Karema
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Karema

Breakfast bar
Traveller (34)
Room & Suite (8)
Poached eggs on gluten free toast
Dining (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#14 of 27 guest houses in Skegness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Family run bed and breakfast accommodation, Coeliacs catered for as owner is a Coeliac herself plus other dietary requirements . Katema has a guest lounge, all rooms ensuite, 4 double, 2 family (1 double and 1 single), 1 twin room (2 single beds) and 1 single room. doubles are situated on the top floor (no lift) We are situated in a quiet location yet are five minute walk to the beach and 10 minutes from the town centre, within easy walking distance to restaurants, pubs, fish and chip shops, the Embassy The Seal Santury and amusements
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Room features
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

17 Sunningdale Drive, Skegness PE25 1BB England
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 82 out of 100
82
Humberside Airport
41.4 mi
See all flights
Birmingham Intl Airport
99.8 mi
See all flights
132Reviews0Q+A23Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 100
  • 19
  • 7
  • 3
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Dave H wrote a review Aug 2022
Nottingham, United Kingdom213 contributions130 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I've stayed at the Karema a number of times and each time gets better.
Such a warm genuine welcome from Liz the owner. Straight away asked if I wanted a cup of tea or coffee which came with biscuits and a friendly chat.
I stayed in a single room which was big, great shower, kettle with mini fridge with fresh milk, TV and a very comfy bed.
Location is on a quiet road but only short walk to the promenade. Was lovely to hear the hearing gulls in the morning proper seaside noise.
The breakfast was amazing freshly cooked, lashings of toast, cereals tea or coffee in a lovely dinning room.
The price was a winner too.
Thank you Liz for a brilliant stay
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Liz Collier, Owner at Karema
Responded 12 Aug 2022
Thank you David for such a great review. It was really lovely to see you again and look forward to your visit next year Take care Liz
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
angiehay17 wrote a review Aug 2023
Lowestoft, United Kingdom2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely welcoming couple who run the b&b, room had everything needed inc, tea, coffee, kettle, fridge (with milk and bottled water) and toiletries in the bathroom.
Lovely breakfast with plenty of choice, cereals, juice, toast and fabulous full English.
Good location and on road parking was always available nearby.
Would recommend Karema as very reasonable and friendly, Thankyou liz and Ian
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Liz Collier, Owner at Karema
Responded 23 Aug 2023
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review, it is greatly appreciated. It was lovely to meet you both, take care Liz
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Levi K wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Well our holiday got off to a bad start due to lastminute.com messing us around on the original room we wanted absolute nightmare never book with them. Liz really helped us out right from the off getting in touch and sorting the problem herself.she made all of us feel very welcome room was spotless breakfast was lovely couldn't fault the place even if I tried would come back without a doubt honestly lie and Ian were 2 of the nicest people I have met.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Liz Collier, Owner at Karema
Responded 27 Aug 2020
Thank you for your great review. It was lovely to meet you all and pleased you all managed to be able to enjoy your time in Skegness in the end Hope to see you again in the future
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Solena H wrote a review Apr 2024
1 contribution
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stopped at Karema Skegness Guest House on 29th March 2024 for 5 nights, on arrival we was shown to a double room on the front of the property on entering it was very cold and had a very strong smell of damp, the door to the toilet/shower room was a plastic concertina door which was broken, television control was very dirty not cleaned for a while, bedding was all pulled, road was noisy & to top it off we were above someone that was speaking very loud and could clearly hear the conversation. We was in the room for 20 mins before my partner asked to be moved!!! We were shown another room on the back of the property which seemed more quiet..... until the next morning at 6AM when we was woken up, you could here an older couple talking about who was going to look after there dog while there away!!! OMG
So my partner politely knocked to see if they could keep noise down a little. That day that couple must of left & we went out for the day . When we arrived back on the afternoon Lin the owner was talking in her living room to 2 ladies with 2 children (1 baby & 1 toddler) she must of known them, it was to our surprise that Lin had put them under us knowing my partner finds it hard to sleep as we told her this on day 1. I found this very 2 faced of her. We had screaming & crying from both children every day.
The back room we stayed in the air vent was papered over, wardrobe smelt of damp, pine headboard had been sawed off a pine bed and screwed to the wall, pillow had bad yellow stains all over it, all in all I would never stop here again, I can't understand how they have got the ratings for this property??
We left a day early due to all the negativity from our stay. Spend your hard earned money on another guest house, please take my advise.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: My advise please check out other guest houses, as this guest house was my worst stay ever 😠...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Liz Collier, Owner at Karema
Responded 2 weeks ago
I have never stated we are not family friendly, in fact it states we are on the booking sites and they had a booking here they had already paid for. The best solution when booking is to phone the business first to check if adult only, though to be fair, some adults make more noise then children. I would have preferred you had spoken to me direct
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Claire S wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just stayed for two nights in the family room. Lovely hosts, nice and quiet street.

Lots of items in the room such as kettle with tea, coffee, biscuits. A mini fridge with bottled water and milk. Bathroom had lots of toiletries too.

Breakfast was lovely, cooked to order with lots of other options too like cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurt, pastries.

We would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Liz Collier, Owner at Karema
Responded 14 Aug 2023
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review . So pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you all again
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
402mags wrote a review Oct 2021
Barnsley, United Kingdom1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at Karema bed and breakfast and found it to be very nice. Breakfasts were to die for and hosts very friendly.
Rooms were clean. It is situated ideally near the sea front and near the town centre.
We were going to a diamond wedding do at the Ship inn which was just up the road so it was only a short walk.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Liz Collier, Owner at Karema
Responded 17 Oct 2021
Thank you for such a lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you both again on the future
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rob j wrote a review Sept 2021
Romford, United Kingdom9 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
1st time in Skegness and couldn't have picked a better place to stay.
Breakfast was cooked to how we wanted it,and plenty of choice.
Room was large enough and very comfortable,with a fridge in,which was a bonus.good wi fi. Plenty of parking ,either on the front or outside on the road. Liz and Caroline, both lovely people,and very helpful.
Plenty of pubs and restaurants within walking distance. Steak and stuff 2 mins away served excellent food.
We will definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Liz Collier, Owner at Karema
Responded 28 Sept 2021
Thank you for your lovely review
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
george l wrote a review Jul 2013
Whiting Bay, United Kingdom23 contributions29 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
we visited for 3 nights in july on the advert it boasts arrive as a guest leave as a friend sorry not true room 9 you couldent swing a cat in it the toilet was tiny room stuffy my son and daughter were in room 2 every time you flushed the toilet it was like a fog horn going of you could hear it in the lounge this room has 2 single beds in it so both people can not watch tv while in bed on arrival at 11pm we were met at the door by a man in bare feet and smelling of drink we had a 500ml bottle of water in each room between 2 people when asked to replenish the water after 1st night we were met with the answer of yes we can give you water but we will have to charge you is that ok!!!!! what a cheek most places I have stayed in replace water every night
the food was average . only served between 8.30 and 9 am every day take it or leave it
parking 9 rooms 3 parking spaces there are also 3 more up the side which you are not able to get into
sorry but 4 star no chance I would say 2 star
good points yes there are a couple nice quiet area and a short walk to the front
if I was the owners I would reduce the number of rooms to make them bigger and get the plumbing renewed also get the parking sorted out still it was nice to get a break
Read more
Date of stay: July 2013
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: if you are infirm there are lots of stairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anne G wrote a review Sept 2013
Sheffield, United Kingdom3 contributions8 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked two rooms at the Karema for Saturday 28 September 2013 as we were attending a family wedding in Wainfleet. Unfortunately a family member was unable to travel due to illness so I phoned to cancel one of the rooms. This was done 5 days prior to the 28th. I was informed that I would have to pay the balance in full which I did on arrival on 28th, only to discover the next day that the room had been let to somebody else. I asked the proprietor if she could refund the balance of £30 for the one room which she had filled. She refused to do so. She had received £100 for one room for one night. In the circumstances I would have thought that she could have been more obliging but as "Booking.com" said she refused to budge on the matter. So be warned if you need to cancel. In hindsight I should have asked for the key for both the rooms which I had paid for.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2013Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kat Cutler wrote a review May 2013
12 contributions13 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Probably the only good thing going for this place is the location in conjunction to the beach and nearby restaurants. 5 minutes walk away from a lovely Italian. Now comes the bad! We checked in and were asked how were we to pay which came as a shock as it had been pre paid online as a birthday gift to stay overnight so we could have a beach birthday. No warnings as you paid that it was just the deposit so not impressed already. Very bustling staff, felt rushed in. Stairs creaky. Room was ok but looked closer and there were hidden nasties literally! Warning, do not stay in room 8 if you have aracnaphobia! Boyfriend nearly had a heart attack as he showered and spotted two dead wolf spiders in the light then in the bed canopy there was a dead wood spider so obviously room had not been cleaned properly. It was reported but almost made a joke of by the owners. Come back after a lovely meal to a stuffy room and a toilet that has been screeching for the past 30mins but feel like we don't dare call the owners up as it will all be laughed off again. Sorry Pina and Craig but this is not 4 star accomodation, I've stayed in better travel lodges. Don't feel comfortable and now on edge in case there are any more spiders lurking. Roll on morning when we can just get out!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Solena H wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"My advise please check out other guest houses, as this guest house was my worst stay ever 😠 plenty more to choose from. "
Read full review
Stephen Stevenson wrote a tip Sept 2021
Harrogate, United Kingdom18 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"three levels so if you struggle with stairs then call ahead to secure an room on the first floor."
Read full review
pamskidmore wrote a tip Sept 2019
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Up grade shower."
Read full review
Nick p wrote a tip May 2019
Leicester, United Kingdom9 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We stayed in room 4 . A good sized family room "
Read full review
Dream43560843310 wrote a tip May 2019
St. Albans, United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Can't fault thet Karema.Stay there 2 or 3 times a year"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Skegness area.
PRICE RANGE
£58 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLincolnshireSkegness
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KAREMA - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Karema
Which popular attractions are close to Karema?
Nearby attractions include The Village, Church Farm (0.7 miles), Natureland Seal Sanctuary (0.2 miles), and Skegness Beach (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Karema?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Karema?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Karema?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Karema?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Cosy Corner, White Horse, and Steak n Stuff.
Is Karema located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the centre of Skegness.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Karema?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Karema?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Burgh le Marsh Heritage Centre (4.0 miles).
All Skegness HotelsSkegness Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SkegnessHotels near Karema
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire