We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bay County Hotel

11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Bay County Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

665 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 665: English reviews
Start your review of Bay County Hotel
 Click to rate
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Fantastic 5 day break - lovely room which was very clean & well kept. Plenty of good, fresh food for breakfast and dinner. All well cooked, presented and a fine menu choice. The restaurant is a pleasant room for dining. It is set out for easy access to tables & breakfast buffet. Must say the porridge is delicious !! All...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geminileeds2017
bath
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A very comfortable hotel. Very welcoming & nothing was too much trouble. Pleasant staff. Spacious rooms, comfortable beds. Good choice and quality of food. Very good value for money. Lovely area to be in.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marthagBath
Spalding, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were given a room on the "lower ground floor" which I suppose sounds better than the "basement". However the room itself was spacious and clean with good bath/shower facilities with plenty of hot water. Food was plentiful. Location was good on the sea front. Went with Shearings and must say the trip was excellent value for money. The only...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Shirley P
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shirley P I'm very pleased to read that you enjoyed your first trip to Wales and I hope you have many more. I agree lower ground floor sound much better and you are right the rooms are very spacious and well decorated. Hopefully next time you come you will see more of Anglesey. Kind Regards Andy Travis General Manager

Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Clean and tidy comfortable room .Adequate for a single person.overall good service and nice food but not much of it, Good excursions and overall definitely value for money,but a tedious journey.Friendly and helpful staff.Nice local shops and not far to main town.A good location.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 981Petal
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 981 Petal Short,sweet and to the point and on the whole a very positive review sorry about the journey I suspect you have come from the south and there's no easy way of getting over that. I Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Kind Regards Andy Travis General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a good break with Shearings at the County Hotel. It is located very well for a great walk along the promenade at Llandudno. The accommodation was good although a little tired. Evening meal and buffet breakfasts were very good. We had a room looking over the front which was nice to actually be somewhere where you can hear...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 190Cp50
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 190Cp50 First of all my apologise for your disappointment with the room we are constantly working and upgrading rooms as I speak we have had another ten finished. I'm over the moon to hear how much you enjoyed the food and the whole break especially the weather we arranged for you. Kind Regards Andy Travis General Manager

Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I found the room was very nice. Plenty of space, which is unusual for a single room.and nicely decorated. The food was excellent, lovely variety. The driver Tim was really helpful and the outings were good. But the best was the entertainment. Stevie Bee was very good as the entertainments Manager, his show on the Monday night was very good....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jen c
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jen c I am absolutely delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and Stevie Bee and Bruce will be over the moon to hear how much you enjoyed their acts I will be sure to pass on your comments to them. Kind Regards Andy Travis General Manager

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room at this hotel was very clean and the newly fitted bathroom was of good quality. Unfortunately the food in the restaurant was not as good as we expected it to be and the fact that my wife is allergic to spices ended up with her being without a starter most nights and most mains unable to eat. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ivor B
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ivor B We pride ourselves on the time and trouble we take to accommodate all sorts of varied diets and special dietary requirements so I am very sorry to read that you didn't enjoy our food. If you do decide to return to us please don't hesitate to come and see us at reception so that we can plan...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at County on a Shearings holiday. Overall the holiday was enjoyable. The room we had was adequate for our needs and was clean. The food was good with an excellent choice of menu, the restaurant staff were helpful and polite. The entertainment was mostly alright, but could have been more varied. Although the weather was cold, our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank June F
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear June F Thank you very much for taking the time to write this positive review about your holiday. I am especially pleased to read that you would be happy to return to us and I hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards Andy Travis General Manager

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at County for 4 days from April10th. We had booked a seaview room which we got. We were given a large room at the front but it was in dire need of refurbishment. When we went into the bathroom we realised we had been given a disabled room as the bath was very low down and the sink was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank saradrisc
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Saradrisc I am really sorry to read about your disappointment with room 104 as you say a large sea view room with a bay window we do get a lot of requests for that room. I take on board all you comments and will pass them on to help us improve our service. Kind Regards Andy Travis General Manager

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

Went on a Shearings break. I try to be realistic about what to expect; I've been on other coach holidays and they can be good value. But this has been awful. The food is the worst hotel food Ive ever had. Flavourless, small portions, cold, uninspiring. The 4th day of my trip the food finally beat my digestive capabilities. Turned...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Abi M
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Abi M All I can do is apologies for your obvious disappointment as the old saying goes you cannot please all of the people all of the time. Kind Regards Andy Travis General Manager

135 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (107)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.5 mi away
Bay Marine Hotel
Bay Marine Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
772 reviews
0.0 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
717 reviews
0.8 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#36 of 60 in Llandudno
435 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#7 of 60 in Llandudno
357 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoying a magnificent site of the Promenade with stunning views of both of the Ormes, this lovely Victorian hotel offers guests a friendly Welsh welcome. Tastefully furnished throughout, and retaining many of the original Victorian features throughout, the hotel’s bar and lounges provide the ideal locations in which to relax. Laid back days can be spent enjoying the beach, strolling the pier or shopping in the newly opened retail development by the main shops. Alternatively, take a tram ride up the Great Orme or discover the numerous sporting pursuits that are on offer locally, too. For a getaway discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you couldn’t be better placed than in Llandudno. A small car park is located at the rear of the hotel, or there is unlimited free parking at the front of the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay County Hotel

Address: East Parade, Llandudno LL30 1BD, Wales (Formerly The County Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Price Range: £30 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Llandudno
County Llandudno
Bay County Hotel Llandudno, Wales
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Llandudno
#30 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay County Hotel staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question
Birmingham, United Kingdom

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Bay County Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Booked through Shearings who advise on single rooms if necessary.Usuall less choice.”
981Petal, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“Nice sea views to the front of the hotel and it isn't noisy at night.”
190Cp50, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“Higher floor is better”
jenc876, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you get a refurbished room”
saradrisc, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“coner and side rooms had best views without paying a premium for sea view”
ros2125, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
LateRooms.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates