We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Kolping

Show Prices
#12 of 32 Hotels in Linz
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Kolping
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

151 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 41: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed the night and had a wonderful experience. The service and breakfast food was very good. The bed was comfortable and our room was very clean. The were able to accommodate our young daughter as well. The parking was very convenient and safe.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mallory D
HotelKolping, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Kolping, responded to this review

Dear Mallory, thanks a lot for your review to your stay at our hotel. We are happy, that you enjoyed your stay with your family here. Hope to welcome you again in our house at your next Linz vistit! Best regards, Martina, Hotel Kolping

Obertraun, Austria
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel in the centre of Linz and we will definitely return. It's only a couple of minutes walk from Landstrasse, which is the main street. Breakfast was filling and plentiful. The staff were great, nice and friendly :-)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin J
HotelKolping, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Kolping, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for your nice review! So good to hear, that you had a very good time in our house and also in the City of Linz! Our personal Service is one of our "USP's" and we like it, when our guests appreciate this. Hope to see you again, and give you a warm welcome! Best regards, Martina &...

Obertraun, Austria
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

The place was spotlessly clean. The staff were very helpful. They spoke English as well as German. There is a 24 hour reception. The reception area is spacious, light and airy. There is an underground garage for parking at EUR10 per day. The hotel is very good value for money. It is in a good location, just around the corner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FreddieMercury1
HotelKolping, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Kolping, responded to this review

Dear Freddy, thanks so much for your wonderful review! It is really great to read, what all you enyojed during your stay at our hotel! Of course we whish, that you come again to Linz and give you again a nice and warm welcome at our hotel! see you, best regards, Martina

Tanunda
Reviewed 21 May 2016

This hotel is very clean and staff very efficient and speak English . Just a 10 min walk to train station and 5 mins to main shopping street. Breakfast was very good and extensive, something for everyone. The only problem for me was no tea or coffee facilities in the room which was disappointing after a long day of travel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Y4643VMkathys
HotelKolping, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Kolping, responded to this review

Hello from Linz, thanks a lot for your very nice Feedback! It is true, we don't have tea or coffee machine on the room, but a wending machine with hot Drinks at the Lobby. - Next time you know this :), hope to see you again! best regards, Martina

Reviewed 18 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed there for one night, due to a wedding nearbye, had to check in early, everybody was friendly, room was ready on time. Very clean, confortable rooms, furniture was a bit old, but well in shape. Came home late, there is somebody at the reception 24h, even friendly at three in the morning. Breakfast next day was great, fresh waffles,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christina K
New Delhi, India
Reviewed 9 February 2016

Stayed just for 1 night , my second visit here in one year. SMall basic hotel but cosy clean rooms, clean toilets, well located. Breakfast not included , bit expensive so one can have outside the hotel. Mini bar well stuffed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 177sameert
HotelKolping, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Kolping, responded to this review

Thanks for your good Feedback! - Hope to see you again in our Hotel soon! Best regards, your Hotel Kolping Team

Bern, Switzerland
Reviewed 25 October 2015

Good location in a quiet street of the city centre, but the hotel looks like an appartment block from the 1960's. On the inside, the rooms are large enough with good bedding and well maintained. Coffee and tea are available from a vending machine. Good value for money, but definitely not a design hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank riehen
Reviewed 23 September 2015

this basic hotel is well situated in Linz walking distance from city center. rooms are basic but clean the same is true for the shower. the price is very good so if you want to save money this is a good option.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Boaz K
HotelKolping, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Kolping, responded to this review

Thanks for your very nice review! We are happy for giving you a feeling of "haven" at our hotel! We hope to see you again, if you visit Linz again! Our suggestion: Linz with its beautiful Christmas markets is very charming at Christmas time. (markets start at End of November)... Best regards, your Hotel Kolping Team!

New York City
Reviewed 3 September 2015

Decent size room with refrigerator, but no frills. Breakfast is not included, and expensive. Otherwise, you can get a coffee from the vending machine. No view to speak of. Didn't appreciate that each room comes with a crucifix tacked on to the wall.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank apt5c
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2015 via mobile

After my partner proposing to me we stayed here for a night. Greeted by a friendly young man. We then couldn't find our passports, this evolved server all phone calls and lots of tears. Both front of house staff were so helpful, making calls and letting us check in early so we had a room for our luggage. Slept well,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca R
HotelKolping, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Kolping, responded to this review

Thank you for your Review! It is always a motivation for our team! Hope to welcome you again in our Hotel! Best regards, Sittenthaler, Hotel Kolping

72 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (38)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Linz hotels
ibis Linz City
#4 of 32 in Linz
568 reviews
Volksgartenviertel
Austria Trend Hotel Schillerpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Linz
#2 of 32 in Linz
379 reviews
Volksgartenviertel
Gasthof Wilder Mann
Gasthof Wilder Mann
#26 of 32 in Linz
42 reviews
Altstadtviertel
Austria Classic Hotel Wolfinger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are joining humanity with expertise! Our hotel is located in a side street of the city centre of Linz. The city's main shopping street is just around the corner, the train station is 800 metres (a 15-minute walk) away and all sights are within easy reach. Hotel Kolping is easily reached by car as the motorway exit is only 1 km away and we have our own car park. Enjoy our comfortable and hospitable atmosphere and relax in our newly renovated, air-conditioned rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Kolping

Address: Gesellenhausstrasse 5, Linz 4020, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > Linz > Volksgartenviertel
Price Range: £65 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kolping 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Kolping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Linz
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Kolping staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel Kolping staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Vacation or business trip location is fantastic.”
 of 5 bubbles 177sameert, 8 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Upper floors are louder”
 of 5 bubbles Alexi7777777, 5 Sep 2013 | Read review
“A room overlooking the street gives nice views into the convent garden over the other side of the road.”
 of 5 bubbles MikeESussexEngland, 30 Apr 2013 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay