We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

George Hotel of Colchester

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
George Hotel of Colchester
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

533 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 520: English reviews
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Booked a double room and got a single. Some of the staff seemed they were more important than the customers. Very shabby run down hotel. The bath room could really do with a re-fit. Horrible cheap flooring. Not a nice experience. I don't think I would stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CallmeMattx
Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Was impressed with this hotel, bang in the middle of Colchester easy access from station by bus and friendly people Comfy bed, nice room, could tell it was old as the floor was a bit uneven. Bathroom was clean and spacious although the toilet made grinding sounds when sat on. Good breakfast, nice options, the two poached eggs were perfect....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LordChunky
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Didn't stay here so can't comment on the rooms but note that other people complained about the place needing an update? No way! The whole charm of this place (the bar at least,) is the old fashioned wing back chairs, beams and comfy sofas. Never had anything other than a snuggly glass of wine in here. Their Christmas cd is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clare M
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very disappointing today, went in for lunch and although have noticed the place has gone down quite a bit lately.....today noticed the furniture in the bar areas is not clean.....it is in need of a good refurbishment......shame because it is such a lovely place....The staff were very friendly and helpful and service was good considering there were only two at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WENDY R
England
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First the good things, the location was excellent, really well located. The hotel is very old and I do like that sort of thing, it is hundreds of years old and a very historical and important building. This is where the problems lie, the building is really old and sadly tired looking. I was here for a business event, Lucy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank codfathers
Market Deeping, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Having stayed here before on the very top level of the hotel and enjoyed it very much we were looking forward to our stay. We checked in and we were told there was a £10 parking charge, no mention of this upon booking and it didn't exist the last time we stayed on Boxing Day night. We were given a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sweetpeas67
Management response:

Good afternoon, The George Hotel Colchester is of central location and our prices are relevant to our establishment, I acknowledge and appreciate your valuable feedback. The points you have raised will promptly be addressed where necessary. I am highly disappointed to hear that your experience with us did not meet your expectations however we do have exciting plans for refurbishment...

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016

The good bits first. Excellent town-centre position; very friendly welcome; large clean room, fluffy towels, good food with smiley service, real ale at the bar, we felt very comfortable. When our friend had a crisis, lost his keys, staff were most helpful. The only downside was that our room overlooked Colchester Snooker and Billiard Club. Noise on the pavement outside...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael T
Management response:

Good Afternoon, Thank you for sharing with us your most recent experience, it is important to us that we gain feedback from our guests. It is good to see that The George exceeded your expectations along with the service, food and your overall stay. The points you mention have most certainly been passed on to the team. We hope to...

Flitwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Arrived at 13.10 for 14.00 check in and rude girl In reception said go away come back at 14.00 did not offer to store our luggage. Came back after 14.00 to check in, took 3 attempts .....we booked an executive double room....never again.......

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SHC58
Management response:

Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review with us. I apologise that your experience with us was unsatisfactory on both occasions. The points you mention are not characteristic of the level of service we offer here at The George. As a business it is important to us that our guests give us feedback as...

Beddau, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Dated, run down, noisy, overpriced, never again. Makes my daughters university accommodation look like The Ritz !!!! So disappointed had booked for myself and another family member who I felt I had to keep apologising to for my choice of hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlisonJJones
Management response:

Good Afternoon, I would like to thank you for your comments, we are very grateful for your feedback especially as it enables us to improve in certain areas that we may not know about. I express our apologies for the issues that you have experienced and for any inconveniences caused. You will be pleased to know that we are due...

Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2016

The attitude of the staff was very off-hand. The room was hot and stuffy - even in autumn. I was told that car parking was free and upon arrival was charged £10 for an overnight stay in the car park. I would have left, but had a funeral to go to the next day but would not have stayed otherwise.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurie H
Management response:

Good Afternoon, My sincere apologies that you were not satisfied with your stay with us. I have made sure to pass on your review to the relevant areas of my team and we look forward to welcoming you back within the near future. I would also like to take the time to thank you for your constructive comments and also...

186 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (139)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Brook Red Lion Hotel
Brook Red Lion Hotel
#17 of 24 in Colchester
350 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester
0.2 mi away
GreyFriars
GreyFriars
#5 of 24 in Colchester
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Ivy Hotel
Blue Ivy Hotel
#9 of 24 in Colchester
84 reviews
0.2 mi away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#7 of 24 in Colchester
227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#19 of 24 in Colchester
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
George Hotel of Colchester Restaurant
George Hotel of Colchester Restaurant
Cuisines: British, Bar, International, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The George Hotel the most iconic and oldest hotel set in the heart of Colchester, England's oldest city, right on the high street and approximately 100 yards from Colchester Castle. History resonates throughout the 500 year old coaching inn which is home to the stylish Courtyard Brasserie, serving excellent English a la carte dishes and daily specials, and the trendy coffee shop Cafe George. In the Heart of Historic Colchester The extensive medieval cellars, preserved behind glass, have remnants of Roman roads that once ran through the town and even the ashes left by the fires of Queen Boudicca's rampage in AD60 when she burned Colchester to the ground. Situated on Colchester High Street, among an array of shops, bars and restaurants, the hotel is ideal for exploring and visiting the many tourist attractions and cultural sites in the area and the rich heritage of East Anglia's beautiful countryside and coast. The Perfect Venue The charming high street hotel and its historic surroundings offer a great location for weddings, corporate events, overnight business travel, romantic getaways, golf weekends and memorable special events of all occasions. It features 47 spacious, individually decorated bedrooms equipped to a high standard, free WiFi throughout the facility and on-site parking free of charge. The George Hotel is ideally situated for both business and leisure guests, close to the A12 and A120, with excellent links to Stansted Airport and the Port of Harwich, as well as London's city centre (65km away) and Cambridge (63km). Outstanding Service Relaxation and quality services are guaranteed at the hotel which operates a 24-hour front desk offering a range of facilities including tour/ticket assistance and room service. We look forward to welcoming you for an enjoyable and memorable stay at one of Essex's most historic hotels. There is on site parking available. Car Parking charges apply. ... more   less 

Additional Information about George Hotel of Colchester

Address: 116 High Street, Colchester CO1 1TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Price Range: £53 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — George Hotel of Colchester 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your George Hotel of Colchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colchester George Hotel
George Hotel Colchester
George Colchester
George Hotel Of Colchester Essex
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Colchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from George Hotel of Colchester staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from George Hotel of Colchester staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms on the quieter side have numbers starting with '2'. Ask for free parking.”
 of 5 bubbles MichaelT699, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't go !”
 of 5 bubbles AlisonJJones, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The only thing this hotel has going for it is that is very central.”
 of 5 bubbles 706laurieh, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't think there is one”
 of 5 bubbles disapointed186342, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles roastpotato, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay