We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

THE THIEF

Visit hotel website
Traveller (882)
360
Panoramas (14)
Dining (144)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice 2018 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Stepping into THE THIEF is sure to rob you of something. Something familiar and shall we say, enslaving at times. And the thing is that the hotel is so good at it… that you might not notice until the end. You suddenly find yourself engaged in a world of new impressions: cutting-edge art, architecture and world-class gastronomy.And then it hits you, what’s been stolen from you…you haven’t had a single thought about your very long to-do list, the responsibilities at home, the everyday worries.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room Service
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Breakfast included
Airport Transportation
Banquet Room
Business Centre with Internet Access
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Air Conditioning
Minibar
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Marina View
River View
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Location
Full view
98Great for walkers
Grade: 98 out of 100
47Restaurantswithin 0.25 miles
13Attractionswithin 0.25 miles
2,086Reviews
1,228Photos
17Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,530
  • 382
  • 112
  • 40
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We loved this hotel - such a nice combination of world-class elegance and modern chic! Right on the water with room views of the canals, the thief has all the amenities you could ask for, white-glove service, really nice rooms with beautiful views (the balconies have lucite
Read more
Response from Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF
Responded 6 days ago
Greetings and many thanks of your detailed review of The Thief . Great to read you had such an enjoyable stay . As you mentioned were located in a new , vibrant district called Tjuvholmen on the beautiful Oslo Fjord . Glad that you enjoyed breakfast as Chef David takes great pride in his locally sourced , seasonal and organic Norwegian fare . I totally agree that walking around the area is a true pleasure as this is a "car free" zone and I highly recommend that our guest bring a good pair of walking shoes and a healthy appetite for discovery . Wishing you a crisp , snowy Winter and looking forward to your return Dominic GRM The Thief
Read more
Everything about this hotel is amazing. Stunning Architecture, The staff super friendly, felt so welcome. The cushions are very comfortable, I swear I never wanted to leave this hotel. After our workshop in another building, i came back and my bed was opened ready for me to
Read more
Response from Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF
Responded 2 weeks ago
Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief . Great to read you had such an enjoyable stay. As you mentioned we have a “BOMB” breakfast and chef David takes great pride in his locally sourced ,organic and seasonal Norwegian fare. Your comments concerning the staff were a pleasure to read and I’ll be sharing your thoughts with my fellow Thieves. Wishing you a crisp, snowy Winter and looking forward to your return. Dominic GRM The Thief
Read more
From start to finish this was an amazing experience. We got to the hotel early and they were gracious enough to allow us to check in early. The room was spotless and well laid out. Housekeeping were always there to make sure everything was clean and tidy.The breakfast was - in
Read more
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Response from Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF
Responded 2 weeks ago
Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief . Great to read you had such an enjoyable stay . As you mentioned we have a breakfast thats "OUT OF THIS WORLD" . Chef David and all his kitchen staff take great pride in our locally sourced , seasonal and organic Norwegian fare . Your comments concerning the staff and service were a pleasure to read and I´ll be sharing your thoughts with my fellow Thieves . I´d like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts as your feedback is invaluable to us . Wishing you a crisp , snowy Winter and looking forward to your return Dominic GRM The Thief
Read more
Overall it was a good experience in terms of the accommodation and location, it has the taste of luxury and cosy.. yet i got poisoned from the breakfast (cocked food) as the other day i avoid the cocked food and i was fine..
Read more
Response from Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF
Responded 2 weeks ago
Greetings and many thanks form your review of our property . Great to read you had an enjoyable stay . Glad you enjoyed our location on the beautiful Oslo Fjord . Very unfortunate that you fell sick as hygiene has always been and will always be a major priority for our F&B department . I´ll be contacting you directly concerning this . Wishing you a crisp , snowy Winter and looking forward to your return Dominic GRM The Thief
Read more
This very modern and chic hotel is in one of the best locations in Oslo. You can visit the modern art mesum on your room key and enjoy the old town nearby. The breakfast is outstanding and the service at all levels was excellent. The room is very modern and is comfortable.
Read more
Response from Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF
Responded 2 weeks ago
Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief . Great to read you had such an enjoyable stay . As you mentioned we have a fine location on the beautiful Oslo Fjord . Glad that you took the time to visit the Astrup Fearnley Museum as it´s possibly the finest collection of modern / contemporary art in Scandinavia . As patrons of the museum we offer free entry to all our staying guests . To see our breakfast described as "outstanding" is a true pleasure as Chef David takes great pride in his locally sourced , seasonal and organic Norwegian fare . Wishing you a crisp , snowy Winter and looking forward to your return Dominic Guest Relations Manager The Thief
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorTHE THIEF
The Superior Room at The Thief
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorTHE THIEF
The Deluxe Room at The Thief
Bathroom
PreviousNext
12345673
The room you stay in has no bearing on the cost. The pool/spa charges were 195 NOK Mon - Fri and 395 NOK Sat-Sun. It is a nice spa with pool, turkish bath, steam room and swedish sauna, fresh fruits and juices are provided.
1 vote
Show all answers
I like The Thief much more compared to the Grand Hotel. It may be worth mentioning that The Thief is a very modern hotel of this time, while the Grand Hotel is more a classic old fashion kind of hotel. I didn’t like the rooms at the Grand Hotel. Unfortunately, I don’t have any experience staying at Hotel Continental. My personal rating out of 10 for the rooms: The Thief: 9 The Grand Hotel: 6
1 vote
Show all answers
When I was at the hotel (last September), admission to t he gym was free, but to use pool and spa you had to stay in a suite.
2 votes
Show all answers
Hi sorry for the late reply, I have only just seen the question. Yes I believe so. Depending on who you have booked with (we booked with Expedia) they sent us vouchers stating we would have access to the Spa. We did not take advantage of this though.
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
1234
"I brought a blow dryer and it exploded even tho I had a converter (I guess it wasn't the right kind) the ones provided are useless"
"Water view room."
"They're all great."
"The higher the floor the better...preferably with a view....other than of an apartment building."
"Rooms with a balcony overlooking the Fjord"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$387 - US$547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
NorwayEastern NorwayOslo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
118
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing