We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Kingfisher Riveside Pub & Rooms

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (566)
Dining (83)
Room & Suite (64)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#3 of 18 hotels in Bedford
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Kingfisher, Riverside Pub & Rooms is situated in a beautiful riverside location, within three and a half acres of landscaped gardens, yet it is just 10 miles from the M1 and 8 miles from A1. The tranquil setting offers Bedford accommodation with views of the great River Great Ouse and the local country park and wonderful grounds in which to stroll and relax. Come and join us for a beautiful and relaxing stay.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
1,506Review10Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 798
  • 409
  • 169
  • 69
  • 63
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Rachel P wrote a review Today
Bedford, United Kingdom24 contributions8 helpful votes
Wonderful Sunday lunch, have eaten dinner before but first time for lunch. We all had roast dinners which were delicious. What makes the place is the staff, all were very helpful and courteous. Book a table as can get busy. Would definitely go again- highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Book a table by the window of possible.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Claire H wrote a review Today
1 contribution
I’ve celebrated my 50th birthday here, not once but twice as it’s that good. First of all I had 16 friends enjoy a Sunday lunch. Food was excellent and service was fantastic. Second time I returned for afternoon tea with 15 friends. Several different allergies amongst us and nothing was too much trouble. Amazing selection of sandwiches, cakes and scones. Service was as before, attentive and very good. Cannot fault this venue. The events team were extremely helpful in organising what was needed in both occasions.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
MANZARA2011 wrote a review 12 Apr
Stranraer, United Kingdom5045 contributions274 helpful votes
+1
First time hear and chosen for a short stay to visit family. So glad we did as the Kingfisher ticks all the boxes for us. From the beautiful riverside location to the unique interior design and the excellent service. First class. We completed the form online before arriving and this made it easy to just give our name at reception ( after a long drive from Scotland ) and locate our room on the ground floor and start our holiday straight away. We booked dinner as it can get extremely busy and no wonder. Disabled parking also available. Its nice to have 2 entrances ; one to access the accommodation and the other for accessing the bar and restaurant. However, no need to leave the building once inside and the corridor from the rooms leads to the restaurant and bar. The room was clean and spacious ( we had a double) and we loved the wardrobe space too. En-suite offers bath and shower for personal preference and the toilet tissue was of good quality and plentiful . Loved the terracotta paint as it added more warmth to the room was like being at home. Dinner at 7.30 and we decided to eat in the bar area on stools as there was a wedding on that day ( Saturday) and the restaurant was in full swing with people so we chose a quieter spot. All staff working efficiently and effectively and one particular member of staff for us stood out. Alex. He served our wine and was so pleasant and smiled all the time and chatted to us making us feel extremely welcome whilst behaving in a very professional manner. The rest of the staff were very pleasant and attentive too but some stand out more than others. First night we had one course each , I had the " Catch of the Day " it was Coley with beautifully cooked small potatoes and vegetables with a lovely sauce. Hubby had the " Pie of the Week" the filling was tasty and mash and veg complimented the dish well. We chose the Chardonnay thinking it was the USA one online Cypress Vineyards priced £26 knowing we would be having more than one bottle . However the only one they seemed to have was the Chardonnay Riverstone at £35.Always check first as menus I suppose are always subject to change. The online wine list menu definitely shows the one at £26. However that small thing didn't ruin the meal . There is a service charge on the bill but this can be removed if required.We didn't have breakfast any of the days as we couldn't eat breakfast and then manage a main meal at night as well. However my son who stayed on our last evening did have the breakfast and looked fabby. We finished off Saturdays meal with the cheese platter to share . Just what was needed. Sunday was a meal for three as my son joined us and the Sunday Roast beef was beautifully cooked and you are asked how you would like it cooked which we were very impressed with. Good sized portion served with roast potatoes and roasted carrot and parsnip and a beautifully shiny gravy. Very delicious. My son chose the Sunday Roast Chicken with all the trimmings and again very tasty. Haddock and chips for me . Just the right size of fish and not too many chips and the peas, tartare sauce and curry sauce giving a good choice. Plates were hot which again ten out of ten. Wine for drinks again. Wednesday was our last supper together so my son and I had the soup of the day Tomato served with sourdough. Very delicious . Hubby had the Artisan Breads and Oils and very tasty but he felt a few different oils ( flavoured) would have complimented the tasty selection of breads better. Catch of the Day for me again ( shame it was Coley again as would have loved it to have been a different fish but nonetheless very tasty and I felt the presentation of it was better this time. My son had the haddock and my husband tried the Lamb Rump and mash and veg very tasty, the aubergine was a bit enthusiatically charred but good all the same . It would have been nice to have the choice of new potatoes or mash but the choice of how he wanted the lamb cooked was music to his ears as he loves his lamb rare. Excellent flavour to a lovely piece of meat. Back to the Chardonnay to compliment this meal and coffees to finish with . ALL IN ALL A FANTASTIC STAY " Thank you to everyone .
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Gwenola H wrote a review 7 Apr
London, United Kingdom4 contributions
+1
I love this place ! A big thank you to the kingfisher for organising my son's 21st Birthday on Saturday April 6th. We had an amazing time , food was great , drinks were awesome and service was excellent. Coney served us and took care of our long order . She has been a real sweet heart ! We will come back for sure. Thank you for making it special for him . Kind Regards Gwen Hayden
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Ian M wrote a review 2 Apr
Bedford, United Kingdom21 contributions13 helpful votes
Family occasion. Probably the worst meakl out I've ever had in a restaurant! When it eventually arrived, our meals were - frankly cold!. We asked the waiter to take them back and zap them in the microwave to heat them up. About 10 or more (yes, really!) minutess later, the meals returned. They were no hotter than when they took them away! Ploughing on, the parsnips were raw (I quite like 'al dente' but these were hard and raw!). The roast potatoes were like left-overs from the night before: hard on the outside and virtually tasteless. The beef? colourless, tasteless and extremely chewy. I won't bother them with my custom again! Truly hopeless. Avoid!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Roberts, General Manager at The Kingfisher Riveside Pub & Rooms
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Ian-n-Jill2015, thank you for leaving your feedback. I apologise again that you did not enjoy your visit - I believe you were the same table as the review below. I am not sure what went wrong with your specific table, as we served 250 covers on Easter Sunday to predominately rave reviews, but will investigate. Best wishes, Chris
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
GabyEngland wrote a review 2 Apr
Bedford, United Kingdom75 contributions27 helpful votes
We went for lunch but sadly we did not enjoy our meal. Two of the meals arrived nearly cold. We sent them back to to the kitchen and about 5 minutes later they arrived back at the table very slightly warmer. We had ordered the roast beef dinner. Sadly the beef was terrible, chewy with no flavour whatsoever. The parsnips were raw, the roast potatoes we could hardly eat as they looked and tasted as though they had been sitting there for hours. Very disappointing indeed. Not what we expected from this place. The cheesecake was awful. Tasted as if it was from a packet, it really was not nice, so that too was left. I went home hungry. The service was good but no one came and asked us if we were happy with our meals. We will not be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Roberts, General Manager at The Kingfisher Riveside Pub & Rooms
Responded 1 week ago
Dear GabyEngland, thank you for leaving a review. I am, of course, disappointed that you didn't enjoy your visit. We had 250 people for Sunday Lunch with predominately rave reviews on Easter Sunday, so I'm not sure what went wrong with your table. Of course, I will pass your feedback onto our team and we will review our Sunday roasts. I do hope you will reconsider and return in the future. Best wishes, Chris
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
BlackPear wrote a review Mar 2024
Worcester, United Kingdom114 contributions100 helpful votes
Kingfisher Pub with Rooms is also known as Barns Hotel. Located at the edge of the Great Ouze river, the restaurant offers nice views and there is a riverside walk on the opposite bank. Rooms are well appointed with a safe, iron/ironing board, tea and coffee provided. The restaurant gets busy evenings so table reservation may be needed. Food and service both good. Breakfast consisted of continental buffet and served hot food on a weekday and hot and cold buffet weekends. Service of hot food was slow and friendly, helpful staff seemed a little disorganised. Improved supervision would help. Free WiFi is available but getting a reasonable connection was hit and miss.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There are two electric vehicle charging points. Unfortunately, an app and prepayment are required...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Roberts, General Manager at The Kingfisher Riveside Pub & Rooms
Responded 1 week ago
Dear BlackPear, thank you for your review. I'm glad that you overall had a lovely time and we will take your feedback on breakfast on board. I do hope to welcome you back soon. Best wishes, Chris
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Julie R wrote a review Mar 2024
London, United Kingdom339 contributions9 helpful votes
I must say absolutely beautiful hotel. Stunning location Lovely food and staff. Rooms lovely ,beautiful river location but 1 member stood out , Connie ! Her efforts were above and beyond !! Lovely young lady , We will be very returning soon ………
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Roberts, General Manager at The Kingfisher Riveside Pub & Rooms
Responded 1 week ago
Dear JRussell13, thank you for a wonderful review. Connie will be as delighted as I am to read your comments and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes, Chris
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Cyrus wrote a review Mar 2024
Bedford, United Kingdom3 contributions
We very much enjoyed celebrating my 30th birthday at The Kingfisher last month! The atmosphere was lovely throughout the evening, with live music in the background. The food and drinks were delicious, the service was impeccable and the company was great too! This was my first time eating at The Kingfisher - previously, I'd only ever visited for drinks. My parents had attended Christmas parties there and always seemed to have a great experience. In particular, I would like to mention how pleased I was with the service that we received throughout the evening - from the initial welcome to the final goodbye. The level of service was just perfect for me - not too little, but also not too overbearing either. I'm very pleased that I decided to book a table at The Kingfisher to celebrate my birthday last month and I would certainly recommend it to others too! We very much look forward to returning to The Kingfisher very soon!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Roberts, General Manager at The Kingfisher Riveside Pub & Rooms
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Cyrus, thank you for leaving such a wonderful review. I'm so glad that we made your 30th Birthday special and I do hope that we will see you again very soon. All the best, Chris
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
dawnmunn66 wrote a review Mar 2024
Barnstaple, United Kingdom136 contributions38 helpful votes
+1
Fabulous Travel Zoo trip! Lovely warm trendy pub with comfortable rooms, a bottle of Prosecco with Chocs for Johns birthday too! What a lovely thought. Thank you for an incredible stay, dinner was fabulous as per the pics. Breakfast was faultless! The chef needs a massive pat on the back along with your attentive and friendly staff. Thanks to Cain who served us. Location is perfect for Bedford and also a 5 minute drive with free parking to the Priory Lake which has some lovely nature walks and plenty of wild life for you budding photographers. We will be back, simply stunning.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Roberts, General Manager at The Kingfisher Riveside Pub & Rooms
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Dawnmunn66, thank you for leaving such a lovely review. All of our team were delighted to read your comments and we cannot wait to welcome you back soon. Best wishes, Chris
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bedford area.
PRICE RANGE
£71 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Barns Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBedfordshireBedford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
49
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE KINGFISHER RIVESIDE PUB & ROOMS - Updated 2024 (Bedford)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Kingfisher Riveside Pub & Rooms
Which popular attractions are close to The Kingfisher Riveside Pub & Rooms?
Nearby attractions include Don't Get Locked In Escape Rooms (1.9 miles), The Rose Bedford (1.7 miles), and Birds of Prey Centre (2.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Kingfisher Riveside Pub & Rooms?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Kingfisher Riveside Pub & Rooms?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Kingfisher Riveside Pub & Rooms?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Kingfisher Riveside Pub & Rooms?
Conveniently located restaurants include Olive Tree Turkish Mediterranean Restaurant & Cocktail Bar, Chaat Haus, and Corner 5 Restaurant.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Kingfisher Riveside Pub & Rooms?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Kingfisher Riveside Pub & Rooms offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Kingfisher Riveside Pub & Rooms?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Woburn Abbey and Gardens (4.7 miles), Moggerhanger Park (3.9 miles), and Bedford Bridge (1.6 miles).
Does The Kingfisher Riveside Pub & Rooms have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.
Is The Kingfisher Riveside Pub & Rooms accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.