We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Ibis Carlisle

Portlands Botchergate, Carlisle CA1 1RP England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (136)
Room & Suite (61)
Dining (12)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#9 of 20 hotels in Carlisle
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
The Ibis Carlisle hotel is located in the centre of the city, 200 m from the main railway station and not far from Lanes Shopping Centre. Carlisle Cathedral and the Castle are just a few minutes walk from the hotel. Book one of our 102 air cooling rooms and benefit from use of our hotel amenities, including chargeable outdoor parking, a bar serving light meals and snacks 24 hours 7 days as well as wireless Internet access to cater for business guests. Europcar rental services are available at the hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Billiards
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Snack bar
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1,824Review29Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 618
  • 750
  • 275
  • 98
  • 83
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Jim M wrote a review 7 Apr
6 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed two nights at Easter and would like to thank the staff for making it a great stay. Great for parking, the breakfast was lovely and the girl serving was very helpful. When I booked I explained that me and the wife were not good on our feet and asked for a room near the exit or lift. When we arrived we were given a room next to the lift plus a disabled wet room we were very grateful for. The room was comfortable and we heard very little noise out with the hotel. The plus point for me was the staff. Everybody was polite and helpful. Thanks for a great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: When you park there is a back door to reception
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Beverley McPherson, Other at Ibis Carlisle
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Jim M, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at ibis Carlisle City Centre. It is wonderful to know that our staff's helpfulness and service contributed to making your stay great. We are glad that the room arrangement met your needs and enhanced your comfort during your visit. Your kind words about the staff's politeness and efficiency are truly appreciated. We strive to provide a pleasant and accommodating experience for all our guests. Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to leave your positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Warm regards, ibis Carlisle City Centre
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
jean s wrote a review Feb 2024
Glasgow, United Kingdom5 contributions3 helpful votes
I have stayed in the hotel on numerous occasions with no issues but this time I had items stolen from the room. Only person that had access or was in the room was the cleaner. I asked to speak to the Manager and was told that they were on holiday and the Duty Manager would not be there until the next afternoon. I have reported it to the police and I am waiting to hear back from them. As far as I am concerned if a theft is reported the Management should make them self available to speak to the guests not leave it untill the guests have left the property. I am still waiting to hear from the Management regarding this which is ridiculous for a company of this size. I am planning on taking this further with the company as the customer service received with zero. I would advise anyone staying here to check all their belongings are in the room every time they return.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Repost
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Davidjellis wrote a review Jan 2024
Lowestoft, United Kingdom8812 contributions808 helpful votes
+1
I stayed here for one night as I was working away in Carlisle for a couple of days. As a Club Accor member this was my first choice as I was looking for something reliable and good value in the centre of the city and this ticked all the boxes. The hotel is located close to the railway station as well as the centre of the city, with the main shopping areas and historical city centre sights being just a short walk away. On arrival the check-in process was easy with staff welcoming you in the lobby area of the hotel and in no time I was in my first floor room. The room was fairly basic but had all you need for a short stay away...plenty of power sockets, free Wi-Fi, TV, comfy bed, room to hang / store clothes and a desk area to work. The room included coffee / tea and a kettle. Shower was fairly simple to use and some toiletries are available as standard. I had breakfast in the hotel which is served buffet style with a decent selection of hot food as well as a refrigerated area with chilled fruits and milk and containers of cereal. Food was pretty decent and the hot food was nice and hot (a pet hate is luke-warm buffet food but this was nicely heated). Despite its location on the busy Botchergate it was nice and quiet in the hotel and easy to work in the evening. Overall a very pleasant stay and would happily use again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Keith J wrote a review Dec 2023
Selkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom1 contribution
Disrespectful drunk female causing annoyance running around the corridors screaming, crying and slamming doors at 3am on Saturday 2nd December....should have been lifted and locked up. I hope she's proud of herself. Idiot! Staff were very polite and helpful. Location of hotel was spot on for us plus parking behind the building.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Beverley McPherson, Other at Ibis Carlisle
Responded 13 Dec 2023
Thank you for your review, please accept my apology with regards to the noise, I will look into this as we have security on to prevent this.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
PaulHArmstrong wrote a review Nov 2023
Manchester, United Kingdom49 contributions31 helpful votes
The hotel is tired and dirty. Beyond reception the corridor carpets are heavily stained. The room I was allocated had not been properly cleaned with potential wet patch and dirt on the floor. The plastic moulded desk had two large cigarette burns, and the carpet was filthy.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Avoid and stay at the Travelodge
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Beverley McPherson, Other at Ibis Carlisle
Responded 22 Nov 2023
Thank you for your review. Please accept my apology this was your experience, the carpets albite are wearing in some rooms, however they are clean and cleaned by an out sourced contractor, we are in the process of replacing all carpets. Many Thanks Beverley
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
hsasmith wrote a review Nov 2023
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom854 contributions255 helpful votes
Small but clean and comfortable. Very easy to check in the staff were friendly and nothing was a problem. We were able to leave bags before we checked in and after we checked out so we didn't have to carry them. There was a good choice for breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Beverley McPherson, Other at Ibis Carlisle
Responded 13 Nov 2023
Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Many Thanks Beverley
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Naomi M wrote a review Oct 2023
7 contributions3 helpful votes
Comfy room, accessibility good, staff friendly, relaxed atmosphere, close to bars and restaurants, free parking. Not that we were there to watch tv but the sound was a bit dodgy!!! Tasty breakfast, easy check in/out.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Easy parking
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Beverley McPherson, Other at Ibis Carlisle
Responded 1 Nov 2023
Thank you for your review, Glad you enjoyed your stay for the up most, I will report the TV issue to the maintenance department to check this in all the rooms. Kind regards Beverley
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Clive Fouche wrote a review Oct 2023
Auckland, New Zealand5 contributions
The staff were friendly and professional. The room was spotless in every respect. Having the restaurant on the ground floor simplified things in that you don’t have to go out to get a decent meal. The quality of food in the restaurant is very good both breakfast and dinner. Because it is a 24/7 operation lunch is there if you need it.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: About five minutes walk from the train station so easy to get to the more remote historical...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Beverley McPherson, Other at Ibis Carlisle
Responded 1 Nov 2023
Really happy to read you enjoyed all the benefits of the hotel, we welcome you back on your next visit. Many Thanks Beverley
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Douglas Williamson wrote a review Oct 2023
Clackmannanshire, United Kingdom136 contributions125 helpful votes
Good basic hotel no frills ,but spotless great size of shower room and toilet ,comfy beds good pillows and tv .staff great very friendly ,great free parking at rear ,very central across from cinema and chines buffet next door ,Witherspoon across the road ,next to cinema ,everything in the one street
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book well in advance .
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Beverley McPherson, Other at Ibis Carlisle
Responded 1 Nov 2023
Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay. Many Thanks Beverley
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Donis123 wrote a review Sept 2023
70 contributions50 helpful votes
What a super dog friendly place this is . The rooms are very clean and comfy The reception staff Megan and theo very friendly and the bar area very welcoming. It is in a very central location but do ask for help finding the carpark ! Highly recommended
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Beverley McPherson, Other at Ibis Carlisle
Responded 2 Oct 2023
Thank you for such a kind review, I will be sure to pass this on to the team especially Megan and Theo we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will see you again soon Kind Regards Chris Brown Ibis Carlisle City Centre
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Carlisle area.
PRICE RANGE
£56 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ibis carlisle hotel carlisle, accor carlisle
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCumbriaCarlisle
NUMBER OF ROOMS
102
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

IBIS CARLISLE - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Ibis Carlisle
Which popular attractions are close to Ibis Carlisle?
Nearby attractions include Red Herring Escape Rooms (0.05 miles), Carlisle Rail Station (0.09 miles), and Thin White Duke (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Ibis Carlisle?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Ibis Carlisle?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a walk-in shower.
What food & drink options are available at Ibis Carlisle?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Ibis Carlisle?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ibis Carlisle?
Conveniently located restaurants include Alexandros Greek Restaurant and Deli, David's Restaurant, and Casa Romana - Carlisle.
Is Ibis Carlisle located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Carlisle.
Are pets allowed at Ibis Carlisle?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ibis Carlisle?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Ibis Carlisle?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cartmel Medieval Village Priory (8.2 miles) and Kirklinton Hall & Gardens (7.7 miles).
Is Ibis Carlisle accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.