The Marine Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Marine Hotel

Vaughan Street The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AN Wales
Traveller (661)
Single Room (Rm 324) - Good Size
Room & Suite (136)
Dining (31)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#42 of 51 hotels in Llandudno
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Built in the imposing Victorian style of the resort’s seafront, this handsome hotel boasts stunning views over the Irish Sea. Not only does it offer comfortable furnishings, friendly service and a swimming pool perfect for active moments, but also an ideal setting in the centre of the promenade, within easy walking distance of the town’s plentiful tourist attractions. Lazy days can be spent on the beach or pier, shopping for souvenirs, visiting the Alice in Wonderland Centre or taking a tram ride up The Great Orme, whilst numerous sporting pursuits are on offer locally. There is limited parking in the guest car park located behind the building but street parking is usually available nearby. For a break away discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you could not be better placed than in Llandudno, at the Marine Hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free internet
Indoor pool
Bar / lounge
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Taxi service
Newspaper
Street parking
Public wifi
Restaurant
Snack bar
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Room features
Housekeeping
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Harbour View
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Vaughan Street The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AN Wales
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 99 out of 100
99
Anglesey Airport
29.9 mi
See all flights
Chester Airport
39.1 mi
See all flights
1,373Review70Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 310
  • 494
  • 301
  • 133
  • 135
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Colleen O wrote a review Jan 2020
Birmingham, United Kingdom45 contributions21 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned from a 3 night break (3rd -6th Jan) via Shearing's Coach trips. £71pp for pick up from Solihull, 3days dinner bed & breakfast, 4 free drinks each on Saturday and a day trip to several places around Snowdonia National Park, great sceanery. Try fish and chips at the Creel chip shop Porthmadog absolutley delish.
Food at the Marine Hotel was lovely, cooked very well and a great choice to be had for breakfast and evening meal.
Lovely Lounge bar with great views of sea and Orme's although very hot in tempreture. Separate TV lounge and entertainment lounge. Never used swimming pool in basement although it looked nice. Public areas clean and tidy, all staff friendly and helpfull in all areas of hotel.
Our room was in need of a refurb but was clean and comfortable, Shower very tempremental and could do with better shelving as too narrow to support toilet bags and had to put the on floor.
We would go again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MWilliams59, General Manager at The Marine Hotel
Responded 15 Jan 2020
Hi COLO52, Sounds like you got a bargain that was worth having. Always good to read a good review especially when you say you would go again. Thank you for taking the time to post. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JOHN71007 wrote a review Jan 2020
MATLOCK117 contributions99 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We have used Shearings for many years but in now in our eighties we have limited mobility problems and prefer a room with shower rather than shower over the bath.

At the Marine Hotel it was necessary to upgrade to Standard Plus for this type of facility and we were given Room 406.

This room was an "attic" room with serious heating problems and a bathroom that was quite small and a hand basin that was ridiculously small. So small in fact that the shelf above the basin had been forcibly removed presumably so that previous occupants could raise their hands from the basin.

Having used Shearings over many years the staff attitude and subsequently that of the customer care team was so dismissive of our situation that we have visited our last Shearing Hotel.

To be fair you generally know what to expect at Shearings. A typical old hotel, with caring staff, good food and reasonable evening entertainment.

Meals at the Marine were at the top end of our Shearings experiences with good friendly staff from many different countries adding to our enjoyment of the restaurant.

Overall though the holiday was spoiled by an indifferent attitude at reception to the quality and cleanliness of the room.

An interesting point arising is that it is Shearing policy not to change bed linen for a 7 day break.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Avoid Standard plus rooms on 4th floor (see photo)
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MWilliams59, General Manager at The Marine Hotel
Responded 27 Jan 2020
Hi JOHN71007, I am sorry you had such a poor experience. As you can see from the reviews posted along with yours, we do have caring staff. This is something I will follow up on with the team as normally we do work hard to take care of our customers. How guests feel about the rooms allocated is very personal but cleanliness is not. I will look into this as well. Big thank you for the positive comments you have made regarding the meals. I will also address the team regarding the linen. Linen should be changed part way though a 7 night stay. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leyland L wrote a review Feb 2020
Preston, United Kingdom212 contributions93 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Visited the Bay Marine Hotel on a Shearings midweek break, this was our second visit, the previous one being seven years ago. In that time a lot of works seems to be have done on improving the decor and general feel of the place and the public areas in particular were very nice areas in which to while away an hour or two.
We were joined by five other couples on our visit and they all had positive comments about the hotel, the food choices were good, served nice and hot by very polite staff (the only criticism from some male members of our party was that they would have liked larger portions).
Our bedroom, although on the small side was clean and well decorated with a ‘shower over bath’ arrangement with a seemingly unending supply of hot water.
We used the entertainments room each night, bingo was on offer each night and apart from Monday evening there was entertainment each night, which to be honest varied in standard although the comedian in particular was very good.
The hotel is handily situated for the town centre and is situated on the seafront, we visited in January but in summer it would be a particularly nice place to stay.
All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the Bay Marine and the management and staff are to be congratulated for making our stay such a positive experience.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: There are upgraded room available.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
anthony s wrote a review Sept 2021
Bolton, United Kingdom92 contributions85 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Recently (17th to 24th September) we visited this hotel. This hotel is still governed by Covid regulations, but wearing of masks was not obligatory. At reception we were advised that the hotel staff would not enter our room due to these regulations but should we need any new towels, tea making items etc, a visit to reception would issue them. Our room was clean and tidy and comfortable. We stayed as part of a package holiday organised by a coach firm, (Half Board). The food in the restaurant was table d' tote - Breakfast consisted of Full English, choice of other items such as scrambled eggs, toast and tea or coffee along with continental and special items if required. The Evening menu consisted of a choice of 5 starters 4 Main and 4 Desserts all served by well organised staff who went out of their way to help you with any questions. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and am looking forward to the next time we have the opportunity to return Thank you to all staff.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Sea View and upper floors.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tbag2014 wrote a review Feb 2020
Manchester, United Kingdom68 contributions84 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned from a Shearings Monday to Friday break. Like the previous comments I and my fellow travellers fully agree. The hotel was very very cold, especially in the dinning room and the lounges, one man had to ask them to put the radiator on. Our room was also very cold, the radiator was air locked. We did get a small heater in the end which helped. The shower was also freezing every morning. We travelled with friends who were on different floors and they had the same problem with the shower even it stopping working whilst there were in it. It was awful. Also dont know if a knew Shearings policy, but you only get one hand towel and when asking for another you have to have a special reason to be given one!! I would have thought especially in the present climate that hygine was very important and that every guest should be given there own hand towel. The staff were mainly pleasant but with the coldness of the place expect there was not much for them to be too happy about. The entertainment was very good, especially the Comedian. The food was ok, the breakfast was very good though. The hotel is in a good position and we had a sea view. It could have been perfect if the hotel had been properley heated and hot water to the rooms. We had different drivers take us out on the coach, all of whom were execllent. William was realy funny and a great driver, Danny also very good and plenty of tales to tell and Lee who sadly could only take us to and from resort was again very nice. Sadly it is unlikely we or our friends will return to this hotel due to the problems mentioned above.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Dont go in the winter, upgrade for a better room
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bob M wrote a review Apr 2022
15 contributions
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This was one of the most disappointing stays I've had in a hotel.
Booked for an overnight stay from Good Friday, the cost was £155, breakfast not included. (I didn't notice that) we paid an extra £10 for our dog.

On arrival in our room, it was immediately clear that this "superior room" was anything but.

It was very tired and dated with missmached furniture, peeling paint and incredibly creaky floorboards.

The are three areas, the bedroom, a small sitting room leading to an ensuite.

The bedroom is a good size with a double bed (I would expect a king size in a superior room). The bed was very hard and almost impossible to sleep on. There is a bad slope in the floor near the main door, the radiator paint was peeling off. There was evidence of shoddy repairs to the window frame, there was scaffolding immediately outside the window.

The small sitting room was a bit worse than the bedroom, it consists a very old two seater sofa, a coffee table, which was chipped and stained, a tv stand with a tv and a tea and coffee stand, none of which matched. Amazingly, the sofa faced away from the sea view.

The en-suite was fairly modern and clean with a bath and a shower cubicle, the bath was okay, if you're four feet tall and the shower was only usable if your very slim, also, the shower head faces the cubicle door, so if you turn the shower on with the door open, the floor gets a good soaking.

Dog facilties are non-existent, not even a water bowl in the room, I have no idea why there is a £10 charge. Dogs are not allowed in the dining room, reception suggested we could maybe set up in another area, I could tell they were reluctant to do this. We spent our meal money for dinner and breakfast at another establishment, their loss.

The icing on the cake was at 8.20am on Saturday morning we were woken up by five workmen dismantling the scaffolding outside our bedroom window, the were shouting and swearing. As we opened the curtains, one of them had a good look into our room.

In conclusion I would price this room at around £60-£70 plus breakfast, based on other hotels.

I only gave it a one because it was clean.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matthew K wrote a review Feb 2022
Wakefield, United Kingdom420 contributions242 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Bubbly receptionist was a great welcome and farewell greeting ambassador. I had booked a flash sale rate standard double for only £35 and was allocated a top/3rd floor room with a prom/seaview. Simply but freshly decorated with new furniture and a comfortable bed with a cosy duvet and good pillows. The en-suite was a compact shower room which worked well for me a solo guest. The only downside to the room was the single glazing, especially in the morning as the radiator didn't come on on a cold February day. There were few other guests around, but the public areas were all smartly decorated and warm for relaxing in. Upstairs the bedroom corridors are of the same style you'll find in most traditional seaside hotels of a certain era - narrow and twisting with dated decor. But you don't spend long in corridors! This hotel is well located for guests arriving by train as it's a straight walk Vaughan Street to the railway station.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marine GM, Owner at The Marine Hotel
Responded 14 Mar 2022
Thank you Matthew for your review. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that the radiator did not come on in your room. This is not usual and I have advised my maintenance team to investigate this further as the heating was working throughout your stay. I am sorry if this spoilt any aspect of your stay with us, Best Wishes General Manager - Marine Hotel, Llandudno
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nishaparajuli wrote a review Aug 2021
Swindon, United Kingdom17 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
A very average hotel from what looks like grand from outside, but everything old and dated from inside.
We booked 2 rooms as a family of 4 and had requested adjoining rooms, but were not given such. We were told due to our rooms being sea view, the layout does not permit rooms next to each other. Rooms and toilets are old and you would not get a feel of staying in a hotel!
Due to wales still being in Covid restrictions, our rooms and toilets were not cleaned for whole 5 nights we were there. Bins were running full!
There was an abundance of same english breakfast every day and some cereal packets.
Staffs were ok, but you wouldn’t be asked how your stay’s going!
Location is great by the sea, but kids did not really get in the water as it’s full of jellyfish!
Kids weren’t impressed, we wouldn’t recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Limited parking at the back of hotel and an overflow nearby at £6 per day
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jjwebster123 wrote a review Apr 2022
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom48 contributions27 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We have recently returned from a 4 day, 3 night break to Llandudno with Caledonian Travel, staying at the Marine Hotel. Whilst the hotel and in particular the bedrooms are quite basic and require a degree of tlc, other areas like the bar and restaurant are well kept, clean and tidy. Having read numerous reviews prior to our trip, we were a little apprehensive about the quality of the food but our fears were unfounded. For each evening meal, you are given a choice of four starters, four main courses and four desserts, all of which were of excellent quality (photos as evidence 😀). Our booking was also an "inclusive" deal, so came with four drinks each across the 3 nights and were premium brands which is always a bonus. We were initially given room 101 which was unfortunately the size of a shoebox and right above the kitchen so not only was it virtually impossible to turn round in the shower cubicle or, without being too graphic, use the toilet without banging your elbows and having to sit sideways but there was also a huge industrial extractor fan which started up when the staff were obviously starting to prepare the breakfast and the noise from this was unreal. We were then eventually moved to room 216, after being advised by the less than helpful Manager (she seriously needs further training in Customer Service) that we had only booked a standard double room and she could only move us to a superior double room if we paid as she couldn't do it free of charge but had a twin, sea view room that we could have for no extra charge. New room was comfortable enough and only real problem was having to run ALL taps at the same time to get any hot water when using the shower..small niggle really. During our stay the members of staff in the hotel were friendly and helpful. The hotel is located on the seafront and within easy walking distance of local attractions and its well worth a walk along the pier and a trip up the Great Orme. We will definitely return to both Llandudno itself and the Marine Hotel
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracy H wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My friend & I booked 2 single rooms with a sea view. We booked 6 weeks in advance and checked with reception by phone that we'd have a sea view room each, could park, and a full English vegetarian breakfast including plant based sausages would be available - all prior to booking.
We were assured of all of these so booked 3 nights to include on site parking, chargeable at £6 a night, although we could have parked roadside outside the front door for the same price.
The reality was that we had to park in another car park down the road, our rooms had no view, fit to be store cupboards - not bedrooms, my room smelt unpleasant and both rooms were dingy and cramped.
We complained and were then allocated more spacious single rooms with a sea view, which is what we'd booked. Still my bathroom was cramped, you could rest your head on the sink when using the loo, the shower unit was old, broken rail, dated furniture, curtains carpet, etc etc.
There were no vegetarian sausages at breakfast 2 mornings running, apparently the 'order hadn't come in'. No mushrooms either, just baked beans, hash browns, egg & tomatoes. Meat sausages and bacon were plentiful!
Despite raising this at the desk there was no interest or solution offered from the staff. We asked what they'd expect of the rest of the customers if the meat order hadn't come in. They agreed there would be a riot.
They got some veggie sausages for the 3rd morning after I pointed out that Asdas sell them 5 minutes up the road.
By this time we'd lost confidence in them being prepared & handled seperately from the meat. The chef (if indeed he is a real chef) was so abrupt and unapologetic that we felt unsure about eating them. He brought us 2 each on the last morning, which we wrapped in napkins and fed to the gulls after checking out.
Altogether the hotel service was indifferent, careless, rude, disorganised, they fobbed us and other guests off with lame excuses & contradictory information. We overheard another guest experiencing the same as us regards vegetarian breakfast, and complaints about the food & service in general from yet more guests.
It was not good value, I'd describe it as a hostel, not a hotel. The location was pretty much its only saving grace as it was seafront and near town. The bar area was pleasant but service was very slow.
We met a lady who had stayed at the Premier Inn in a double room, spacious, with a roomy ensuite, clean, modern & up to date, with a full cooked breakfast for £66.00 a night. Our experience was the opposite, forlorn furnishings & a meagre, limited choice of vegetarian options for breakfast. We paid £76.00 a night.
No brainer, stay at the Premier Inn
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Llandudno area.
PRICE RANGE
£46 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
marine hotel llandudno
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesNorth WalesConwy CountyLlandudno
NUMBER OF ROOMS
114
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE MARINE HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about The Marine Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Marine Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Magic Bar Live Limited (0.2 miles), St. John's Methodist Church (0.2 miles), and Llandudno Promenade (0.06 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Marine Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Marine Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Marine Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Marine Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mostyn Tandoori, Indulgence Cafe, and Indulge Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Marine Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Is The Marine Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Llandudno.
Are there any historical sites close to The Marine Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Plas Mawr (2.9 miles), Smallest House in Britain (2.8 miles), and The Summit Complex (1.4 miles).
Does The Marine Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is The Marine Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Llandudno HotelsLlandudno Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LlandudnoHotels near The Marine Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire