Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1,JCT.33, an IHG Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1,JCT.33, an IHG Hotel

Traveller (260)
Bathroom
Room & Suite (93)
Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#3 of 13 hotels in Rotherham
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value

A modern hotel seven miles from Sheffield city centre with event spaces, a swimming pool and a restaurant, plus free parking and Wi-Fi.

The Holiday Inn® Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct.33 hotel is five minutes' drive from the M1 motorway and two miles from Rotherham town centre. Frequent trains leave Rotherham Station for Sheffield, 15 minutes away, where you can catch direct services to London, Leeds and Manchester.

The hotel's six versatile, naturally lit meeting rooms can host everything from an intimate gathering to a reception for 300. Modern equipment and free WiFi help things run smoothly, and the hotel can look after catering. Wedding packages are available, and there's free parking.

Kids can see a blast furnace in action at the interactive Magna Science Adventure Centre, less than three miles away. Art lovers can seek out works by Henry Moore and Barbara Hepworth at the open-air Yorkshire Sculpture Park, 25 minutes away by car.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Steam room
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards

Location

West Bawtry Road, Rotherham S60 2XL England
1,091Review13Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 363
  • 356
  • 202
  • 90
  • 80
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Cath Lord wrote a review Jun 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for one night at this hotel as we was attending a family members birthday & was met by a very friendly receptionist who checked us in. The room was spotless & clean and the bar area was lovely & we decided to have lunch which was lovely & what I noticed all the staff were so lovely & had time to chat to you which you don't get that often in hotels. Breakfast was amazing so much choice & yet again the staff were so lovely & chatty me & my husband said it was one of the best breakfasts we've ever had. Will definitely be paying a visit to this lovely hotel again.

Mrs Lord
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Holiday Inn Rotherham, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1,JCT.33, an IHG Hotel
Responded 24 Jun 2023
Good Evening, Thank you for taking the time to review and rate your stay with us. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards Kait
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Warby wrote a review Nov 2021
Bicester, United Kingdom3,649 contributions1,000 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Good access from the motorway but never the easiest to find. Nothing nearby to walk to. Large free car park. Reception, bar and restaurant modern. Rooms are very dated with poor lighting. Rooms are comfortable and large, shows is good
Shampoo/gel all empty
Dinner and breakfast good, accept all the bread was cheap and hard where left uncovered. Staff were good all round
Modern downstairs rooms old and dated
Shower good
Breakfast good except all bread stale where left out
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Holly West, Owner at Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1,JCT.33, an IHG Hotel
Responded 20 Dec 2021
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback! Kind Regards Holly Guest Service Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dominicmoxon wrote a review Jan 2020
Stamford, United Kingdom110 contributions72 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Having stayed here before a few years ago, we decided to use the hotel again as it was convenient for our itinerary.
Paid extra for a larger room, which was well presented, credit to the cleaning staff.
Bathroom was mould free and spotless, well done .....
Bed was comfortable and I turned the heating off, as it was a little noisy.
Breakfast staff were very helpful, living on a plant based diet we expected little choice, but we both had very good meals and to our amazement they had Oatey milk well done to who ever decided to stock this product.
On the whole we had a very good experience, the only issue that I have emailed the hotel about already is that they clearly have a condensation issue in the rooms, opening the curtains I was faced by a window frame full of black mould, flaking paint and rust, see photographs.

I’m sure that this issue will be resolved. As the hotel does seem to be run very well.

Hope you find this review helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from dutym823, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1,JCT.33, an IHG Hotel
Responded 30 Jan 2020
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Rotherham, we're really glad your stay was overall a positive one and you had such a positive experience in the restaurant and breakfast. Please be assured your feedback will be taken into consideration and will be reported to the Maintenance Manager to be resolved. Thank you again for your time and your feedback and I hope we can welcome you back soon! Kind Regards, Holly West Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
N19NEH wrote a review Oct 2021
Kirkby-in-Ashfield, United Kingdom396 contributions129 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
After a few IHG group hotel stays we opted for a 2 night break at this location, we were offered an upgrade to a suite for an additional cost, which we booked.
Upon arrival we were checked into a Premier room (336) which is a substantial sized room, however the entrance way into the bathroom had stains on the carpet and the architrave was coming away from the door casing to the main door. On entering the bathroom to use the toilet, it was clear that there were poo stains still in the toilet bowl from the last inhabitants or member of staff who used the facilities plus hair in the sink.
The bedroom overlooks the car park/industrial estate and due to the thickness of the glazing, you will hear the traffic from the dual carriageway as a constant.
The leisure facilities, guests need to book - which we were aware of, however, you are limited to 30 minutes per session and one session a day only. Families can use the 1 lane in the swimming pool, but not between 3pm and 7pm....basically, prime time for guests wanting a swim, this is reserved for swimming lessons only.
The breakfast on the first morning was great, friendly restaurant staff and nice food selection. After the full day at Meadowhall we returned back to our room to find our beds had not been made, just the one bin emptied and no replacement for the tea or coffee.
Breakfast on Friday morning was a different experience to Thursday in that the choice wasn't quite as good and the pastries where also a little bit stale.
It would appear that the hotel has a resident living in the bushes to the front of the hotel, with Roland (rat) being spotted a couple of times by us and the kids during our stay (once driving into the car park and once spotted out of the breakfast room window).
We were in touch with both the receptionist (like previous reviews - we called down by House phone first but no response) and in person and emailed the general manager but failed to receive any response to our emails.
The hotel response to the toilet issue was to send a member of staff to the room around an hour after the complaint had been made, we'd sorted it ourselves at this point.
Paying for the upgrade was not a good choice, having to clean the toilet upon check in is appalling in any form of the hospitality industry and zero response from management of the hotel reveals that either their is insufficient staff in place or perhaps there is just no awareness or response to when a genuine complaint is made. We will rethink our travel strategy moving forward having decided to upscale what we pay for our accommodation we will go back to the £40 a night Premier Inn rather than £110+ a night less than Premier accommodation at this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Compare the alternatives and check the availability of the hotels leisure facilities
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1,JCT.33, an IHG Hotel
Responded 6 Nov 2021
Hello N19NEH, Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and for sharing your experience. We strive to offer the type of hospitality our guests value most where the essentials are done exceptionally well. While I am glad you were pleased with our hospitable staff and breakfast options, I am sorry to learn that you felt short-changed due to the room's upkeep, traffic noise, limited time at the leisure facilities, turnover service, limited room amenities. I also read your dismay at how the management handled your concerns. What you described is definitely not the kind of experience we want any of our guests to have. I've discussed your sentiments with our management team, and I trust that they will make the necessary adjustments to improve the quality of our guests' experience. I hope to get another chance to host your next visit as we promise to make the value of your experience worth it for all the right reasons. Yours in hospitality, Jeraldine R. Case Manager IHG Service
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
helenandpaul13 wrote a review Mar 2020
Worcester, United Kingdom1,675 contribution561 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I have just been staying here over this weekend with the family as the daughter was involved in a sports competition at the Sheffield Institute of Sport, which is less than a 10 minute drive away. We had a family room on the first floor which consisted of two double beds, a double sofa bed and a table and four chairs in the centre. There was an average TV in the corner and a separate bathroom with plenty of towels. There was also a small fridge in the room and tea and coffee facilities.

Breakfasts were fine with a choice of cereals and other items as well as hot items available for all tastes.

When you enter the hotel you drive up a small slope to a private car park. You must register your vehicle as reception and get the code for when you leave the premises, so you don't block people in as you leave your car at the barrier while you return to reception to get the code. Only issue was with the wifi, which although free can be quite slow and you can lose connection at times.

Would recommend staying here again as it's only a short journey to Meadowhall and less than two minutes drive off Junction 33 M1.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from dutym823, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1,JCT.33, an IHG Hotel
Responded 16 Mar 2020
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Rotherham. It's great to hear your stay was a 4/5 on this occasion and you enjoyed your stay and the facilities. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future! Kind Regards, Holly West Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ScouseMammy wrote a review Apr 2022
Liverpool, United Kingdom25 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Myself, husband & 2 children booked a night here and could not have been happier.
We had a premier family room which had 2 kingsize beds and a double sofa bed. Room was spotless and so spacious. Complimentary tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits and soap/shampoo/shower gel.
When we arrived we realised husband had booked the wrong date but the hotel had a few rooms available so swapping was seamless.
The pool and leisure Center were superb. Lovely pool - spotless clean changing rooms, kids were delighted.
We dined in the on-site restaurant and food was very good - freshly made , tasty and reasonably priced. Waiters were very attentive and helpful.
Next morning staff went over and beyond as our little one (he is disabled) had a few issues which prevented us checking out in time but this wasn’t a problem and we were able to avail of our room for an additional 20 minutes.
The staff we encountered during our two days (from cleaning staff, waiters, bar/breakfast staff & reception)were pleasant, friendly and eager to help. We could not fault the service and are very grateful for such a wonderful few days!
Special thanks to Clare, Kirsty & Sam on reception. You are an absolute credit to the Holiday Inn and we were hugely appreciative of everything you did to ensure we had a pleasant stay!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Holly West, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1,JCT.33, an IHG Hotel
Responded 16 Apr 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay, we really appreciate your kind feedback. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and the staff were able to make the visit seamless and special for you, I will be sure to pass your kind comments onto the team, they will be so glad to hear them. Thank you again for your time and I hope we can welcome you back soon! Kind Regards Holly Guest Service Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Snoozy B wrote a review Jun 2021
4 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Called in here to enquire about a small celebration party in one of their function rooms. Gave all details , including approximate numbers, to receptionist. She said she had sent e mail to events and someone would ring back that same day. No one did, nor did they ring over the following 2 days. So, decided to call back in and chase it up. Was told that our party was not big enough (40 people) to " make it worth their while" and they would be better renting the room for a group of 100
They could, however, do a sit down meal (not what I asked for) for £50 per head. Also told that these events were arranged from a central hub and that there was no point in contacting them as they would tell us the same thing. Clearly, unless you are spending mega bucks, this place is not in the slightest bit interested in your business. Dreadful service.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Holly West, Owner at Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1,JCT.33, an IHG Hotel
Responded 14 Jun 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience in the hotel and I'm sorry to hear no-one was in contact with you regarding your enquiry in a timely manner and you felt as though the service could have been better. I am aware you came into the hotel and spoke with someone regarding a party in December for 40 guests, we do book our function rooms out for Christmas party nights in December and the smallest room which fits a disco in seats 70-80 people. This meant we wouldn't have had the availability for a smaller party of 40 guests. This is why the lady you spoke with suggested other options available to you such as a sit down meal. I'm sorry if you felt as though this came across as though we weren't interested in helping you with your event. If there is anything you would like to discuss further regarding this please do contact me at the hotel directly. Kind Regards Holly Guest Service Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jonny C wrote a review Aug 2022
Walthamstow, United Kingdom89 contributions27 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay was not good enough and it was one of the worst hotel experiences I’ve had. The hotel appeared to be totally unprepared for visitors (in holiday season) or diners at the restaurant. We’ve stayed in HIs before and it had been great. This hotel, however, was old and tired, and not up to HI standards.

Our ‘executive’ room was very generously sized and our kids could stay with us.

Unfortunately no-one had made the beds; used towels were not replaced; and there was poo still in the toilets. The cleaning team had apparently left for the day when we checked-in; it was left to other staff to find a solution, including the hotel manager trying to make the bed and clean the toilet. It wasn’t really their job and it ended up not being done properly. Someone had also set up a message on the TV – “Don’t order the chicken”. It would be funny had everything else was up to scratch!

After travelling the day, we opted to stay at the hotel restaurant. The menu looked promising, particularly as it apparently had some vegan options. As we sat down, the poor waiting staff (who were brilliant) had to tell us that half the menu was not available. Apparently stock was low and they were not prepared for so many people staying (in holiday season!). Every diner was told the same thing and it was a lottery who managed to order the last ‘dish’ of everything. The food didn’t come for hours; everyone was fed up! And when it did turn up, it was absolutely tasteless – most definitely frozen food simply bunged in the oven. The prices for a main were maybe £10-15 – what you might expect these days – but not for something that tasted this bad. The waiting staff were brilliant and were good humoured; and they did their best to deal with the problems.

On the plus side, breakfast was decent; the hotel was easy to find; and there was plenty of parking. There was also an EV charger at the back of the hotel, although it didn’t work instantly (but that’s probably a BP Polar issue rather than the hotel).

I cannot recommend staying at this hotel, and sadly it’s put me off staying at other HIs too.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
eyeball2222 wrote a review Sept 2022
Worcester, United Kingdom24 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is worn out.. the rooms, the restaurant, the bar. Dirty worn out furniture, indifferent bunch of kids running the bar/restaurant in the evening and over worked exhausted staff running breakfast. I booked a ‘suite’ with the enticing sounding lounge area.. In reality imagine a large room with a small sofa and a table. The advertised stocked mini bar sits isolated in the corner of the room with two bottles of sparkling water. No tv. The ‘Suite’ feels like a room that other rooms have borrowed stuff from. Like a car stripped for spares. The food in the restaurant is basic at best. Safest options seem to be burgers or Pizzas. This is the hotel that not only time forgot, but so has IHG (the parent company). It’s so frustrating and such poor economics. By failing to invest in keeping a hotel up to standards; I will simply stop investing in Holiday Inn as a brand. Im fairly sure others will follow.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Go elsewhere! Seriously. I’m not even angry with my experience. I should have read reviews...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Holly West, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1,JCT.33, an IHG Hotel
Responded 18 Oct 2022
Dear Ian B. Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you had issues during your stay. The hotel is presently undergoing upgrades in several areas. Our mini bars are stocked if requested by the guest. All of our rooms have TVs so am not sure what it is that you mention. Our rooms are checked daily and a TV is part of that check. Again we are sorry that you experienced issues.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Advbiker wrote a review Jul 2022
Wraysbury, United Kingdom195 contributions71 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Firstly it must be pointed out that the staff are very friendly and welcoming…. And that’s the good part out of the way. Please please don’t eat here, food is absolutely awful !! The microwave in the kitchen must work overtime, everything I consider was ‘ Ping Food’, they described one starter as belly pork…. We must’ve had the only pig on a strict low fat diet in the country, no fat etc which you’d expect on belly pork !! Most of the items were off the menu and told that there hasn’t been a single week where everything was, very poor standards by management snd kitchen not to order enough in to cover the menu. The bar food is no different, cheap fillings which would cost far lower outside, bread bordering on stale and tasteless. Room was ok apart from a self flushing toilet, very dim and not much natural light. Would I stay here again, most definitely not, there appears to be many other hotels in the area which are cheaper and have far better reviews and better kitchen !!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Just avoid the hotel full stop
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Rotherham area.
PRICE RANGE
£60 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn rotherham-sheffield m1, jct. 33 hotel rotherham, rotherham holiday inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Courtyard by Marriott Rotherham
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireSouth YorkshireRotherham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
107
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN ROTHERHAM-SHEFFIELD M1,JCT.33, AN IHG HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1,JCT.33, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1,JCT.33, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Canklow Woods (0.6 miles).
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1,JCT.33, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Thirsty Flame, Jo-Jo's Brinsworth, and BEE JAYS Cafe at Wickes Carpark.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1,JCT.33, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Old Queen's Head (4.9 miles), Sheffield Manor Lodge (4.1 miles), and Birley Spa Bath House (4.3 miles).
All Rotherham HotelsRotherham Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in RotherhamHotels near Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1,JCT.33, an IHG Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire