We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz

Hotwire.comUS$93*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$108*
US$93*
Great Deal
US$96*
US$94*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

983 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
See the most recent reviews
Showing 392: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Advantages: Quiet location. Modern and very clean rooms. Friendly Staff. Disadvantages: Wifi didn´t work properly in the rooms. A little noisy. You could hear the housekeepers cleaning in the morning. No attention to detail. Far from the city centre. It takes you easily 30 minutes on foot to get to main attractions. No restaurants or bars close by.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wuaxinxe
MEININGERHotels, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad that you liked our modern and clean rooms, as well as the friendly staff. Regarding the WIFI we are already informed about that issue and we will fix it in the next days. Also our hotel is at 5 minutes walk form a metro station...

Belgrade, Serbia
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Bad experience of my son and his friends. Would not recommend this hotel in case you want to sleep in the morning - housekeepers will wake you up, they will clean the room with guest in the bed. (?!) "Misunderstanding" with a housekeeping lady went into big trouble with one of the hotel managers. Trouble should be solved with communication...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tijanapejcinovic
MEININGERHotels, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We truly appreciate you for taking the time to share both your good impressions and not so good impressions. In this sense, we are glad you enjoyed the location and the WIFI in the whole hotel area. With this being said, we wish to offer our sincere apologies for we have evidently failed...

Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

A nice Hotel in the second district. It's in a good location, the City center is reachable in 15 minutes of walk. The Hotel is full of young people. I was also there with a big group in shared rooms. The beds were comfortable and the Breakfast also ok.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BibimayaTamang
MEININGERHotels, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad you enjoyed it and that everything was like you epected. We hope to welcome you again in one of our MEININGER houses, maybe in Munich or Brussel next time? Kind regards, Sara

Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

The personnel is rude. They don't help and don't know how to talk to people. Had a terrible experience. They didn't let us, adults, go out for a walk at midnight because some children in another group in the hall were being loud, and had nonsens arguments for this. Never coming back, and hope no one is.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alessandro M
MEININGERHotels, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we would like to start off by thanking you for your review. Secondly, we wish to offer our sincere apologies for the disappointing experience you had while our guest. We want to apologize for service-related issues you encountered. We do appreciate you pointing out the shortcomings you came across; as such constructive comments are key to enhancing the...

Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

The hotel is full of young people, staff is very nice. It's obviously not a luxury hotel but for a budget one it is perfect. The atmosphere is relaxing, a lot of spaces in the lobby with tables to have breakfast or work or play cards...aso. I don't quite like budget hotels but this one is more than ok. It...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vlad C
MEININGERHotels, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your great review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We are truly pleased to learn that you liked the atmosphere and our cost-benefit ratio. In this sense we woulbe be happy to welcome you again in one of our MEININGER houses all over Europe! Since then, best wishes Sara

Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Reviewed 6 February 2017

I was in transit with my family, we spent there one night. Nothing special about this hotel, everything is good, perfect for transit. Clean rooms, very good quality of sleeping. Good location 15 - 20 min walking to city center. Very good value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raul P
MEININGERHotels, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Dear Guest, first of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and could benefit of the comfy and clean rooms as well as of the location close to the oldtown. It is nice to hear that you are satisfied with our cost-benefit ratio. We...

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

This hotel was incredibly cheap, only €30 per person for a triple room for 2 nights. The hotel is very central and very close to the Roßauer Lände U4 station where you can take the U-Bahn into the city centre. You would also be able to walk into the city centre from the hotel but as it was pretty cold...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheYoungCouple2017
MEININGERHotels, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your detailed feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. It is a pleasure to read that you liked the Location, as well as the clean and comfy rooms. We are very happy to hear that you would recommend us and we are looking forward to welcome you again soon in one of our...

Reviewed 24 January 2017

Nice at first glance, but comes with many pitfalls of budget hotels. The choice of leaving the concrete walls in their raw unpainted finish made our particular room feel dirty, as all the stains from previous guests were there on the walls. The lunch, which we took in hotel, was downright horrible -- probably the worst lasagna I have ever...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gasperzz
MEININGERHotels, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Dear Guest! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are really sorry that your you were not fully satisfied and that we did not belie your expectations. We are always thankful for any feedback in order to improve our service, even regarding lunch. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience and if you give...

Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

Clean rooms, although shower was designed for the disabled which is fair enough but would have been nice to not have to bend over to wash yourself or have someone else hold the shower head. Didn't sleep first night as a group of people were yelling laughing and talking all night outside of my room. Second night exact same story...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cameron G
MEININGERHotels, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Dear Guest! Thank you for taking the time to send us feedback. We are glad you enjoyed location and facilities, however we are really sorry that you were not satisfied with our provided service and that we did not belie your expectations. We always try to guarantee the quietness during night time, but it´s apparent that in this case we...

Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 19 January 2017

Our family of 4 stayed at Meininger Franz Vienna for 3 days in early January 2017. The hotel was full, the reception and the lift were busy almost all the time but the staffs were friendly and efficient. The kitchen was a nice addition for our stay, although it was full we could always use the stove almost immediately without...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AISuwono
MEININGERHotels, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we would like to thank you not only for choosing to stay with us at MEININGER Franz, but also for your precious time giving your feedback. We are pleased that we could make your time with us as enjoyable. We also enjoyed reading your summing up of all the hotel features like the helpful staff, the guest-kitchen and...

290 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (270)
Viewed
Bathroom (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (57)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (83)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Other (20)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#158 of 361 in Vienna
1,545 reviews
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Margareten
The Art Hotel Vienna
The Art Hotel Vienna
#163 of 361 in Vienna
349 reviews
Margareten
Ibis Wien City
Ibis Wien City
#105 of 361 in Vienna
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Leopoldstadt

Neighbourhood Profile
Leopoldstadt
Welcome to one of Vienna’s trendiest quarters. The second district has witnessed a turbulent ride, from medieval swamp to vibrant Jewish quarter, from pleasure ground for the noble and humble to current hip residence and workplace of Vienna’s creative crowd. Cross the Danube Canal from the city centre and take in life on Taborstrasse with its mix of old townhouses, churches, theatres, discount shops and ethnic restaurants. Head for Augarten via Karmelitermarkt, Leopoldstadt’s trendy marketplace. Baroque Augarten itself hosts a bizarre mix of manicured hedges and flowerbeds in front of a colossal World War II defense tower, the publicly accessible 300-year-old Augarten porcelain manufactory, the palatial boarding school and funky concert hall of the Vienna Boys Choir, and the modern art museum TBA21. At its opposite corner, The Prater not only houses the Giant Ferris Wheel but blends a bustling amusement park with lush woodland, perfect for a bike tour. Further east is the old derby racing ground of Krieau.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz is in Vienna's second district of Leopoldstadt between Augarten and the Danube canal. The Karmeliter market with its many delicacies and Vienna's Old Town are just around the corner. The Franz hotel with its functional and modern design is ideal for city breaks that call for simplicity and precision. With services such as free WiFi, guest kitchen, bar and gaming area... holidaying with MEININGER is more than just low-cost accommodation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz

Address: Rembrandtstrasse 21, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Price Range: £40 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz 2*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
#127 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question
Rowland Heights
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms can get warm as no air seems to come from opened window”
El077, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“Try their breakfast, it is great for good price.”
11katerinah, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“if you are a group of people, you can stay here”
PrasantBhansaali, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the main street have the better views. Some even come with balconies.”
Hewanorra, 25 May 2016 | Read review
“Do not come here”
spanishreviewer, 23 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotwire.com
US$93* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$96
TripAdvisorUS$94
CancelonUS$108
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates