We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Brookfield House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Brookfield House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

357 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 349: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My girlfriend and I stayed at Brookfield House on Saturday 14th January and we had a very pleasant stay. Ian welcomed us in and showed us to our room, having upgraded us to a bigger room because the guest house was quiet that night. The room was clean and spacious with all the basic amenities provided and plenty of toiletries...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cjohno01
Jill and Ian R, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this review

Dear Craig, We would both like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for taking the time to give us such a lovely review regarding your recent stay with us at Brookfield House. We are so pleased to hear you found your accommodation comfortable and enjoyed your breakfast. It was a pleasure to meet with you both and...

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very friendly, efficient,very helpful as we needed to book in at 11 am. room clean comfortable. And warm Breakfast full selection of fruit juices and cereal plus full English exceptional. Would definitely use this accommodation again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank terry_j_wood39
Jill and Ian R, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this review

Dear June, We would both like to take this opportunity to thank you kindly for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay with us a Brookfield House. It was a pleasure to be able to accommodate you during your visit and were especially pleased to hear you found everything to your liking. We will look...

Taipei
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here. Ian and Jill are very friendly and helpful. They even helped us to bring the big luggages upstairs. Rooms have all the basic essentials and clean. Breakfast was wonderful that we will miss. I will come back again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank remaerd2016
Jill and Ian R, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this review

Dear Elaine, Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review regarding your recent stay with us at Brookfield House. It was lovely seeing you again and meeting all your family during your visit to Taunton which we hope you enjoyed. We will look very much forward to welcoming you back again in the near future....

Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent hotel. Clean and comfortable within walking distance of the centre of Taunton. Breakfast is cooked to order with a wide selection. Would recommend to anyone looking for a small hotel rather than the large chain hotel groups.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank pack2017
Jill and Ian R, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this review

Dear Paul, We would both like to take this opportunity to thank you kindly for taking the time to give us such a lovely positive review regarding your recent stay with us again at Brookfield House. It is always such a pleasure to be able to welcome you back and we will look forward to seeing you again on your...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked and paid via third party website. Was advised to call if arriving late. Rang the owner who was bullying and overbearing. She interrupted constantly and was aggressive; she cancelled the Booking! Not worth the rudeness!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nick G
Jill and Ian R, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this review

Dear Nick G We very much regret you have felt it necessary to write a review regarding our recent telephone conversation. Trip Adviser have advised us to respond to your comments and tell our side of the story especially as you did not stay with us at Brookfield House. You made a reservation with us via a third party website...

United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is probably one of the best B&B's that we have ever stayed in and we really couldn't fault it. Onsite parking, friendly hosts and a lovely cosy feeling to the house upon our arrival. Everything was spotless, room very comfortable and an excellent breakfast with a wonderful bowl of homemade porridge welcomed us in the morning. We will definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elvisrulesok
Jill and Ian R, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this review

Dear Guests, We would both like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for kindly taking the time to give us such a lovely review regarding your recent stay with us at Brookfield House. It was a pleasure to meet you both and be able to accommodate you during your visit to Taunton. We were so pleased to...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2016

Brookfield House is to be highly recommended for the excellent standard of accommodation, the delicious breakfast and the geniality of the host, Ian. This will be my guesthouse of choice for any future visits to Taunton.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stellak143
Jill and Ian R, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this review

Dear Stella, We would like to thank you very much for kindly taking the time to write us such a lovely review regarding your recent stay with us at Brookfield House. Your comments are most appreciated. It was a pleasure to be able to accommodate you both and we will look forward to welcoming you back again should you need...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2016

This is a very friendly, clean and comfortable hotel. We were very kindly upgraded to a superior double with kingsize bed. My partner is very tall, so this was appreciated. Also, the bed was free of a footboard, which helps when you're tall. The room was a little on the small size. However, it was lovely and warm, with a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz_H_13183
Jill and Ian R, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this review

Dear Liz, We would both like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for all your very positive and lovely comments regarding your recent stay with us at Brookfield House. It was a pleasure to be able to accommodate you both during your visit to Taunton and especially pleasing to hear you found everything to your liking. Your...

Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 November 2016

Jill and Ian are so friendly and helpful. Bedrooms are comfortable and well furnished., food is great and plenty to choose from. Close to all the amenities.Everything was great. Thank you both for your consideration.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elsiehardy1934
Jill and Ian R, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this review

Dear Elsie, We would both like to take this opportunity to thank you kindly for taking the time to write us a review regarding your stay with us at Brookfield House. It is most pleasing to hear you found everything to your liking and we do hope we may be able to welcome you back with us again in the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Centrally located with easy walk to restaurants etc; clean, comfortable and very well maintained older property; great breakfast and attentive, friendly but non-fussy service. What more do you want??!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian M M
Jill and Ian R, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this review

Dear Brian, Thank you so much for kindly taking the time to write us a review with regard to your recent stay with us at Brookfield House. It was a pleasure to be able to accommodate you both and we were pleased to hear you found everything to your liking and the location convenient during your visit. We will of...

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.4 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
599 reviews
5.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
761 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Brookfield House is situated in the centre of Taunton, this charming house is beautifully set within a grade II listed Georgian property. It offers free parking and free Wi-Fi.All of the bright, traditionally furnished rooms at Brookfield feature private en suite bathrooms with Mira showers. The rooms are complimented with having flatscreen Freeview TV's.Hair dryer & Tea/Coffee facilities. Guests can also enjoy full English breakfasts or evening meals made with fresh, local produce in the elegant dining room.Centrally placed to explore the surrounding area, Musgrove Park Hospital, the County Court, SCAT & Cricket Ground are all found nearby. Furthermore, Brookfield House is within easy walking distance of both the bus and coach station. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Brookfield House

Address: 16 Wellington Road, Taunton TA1 4EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Price Range: £81 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brookfield House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Brookfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookfield Hotel Taunton
Brookfield House Taunton, Somerset
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
#1 Business Hotel in Taunton
#1 Family Hotel in Taunton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Brookfield House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are of a high standard”
 of 5 bubbles Edwards13552, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the front look over the main road and can be noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles TonyW844, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Pay attention to the book I time and also let the owners know prior if you have a car,”
 of 5 bubbles WillH873, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If you are driving to the hotel, let the hotel know well in advance, as there is very limited parking. ”
 of 5 bubbles Kingi8713, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“A very comfortable bed in a small but adequate sized room for one person.”
 of 5 bubbles francesb94, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay