We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

B&B at The Winchester Arms

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
B&B at The Winchester Arms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 130: English reviews
Start your review of B&B at The Winchester Arms
 Click to rate
Somerset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We went here on a Monday thinking it would be a reasonable night but the whole place was rammed with drinkers and eaters which was really good knowing a pub out of town was really busy. The food was one if not the best we have all had. The food was so delicious and very filling, the chef must write...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thed0glady
Bath
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our stay, the room and shared bathroom and toilet were clean and well furnished. Pub food was fantastic. All staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast delicious. Only negative point is the sound travelled to our room so we could clearly hear people chatting and laughing until 1am. As we were with a young daughter that sleeps through anything,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsPBath
seeking only the best
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed four months ago and really wanted to stay for an event again. Our room was lovely. Breakfast really good cooked for us by Hannah who has one of the funny laughs we have ever heard. Try and listen out for this. The evening meal really lovely. The staff really cannot do enough to help. Patrick and his team...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Goldiehawn
Somerset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came here for an evening meal as we heard it was the place to go and for sure it was that. We all enjoyed our experience the food was the best we had. The brilliant chose of beers lagers wines were outstanding. The waitress was very friendly even know she was young. The barman was very friendly and chatty....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ladyvicky2017
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stopping here for an overnight break in our journey from the West Country to Derbyshire was definitely a good decision. The first thing we noticed was that everything is spotlessly clean: our room, the en-suite, the toilets, the dining room tables… even the table mats showed no sign of a finger mark! And yet there was still a pleasant homely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OldWoodie42
Somerset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We came for Sunday lunch which was also our first time of visiting this pub. We were greeted with being told they were a chef down, we first of all thought great. But to be honest we wouldn't have been none the wiser. We all ordered roast beef which was good, and ordered puddings, which were ok. Unfortunately the meal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 83cheeky
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We ate here as a family group of 10, the bar was busy but this did not affect the service or the quality of the food. the steak baguette with pepper sauce was immense. all other meals the plates were cleared and a much needed walk was needed after.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank G-Manager07
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

Have been here for lunch a few times recently. Lovely cosy country pub with nice food and good value for money. Very family friendly and the staff make you feel very welcome. Will definitely be back soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gremlin35
Reviewed 29 December 2016

£100 plus dinner for 6 people. Only one of the main courses was good the rest were mediocre to poor (overcooked burgers and duck breast, greasy fried fish and tasteless speciality fish dish). Shame as nice venue and friendly staff/service but let down hugely by the poor quality of the food. .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hugh L
Patrick M, Owner at B&B at The Winchester Arms, responded to this review

I am really concerned by this review. I have checked through our records and the only time we have served a table with anything approaching this selection of meals was on 27th December and the customers concerned left a £21 tip. It is a policy that we regularly check back with our customers during their meals to ensure that everything...

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 December 2016

We arrived, having previously booked and ordered our meals as it was Christmas week, and were quickly greeted and seated. We ordered drinks at the table which arrived promptly and sat chatting while we awaited our starters. The starters arrived and looked delicious, the table was set with cutlery and Christmas crackers and the food looked delicious. One of our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tonia W

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
5.3 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
364 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
762 reviews
1.9 mi away
Blorenge House
Blorenge House
#9 of 17 in Taunton
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about B&B at The Winchester Arms

Address: Church Road, Trull, Taunton TA3 7LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Price Range: £49 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — B&B at The Winchester Arms 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your B&B at The Winchester Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Winchester Arms Public House Hotel Taunton
B&B At The Winchester Arms Taunton, Somerset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from B&B at The Winchester Arms staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from B&B at The Winchester Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All are good”
 of 5 bubbles Goldiehawn, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All are good as this is a lovely quiet location”
 of 5 bubbles Goldiehawn, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Didn't stay here just had a meal.”
 of 5 bubbles Y8498EHjenniferh, 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
“room 6 is downstairs so no stairs to climb”
 of 5 bubbles oldmanoftheroad, 23 Apr 2016 | Read review
“room 6 has it's own separate entrance - and away from the bar area”
 of 5 bubbles 118MikeS118, 26 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5