Travelodge Welwyn Garden City
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Travelodge Welwyn Garden City

Fretherne Road Gate House, Welwyn Garden City AL8 6RD England
Traveller (76)
getlstd_property_photo
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 5 hotels in Welwyn Garden City
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Business
Languages Spoken
English
Property amenities
Parking
Paid wifi
Internet
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms

Location

Fretherne Road Gate House, Welwyn Garden City AL8 6RD England
687Reviews7Q+A75Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 425
  • 93
  • 45
  • 50
  • 74
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Stephen wrote a review Feb 2021
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very friendly staff, always willing to chat when not busy. Dorota and Jey exspecially willing to help with any problems or issue. (And also have been happy to talk to mě which i appreciate as i am alone during this lockdown) staff always empty my bin which i leave outside the door. Very easy to ask and get fresh towels, mugs etc ( replenish tea bag and coffee!) The room is a good size as is the tv screen. All in all i would recommend welwyn garden city travelodge to anyone needing to stay in this town wether for one night or a langer period like myself. This travelodge has an excellent location, with many coffee shop s and food outlets within a few hundred yards
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ashkiran2021 wrote a review Feb 2021
Greater London, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
One of the best place to stay in Welwyn Garden city , close to local shops and supermarket , train station . Hotel was clean with decent rooms and professional staff . Hotel is following the social distancing guidelines and providing hand sanitisers at every floor . Overall satisfied with my stay
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Date of stay: February 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CathyTravelling wrote a review Dec 2022
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our first experience of a Travelodge and we were really surprised at the cleanliness of our bedroom, sheets, towels etc and the friendly and helpful staff and above all the quality and variety of the all you can eat breakfast- especially the sausages. We parked at the Howard Shopping Centre multi-storey as there isn't any parking. We has a spacious family room overlooking the shopping street in the heart of the City. The two nights we were there we were not bothered by any late night noise. There is high water pressure so it is a good idea not to turn on the bathroom sink tap fully as it will spill onto the floor. There was plenty of hot water for all the family both evening and morning which was lovely. Overall it was a very pleasant stay, thanks in part to the friendliness and helpfulness of the reception and restaurant staff who went out of their way to be available for us. The only minor negative points are some staining on the hall carpet. And the bath is shorter than a normal bath and the fold out camp beds in the family room are on the small size but given the competitive price this was fine for us.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christopher S wrote a review Mar 2020
London, United Kingdom44 contributions20 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I had the unfortunate pleasure or rather not pleasure of having a stay at the travel lodge Welwyn Garden city last night.

I stayed with a friend and we both agreed that on arrival at the venue we are very disappointed to find there was no car parking at the location even though there was car parking locally. The travel lodge staff adviseadvised us of one in the local area but we found cheaper at the Howard Centre.

At a time where the country is all worried about the possibility of the contamination of coronavirus CR19 we found a room to be highly unsatisfactory when we got there dirty and grimy with an extra travel bed in our room for completely no reason.

We did not receive the free Wi-Fi on arrival and had to go and ask for it to find that we have been given a task of pass- key that meant you could have a maximum of two devices logged on with after having to give all your personal details in regards to email address and suchlike for them not to work properly. Unable to login to websites you would normally be able to login through and very very slow, poor access.

We were told the breakfast was on from eight in the morning till 11 in the morning we decided not to turn up straightaway at 8 o’clock as we have no need to and we can have a little lay-in When we started taking breakfast not all items where at the breakfast counter we assured they would be shortly the eggs have been under a heat lamp for long it was a long wait for meat ie: Bacon, sausages so if you’re a carnivore be aware. (we’re not all vegans in this world.)

The staff have a great ability to make themselves look busy even though they’re not. At many points during the breakfast as we had finished with items I had to get up and return them to the counter because none of their staff were clearing tables or even really looked interested.

The staff did not always seem to understand what you were asking of them.

The breakfast itself was not unpleasant. And some of the views of Welwyn Garden City very nice. However to be aware the outside at least one room there is a lamp post with a 360° camera that can looks directly into your room.

A very poor and unsatisfactory stay at this dated location.

Not great. Pictures that come alongside this review all of the dirt that was collected in the room on the first arrival.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Welwyn Garden City
Responded 11 Mar 2020
Thank you for your feedback. We are really sorry to hear of your experience. Please accept our sincerest apologies and we have passed your comments onto the hotel manager as this does not reflect Travelodge standards. Could we kindly ask you to contact one of our Customer Services Advisors via our website help form with a copy of your review to look into this more thoroughly. Thank you again for your review and we hope to hear from you soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Becky1 wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here with a friend last night, as soon as we walked into the hotel room we noticed how dirty it was so we had to clean it before commencing our stay. We was charged the priveledge of £1.70 for a bottle of water! The food was adiqute but could of been a bit fresher. The staff wasn't really interested in the customers at all. On my email there said there was parking, but on arrival there were very limited parking as it looked like people who worked in the local area was parked there. But when we spoked to them they said there was no free parking so we had to park elsewhere for an extra £6. When we looked out the window there was a camera facing to the window. When we went to pick up one of the cups it was stuck to the table.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TravelodgeUK, Zack from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Welwyn Garden City
Responded 10 Mar 2020
Thank you for submitting your review of our Welwyn Garden City Travelodge. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we would like to apologise that your room was not cleaned to our usual high standard, and that you were disappointed with the service provided by the hotel team. We hope to ensure all of our guests have a comfortable stay, and we are sorry that we did not achieve this on this occasion. If you wish to contact us directly so that we can discuss your experience further, please be aware that you can always contact our Customer Services team via our website. All customer feedback is valuable to us, so thank you again for your comments.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
joeD8541YN wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.
My first impressions weren't great when I had to stand at the entrance ringing the intercom for someone to let me in for nearly 20 minutes. This was around 2pm so it was reasonable to expect that the reception should have been fully manned.
The receptionist was rude and not welcoming.
My bedroom smelled of vomit, had large unsightly stains on the carpet, didn't have any tea or coffee, and had a leaky pipe in the bathroom. The temperature in the bedroom is permanently set to 22°C which is uncomfortable during the summertime.
During the night, around 3 or 4am, there was a loud party in one of the rooms in the corridor, with teenagers coming and going all night, running up and down the corridors, and playing knock down ginger. I tried to call through to the 24 hour reception phone line but my calls weren't answered.
I have filed a complaint directly with Travelodge but want to warn other travellers to think twice before booking this particular hotel.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Date of stay: August 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Phil wrote a review Feb 2021
Kent, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is superb, the staff are absolutely brilliant from the duty manager right down to the cleaning staff. Rooms are amazing this really should be classed as Travelodge Business Class. I have actually cancelled my Premier Inn bookings to book this Travelodge instead. Special thanks to Jey who’d always ensure my stay was at the highest standard. She should be regional manager if not already, as she could drive up standards across other sites. I've stayed in some of the best hotels across the world, really impressed with this quality at this price.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: All Rooms good, ones facing High St exceptional
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kubs E wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I came for a weekend stay with my wife and kids,
I was so impressed with how clean and welcoming this travel lodge was, it's really because of how polite and helpful the staff was especially the manager jey she was so helful with anything we needed she was on point and so very polite. Katherina and annemarie were so nice too always smiling and anything we wanted was there straight away. Thank you so much to the team who served us and made our stay feel lovely and comfy
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jane W wrote a review Aug 2021
Truro District, United Kingdom1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Sadly we had a room over the Tapas bar and suffered a lot of noise late at night. In addition the curtains didn't block out any of the light - they were very thin. Our autistic son hardly slept and we were awake for hours. After the drunks the shop deliveries started being noisy at about 5am. All a terrible shame as the beds were comfortable. Spolied our stay and we won't be going back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
L L wrote a review Jul 2021
26 contributions6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
On website said it was 11 miles from where i had an event in reality it was 17!

No parking at the hotel and all options nearby were a bit dodgy when it was dark.

My room was along a very long corridor, the carpet had many marks on that looked like somebody had been sick but it hadn't been cleaned up properly.

Got to my room and curtains were shut, opened them to find the multi-story carpark looked directly into the room so curtains stayed shut the whole stay!

Bed felt like sleeping on bricks woke up with back ache every morning.

Being at the end of a very long corridor assumed the room would be quiet.....no such luck. Loud bang every time the doors shut and the walls were so thin could hear everything including when people next door had ran a bath. Know the neighbours could also hear as when I ran a bath heard them say 'oh she must be having a bath'.

Night 4 of my 4 night stay couldn't face another night at this hotel so went home early. That should never be the case, very disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Take earplugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maxine H asked a question Feb 2024
Sheffield, United Kingdom2 contributions
We are staying in a week or so, where is cheapest and best to park for the hotel? Thankyou.
Answer from Miss Millie
Sheffield, United Kingdom70 contributions40 helpful votes
We parked inside the Howard centre. Was so convenient and safe too. We paid £8.50 for 24hr parking.
Deirdre O asked a question May 2022
Sydney, Australia179 contributions81 helpful votes
Does anyone know if there is air conditioning in the rooms?
Answer from Amy Peralta
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Hello! Yes, there is heating and air conditioning in all the rooms!
Walter M asked a question Oct 2021
5 contributions
Can a 17 year old stay in this hotel alone?
Answer from Dxppy
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom2 contributions
Unfortunately you have to be 18 years of age to stay alone, or if you are under the age of 18 you have to be accompanied by an adult.
Answer from Digger63
1 contribution
No breakfast unless you purchase a cold box an take it to your room . Value for money not very good . Dont buy the breakfast box. Eat out lots of shops to choose from. Cheers
gemmajane asked a question Oct 2019
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom114 contributions13 helpful votes
How much to London on the train please.?
Answer from David
Sutton-in-Craven, United Kingdom6 contributions2 helpful votes
Around £6.20
Wayneeeee wrote a tip Apr 2024
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom61 contributions60 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great central location. "
Read full review
Toni B wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Its nice to meet happy people "
Read full review
toniallan wrote a tip Apr 2024
Ramsgate, United Kingdom33 contributions29 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check carefully for parking if you bring a car."
Read full review
Colin M wrote a tip Apr 2024
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Shower power wasn't great, and even though advertised as double le it was actually x2 singles pushed together."
Read full review
Carl G wrote a tip Apr 2024
Newport, United Kingdom15 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you want a good night sleep book elsewhere"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Welwyn Garden City area.
PRICE RANGE
£26 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHertfordshireWelwyn Garden City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
79
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TRAVELODGE WELWYN GARDEN CITY - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Travelodge Welwyn Garden City
Which popular attractions are close to Travelodge Welwyn Garden City?
Nearby attractions include Recover (0.6 miles), Campus West Welwyn Garden City (0.3 miles), and Barn Theatre (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Travelodge Welwyn Garden City?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at Travelodge Welwyn Garden City?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Travelodge Welwyn Garden City?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Travelodge Welwyn Garden City?
Conveniently located restaurants include Misya Meze & Grill, The Stanborough Beefeater, and Red Indian Restaurant.
Is Travelodge Welwyn Garden City located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the centre of Welwyn Garden City.
Are pets allowed at Travelodge Welwyn Garden City?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Travelodge Welwyn Garden City?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Shaw's Corner (3.4 miles), Panshanger Park, (1.4 miles), and Wheathampstead Railway Station (3.9 miles).
Is Travelodge Welwyn Garden City accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Welwyn Garden City HotelsWelwyn Garden City Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Welwyn Garden CityHotels near Travelodge Welwyn Garden City
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire