We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kaiserin Elisabeth

Save
Share
Weihburggasse 3, Vienna 1010 Austria
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Snaptravel
Orbitz.com
travelup.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (441)
360
Panoramas (41)
Room & Suite (352)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 08/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Kaiserin Elisabeth
Updated 08/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#32 of 378 hotels in Vienna
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
You will find the HOTEL KAISERIN ELISABETH directly in the city center of Vienna, just next to the famous pedestrian zone the Kärntnerstraße and the Graben, only a few steps from St. Stephan`s Cathedral.Our 63 non-smoking rooms are located on four floors. Each room provides bathroom/shower and WC, and is equipped with satellite-TV, flatscreen TV, telephone, radio, minibar, roomsafe, internetaccessW-Lan (free of charge for our guests), and air-condition. Smoking is allowed in an own separate area in our breakfast room.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Coffee shop
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Taxi service
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Finnish and 2 more

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
402Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
224Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1,076Reviews21Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 698
  • 300
  • 46
  • 21
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Traveler O wrote a review Jun 2020
Washington DC, District of Columbia629 contributions410 helpful votes
Being our family's first time to Vienna, we wanted to stay in a central area with access to the sights and metro. This hotel had the best location, affordable rates, and professional staff. We had to reserve two rooms due to the size of the group (4 adults, 2 kids) and everything was taken care of ahead of time with roll-away beds and the room setups. Easy booking and great communication with hotel staff beforehand and during our stay. We inquired about tours and concerts, and each time were promptly given detailed options and they took care of booking several outings for us. They made it painless. Very high level of customer service and professionalism on the part of the staff. Location was great. You step outside and you can easily catch an Uber/taxi, walk to the metro or directly to a number of tourist sights, restaurants and shops. Best location for a walking vacation. Very convenient. Rooms were well taken care of and breakfast was good too. Have to pass on special recognition for one of the receptionists, whose name escapes me now but was from one of the Baltic countries (Latvia or Lithuania I believe). He along with Mr. J. Pour and Mr. M. Garofalo were excellent, as were all the staff during our stay. Very grateful for their professionalism and accommodation. Our family had a great visit and hope to come back soon. Highly recommend staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrea Bernhauser, Gästeservice/Empfang at Kaiserin Elisabeth
Responded 9 Aug 2020
Dear hotel guest! Dear family! Thank you very much for your detailed summary. We are pleased that you were satisfied with our service and our team. It's nice to know that we were able to make your stay that pleasant. Of course, I will also pass on your positive feedback to my colleagues in the breakfast service and to our front desk. Thank you very much for your kind recommendation, you know the personal impressions of our guests are the best advertising we can get. With this in mind, we hope to see you again soon ! On behalf of our entire team we are sending kindest regards from Vienna HOTEL KAISERIN ELISABETH Andres Bernhauser Marketing & Sales
Read more
annelyse wrote a review Feb 2020
Singapore, Singapore6 contributions23 helpful votes
my family and i stayed at hotel kaiserin elisabeth for 4 nights. it was our first time to vienna, so we were all very excited. the hotel has an excellent location, right by the pretty shopping streets! room was nice, clean and spacious. breakfast served was good too, enjoyed it very much. and the lobby is stunning! would be happy to come back to this hotel if we do visit vienna again. thank you for the great experience! :-)
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from ABernhauser, Marketing & Sales at Kaiserin Elisabeth
Responded 14 Feb 2020
Dear hotelguest ! Thank you very much for booking the Hotel Kaiserin Elisabeth for your first visit to Vienna. Obviously, according to your description, you chose the right hotel. We are very happy to receive our kind review. Yes, Vienna has a lot to offer, so you will definitely need another stay, to discover even more :-) We are already looking forward to it and hope to see you again soon. On behalf of our entire team we are sending kindest regards from Vienna. HOTEL KAISERIN ELISABETH Andrea Bernhauser Marketing & Sales
Read more
VSAdventurer wrote a review Jan 2020
Half Moon Bay, California33 contributions11 helpful votes
I’ll start with the positives: Great central location, functional spacious and clean room with high ceilings, breakfast buffet was decent. The front desk staff were generally nice and helpful. Now the weaker points. I noticed the servers at breakfast were slightly nicer and more attentive to “certain guests.” If you’re not Caucasian, and you are shy, or easily triggered, you may not be comfortable here. The front desk staff were generally nice, but the manager, Mr Pour, and his staff, Mr Garofalo, did not handle their mistake in a professional customer oriented manner. I was given a quote for a car to take me and 6 other people to the airport at 5:00am. When I made my inquiry, I was clear that the 6 other people were to be picked up approx one mile away at their AirBnB. I wrote the address on the email to be absolutely clear. Mr Pour confirmed the price of €68 for the van as well the pickup address for my travel mates. This was all documented on the email. When the driver picked me up, he didn’t know about the 6 people and different pickup, so he charged me €22 extra for the pickup. I was flabbergasted because I didn’t have time to call for an Uber. Since I didn’t want to be late for our flight, I ended up paying €90 plus tip for an extra one mile pickup. Unbelievable. The next day, I asked to speak with Mr Pour about the issue. He was not available. After I returned to the States, I finally received an email from another person on behalf of Mr Pour. They stated they spoke with the driver about the matter. Just them speaking to the driver and the email showed they knew I was taken advantage of. They reiterated the €68 was for pickup at the hotel only. And the additional pickup was the cause for the extra charge. BUT I was clear about the pickup arrangement when I inquired about the price. This was written in black and white on the confirmation email. Then they added insult by saying I was 15 minutes late for pickup and my other guests were 15 minutes for the pickup. Wrong. I was texting my son while all this rapid exchange was going on. I can document what time I met the driver and what time my guests were picked up. Someone was lying, and it wasn’t me. Bottom line, the low level customer service was ver disappointing. In their eyes “the customer is always wrong.” I would NOT recommend this hotel. There are plenty of nicer hotels nearby that I will stay at when I return to Vienna.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from ABernhauser, Marketing & Sales at Kaiserin Elisabeth
Responded 28 Jan 2020
Dear hotel guest! Dear Mrs. V. S. ! We have already communicated directly with you in several emails and commented. Our last mail from January 5th, 2020, however, remained unanswered on your part, we only receive finally your message on Tripadvisor, that's too bad. However, this message does not resolve your issue. In this mail we apologized again for the misunderstanding, and informed you that we will immediately credit the requested EUR 22.00 to your account. So far unfortunately you have not given us your credit card details ... I try to keep it short, of course I spoke to my colleagues in all departments, in order to investigate. We are proud to welcome a wonderful mix of nationalities to our hotel every day. I can personally assure you that every guest will be spoiled equally. We are sorry that you got a different impression here. YES, regular guests who have been our guests for many years, and further come several times a year, also know our long-standing employees very well. So YES, when they meet each other again, it ends up in a warm welcome, or even in an embrace. It's a shame that you felt that differently, but we are sorry for that as well. We can now politely request you again to send us your credit card details in order to resolve this matter. We are looking forward to your reply, and beg to remain with kindest regards from Vienna HOTEL KAISERIN ELISABETH Andrea Bernhauser Marketing & Sales
Read more
Liz P wrote a review Jan 2020
16 contributions5 helpful votes
I randomly (& luckily) chose this hotel for an overnight layover in Vienna without much research. My husband, our pet yorkie & I were more than pleasantly surprised. Location was absolutely perfect...we walked out the front door, made two rights & bam the most gorgeous cathedral was in front of us. The front desk staff was friendly (pet-friendly!), welcoming & helpful. Our room was very clean, spacious & updated. Toiletries are delish (very important to me!). We can't wait to visit Vienna again to spend more time at this lovely hotel. Dankesehr! xo
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from ABernhauser, Marketing & Sales at Kaiserin Elisabeth
Responded 21 Jan 2020
Dear Mrs. Lizpavlou ! What a great coincidence that you found us - "Servus aus Wien" Even better if this coincidence was more than positive for you, we are very happy about your compliments and that we were able to surprise you that much :-) Yes, we are a dog-friendly hotel, we even have 2 dogs in our office, nice that you appreciate that. Recently we have exchanged our toletries - the new series is called "The Perfumer`s Garden" (Green Tea & Ginger) - current feedback is particularly important for us here, thank you ! So we look forward to welcoming you back soon, and beg to remain with kindest regards HOTEL KAISERIN ELISABETH Andrea Bernhauser Marketing & Sales
Read more
Mala Chandran wrote a review Jan 2020
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia12 contributions27 helpful votes
They say when you are in Vienna, try if you can to stay away from conventional hotels. So, I picked this boutique hotel for its central location which is just next to the world famous St Stephen's Cathedral. I arrived from Budapest to Vienna. And, I stepped into a hotel which took me to a scene out of Downtown Abbey. The dining room, the reading room, my hotel room is truly amazing. There is no view from the hotel room. But, that is okay. Because, the interior was stunning - classic and royal. The property as I was told is 700 years old so it has some history attached to its name, you can ask the reception. Some famous artistes has stayed here before too. But once you step out of the hotel, everything is just within walking distance. it's central location to shopping, dining and transportation hub is perfect and now, I can understand why this hotel is always fully booked. You can spend a hotel day by foot shopping and eating, return to the hotel to rest, and go out again to explore. The hop on hop off by BigBus is a perfect choice to see this wonderful city day and night. i tried all the three lines that took to me to all the interesting sites and it is just cheap and practical way to travel. My hotel made the bookings for this travel experience and the stop is just 5mins walking distance from this hotel. The reception is managed by a team of very helpful gentlemen. They are ever ready to give the best advise to explore the city. They will even help you book theatre tickets, transportation, and everything you need for a perfect holiday. Just go to the reception. Breakfast is simple but truly delicious. Choose this hotel if you want a perfect location, friendly service, greeted by kind staff who will look after you well. The hotel is simple and pretty straightforward. So there is no hidden or extra cost for their wonderful service. I had a perfect and wonderful holiday beyond my expectation. Thank you Hotel Kaiserin Elisabeth. (Tsk, tsk) Btw, the hotel is named after the Empress of Austria and the Queen of Hungary - Sisi (Kaiserin Elizabeth)... With Much Love! Mala Chandran
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Check with the hotel if you want a quieter room.
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from ABernhauser, Marketing & Sales at Kaiserin Elisabeth
Responded 21 Jan 2020
Dear Mrs. Marla Chandran ! A wonderful snapshot, it sounds like an extensive picture description. Thank you very much for your kind recommendation ... A very accurate presentation, with a lot of commitment I've been working in our hotel for over 15 years, I couldn't give a better summary. Passing on a positive experience is anyway the best advertising we can get. We would be very happy to welcome you again soon, and beg to remain on behalf of our entire team with kindest regards from Vienna HOTEL KAISERIN ELISABETH Andrea Bernhauser Marketing & Sales
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$131 - US$241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kaiserin elisabeth vienna, kaiserin elisabeth hotel vienna
LOCATION
AustriaVienna RegionViennaInner City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
63
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kaiserin Elisabeth
Which popular attractions are close to Kaiserin Elisabeth?
Nearby attractions include Historic Center of Vienna (0.2 miles), The Hofburg (0.3 miles), and St. Stephen's Cathedral (0.07 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Kaiserin Elisabeth?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, airport transportation, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Kaiserin Elisabeth?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at Kaiserin Elisabeth?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kaiserin Elisabeth?
Conveniently located restaurants include Paul, Kolar, and Cuisino - Casino Restaurant Wien.
Does Kaiserin Elisabeth have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Kaiserin Elisabeth offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Kaiserin Elisabeth located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the centre of Vienna.
Are any cleaning services offered at Kaiserin Elisabeth?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Kaiserin Elisabeth?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Kaiserin Elisabeth?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Finnish.
Are there any historical sites close to Kaiserin Elisabeth?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Historic Center of Vienna (0.2 miles), Belvedere Museum (1.1 miles), and Ringstrasse (0.6 miles).