We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Waterside Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Waterside Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

422 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 418: English reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very good Value for money Very friendly staff couldn't be more helpful Good full English breakfast Great Views of Eastbourne beach & pier Very close to the town centre for restaurants and shopping Good facilities in Room

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
watersideh0tel, Manager at Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. I am delighted to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable and you liked our sea view room. We do our best to make all our guests feel at home and to exceed their expectations. I Hope to see you again, Regards, Naveed

Reviewed 18 October 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay last week. We stayed for two nights in an upgraded sea view room, which was an added treat. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was a good size, yet cosy with great views and a lovely bathroom. The included breakfast was also great and had a good selection to choose from. We would stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RLJ91
watersideh0tel, Public Relations Manager at Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Waterside Hotel. We are glad to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2016

The 2 night stay was bought as a gift. This hotel was located across the road from the beach and the views from front room 6 were good. However, the hotel facade was dilapidated. Room 4 at the rear was tiny and dismal. The views were over rubbish and old gardens. The door was damaged and the locking mechanism malfunctioned....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James M
watersideh0tel, Public Relations Manager at Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear James, I am utterly sorry for how disappointing your stay was. That is not the standard we aim to provide and I apologise for all of the issues you experienced. I am glad that despite that you were able to find things to like in our hotel. I would like to welcome you to stay with us again in...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

Heating did not work; TV did not work; 👹sash windows rattled in the wind: breakfast supposed to be from 7am, but not served until 8am; billed as a "boutique" hotel - better described as a run-down boarding house - avoid at all costs!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank le-roi-des-cons
watersideh0tel, Public Relations Manager at Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I do apologise for all the issues you faced during you stay with us. I just wish you had mentioned them on the day so they could have been resolved for you straight away. With regards to breakfast, all our guests receive welcome letters on check-in,...

Guildford
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

Great, helpful staff, easy check in etc. Looks like it's been fairly recently done up, but there's not much 'atmosphere' in the bar/restaurant (think it only does breakfast?) area. It's all very dark (though very nicely done). That said, the small bar is well stocked and very reasonably priced and there's plenty of comfy chairs and sofas - and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elajl
watersideh0tel, Public Relations Manager at Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Elajl, Thank you very much for choosing The Waterside hotel. We appreciate your kind words. As you have noticed, the hotel has gone under some renovation recently, however it is still awaiting a few final touches. I am sorry for the confusion with drink prices. All of our drinks are charged as per bar menu, unless it is a...

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Really enjoyed my stay here. Booked a sea view room and had a lovely wide view. Room and bathroom were extremely well furnished and room had a large TV with a large range of channels. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Free parking ticket supplied for the seafront. VERY minor niggles.... TV controls could do with explanation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank borochris9
watersideh0tel, Public Relations Manager at Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. I am delighted to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable and you liked our sea view room. We do our best to make all our guests feel at home and to exceed their expectations. I am very sorry for the few minor issues in the room. Please be assured that both TV...

Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for our first anniversary and I so glad we chose here. Although the outside could be off putting, the inside is absolutely beautiful. We stayed in the Osaka room which had a beautifully lit hot tub, and a separate shower room. The staff were very friendly and helpful even allowing us to order our drinks from our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leonmoore
watersideh0tel, Public Relations Manager at Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Leon, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review, and it's such a nice one! I am very glad that you liked our Osaka room and you found our staff friendly. We are a small family hotel and always try to make sure that our guests feel at home. I hope to see you...

UK
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Have just returned from a one night stay at this lovely little hotel. We booked it the day before arrival and secured it at a good price so we were even more delighted when we received a free room upgrade on checking in. Our room had the most wonderful sea and pier view and we could even see the sea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tripper1984
watersideh0tel, Public Relations Manager at Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. I am delighted to hear that your stay with us was so fantastic! We all look forward to seeing you again soon! Agnes

Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the aqua room which had a lovely bathroom fitted with a jet bath. The room was very spacious and well equipped for our stay. The bed was comfortable and cosy. When we arrived we were welcomed by the very friendly staff who were happy to help with whatever we needed. The breakfast was more than enough and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George O
watersideh0tel, Public Relations Manager at Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear George, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we can't wait to welcome you again! Agnes

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We needed a place to stay overnight after taking in an excellent exhibition of David Bomberg's paintings at the Towner Art Gallery. The hotel is small and charming. The check-in was efficient. The hotel is right on the sea-front, which means that parking can be problematic but we ended up finding a space about half a mile away, which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrPicky1960
watersideh0tel, Public Relations Manager at Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us such a nice review. I am pleased to hear that you found our jacuzzi rooms to be just what you needed! We do recommend them for the beautiful English autumn, and bottle of wine can only make that better! I am very sorry about the coffee not being up to standard. We are currently in...

410 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (73)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (287)
Viewed
Aqua (36)
Viewed
Double Room (34)
Viewed
Osaka (34)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Superior Room (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)
Viewed
Ultimate Superior Room (45)
Viewed
Venus (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
East Beach Hotel
East Beach Hotel
#12 of 42 in Eastbourne
399 reviews
0.6 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#8 of 42 in Eastbourne
401 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 42 in Eastbourne
2,286 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 42 in Eastbourne
1,392 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#19 of 42 in Eastbourne
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Waterside is a waterfront hotel in Eastbourne with stunning sea views. All of our individually styled rooms afford you complete comfort, with our more extravagant suites offering a choice of Jacuzzi, sea view bathtub or an in-room telescope for late night star-gazing. Recently taken over by new owners and under new management. The hotel is going through constant refurbishment procedure to improve the facilities. Currently we offer very good bed and breakfast rates, bar with high quality products, and a spa room with one of Eastbourne's best therapists. In addition to that, we run a monthly Waterside Wine Club with wines from all around the world and a professional wine distributor to talk our guests through the history and making process of each wine. We like to promote culture and our outstanding local artists who's work can be seen at our monthly exhibitions, as well as unique paintings in our rooms that guests can buy should they wish to. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Waterside Hotel

Address: 11-12 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Price Range: £59 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Hotel Eastbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Waterside Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Waterside Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not take a room at the rear of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles S2507RCjamesm, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Sea views.”
 of 5 bubbles 953lynr, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the 6th floor”
 of 5 bubbles Kookies4, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room on first floor”
 of 5 bubbles Relaxonhols, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the front of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles MickC755, 7 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay