We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Lynebank Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Lynebank Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

74 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 73: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As has been mentioned in previous reviews the owner Amir is a pleasant chap. From there it went downhill. The room is very poorly insulated from road noise from the A7. Unless you're a really heavy sleeper you'll need earplugs. The cleanliness (or lack of it) was more worrying. Most surfaces hadn't been dusted and the things you would hope...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
Lynebank H, Owner at Lynebank Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you very much for your comments, I took your concerns seriously but I would like to say my concerns about your stay, as you have mentioned that you paid 42.50£ for your stay for a room usual price is £75 with full English breakfast, the amount of damage you have done to four poster bed is over...

scotland
Reviewed 9 January 2017

As a frequent traveller i have to stay out many nights each month. I booked this hotel for first time primarily due to price . Single rooms start at £26 per night and have en-suite toilet / shower, flat tv and room has tea / coffee making facilities (never seen so many coffee pouches and milks and things in one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IAIN1671
cumbria
Reviewed 27 October 2016

With no other accommodation available locally we stayed for one night. would not rush to stay again. the welcome was warm, however there was a strong smell of sewage. we headed to our large room, which was clean but the shower was only luke warm. The wifi signal was poor and the continental breakfast of cereal and yoghurt was disappointing....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank superhands_uk
sunderland
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We stayed here for two nights the room had a four poster bed very clean. We ate at the hotel on the Friday night had an Indian meal it was amazing first class would recommend the food to anyone wanting to come in from the outside. Good prices. The owner is very friendly on hand to help day or night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sunderland_girls
Bury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Stopped here for the night whilst doing the Reivers Way cycle route. The owner was very obliging and put our bikes in the central courtyard. The room was large and comfortable with en suite shower. Evening meals are available but are mainly Indian cuisine. The nearest town is Longtown and there is a bus that stops right outside the guesthouse....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MontyWright
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2016

We booked this B&B as it's really close to the M6 and we were breaking our journey back from Inverness. The exterior is not promising, it's a bit tired and needs a spruce up to make it more welcoming. The owner is a lovely man who made us feel really welcome. We stayed in Room 2, which is a smallish...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Weaselbirch
Reviewed 3 August 2016

We booked this accomodation 3 hours before we arrived as a last minute resort as there were no accomodation in Edinburgh due to the Hyland Show so we decided to stay in Carlisle instead on our way up. This place did great for the night. We booked two rooms, one single ensuite and one double ensuite. Both were pleseant and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AMY M
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed in room 2 which was an ok size double. We were told at check in that the price only included continental breakfast which isn't what we were led to believe when booking. But the breakfast was a perfectly fine continental so free is free. The shower was tepid for me and cold for my husband. The wifi was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kiwimaz
Wareham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 June 2016

We break our long haul to Scotland and Carlisle is a good distance to do this. The Lynbank was easy to access from M6. First impressions was looked a bit tired but inside was good and Emir the host was very wecoming and helped a lot as my husband has limited mobility at the moment. Because we were late for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RitaHarris
Reigate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

Clean, friendly and comfortable. We stayed for one night on our way to the Highlands. We didn't eat evening meal here but breakfast was good. Traffic didn't bother us and we were by the road in a great room. Really good value for a stop over. Would recommend

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hobbsey67

118 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (88)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle Central
1.4 mi away
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#11 of 20 in Carlisle
163 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
560 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arkale Lodge
Arkale Lodge
#13 of 65 in Carlisle
88 reviews
0.5 mi away
Warwick Lodge Guest House
Warwick Lodge Guest House
#5 of 65 in Carlisle
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Lynebank House Rooms & Restaurant is situated on the A7 tourist route, a short drive from Carlisle town centre & the M6. Recently awarded the highly coveted 4 Star Guest House rating from Visit Britain (November 2014) Refurbished to a high standard during 2014, all our bedrooms are beautifully furnished and equipped, we are also licensed with bar and conservatory and offer our on-site Restaurant (opening Spring 2015). All bedrooms are en-suite with tea making facilities, television, linen and quality bedding. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lynebank Guest House

Address: Westlinton, Carlisle CA6 6AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Price Range: £51 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Lynebank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lynebank Guest House Carlisle, Cumbria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lynebank Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Lynebank Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“just ask for best available room and im sure they will allocate”
 of 5 bubbles IAIN1671, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Excellent clean hotel nice friendly owner.”
 of 5 bubbles sunderland_girls, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The room we had was good and spacious but I didn' see others.”
 of 5 bubbles RitaHarris, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ok for a stop over”
 of 5 bubbles 933JohnB933, 30 May 2016 | Read review
“Try for a back room away from the road”
 of 5 bubbles GeoffR, 15 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5