friedrich-Morton-Weg 24, Hallstatt 4830 Austria
Amazing Breakfast
Traveller (235)
Whirlpool of the Penthouse suite SALZ overlooks the Lake
Room & Suite (90)
Salz Suite
Dining (6)

View prices for your travel dates

£385
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 10 guest houses in Hallstatt
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Hallstatt Hideaway is awarded by National Geographic Travellers Luxury Collection 2008 - together with only 179 Hotels worldwide!!! As member of Lifestylehotel and 84rooms this hotel is outstanding! The five very unique and luxury authentic suites offer a stunning lake view, some outdoor whirlpool, library, fire place, kitchenettes and all of the are equipped with Nespresso & teacattle, fridge and all you need to feel compfy and home! Highspeed internet is in our understanding basic ;-) ... we offer a Lovers Paradise saunahut and a garden directly at the lake only for our guests. Feel warm welcomed in this historic building the Austrian emporer Maria Theresia built in 1740 and we renovated in 2014. We share this beautiful jewel with you so you experience the authentic Hallstatt! Be our guest :-)
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Sauna
Breakfast available
Bicycle rental
Diving
Baggage storage
Car park
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Pool / beach towels
Breakfast in the room
Hiking
Skiing
Billiards
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Express check-in / check-out
Room features
Allergy-free room
Private beach
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Safe
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
VIP room facilities
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, German

Location

Dr.-Friedrich-Morton-Weg 24, Hallstatt 4830 Austria
Name/address in local language
126Reviews11Q+A15Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 96
  • 10
  • 7
  • 6
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
FlorenceWYS wrote a review Jan 2020
Hong Kong, China78 contributions52 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I went through the review before arrival, so I was a bit worried that the service would not be good. However, my worries were totally unnecessary.

The host asked us about our estimated arrival time. When we arrived, someone answered the door and let us store the luggage. When we returned to check in, the staff was very welcoming and helped me with my luggage. The room was very nice and well equipped. There was nespresso, welcoming fruits, dishes, cutlery and needless to say, dyson fans and hairdryer. View from the room was superb. I wish we would stay there longer.
When we check out, the staff also helped me with my luggage.
Overall, we had a pleasant stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 298silkes, Inhaber at Hallstatt Hideaway
Responded 8 Jan 2020
Dear lovely guests! We thank you so much for your friendly feedback! Our hosts and guestassistants do all to comfort our guests and give them the feeling of staying with friends! So nice to share this with other guests or people who think about staying with us! Stay well and hope to see you again :-)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah H wrote a review May 2021
Gmunden, Austria3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Everything was perfect! Sandra answered all of my questions prior to arrival. She helped me surprise my husband with a birthday cake, champagne, and balloons when we walked in. The staff was also very accommodating to our vegan food preferences.
It has been a few days since we left Hallstatt Hideaway and we continue to day dream about the views and the hot tub from the penthouse suite.
Wonderful all around and we would definitely stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: We only saw the penthouse suite and recommend it highly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Silke Seemann, Inhaber at Hallstatt Hideaway
Responded 26 May 2021
Dear, we thank you very much for your feedback. Sandra will be happy to see how much you value her efforts. Stay healthy and enjoy life!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Adam and Ella X wrote a review Aug 2021
Sydney, Australia7 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I stayed at the Hallstatt Hideaway for two amazing nights in the Wren Suite. It was definitely worth it for the views alone, but the rest of the space was clean, modern and had all the essentials. Sandra especially made us feel very welcome and was so accomodating, we wish we could have stayed longer in this fairytale town.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Silke Seemann, Inhaber at Hallstatt Hideaway
Responded 29 Aug 2021
We thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. This is fuel for our guestassitans soul! Enjoy a wonderful life
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
globetrotter4321 wrote a review Feb 2020
Vienna, Austria25 contributions16 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
pay attention what room you book if you want to get access to the „jacuzzi“. if you book the wrong room then your will receive a „sorry“ no jacuzzi“

pay attention that the sauna is for an additional 75 eur for 2hours. learned about this not at the time of booking but when checking in

we booked breakfast. but instead of a tasty breakfast we received the message: sorry the breakfast guy is off today. but hey there is a supermarket and you can breakfast yourself.

but imagine, the supermarket is closed on sundays.... hmm we had to stay hungry

and all of this for a bargain of about eur 600/night

this is a tourist trap

2 stars for the nice view
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 298silkes, Inhaber at Hallstatt Hideaway
Responded 4 Feb 2020
Dear future guests, please read all information very careful. We offer 5 very different suites in a house 1740 reconstructed by Maria Theresia. The five suites vary from 38 to 120qm and two come with terrace and whirlpool. Two suites coe with a fire place and one comes with a library. Never try to get the 120qm suite with two floors for the price of the smallest suite (that some people try and then be astonished to get a price value leveled experience) In our welcome letter we inform about the Ssauna and that you can book the whole sauna house just for the two of you - and that we need to know in advance. Same is with the breakfast, we write very clear in our welocme letter that the breakfast is only available if you book in advance (as shops in Hallstatt are closed) - we are sorry for all guests who do not read our welcome letter. The price you pay is not for additional services - it is for the spacious experience in a place were space is wheighed in gold, for the handcollected dow in which you sleep, for the handwashed bio bed cloth, for the handmade furniture, for a dyson hairdryer and all stuff selected with fine taste for guests with fine taste. So please read our information. And we thak this guest very much for all his advices for future guests. Dear next time just read what a host gives you as information before you arrive :-) Enjoy life :-)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Declan Reilly wrote a review Apr 2024
2 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Due to a family emergency we needed to move our trip, I spoke with the folks Hallstat Hideaway (Silke) and explained the situation, that not only were we unable to come to Hallstat, but we had to cancel our entire trip from Ireland to Vienna. I did not expect a refund obviously, but asked if we could do another date and we would pay any price difference. I was told in about 2 lines that no sorry we are not giving you a refund and we don't have to give you another date.
I will obviously not be spending a further another 400+ euro at this place again, and I'll tell as many folks as possible not to visit also. Folks here do not care.
Had the person who responded had even pretended to care, I might not be as disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Silke Seemann, Inhaber at Hallstatt Hideaway
Responded 11 Apr 2024
Dear Darling, this is a feedback about YOUR decision to book "nonrefundable rate" this means no refund and no change of date. This was YOUR decision to book this rate. We are responsible for all the families who depend on us and our guests. We are a hotel and not an insurance for guests whop do not book with a credit card without insurance. We open the room again and if it is sold we can change date, but only in this case. This is how we handel the situation with YOUR booking. We hope you book wise in the future. To leave here a feedback about YOUR decision while you booked and not a feedback about a stay (whatfor this area is offered) shows that you miss categories. So we wish you a future life with intelligent decisions. Good thank we receive same date a 5 Point from guests who really stayed with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BenjaminP wrote a review Aug 2021
4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Absolutely great.
Sandra and Niki fullfilled all our wishes and were the best hosts one can have.
Super friendly, always reachable and very warm.

The suites are incredibly beautiful and clean. The fireplace, private sauna and in some suites even a jacuzzi make it a very romantic place to stay for couples.

Breakfast was awesome, prepared with lots of love and best of all delivered directly to our bed.

Thank you for having us and making it such a lovely experience.
We highly recommend this place and will definitely come back ourself soon.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Silke Seemann, Inhaber at Hallstatt Hideaway
Responded 29 Aug 2021
Thank you so much! Feeback is so important for the team. The Ladies work to make our guests happy. You make us happy with such a wonderful feeback. Enjoy a wonderful life!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ria NH wrote a review Dec 2023
Jakarta, Indonesia342 contributions99 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Breathtaking hotel villa with an amazing view and surroundings. I wish we could stay longer but this time we only stayed for 1 night. Our room’s window is facing the beautiful Hallstatt Lake. Room is very clean and spacious for 2-3 people. Most impressive is their friendly and helpful staffs/team members who look after the property. Overall, it’s a wonderful stay for us and we would love to come back here again someday….
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Ask for window view of Hallstatt Lake.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Silke Seemann, Inhaber at Hallstatt Hideaway
Responded 20 Dec 2023
We thank you dear so much for this beautiful feedback and description. We are very much looking forward to welcome you again - may be in Summer and you can enjoy the private garden at the lakeside. Enjoy a happy life!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Raptor wrote a review Apr 2024
54 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beyond expectations! Absolutely fabulous stay. Great location, privacy, spectacular accommodations and the breakfast was special and delicious. Highly recommend and would love to stay again. Charming town and above all, the level of service was outstanding!! Exceeded our expectations for our one night stay. Felt like home but in a fairytale setting with astute history. A true gem and a must experience. Appreciated every aspect and detail of our room!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Silke Seemann, Inhaber at Hallstatt Hideaway
Responded 11 Apr 2024
We thank you so much dear for taking your time and share your experience with all people in the world. For us it is a great motivation and we will share it with the whole team. We all love it to make people happy.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stacie B wrote a review Nov 2023
Broomfield, Colorado3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were only able to stay one night, but we will be back! Our room was wonderful with a magnificent view of the lake and mountains. The beds were very comfortable and the room was very clean. It was equipped with everything that we could need. Amazing in every way!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Silke Seemann, Inhaber at Hallstatt Hideaway
Responded 26 Nov 2023
Thank you for taking care and aknowledge the impact Sandra and her team love to make, day by day. Hope to welocme you back! Enjoy a wonderful life :-)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Captain K wrote a review Jul 2016
8 contributions16 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I booked 2 nights here and cancelled our booking shortly afterwards after being informed it is possible by the owner. The owner initially confirmed the cancellation and refunded us. Over a month later, on the day we originally booked for, we were charged again in full. I called the owner to fix what I thought was clearly a mix up and then all hell broke loose. The owner, Dr Seeman Silke, refused to refund us without any valid reason. She was the most unprofessional, illogical, dishonest and rude person I have ever come across, snapping and shouting uncontrollably into the phone like a child. I simply could not believe it! She then abruptly hung up without resolving the issue and never answered her phone again.

To cut a long story short we tried very hard to get our money back through several different channels and several months later managed to get a refund from Booking.com who we booked the accommodation through. Booking.com conducted a thorough investigation and came to the conclusion that the owner was not true to her word. Moral of the story- do not book this accommodation unless you want your money stolen.

PS I would not pay any attention to the response the owner will undoubtedly leave to this review. This person has absolutely no credibility whatsoever.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2016
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Silke S, Inhaber at Hallstatt Hideaway
Responded 8 Aug 2016
Dear Sir, aas you never stayed in our house, I asume that your feedback shows how disapointed you have been that you were not able to get back the nonrefundable rate after deciding on taking a different offer. Thank you for letting others know that it makes no sense to try to play around with us. We take all effort to make our guests happy and the feedbacks from guests who stayed with us show that they loved our place. It is easy to understand that you are not interested to tell the whole story here, me neather. We love to share our family house with guests from the whole world and give them access to our culture. We wish you a wonderful life. Dr. Seemann and Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Silke S
Hallstatt, Austria23 contributions6 helpful votes
The penthouse suite is perfect for two. Families like to stay with four - there are two separate sleeping areas. No door in between - two beds a queen and a king size. If you take penthouse and superior you have the whole 2nd floor for you. Regards Silke
Chubby_chally asked a question May 2019
Jakarta, Indonesia103 contributions8 helpful votes
I wonder about shuttle bus service. Is it cover vienna airport and vienna train station?
Answer from Silke S
Hallstatt, Austria23 contributions6 helpful votes
The shuttle service is to P1 in Hallstatt. Vienna Airport is best transportation by train.
Answer from Silke S
Hallstatt, Austria23 contributions6 helpful votes
Luxury Suite SEE comes as well with an outdoor whirlpool
Answer from Silke S
Hallstatt, Austria23 contributions6 helpful votes
Please visit our homepage, there we offer best price
Ria NH wrote a tip Dec 2023
Jakarta, Indonesia342 contributions99 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for window view of Hallstatt Lake."
Read full review
Sarah H wrote a tip May 2021
Gmunden, Austria3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We only saw the penthouse suite and recommend it highly"
Read full review
JosephVSiry wrote a tip Nov 2018
Laguna Woods, California39 contributions14 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do ask them what is available before you get there!"
Read full review
jenkwong wrote a tip Nov 2018
10 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go for the penthouse, there's more privacy and the view was stunning."
Read full review
UK17 wrote a tip May 2017
Singapore209 contributions55 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Better view on higher floor But come with more stairs to Climb"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hallstatt area.
PRICE RANGE
£320 - £496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustriaUpper AustriaHallstatt
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HALLSTATT HIDEAWAY - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Hallstatt Hideaway
Which popular attractions are close to Hallstatt Hideaway?
Nearby attractions include Hallstatt Skywalk (0.2 miles), Central Square Marktplatz (0.1 miles), and Old Town (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hallstatt Hideaway?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a hot tub, and an outdoor pool.
Which room amenities are available at Hallstatt Hideaway?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hallstatt Hideaway?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hallstatt Hideaway?
Yes, a parking garage, paid public parking nearby, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hallstatt Hideaway?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant im Seehotel Gruner Baum, BRAUGASTHOF am Hallstattersee, and Restaurant Rudolfsturm.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hallstatt Hideaway?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool and a sauna during their stay.
Is Hallstatt Hideaway located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the centre of Hallstatt.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hallstatt Hideaway?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Hallstatt Hideaway?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Catholic Church Obertraun - Pfarrkirche Obertraun (1.7 miles).
Does Hallstatt Hideaway have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
All Hallstatt HotelsHallstatt Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in HallstattHotels near Hallstatt Hideaway
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire