We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Haven Hotel

161 Banks Road Sandbanks, Poole BH13 7QL England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (1145)
360
Panoramas (10)
Room & Suite (371)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#5 of 13 hotels in Poole
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Haven Hotel is a four-star beach front hideaway. Perched at the tip of the exclusive Sandbanks peninsula in Poole and surrounded by sea and sand. With direct access to seven miles of Blue Flag beaches and just a couple of minutes away from the Isle of Purbeck on the Shell Bay chain ferry, it’s your gateway to the Jurassic coast. Featuring well-appointed bedrooms, many of which have balconies and offer sea or harbour views. We believe that these naturally beautiful surroundings deserve food that’s a little special too. Acclaimed by locals, The Point Restaurant helmed by Head Chef Mark Nagle delivers an eclectic mix of cuisine. When the sun shines, our terrace is an enviable spot for alfresco dining. Why not indulge yourself in the Massage Merit Spa and then relax in the hydropool ? Whether working up a sweat in the gym or enjoying the seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool, the Haven Leisure Club is the perfect place to unwind your mind and reinvigorate your body.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Plunge pool
Shallow end in pool
Yoga classes
Yoga room
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Solarium
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Iron
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Polish
2,455Reviews26Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 773
  • 786
  • 435
  • 275
  • 186
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Abdullah A wrote a review 16 Apr
2 contributions
Amazing hotel I considered as family hotel I had excellent experience with amazing stuff and new restaurants maneger came add Amazing management he is an added value Mr Ahmed hotel location one of the best at UK NO NEED TO GO OUT just relax at beautiful balcony
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: It's quite hotel for small family who's looking for calm holidays beside that you can dine on or...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
kevinpat968 wrote a review 15 Apr
London, United Kingdom30 contributions17 helpful votes
We had a lovely overnight stay in the recently re-opened hotel. It was a superb experience, with friendly and welcoming staff and the most amazing location by the sea/harbour. We enjoyed some 'light bites' from the menu and sat in the bar area with a 180 view of the sea and harbour as the sun set - perfect!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
gavin e wrote a review 2 Apr
Southampton, United Kingdom72 contributions31 helpful votes
Had an absolutely lovely stay here, nice sea view, really nice room and all of the staff were so polite and friendly, especially the two guys in the spa and the two staff at breakfast which was excellent. We had stayed at the Nice 4 days prior and the breakfast at the Haven was in a different league, my wife is gluten intolerant and there was a good selection at the Haven on display whereas it was toast or nothing at the nice but they were 'working on it'. anyway i'm sure we'll be staying here again..
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from FJB Hotels, General Manager at Haven Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in due course.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Compass60824687454 wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
A lovely hotel with fantastic views of the sea and Poole harbour, with the benefits of spa facilities. A great place to sit and have a leisurely breakfast whilst watching the boats go by. Great location for visiting Brownsea Island, Corfe Castle and Swanage.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from FJB Hotels, General Manager at Haven Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in due course
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mari-Elena S wrote a review Oct 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Another great stay at The Haven. The view is unbeatable. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The beds are super comfortable and the rooms well appointed and very clean. Breakfast has a great selection and dinner was excellent. Really enjoyed it and hope to be back asap.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from FJB Hotels, General Manager at Haven Hotel
Responded 17 Nov 2023
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in 2024
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tracey P wrote a review Oct 2023
27 contributions10 helpful votes
Stunning location, lovely atmosphere. Some rooms redecorated really nicely. Good breakfast, self service. Nice food in evening restaurant looking out to sea! Best view from hotel balcony around the area!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from FJB Hotels, General Manager at Haven Hotel
Responded 30 Oct 2023
Thank you for kind comments, we look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Eric L wrote a review Oct 2023
Royston, United Kingdom44 contributions11 helpful votes
Had a lovely stay here. We were in a deluxe Seaview with balcony and the hotel made up two extra beds for the kids. The room was big, clean and had a good air conditioning unit. Breakfast was great, staff were very friendly and accommodating and they even stored our bikes indoors for us everyday which was a nice touch. There are some pretty nasty reviews on here about this hotel, ignore them and make up your own mind, as some people will just never be happy...
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from FJB Hotels, General Manager at Haven Hotel
Responded 30 Oct 2023
Thank you for your kind comments, we look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Graham C wrote a review Oct 2023
2 contributions2 helpful votes
The bad bits... Poor customer service No room service Pay upfront, cant charge anything to the room. Have to book a time for breakfast The smallest lift in the world ? pool is tiny very very dated The good bits... Nice location !
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Unless you want this location go somewhere else...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from FJB Hotels, General Manager at Haven Hotel
Responded 25 Oct 2023
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Alex W wrote a review Oct 2023
6 contributions
Untrained, disimisive and rude staff, we were made to feel like we didn't belong!! Absolutely awful place. The location is the only thing going for it, but doesn't make up for the rude staff, tired decor and tatty/filthy rooms. I feel sorry for people who part with their hard earned money to stay in this steaming pile of garbage hotel. Hotel is living off an old legacy, run down and abysmal. Needs to be taken over by people who actually want to welcome guests and make a stay pleasurable/restful. Also needs a makeover and then some... So many better options for a 4 star hotel, which this is not, a 2 star at a push!!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from FJB Hotels, General Manager at Haven Hotel
Responded 13 Oct 2023
Please contact me directly via mark.gregory@fjbhotels.co.uk at your convenience as I am totally unaware of your disappointing experience as is the rest of the hotel team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Adrienne F wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
Staff were all so friendly and helpful, went beyond expectations every time. We ate in the hotel restaurant both nights and the food was exceptional. The location is just beautiful, gorgeous views and right next to the chain ferry - we went over to the beaches at Studland Bay as well as accessing the beach via the hotel's private gate which was really convenient. Lovely health club with sauna, steam room and jacuzzi facilities elevated our stay too.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: There is a car park on the seafront as well as the one at the back - drive through to try there...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from FJB Hotels, General Manager at Haven Hotel
Responded 9 Oct 2023
Thank you very much for kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in due course.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Poole area.
PRICE RANGE
£161 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
haven poole, haven hotel poole
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
FJB Collection - The Haven
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDorsetPoole
NUMBER OF ROOMS
84
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HAVEN HOTEL - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Haven Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Haven Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Shell Bay (0.3 miles), Sandbanks Beach (0.5 miles), and Adam's Grave (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Haven Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Haven Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Haven Hotel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Haven Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Haven Ferry Cafe and Takeaway, Shell Bay Seafood Restaurant, and Rick Stein.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Haven Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Haven Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Haven Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Haven Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to Haven Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Russell-Cotes Art Gallery & Museum (4.1 miles), Upton Country Park (4.6 miles), and Fort Henry (2.6 miles).
Does Haven Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.