We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Scandic Nidelven

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Scandic Nidelven
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 484: English reviews
Start your review of Scandic Nidelven
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We invited a friend to this breakfast as a part of the gift for her 30th birthday. She was thrilled! We had two fabulous hours of eating, drinking good juices and coffees and talking on a Saturday morning. The location of this hotel is also great, as we had a view of the river while eating.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marita B
Kjetil V, General Manager at Scandic Nidelven, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your very nice feedback to us. I`m really glad that we lived up to your expectations :-) Welcome back to Scandic Nidelven, we hope to see you again soon. Best regards Kjetil Vassdal GM

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 1 week ago

Generally perfectly OK, but a bit expensive compared to standard; no air conditioning, no room safe, limited set of TV channels and no toiletries apart from shampoo/soap dispensers on the wall. Plus for coffee/the maker in the room. Very friendly staff and a wonderful collection of paintings in the reception area of the established Norwegian painter Gullvåg. The hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rolf L
Kjetil V, General Manager at Scandic Nidelven, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your good feedback to us. Welcome back to Scandic Nidelven, we hope to see you again soon. Best regards Kjetil Vassdal GM

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely place to stay and it true they have the most amazing breakfast. The hotel has great food and drink. I have stayed here many times. There are also a lot of great bars, restaurants nearby. The rooms are a good size with excellent views.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leonreed
Kjetil V, General Manager at Scandic Nidelven, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your very nice and kind feedback to us! We are really happy that you appreciate our famous breakfast as much as you did! I`m also very glad to here that you have stayed here with us for many times, and always have enjoyed your stay here at Scandic Nidelven. I wish you all...

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel is located on the river Nidelven right next to the city centre with shops and very close to the pir area with conference hotel. Rooms were of good standard, clean and bed comfortable. The breakfast was probably the best hotel breakfast I have ever had. It had juice bar, fresh cut meats, fancy porridge and omelets made to order...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marianne K
Kjetil V, General Manager at Scandic Nidelven, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your very nice and kind feedback to us! We are really happy that you appreciate our famous breakfast as much as you did! I`m also very glad to here that you liked our hotel, location and service delivered from our staff. I wish you all the best, and hope to see you again...

Bergen, Norway
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautyful hotel in the heart of Trondheim. Wonderful staff that makes you feel really welcome. Clean and nice room, lovely bed, and the best breakfast ever with a lot of homemade excellent food, I never forget the pancakes and the coffee barista, making whatever you want.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Selandia22
Kjetil V, General Manager at Scandic Nidelven, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your very nice and kind feedback to us! We are really happy that you appreciate our famous breakfast as much as you did! I`m also very glad to here that you liked our hotel, location and service delivered from our staff. I wish you all the best, and hope to see you again...

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When I travel on my own, I often go for budget. When I travel with my partner, I often go for luxury. When I travel for work, I try to find something of high quality within company limits. My stays at Scandic Nidelven are of the latter category. The first room I was given was specifically designed for someone in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas J
Kjetil V, General Manager at Scandic Nidelven, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your very nice feedback to us. I`m really glad that we lived up to your expectations. Welcome back to Scandic Nidelven, we hope to see you again soon. Best regards Kjetil Vassdal GM

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is an very nice hotel about 300 meters from the train station. I it is placed in the old shipyard quarter in Trondheim. Perfect location if want to explore the city. Rooms are nice and clean with comfortable beds. If you like to eat breakfast, this is breakfast heaven. The best and biggest ever.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jon G
Kjetil V, General Manager at Scandic Nidelven, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your very nice feedback to us. I`m really glad that we lived up to your expectations :-) Welcome back to Scandic Nidelven, we hope to see you again soon. Best regards Kjetil Vassdal GM

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 16 January 2017

This was an unexpected stay for us. We were due to meet our cruise ship in Bergen but due to weather the company changed the departure port to Trondheim and supplied us with a night’s accommodation. We found this hotel to be of very good standard. A BIG plus for my husband was a HDMI/USB connection hanging from the television...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CloudSurfing63
Kjetil V, General Manager at Scandic Nidelven, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your very nice feedback to us. I`m really glad that we lived up to your expectations :-) Welcome back to Scandic Nidelven, we hope to see you again soon. Best regards Kjetil Vassdal GM

Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

We only stayed here one night. We arrived on the Hurtigruten. Though you could walk it I think during the winter it would be a very unpleasant difficult walk. The hotel is perfectly situated for access to town, very close to restaurants and an easy walk to train station which we did do. The room bed, temperature and bathroom were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maxine W
Kjetil V, General Manager at Scandic Nidelven, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your very nice feedback to us. I`m really glad that we lived up to your expectations :-) Welcome back to Scandic Nidelven, we hope to see you again soon. Best regards Kjetil Vassdal GM

Kampala, Uganda
Reviewed 14 January 2017

I invited my family and my parents to a lunch at Scandic; We had heard it was very good. Too bad they had no lunch that day, but the bar was open so we had salads and "rekesmørbrød". det var det største rekesmørbrødet I ever had. We had a good time despite the rainy weather

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnpetter
Kjetil V, General Manager at Scandic Nidelven, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your very nice and kind feedback to us! I wish you all the best, and hope to see you again at Scandic Nidelven soon. Best regards Kjetil Vassdal GM

764 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (263)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (134)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (479)
Viewed
Amenities (105)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (53)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (Corner) (54)
Viewed
Dining (172)
Viewed
Standard Room (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
0.2 mi away
Scandic Bakklandet
Scandic Bakklandet
#4 of 25 in Trondheim
646 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scandic Solsiden
Scandic Solsiden
#9 of 25 in Trondheim
343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Grand Olav
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#6 of 25 in Trondheim
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Scandic Nidelven hotel is one of Trondheim's largest and most modern hotels. It's close to the city centre with sights and attractions within walking distance. The Restaurant Nidelven has been awarded Norway's best hotel breakfast the past 9 years and serve brunch on the weekend. The restaurant offers a modern inspired by the international trends within culinary arts. Our Broen Bar has a great view of Nidelven and the bridge over to Solsiden. We have 18 meeting rooms all with windows and natural daylight and can organize everything from small meetings to conventions, parties, banquets and concerts. If you want to keep in shape during your stay, please visit our gym. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Scandic Nidelven

Address: Havnegaten 1-3 | P.O. Box 101, Trondheim 7400, Norway (Formerly Rica Nidelven Hotel)
Region: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Price Range: £108 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Nidelven 3.5*
Number of rooms: 343
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Scandic Nidelven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Nidelven Trondheim
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Trondheim
#2 Romantic Hotel in Trondheim
#2 Business Hotel in Trondheim
#2 Family Hotel in Trondheim
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Scandic Nidelven staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
San Francisco, California

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Scandic Nidelven staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best rooms directly facing the footbridge”
 of 5 bubbles ro45li, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you want a nice view order a room with looks on to the river.”
 of 5 bubbles 14mariannek, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Best room is to have a view to the river, fall asleep listening to the quiet sounds of the water.”
 of 5 bubbles Selandia22, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you bother: ask for a view of the marina.”
 of 5 bubbles nicholasj124, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“6th floor. 2 types of rooms there.”
 of 5 bubbles marcusz224, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5