We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mount Somerset Hotel

Traveller (255)
360
Panoramas (9)
Room & Suite (291)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The Mount Somerset Hotel and Spa in Taunton, Somerset is a stunning Regency country house hotel, set in four acres of beautiful grounds. This grand dame of a building sits high upon her mount, cradled in between the Quantock and Blackdown Hills, affording guests some of the best views in Somerset. With its high ceilings, sweeping spiral staircase, opulent decor and a feeling of gentle elegance and luxury, The Mount Somerset has all the characteristics of a quintessential English Regency mansion. Well established as one of the finest luxury hotels and restaurants in the region, The Mount Somerset has won a host of awards including three AA Rosettes for outstanding cuisine and four red AA stars for comfort and hospitality, making it the perfect venue for a dinner, a weekend away or a wedding in Somerset.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Restaurant
Room service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Banquet Room
Dry Cleaning
Hot Tub
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Sauna
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Historic Hotel
HOTEL CLASS
821Reviews
640Photos
4Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 427
  • 216
  • 91
  • 62
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Stayed here for 2 nights to visit family nearby & had a lovely time. Our deluxe room was spacious & had a sitting room & large bathroom. Dinner on Friday night was excellent; several complimentary dishes served before the main meal, which was all tasty & well presented. Good
Read more
Response from MountManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Angie N, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, it's nice to hear that everything was to your liking in the room and that you enjoyed the dining experience with us on the Friday dinner and also at Breakfast. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind Regards
Read more
+3
Stayed here for one night with my Husband. We had had a large Deluxe Room, supplied with robes, slippers, hairdryer, towels, toiletries, kettle with tea, coffee, hot chocolate, also some cookies, a jar of sweets & two apples! WiFi is free of charge. We booked ourselves a
Read more
Response from MountManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Rockeydm, Many thanks for the review, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the the staff looked after you so well during your stay. Thank you for the useful details of your stay for future guests it certainly will help them to know what they going to experience here at the hotel. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards
Read more
came here for a work event - quiet elegance and comfortable surroundings - somewhere we would consider returning to. The rooms are very comfortable, the service perfunctory and excellent. Somewhere we would consider returning to.
Read more
Response from MountManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear MortimerLake, Many thanks for the review, we are delighted that we made your stay with us comfortable and we do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future maybe for a leisure stay next time if not for work. Kind Regards
Read more
Was so disappointed that when I booked to spend my mums birthday here for afternoon tea, they didn't know how to cater properly for her. They gave her fruit 4 ways, a tiny dry scone and 3 sandwich fingers... it was mums birthday and she didn't eat. The sandwiches were fine but
Read more
Response from MountManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear ykirby97, Thank you for taking the time to review, as you have mentioned your feedback was passed on that day to the kitchen team and we are sorry that you did not find the selection for your mum's afternoon tea to your expectations. We are glad to know that your disappointment was reflected on the day, we do pride ourselves on catering for all dietary requirements here at the hotel whilst maintaining using local and in house produced products but again our apologies if you did not find the selection presented to standard we will use your comments to review the offering moving forward. Kind Regards
Read more
We stayed at the Mount Somerset Hotel, we booked the garden room with a hot tub, lovely hotel, nice grounds and excellent staff. Nice welcome on arrival, showed to our room, large, spacious, well equipped and beautifully presented. Hot tub was clean, quite new and boiling hot.
Read more
Response from MountManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Stevesarahparry, Many thanks for the review and comments, it's great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us in the hot tub room they are very popular! Nice to read that hotel overall impressed you especially the staff looking after you so well and also the food. We hope to welcome you back in the near future and hopefully you can get to try the Spa. Kind Regards
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Business Centre & Event Rooms
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe Mount Somerset Hotel
The Durston at The Mount Somerset Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe Mount Somerset Hotel
The Barrington at The Mount Somerset Hotel
The Henlade Room
Dies ist ein Deluxe-Room
Bathroom and view from the room
PreviousNext
12345658
What times does the restaurant serve food?
Hello, I was wondering if any of your double rooms have TV/DVD? Many thanks, Adam
Hi Adam, all our rooms have TVs and we can arrange a DVD player in your room if you require it!
0 votes
Show all answers
"Our room Donyatt was a lovely room but overlooked the smoking area; the smoke smell was apparent if the window was open."
"go for the hot tub room if you smoke as it has its own outside terrace."
"Best views are from the rooms at the front of the house or at the garden side"
"Suites offer the best views of the grounds, have fantastic space and amenities and are well worth the money!"
"Rooms at the front have outstanding views."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$119 - US$290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mount somerset hotelmount somerset taunton
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandTaunton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing