We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Campanile Wakefield

Traveller (111)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (14)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
See why so many travellers make Campanile Wakefield their hotel of choice when visiting Wakefield. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a budget friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you. Nostell Priory and Parkland (2.7 km), located nearby, makes Campanile Wakefield a great place to stay for those interested in visiting this popular Wakefield landmark. Guest rooms include many amenities such as a flat screen TV, a telephone, and a desk. The property boasts breakfast, to help make your stay more enjoyable. If you are driving, free parking is available, and while at Campanile Wakefield, guests can go online with wifi. During your visit, be sure to check out one of Wakefield's popular fish and chips restaurants such as Fox and Hounds, The Kaye Arms, and The Three Houses, all a short distance from Campanile Wakefield. If you’re looking for something to do, Pugneys Country Park (0.9 km), The Hepworth Wakefield (1.6 km), and Theatre Royal Wakefield (1.9 km) are a nice way to spend some time, and they are all within walking distance of Campanile Wakefield. At Campanile Wakefield, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to Wakefield.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Hotel
Paid Wifi
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Room features
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
50Car recommended
Grade: 50 out of 100
407Restaurantswithin 5 miles
91Attractionswithin 5 miles
358Reviews
134Photos
4Q+A
58Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 35
  • 74
  • 94
  • 53
  • 102
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Just awful. Felt like a refugee from a 70s tv show about prison. Bed was uncomfortable, bathroom had mould on the ceiling and between tiles and a dirty shower curtain. No plug sockets. Stained carpet. Crap breakfast.
Read more
Response from Gillian D, General Manager at Campanile Wakefield
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear guest, thank you for your feedback which is very important to us and I am sorry that you were not happy with your stay. It is not clear from your comments if you raised any issues with my team. If you had, then we could have investigated your concerns. With regard to breakfast, we provide a cooked to order fresh Full English Breakfast which we receive very positve feedback on so many occasions. A cooked to order breakfast provides a favourable fresh alternative to other hotels who only offer a buffet breakfast.The starter and continental choices include a wide variety of choices including yoghurts, continental meats and cheeses, toast, crumpets, freshly baked croissants, muffins and fruit teacakes and various cereals. There are plug sockets in the room and these are located beside the kettle socket and there is a directional sign on the desk. We are currently refurbishing bedrooms and have completed 30 as part of a rolling program and will be completing more this year. Our public areas are also completed and we now have a great space for guests to enjoy, food and drink or simply to relax in, in front of our great log burning strove. Yours sincerely Gillian Douglas General Manager
Read more
The accommodation is like some 1960's Butlin's camp. The stairwells and verandahs need some maintenance, the rooms were defiantly no better as they were very outdated. The staff though were polite and the bedding was clean. The sound of cars drag racing unfortunately went on
Read more
Response from Gillian D, General Manager at Campanile Wakefield
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear guest, thank you for your very important feedback and I am sorry that you had a poor experience for your stay with us. I was pleased to learn that the staff were polite and and the room and bedding clean- we endeavour to work to high standards. The layout of the hotel is unusual in that it is American in style with the bedrooms seperate from the main hotel reception and restaurant. We have however refurbished 30 of our rooms but cannot complete them all at once and as a part of a rolling program will continue with more this year which includes new beds, paintwork adn carpets. We report external noise to the police who always assit if there is a problem althogh this is not a regular occurance here. You will be aware of the spped bumps which put off such activity. We do hope to welcome you back and hope that you will enjoy one of our refurbished rooms. The plan does include external areas. You may not be aware but the main hotel has been completed and looks fresh and attractive and the restaurant and bar has been completed too and offers a great space to enjoy food and drink. KInd regards Gillian Douglas General Manager
Read more
Booked one night New Years Eve. Friendly receptionist quick check in. The room was basic but clean and warm. The bed was very comfortable. Tea & coffee supplied. Bathroom was small and could have done with more towels but decent shower. All in all good value for money.
Read more
Response from Gillian D, General Manager at Campanile Wakefield
Responded 9 Jan 2019
Dear guest, Thank you for your positive feedback and I am delighted that you found the hotel to offers great value and that you had a good New Years Eve! I acknowledge your comments about the towel offering, the company standard is two bath towels per room and whilst there is no provision for hand towels we can always offer more on request. I hope to welcome you again in the future and meantime whish you all the very best for 2019! Kindest regards Gillian Douglas General Manager
Read more
+3
Okay positive points, it was cheap, receptionist friendly, the sheets were clean, and the room was fairly clean. However it is extremely outdated, I understand there is a refurbishment ongoing however ours was unfortunately not one of the completed rooms. The room was very
Read more
Response from Gillian D, General Manager at Campanile Wakefield
Responded 21 Dec 2018
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay with us and firstly may I convery how your comments are taken very seriously and I take on board all our guest comments and where possible make the requiremed improvements. You are right, that the hotel is not as new as some other locally siutated hotels but we do endeavour to ensure that the standard of cleanliness is excellent. I have addressed the issues which you raise about the room with my Housekeeper and maintenance deparment to ensure that this room receives the neccessary work to it in order to improve the comfort to the bedroom. As such I have ear-marked this room as one to be in the next phase of decoration which will start in January. You rightly state that we are currently refurbishing our rooms and unfortunatlly we are uanble to complete all rooms at once but 30 have been completed and these inlcude great new Hypnos beds, new carpets and refreshed paintwork. Whilst the location is on an industrial estate, it offers a much quieter location to city centre hotels and also includes great carparking facilities. You may have noteiced that the public areas have been refurbished and we offer a great space for guests to enjoy food and drink and in the winter of course this includes our wonderful wood burner which provides a cosy space for guests to relax in. I do hope to welcome you back in the future and please request a refurbished room. Kindest regards and warm wishes froma wonderful Festive Season. Gillian Douglas General Manager
Read more
We like this place. We stay alot just for a break away from life. It has a motel feel about it, which we like. Bed comfy and hot shower. Staff friendly and courteous. Late check out is an added bonus.
Read more
Response from Gillian D, General Manager at Campanile Wakefield
Responded 16 Dec 2018
Thank you for your feedback as this is important to us. We are happy you enjoy staying with us and wish to see you in the future.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Business Centre & Event Rooms
Bathroom and wardrobe
PreviousNext
123456
Thank you for your kind feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Gill Douglas General Manager
0 votes
Show all answers
I think telling porkies and sticking their heads in the sand over just how bad Campaniles Head of UK Operations has allowed this hotel to become over the last few years is the only way they get reservations. There is no help for this hotel and they know it, so they'll just keep taking in guests until they are forcibly closed.
1 vote
Show all answers
We serve breakfast from 6.30am until 9.30 continental or full English offering great value.
1 vote
Show all answers
"Avoid this at all cost."
"You can ask for a refurbished room but I didn't."
"Quiet night's sleep, clean and adequate."
"not here thats all"
"We had a total of 6 rooms on the first floor & all were very good."
PreviousNext
12345612
PRICE RANGE
US$38 - US$60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
campanile wakefield hotel wakefieldcampanile hotel wakefield
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireWest YorkshireWakefield
NUMBER OF ROOMS
77
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing