We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hotel du Vin Poole

Thames Street The Quay, Poole BH15 1JN England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (478)
Room & Suite (144)
Dining (51)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 13 hotels in Poole
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Formerly the Mansion House Hotel, situated close to Poole Quay, Hotel du Vin will open in the Summer of 2008 offering 38 bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and two meeting/dining rooms.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, German, Polish
1,812Review19Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,001
  • 478
  • 212
  • 78
  • 43
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Taxi G wrote a review 17 Apr
4 contributions
Excellent hotel and service, used for a 1 night pitstop but would certainly recommend if accommodation is needed in Poole. Staff could not be more helpful. Food was first class. The bonus being that the dog was welcomed and even had a ged supplied.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Clare Rockett, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole
Responded yesterday
Dear taxig2022, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay, I am thrilled you had a great time. Such lovely comments about the team and food, thank you. We look forward to welcoming you and the dog back to Poole when you are next in the area. Kind regards Clare
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
DCW0712 wrote a review 8 Apr
Peterborough, United Kingdom39 contributions16 helpful votes
This was a planned family reunion, postponed since December, due to Covid and travel plans. The location of the hotel was ideal for us all and the standard of the hotel and its rooms was excellent. The rooms are well equipped, including quality toiletries and ample hot drink options. The service was first rate, at the reception, bar and restaurant. However, the choice of evening meals from the menu was somewhat limited and this was made even worse by a number of the dishes not being available due to them being ‘sold out’! I think the whole party of six ended up choosing something that wouldn’t have been our first choice had the full menu been available. They even ran out of vanilla ice cream, so couldn’t fulfil our dessert orders either. For a hotel chain that prides itself on quality, there were a few other aspects that let the hotel down, such as sunflower spread being the only option available at breakfast (no butter).
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Parking at the hotel is limited and the entrance and spaces rather tight.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Clare Rockett, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole
Responded yesterday
Dear DCW0712, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback following your family reunion at the hotel. I am pleased you had a lovely stay and the team went out of their way to make sure you had a great time. I have taken on board your feedback regarding the out of stock items and limited menus and these have been addressed with the kitchen & bistro team to ensure they are catering and ordering items to ensure guest's are not left let down. We have changed our menu this week and there is a better selection of some amazing French classics. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Hotel du vin Poole, soon. Kind regards Clare
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nekeram wrote a review 1 Apr
Buckingham, United Kingdom141 contributions86 helpful votes
Stayed at the hotel for one night before travelling further down Dorset. All the staff are friendly and professional. The hotel is quirky in a good way and tastefully decorated. We ate in the restaurant for evening dinner and breakfast, the food was 5 star!! Cooked and served with perfection. We stayed in a classic double, had lovely toiletries and plenty of tea and coffee on the hostess tray. We would definitely return to this wonderful quaint hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Clare Rockett, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole
Responded yesterday
Dear Nekeram, Thank you for such lovely comments following your recent stay with us. We are thrilled you had a great stay and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Dorset. Kind regards Clare
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Cathy M wrote a review Mar 2024
London, United Kingdom53 contributions13 helpful votes
Check-in was efficient and friendly and the room was very nice and a generous size. Zack makes an excellent negroni. Unfortunately, tables in the bar and restaurant were not cleared in a timely manner and when they were cleared, the tables themselves were not always cleaned properly (sticky, glass marks, spilled drink left on the table.) We were also not too impressed with breakfast. The buffet bit was ok although at a hotel of this stature, I would expect the bread to be of a higher quality than mass-produced, pre-sliced out of a plastic bag. The cooked breakfast tasted ok but 0 points for presentation. And, the salmon and scrambled eggs was a very meagre portion. It’s a premium price and I do not think delivered a premium experience.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Clare Rockett, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole
Responded yesterday
Dear 43cathym, Thank you for your valued feedback, I have taken you comments on board and discussed areas of improvement with the catering team. It is a real shame we could not get the simple things right on this occasion and following your comments the team will be able to improve their service and hopefully if you return to the hotel the changes will be noticeable. Thank you once again for leaving your feedback. Kind regards. Clare
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
AnnNelson wrote a review Mar 2024
bournemouth62 contributions12 helpful votes
We booked for Sunday lunch, and now wish we hadn't. Admittedly, we reserved a table for 12.30, unusually early, but waited over 5 minutes for anyone to appear. Eventually, we were greeted very casually, and asked about a drink. The bar and bistro were obviously not ready for customers. The buffet starter had some very nice smoked salmon and salads, but my husband wanted the soup. There wasn't any. The roast beef was ok, and the vegetables were plentiful, but we prefer broccoli to be cooked, not raw. Desserts saved the day. Lovely crumble and custard, and a delicious chocolate pot. My Cabernet Sauvignon was fine, but my husband wanted Chardonnay. The only one available was £18.50 fot a large glass!! Would we return? No. The bill of £120 was not justified.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Clare Rockett, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Annnelso, Thank you for your feedback following your lunch with us yesterday. I am sorry to read your feedback, although there seem to be some good points which have not been reflected in your 1 star score. I am happy to take your constructive feedback on board, as it is important we use this to ensure we are making improvements. I would like to point out the soup was on the buffet table for guests to help themselves to, yesterdays soup was Mushroom and Artichoke, and I received positive feedback about it from other diners. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and would ask if you are dining with us again, please let me know so that I can ensure you are looked after. Kind regards Clare
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
robert S wrote a review Mar 2024
Spain7 contributions2 helpful votes
Not sure why the restaurant at this Hotel has now dropped to such low standards & we were regular locals, we recently went on a Friday night & it was virtually deserted with only a few tables with clients ... it used to be very busy so presumed something must have changed .... it certainly has, the food was of a very low standard & just a few waiting staff. It did not help that the waiter tried to give us the menus at the table before we even took out coats off & we were still standing up. The quality of our meal was very poor, expensive for what it was & mostly reheated & tasteless, sadly it was not an enjoyable night & no atmosphere in the empty restaurant, the only thing they got right was the high cost of the bill, even when we left the bar area was dead & thats on a Friday night. Would we go back .... NO.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The hotel restaurant was always popular, nice staff & decent food, thats no longer the case, the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Clare Rockett, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear robertsD6956CS, Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review and I am sorry to hear that you did not have the best experience. I can assure you that all out dishes are prepared and cooked to order, I will pass your comments on to the chef. As you can appreciate feedback such as your is disappointing, I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your feedback in more detail, if you would like to contact me. We work hard to ensure we meet guest expectations and clearly on this occasion we have let ourselves down. Thank you again for taking the time to write to us and I look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards Clare
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Anthony H wrote a review Feb 2024
16 contributions16 helpful votes
You go-to a hotel after reading the reviews and think that it will be amazing. Checkin was good and we were shown to our room. The room was cool so we put the heating on but after a good hour, still no heat so we rang reception and they came up and had a look. The manager then reset the system downstairs and there was a trickle of heat coming through. We were going out for dinner so they put a couple of heaters in the room which did the trick. Also the bathroom towel rail didn't work so we had damp towels for the whole stay. We raised this and was told, "we will put that on the maintenance list" Breakfast wasn't that impressive either. Poor selection of pastries. My partner tried the banana bread and found it quite dry. I found the hollandaise sauce a little over vinegary. In addition to this the table rocked like a ship on the high seas! As no one came to check on us, feedback wasn't given at the time. Despite all of this.... The bed was really comfy, the chairs and other furniture was good too. My expectations are high. I expect rooms to be well maintained and comfortable. This time they missed the mark. They didn't charge us for breakfast due to the room issues. However was charged for parking when there was no signs or mention of a charge at check in.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Clare Rockett, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Anthony H, Thank you for your recent feedback, I am sorry to hear your stay was not quite what you expected and that we fell short of your expectations. I will follow up your feedback with the team so we can ensure these issues with the heating and towels rails are fixed to ensure future guest are not effected by the same issues. I'm sorry you were not offered fresh towels as a resolution to your complaint. I am also sorry to hear breakfast was not up to the standard you expected and I will ensure the feedback about the hollandaise and banana bread is given to Chef so he can ensure the team are following the correct standards in preparing the dishes. On a side note car parking charges are advertised on our website and third party sites and the team do explain to guests when checking in as well, I am sorry they missed this when you checked in with us. Please let me know if you are planning a future stay with us so I can make sure you have a great experience. Best wishes. Clare
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rachel C wrote a review Feb 2024
3 contributions2 helpful votes
Absolutely beautiful hotel. Stunning room and very comfortable. Staff were so welcoming and helpful. We decided to eat our evening meal out however wish we had eaten at the hotel. Will definitely be returning. Of note the Drinks are a little pricey.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Clare Rockett, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole
Responded 15 Feb 2024
Dear rachelcX4249CP, Thank you for your lovely feedback, we are so please you had a lovely stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon. Kind regards Clare
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
John P wrote a review Jan 2024
2 contributions2 helpful votes
As a regular stopover user of this Hotel including companies I manage hosting business breakfasts regularly, it is hard to not to be disappointed when the front of bar staff laugh and mock you after your return from Rick Steins in Sandbanks with clients as residents that as you miss the bell at 11.30 you are out of time for nightcap drink. I accept the rules but the cocky barman laughing and saying tough luck puts this place on a map of one to avoid for businesses locally who want to bring in business to Dorset….spend your extra on a £10 taxi and stay at a better welcoming venue.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Clare Rockett, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole
Responded 29 Jan 2024
Dear John P, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback after a disappointing experience in our bar. It was hard to read your comments and I will be following up your feedback with the team in the Bar as there behavior is far from acceptable. I would like to discuss you feedback in person if you could contact me by email at clare.rockett@hotelduvin.com. I am really sorry you have had to experience this service from my team and I would like to reassure you these behaviors and standards are not what I expect from them. Thank you again for leaving your feedback. Kind regards Clare
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Victoria Greene wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
Stayed for once again for one night to be close to the Condor terminal, can’t fault anything, rooms big bright and spacious, staff can’t do enough for you and the food amazing! In the Bistro get Ann as your waitress, she’s so friendly and nothing is too much trouble, she remembers us from our first stay! Keep up the good work Ann you’re amazing! Thank you once again for a lovely stay, we will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Not loads of parking and it is £10 a night but it’s right outside the door and has CCTV
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Clare Rockett, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole
Responded 29 Jan 2024
Dear sark2013, Thank you for leaving us your lovely review following your stay with us. The hotel's location is ideal for those traveling from Poole on the Condor or Brittany ferry to France. I look forward to sharing your feedback with the team and in particular Ann who looked after you so well. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future. Kind regards Clare
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Poole area.
PRICE RANGE
£110 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mansion house poole
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDorsetPoole
NUMBER OF ROOMS
38
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL DU VIN POOLE - Updated 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel du Vin Poole
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel du Vin Poole?
Nearby attractions include Birds of Poole Harbour Events (0.1 miles), Poole Museum and Scaplen's Court Museum and Herb Garden (0.06 miles), and Poole Harbour (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel du Vin Poole?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel du Vin Poole?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel du Vin Poole?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel du Vin Poole?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel du Vin Poole?
Conveniently located restaurants include Renoufs Poole, Nusara, and Oriel On The Quay.
Is Hotel du Vin Poole located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the centre of Poole.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel du Vin Poole?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel du Vin Poole?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel du Vin Poole offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel du Vin Poole?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, and Polish.