We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

George Hotel of Colchester

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
George Hotel of Colchester
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

570 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 557: English reviews
Start your review of George Hotel of Colchester
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have visited this hotel on numerous occasions over the last year or so and find it extremely central with clean rooms that do need updating and will later this year be renovated.the double rooms are of good size and the resturant serves reasonable fayre

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danny W
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Lovely hotel, my wife and I spent the night there. Had read some bad reports but totally unfounded, got the impression that the place was in a state of disrepair. The hotel has a lovely warm, cosy and friendly atmosphere. The dinner and breakfast menus are very good. The bedroom we had ( room 207 ) was excellent. The food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lesliebeechcroft
Chatham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Came to the George for the night after visiting the zoo. We had a Groupon voucher for £79 which included cream tea, 2 course evening meal, bed and breakfast. The room was a bit shabby but we were only sleeping in it. There was a big old fashioned chandelier which was lovely but very low over the bed. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JulieandDave2014
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have enjoyed a few afternoon teas at the George, they have all been good and the lounge area is very nice. So when I got the chance to spend a night I was looking forward to a great stay. However at check in i queried my booking as I had booked a superior family room , which was described...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jw J
Management response:

Good Afternoon, I am awfully sorry to hear about your experience but I am keen to discuss this with you further as I am yet to receive your email, please contact me directly on nick.wildman@suryahotels.co.uk or 01206 578494 Regards N.Wildman

Spalding, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked here for one night, it did'ent start well when we arrived for the 14:00 check in at 14:15 only to be told the room would not be ready for another 20 minutes, having got into the room we found it very dated and in need of a refurb, the breakfast was ok but we would not stay here again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kevc00p
Management response:

Good Afternoon, I would like to thank you for your comments, we are very grateful for your feedback especially as it enables us to improve in certain areas that we may not know about. I express our apologies for the issues that you have experienced and for any inconveniences caused. You will be pleased to know that we are due...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A very tasty and enjoyable Sunday roast. Beef cooked to perfection. Yorkshires large and flavoursome. The cheesecake was also really very good - fruity and creamy. Friendly service. My only criticism is that the drab and tired outside does not reflect the pleasures contained within.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Porangi-Chris
Management response:

Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking your time to share your thoughts upon your recent experience with us. It is delightful to hear that the staff and the food in general met your expectations. My team are very keen to hear feedback weather it be good or bad so I have made sure to share your positive comments with them....

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I'm not going to lie, the hotel is a little tired in places but ahead of it's big refurbishment later this year, you can't expect them to be spending much on it in the run up. We stayed on a Saturday night with friends on a Groupon deal which was fantastic value. Cream tea, two course evening meal, bed and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nigel W
Management response:

Good Afternoon, Thank you for your feedback, any feedback good or bad is very much appreciated and will be passed on in the correct direction. We are glad you enjoyed your time whilst staying with us. Hopefully we will see you back in the near future once the refurbishment is underway and hopefully you wont have any more 'Faulty Towers'...

Elsenham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Attended for a business meeting, the hotel appeared quite clean and comfortable and I didn't have an opportunity to sample food. What did leave a nasty taste however was the car park situation! There is a pretty extortionate minimum charge of £10 to park, even for a short period ( in my case a couple of hours). I duly followed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melanie S
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booking in here last minute, checked in about 1 hour after booked on line and reception was up to speed and checked us in. Busy bar area but has a pretty good mix of people and a bit of a buzz. All staff very good. Bit of nightmare as someone above the main bar in the evening decided to leave...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arthur D
Management response:

Good Evening, The George Hotel Colchester is of central location and our prices are relevant to our establishment, I acknowledge and appreciate your valuable feedback. I am highly disappointed to hear that your experience with us did not meet your expectations however we do have exciting plans for refurbishment at the end of 2016 beginning of 2017 so we hope...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Thought I would bring my wife for a short stay in Colchester staying at the George Hotel , booked a superior double,room had no mini bar or fridge and in the bathroom a quarter of the ceiling has mould on it, also sat in the bar area having a drink and asked for the fire to be lit as it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Russell S
Management response:

Good Afternoon, Thank you very much for your feedback non of our hotels have mini bars as we all have public bars. As im sure your aware our hotel will shortly be starting its refurbishment, we should cover all the points you have mentioned apologises if we did not come up to your expectations. Please accept that my apologises that...

193 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (146)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Blue Ivy Hotel
Blue Ivy Hotel
#7 of 24 in Colchester
102 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester
0.0 mi away
Brook Red Lion Hotel
Brook Red Lion Hotel
#17 of 24 in Colchester
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
GreyFriars
GreyFriars
#4 of 24 in Colchester
133 reviews
0.2 mi away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#10 of 24 in Colchester
239 reviews
0.5 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#20 of 24 in Colchester
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from George Hotel of Colchester staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from George Hotel of Colchester staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Unfortunately all rooms will suffer from creaky floors”
 of 5 bubbles 120jwj, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I chose to say towards the back of the hotel as the front over looks the High Street so can get a bit of noise”
 of 5 bubbles nigelw969, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“if you are a very light sleeper DO NOT book a room at the front, or in the middle of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 600arthurd, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Lunch here is good”
 of 5 bubbles derekjohn, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid front of hotel”
 of 5 bubbles _umzog, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5