We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Strand Hotel

View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Strand Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

626 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Strand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 614: English reviews
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017

I booked 3 rooms here for my wife and I and her two sisters, one of whom is disabled and the other also has mobility problems. I checked if they had accessible rooms and when I booked I asked for the rooms to be near together, and either ground floor or near a lift. When we arrived we had all...

1Thank jelunga
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Spent Friday & Saturday here with ukbreaks, we have stayed before when it was Hinton Royal, but now The Strand. Shame the new owners have not spent money on it since they took over. We arrived Friday and given card to room 328, told the lift is only for one person at a time....... 5 flights of stairs later we...

3Thank susan k
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

Everything is lovely in here , location right on the sea , fantastic price included the weekend ones...parking ,rooms are big enough and warm , with all accessories . Staff 10/10.We'll come again and again ❤❤

Thank Gaabriell
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2017

I am about to leave this hotel after an eight day stay , and I have no complaints . For a budget hotel the rooms were clean and adequate . I had own bathroom , shower and tv .The rooms were serviced daily and all the staff were delightful and professional . It was the cheapest deal in Eastbourne and...

Thank richardhuggins18
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Feb 13/14 2017 Took 3 attempts to find a room with unused and unstained bed linen. Ended up in room 106. Dusty and grubby, broken lamp, mildew in shower, draughty window sealed with sellotape unsuccessfully. No wifi, poor tv reception. Curtains would not open fully. Corridors uneven floors. Ancient lifts were scary to use. Lift down to Bistro only took...

1Thank hhayward2017
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

We were very impressed with this hotel, our room was very clean the bathroom was spotless. The bed was comfortable the towels were good, the tea facilities were excellent. Overall it was very good for the price.

1Thank Emma W
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2017

The hotel is very poor, our room which had a sea view was very poor. Cold , small dirty room with No hot water. Bed has been put the wrong way around so if you want to see the view that you paid for stand up!!. Stayed two nights so was looking forward to it being cleaned but NO ,...

1Thank garyinsomerset
Reviewed 31 January 2017

What a great location and attentive staff - the hotel has clearly been ungraded since i last stayed and was very pleased. Will definitely be back in, cant wait to visit in the sunshine! Thank you for a lovely stay.

1Thank Anna W
Reviewed 18 January 2017

New Year at the Strand Hotel Eastbourne The coach to the Strand Hotel Eastbourne was an old T reg, uncomfortable and well passed its sell by date On arrival we were given one room key per couple. The room was small and very scruffy. A tatty, filthy curtain covering old single glazed dirty draffy window. The bed had a thin...

5Thank john t
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2017

Booked and paid extra for seaview room but was put in tiny room at back of the hotel, over looking an alleyway where people hung round drinking and making lots of noise. The staff refused to move me and apparently the manager was unavailable. I left early and tried to contact the manager several times to request a refund or...

4Thank Cathnew2017
gm-strandeastbourne, General Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cathnew2017 Thank you for your review and I apologise if you did not enjoy your stay. We always have a seaview room available if it is booked and paid for. I am unable to verify that you have genuinely stayed with us as the details don't seem to match so am unable to make any further comments here.

221 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (184)
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Bathroom (21)
Room/Suite (41)
View from Room (10)
Dining (4)
Family/Play Areas (2)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Other (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (37)
Room/Suite (15)
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Dining (6)
Other (9)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.7 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#27 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,274 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marine Parade Hotel
Marine Parade Hotel
#34 of 40 in Eastbourne
127 reviews
0.8 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 40 in Eastbourne
858 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Alexandra Hotel
The Alexandra Hotel
#28 of 40 in Eastbourne
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel is located directly on Eastbourne seafront opposite the beach with easy walking distance to the pier, bandstand, theatres and the main shopping and town centre facilities. The Hotel has 110 bedrooms with a Bistro restaurant , an Indian restaurant, 3 bars and function rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Address: 35-42 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AN, England (Formerly Hilton Royal Parade Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Price Range: £33 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Eastbourne
Eastbourne Hilton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Strand Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from The Strand Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea facing room, but beware of extra charges. I didn't ask for a sea view but they tried to charge me for it.”
deb1602017, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Not sure there are any”
B9114FXsusanb, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Do not stay in room number 1”
behappie, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“test the bed before accepting room”
DollyS1970, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Not good for disabled”
jelunga, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
US$42* /night
View Deal
View all 7 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates