We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

d'Parys Hotel

45 De Parys Avenue, Bedford MK40 2UA, England
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Bedford Park
    0.3 mi
  • Free Parking
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed 2 days ago
Spot on
Stayed here for one night, and really liked it. It's quirky... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

208 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 206: English reviews
Widnes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for one night, and really liked it. It's quirky, homely and cosy. We didn't have our evening meal here as we wanted to eat out, but we did have an hour in the bar at the end the evening and it was lovely sat by the open fire. The breakfast was great and the young lady in charge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank missislee
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Went here for the first time for a family meal on my sons birthday, Impressed with the décor and the garden area, less so with the food, The crab cakes were clearly frozen and barely warm but most disappointing was the " De parys burger stack" 3 tiny burgers in a stale bun advertised as "smothered with cheese" but couldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dodge2017
UK
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Been here twice with friends for a meal and drinks.... I must say the food is very nice however, the service is not great! It is also quite expensive... After my first visit i thought i would give it the benefit of the doubt but unfortunately it hasn't improved.. the surroundings are very nice and the ambience is lovely.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patlar82
Management response:

Hi Patlar, I apologise that our service was not up to scratch on the given days that you chose to join us. We are always trying to improve and we are working very hard to improve our guest service. Hopefully you will see the difference on your next visit to us here. Many thanks, Kevin

Thrapston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My Wife and I have visited d'Parys on three occasions now and it is becoming our go to 'night away from the kids' choice locally. Sitting just a short walk from Bedford town centre on one of the towns broadest and prettiest boulevard's (yes...Bedford has boulevards!) and the large central park, it is a picturesque boutique hotel and restaurant. Food...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pesman66
Management response:

Hi Pesman, Many thanks for all our feedback regarding your rooms, we are currently undertaking a review of the rooms in regards to giving them a sparkle. Hopefully on your next visit you might see some things have changed for the better. Many thanks, Kevin

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a great evening with friends - 23 of us together to celebrate NYE. Food was excellent, very good service, gave us the 'library' for ourselves. Couldn't ask for a better service. Very accommodating to our requests, great 3 course meal. Charles, the waiter, was excellent at communication - some deaf guests, he positively interacted with them through gesturing. All...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin J
Management response:

Hi Kevin J, Thank you for the great feedback it was a pleasure having you here on New Years Eve and we hope you will join us again in the future along with helping us ring in 2018. Have a fantastic 2017 and we look forward to your next visit. Kevin

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The second time we have stayed at this hotel with my family. This is a querky hotel with old wooden doors fixed to the ceiling. This is still a great place to stay with good food and friendly service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronald T
Management response:

Hi Ronald T, Thanks for the wonderful feedback we look forward to welcoming the family again soon. Kind regards, Kevin

Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

The service we received today was awful. After being sat for 30 min we were told our order had been mixed up, 10 minutes later realised our first course hadn't'been put through, then when our second course came out not even what we had ordered. This took an hour to get our first course. After complaining to the manager he...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 80LiveTravel
Management response:

Hi 80LiveTravel, I do apologise for the frustrating experience you had with us in December. Unfortunately the issues were down to human error and occasionally this does happen we are incredibly sorry it happened to you and that is why we did look after the entire bill. I am certain your next visit to us will be more fruitful and...

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as a B and B Hotel is part of a pub/restaurant. Bedroom was at back of hotel and was quiet, bath in the room which was unusual. Good quality and recently refurbished room. Breakfast was a la carte and tasty with excellent cappuccinos, all served by Tony who can seem grumpy yet warmed up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
Management response:

Hi Chris, Thanks for the wonderful feedback. Toni is a master of the coffee machine and our bar team love to engage with our guests. We hope we will see you again in the future. Kevin

Reviewed 5 December 2016

The hotel was easy to find and is in a pleasant area where it is quiet and easy to park. The bar and restaurant look fantastic and have a warm and charming atmosphere. Our room was very nice. The window had been left wide open and the heating turn off though, so it was incredibly cold when we arrived. The...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jonathan P
Management response:

Dear Jonathan P, I am incredibly sorry for the terrible service and experience you received while at d'Parys. I would very much like to talk to you and organise a form of remuneration for your stay as it is not acceptable the way you were treated. If you would be able to contact me via MP@dparys.co.uk that would be fantastic....

winchester
Reviewed 29 November 2016

We've stayed in this hotel twice now. It's definitely my preferred place to stay in Bedford. It's a refurbished hotel, first built in Bedford's Victorian days. Now the ground floor is all open plan, but cunningly divided up into different areas so that it combines a sense of space with a sense of intimacy and charm. The bedrooms are similarly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigel A

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bedford hotels
0.5 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#7 of 17 in Bedford
1,485 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#3 of 17 in Bedford
623 reviews
0.6 mi away
Embankment Hotel
Embankment Hotel
#10 of 17 in Bedford
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Verve Hotel
Verve Hotel
#16 of 17 in Bedford
34 reviews
1.5 mi away
Woodland Manor Hotel
Woodland Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
303 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pilgrims Progress JD Wetherspoon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to d'Parys - the home of premium d'rinking, d'ining, and d'reaming located in the heart of Bedford on De Parys Avenue. D'Parys is an all fresh food restaurant, a d'istinctive city bar, a coffee and tuck shop offering nostalgic sweets with handmade cakes and gelato with 14 d'reamy bedrooms. We celebrate Bedford's brewing, education and industrial heritage using exposed bricks and iron to create a unique and frankly rather random mix of Victorian style and contemporary design. We are casual not formal making d'Parys a great place to enjoy a Saturday night treat; a catch up with friends over a mid-week coffee; a place to bring the kids for homemade ice cream before a trip to Bedford Park; somewhere for meetings with business colleagues; or the first choice for the paper over a freshly cooked breakfast at the weekend after a relaxing overnight stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about d'Parys Hotel

Address: 45 De Parys Avenue, Bedford MK40 2UA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Price Range: £72 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your d'Parys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Parys Bedford
De Parys Hotel Bedford
D'Parys Hotel Bedford, Bedfordshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from d'Parys Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from d'Parys Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our bedroom number 10 has got the bath in the bedroom”
 of 5 bubbles coppers321, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Call the staff and ask for advice - they're helpful by inclination.”
 of 5 bubbles NigelA513, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 9 is worth a visit”
 of 5 bubbles kevinsmith51, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If the roof leaks leave immediately and go to another hotel”
  • Nice to wake up to this
  • good job this didn't fall on us
 of 5 bubbles jv27, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Bring ear plugs.”
 of 5 bubbles mtaylor001, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5