We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

757 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 675: English reviews
Start your review of Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang
 Click to rate
Bukit Mertajam, Malaysia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Well, there is nothing to shout about this hotel. It was an aging hotel with spacious room and some nice buffet. It is a nice hotel for a short family trip. Front office staffs are so so...... Hospitality is dead nowadays.......

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StevoCCC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Just returned from our third visit ( one month ) to this hotel located on the beach at Tanjung Bungah on the north coast of Penang. Once again we were highly satisfied with most aspects of the hotel. The friendliness of the staff and the service provided throughout our stay was excellent. Our room was kept spotless and the bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

THIS IS THE WORST HOTEL EVER! PLEASE DONT COME!! YOU BETTER THROW UR MONEY ON SOME BUDGET HOTEL THAN THIS OH SO CALLED 4 STAR HOTEL!! I AM IN THE HOTEL RIGHT NOW AND I CANT EVEN SLEEP! Noisy aircond and the aircond not function at all, I CAN FEEL MY SWEAT DRIPPING MY RIGHT NOW, i feel like i'm...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lorna A
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

We booked a family room via online hotel booking site for a day trip to Penang. The spacious room comes with two bedrooms, a living area, dinner table, two bathrooms, three balconies, three tv sets and other common facilities. Additionally, we got a sea-facing view on one side and town-view on the other that is relatively nice. Breakfast is relatively...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rosli M
FlamingoPenang, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Greetings from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang! Thank you for your valued review. We are glad to know that some aspects have met your expectations. However, we sincerely apologize for those that fell below your expectations. I will personally look into those matters with my team for immediate improvement. Rest assured that your next visit will be a truly...

Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

and i must come down to the reception to pay?!?! What?!?!! Eh hello where did you all learn Hotel Business from?? This kind of reception is cap ayam, definitely lowest class, go back to the drawing board and learn how to spell hospitality! Plus points? Luckily the King Size bed is big enough for the three of us, i am...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EddyAriffin
FlamingoPenang, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Greetings from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang! Thank you for your review. We take your feedback very seriously and will work towards iimprovements of what was lacking immediately. We trust you have a pleasant journey home and we look forward to having you again in Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang. Thank you Best regards Ong Hai Leong General...

Kuala Selangor, Malaysia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Poor front office service not friendly, we can feel we are not welcomed very slow in check in room is not properly clean, housekeeping not friendly either, ask them one question but answer is not related to my question, may be could not understand english, won't return to this hotel again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cheekionglim
FlamingoPenang, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Greetings from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang! Thank you for your detailed feedback. We regret to hear that your stay didn’t turn out to be a pleasant one. Your comments are very important to us and we will seriously work towards a better service in the future. We hope to have you back in Flamingo Hotel by the Beach,...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Hardly as one faces looking up at your hotel...at front entrance...one would ask WHY ? Is the management forgot to ask to repaint the walls...check it out! The reception received was cold...esp.by bellman on duty.Must a check in guest waits for service...not in sight.... Amenities of hotel ...ok...spacious....hanging ceiling fans...beautiful scenery .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank safwanlim
FlamingoPenang, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Greetings from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang! Thank you for your valued review. We are glad to know that some aspects have met your expectations. However, we sincerely apologize for those that fell below your expectations. I will personally look into those matters with my team for immediate improvement. Rest assured that your next visit will be a truly...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is our second visit to this hotel. Staffs at reception was not friendly. Rooms look dull and old. Furnitures worn out. Aircond vent was dirty. Quite hot during the night. Bathrooms was not clean. This hotel desperately needs an upgrade!

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ShankShama
FlamingoPenang, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Greetings from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang! Thank you for your detailed feedback. We regret to hear that your stay didn’t turn out to be a pleasant one. Your comments are very important to us and we will seriously work towards a better service in the future. We hope to have you back in Flamingo Hotel by the Beach,...

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Reviewed 14 February 2017

The rooms are big but definately need makeover. Bed was too soft. Staff was helpful but not well versed. Had to check 3 times before he could give me proper information about late check-outs. Breakfast was totally disappointing. Food does not look appetizing. Spa was a disappointment. They would not even do an additional 5 minutes pass their closing time....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lovejeep
FlamingoPenang, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Greetings from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang! Thank you for your detailed feedback. We regret to hear that your stay didn’t turn out to be a pleasant one. Your comments are very important to us and we will seriously work towards a better service in the future. We hope to have you back in Flamingo Hotel by the Beach,...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 January 2017

Having just travelled through most ofMalaysia, our group of workmates were looking forward to relaxing on a deck chair by the beach and thankfully that is exactly what we got. Sadly I wouldn't risk my health swimming in the sea water (but I wouldn't pin this on the hotel), however to compensate, the hotel facilities were great (pool + gym)....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JeffandPolly
FlamingoPenang, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Greetings from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang! Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Knowing that you have enjoyed your stay is the best rewards for my team. We trust you have a pleasant journey home and we look forward to having you again. Thank you Best regards Ong Hai Leong General Manager Flamingo Hotel by the beach...

1,016 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (522)
Viewed
Bathroom (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (85)
Viewed
View from Room (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (122)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (130)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (479)
Viewed
2-Bedroom Suite (88)
Viewed
3-Bedroom Suite (132)
Viewed
Amenities (41)
Viewed
Beach (16)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (43)
Viewed
Pool (35)
Viewed
Dining (58)
Viewed
The Hotel (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung Bungah
2.0 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
1,628 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang
#4 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
716 reviews
0.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
754 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
2,091 reviews
2.7 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang

Address: Jalan Tanjung Bungah, Tanjung Bungah, Penang Island 11200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Tanjung Bungah
Price Range: £34 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo By The Beach Hotel Tanjung Bungah
Flamingo Hotel By The Beach, Penang Tanjung Bungah
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid Chinese New Year and any other festivals as it can get very busy. Ask for a room on a high floor overlooking the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles BrianR112, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for seaview rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Lovejeep, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Request for rooms on the high floors and directly facing the sea (full view) if not you will get partial view or slightly obstructed view.”
 of 5 bubbles SIanchong, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“near the beach”
 of 5 bubbles PanizAmani, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Do Not waste your holidays and your money here!”
 of 5 bubbles mohatravels, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5