Woodlands Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Woodlands Hotel

Traveller (127)
taken from the garden
Room & Suite (18)
Breakfast room
Dining (10)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
£175
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
£175
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
£175
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#4 of 13 hotels in Sidmouth
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The Woodlands Hotel is an eighteen bedroom hotel steeped in history, set in a peaceful, private garden in the seaside town of Sidmouth. The hotel is just a few minutes easy walk from both the town centre, with its traditional shops, and the seafront; yet enjoys a tranquil garden with a stream running through.The hotel has free wifi, new flat screen TV's and has been recently renovated with new carpets and beds.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Special diet menus
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Room features
Allergy-free room
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Bottled water
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Charming
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Station Road, Sidmouth EX10 8HG England
791Reviews6Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 598
  • 169
  • 14
  • 3
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
CarrieRoome wrote a review Jan 2020
Ascot, United Kingdom31 contributions24 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We decided on a very impromptu visit to Sidmouth this weekend and were very fortunate to find The Woodlands Hotel, what a fantastic property. The hotel has such a warm feel about it and a perfect location for the sea front ,shops and restaurants of this lovely and historic seaside town.

The owners Dan and Megan made us and our small dog feel incredibly welcome. As a family of four we booked a twin and the most beautiful garden double room which was pet friendly (dogs only allowed in ground floor rooms). The hotel is so tastefully decorated and the bedrooms were a great size with new bathrooms and very welcome amenities (tea making facilities, pooch pack and glass refillable water bottle).

The conservatory/bar area was fantastic, loads of seating, light and bright and a great space for an evening drink or morning coffee. Breakfast was 10/10, full English choice and even a great vegetarian option alongside heaps of toast and tea.

Thank you Dan and Megan we will be returning for sure and hopefully will be able to stay much longer.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Away days wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a great stay at the Woodlands Hotel. It is within easy walking distance of Sidmouth with on site parking. Dan and Megan make you feel very welcome and are a lovely couple. Unfortunately although we had booked for 3 nights we had to cut short our holiday after 2 nights because of an emergency at home. Dan and Megan were very understanding of this. I have no doubt in recommending this hotel to stay at and will hopefully be able to go again to explore more of the Jurassic coastline.
I have read that someone has written the breakfast was very sparse I would dispute this . There is a choice of over 10 different cereals all packaged individually , different yogurts , fruit, full English breakfast ( with about 8 items to choose from), full English vegetarian breakfast , choice of white white or brown toast, a choice of 5 fruit juices , tea and coffee. We found all this to be more than adequate to start our day. Food was served by staff in masks and we felt that adequate precautions had been put in place at the hotel with hand sanitiser at various places around the hotel. Staff wiped down all surfaces and all guests kept their own table. We appreciate that this is difficult circumstances but at all times we felt save and it did not feel clinical.
We had one evening meal at the hotel which was 3 courses followed by coffee or tea and chocolate mints in the conservatory. Again the choice was good with about 5 different choices for each course. The room was nicely decorated and looked freshly painted in greys and white with ochre touches around the room.
Sidmouth is a lovely little town to explore with many independent shops. We also visited Branscombe and Beer.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BEGirl66 wrote a review Oct 2020
Southampton, United Kingdom20 contributions32 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Woodlands Hotel. We made our choice based on the reviews and we were not disappointed.

A family run business Dan & Megan are warm, friendly hospitable hosts. The place is quirky & nicely decorated & furnished. Our room was very nice, clean & bright. The only issue we had was being too warm with a very heavy quilt but after our first night we spoke to 2 lovely friendly housekeepers who immediately removed the quilt & replaced with a sheet as we requested. We went for the bed & breakfast plus dinner option as we couldn't be bothered faffing about trying to find somewhere to eat in the evenings under the current restrictions. And we were so glad we did. Breakfast was very good - something for everyone and dinner was amazing. Good choices & the quality of the food was excellent. They also make lovely custard which my husband requested with his choice of dessert every night. We have definitely come home a few pounds heavier.

With restrictions as they are the Woodlands Hotel is an environment where you feel safe but can relax. I would highly recommend you stay here. If we come to Sidmouth again we definitely will be.

Thanks Dan & Megan!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
agatha692016 wrote a review Jun 2021
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom25 contributions40 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have recently returned home from a two night stay at the Woodlands Hotel. It is well situated, being about a 10 minute walk from the Seafront and the main Town Centre. The owners, Megan and Dan, were very friendly, welcoming and clearly attention to detail is important to them. Our room was extremely clean with a large comfortable bed, additional seating and toiletries were supplied in the bathroom.. An excellent breakfast is cooked to order, plentiful and with many choices. Covid restrictions are sensibly adhered to.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We chose a top of the range downstairs room with accessibility to the garden via our own door. ...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dan Cozens, Owner at Woodlands Hotel
Responded 2 Jun 2021
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Woodlands. regards Dan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ant T wrote a review Oct 2021
Lydbrook, United Kingdom12 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
From the tiny car park to the terrible breakfast this ‘hotel’ should be avoided. We were not given the room we booked and were not told before our arrival that we would have to eat outdoors with our dog even though it was the end of September, very wet and windy. The reason was because dogs were not allowed in the dining room. Ironically the owners’ dogs had free reign of the hotel and garden, and were at our door every time we tried to leave our room. We were not aware of there being chickens either, clearly not suitable with a dog. Breakfast was diabolical. Vegetarian sausage or meat sausage and bacon cooked with egg, beans and mushrooms. No decent bread, croissants or pastries, just the same small packets of special k, corn flakes etc.. a bowl of Granny Smiths, and the same small pots of orange segments and yoghurt each day. The bathroom was tiny with a shelf just about big enough for toothpaste etc. But no shaving socket. On the plus side the water pressure and temperature were good. The heated towel rail though was not working and the bed had seen better days, certainly not new. All for the extortionate price of £545 for 3 days and an extra £30 for our dog. We have never stayed anywhere so expensive where the standards in particular the room and breakfast were so poor. We would not recommend it to anyone at these prices.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dan Cozens, Owner at Woodlands Hotel
Responded 14 Oct 2021
Its a shame you didn't enjoy your stay and we appear not to be the hotel for you. When you booked with us you were clearly told by myself exactly which room you were getting and I even described your room to you and that is exactly the room you got. We also discussed over numerous telephone calls just where your dog was and was not permitted. You accepted this before booking. Your dog - A very large and friendly German shepherd was very exuberant and despite the harness he was wearing appeared to be pulling whoever was holding him. I hate to think what would have happened to our restaurant had dogs been permitted in there. You also arrived in a very large new 4x4 vehicle which you were not able to park on any of the 4 parking bays that were available. I had to park it for you in our "Tiny Car Park" that no one else seemed to be finding difficulty in parking in with their 4x4's and VW Transporter Vans. I even reserved a parking bay for you to assist for the remainder of your stay but i see no mention of this in your review ? There are always two sides to a story and it is obvious from our other reviews that our other guests clearly have an alternate opinion of our hotel, their stays, our breakfasts, the comfort in the hotel and how welcome they felt with their pets. With over 25 years experience in hospitality we have learned that no matter how hard you try you cannot please everyone 100% of the time. Dan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
debpaulg26 wrote a review Mar 2020
Barnet, United Kingdom13 contributions22 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were on our way down to Sidmouth and fortunately for us we came across this gem ! We were escorted around the hotel - a 700 year old residence steeped in history ! We had a ground floor very large premium room with arched door to the patio and gardens. With plenty of cupboard/drawer space TV tea coffee facilities. Immaculately clean, with shower room ! Breakfast was lovely in a beautiful large bright room, with selection of cereals/fruits etc and then cooked perfectly full English or kippers - cooked to order ! I don’t usually eat eggs but wanted to sample one from one of hens that ran loose in their garden - best omelette ever ! Thank you for that Dan ! Finally brings us to hosts Dan & Megan, so accommodating and helpful with local knowledge to assist with our passion for walks ! Friendly home from home experience with large bar area too!Fab few days cannot recommend highly enough !
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dewarenne wrote a review Mar 2020
Cheltenham, United Kingdom8 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had to travel to Devon this week and elected to stay in the Woodlands Hotel in Sidmouth on a B&B basis. There were few other gueste at the hotel and the weather was dreadful but we were received warmly and given a tour of facilities. The room was clean and comfortable, the double bed a very good size and the bathroom adequate if a little small, though with piping hot water and good shower pressure. Facilities were better than you might expect from a 2 star establishment with a good honesty bar and plenty of room to sit and read or relax. Breakfast was fine, a full English offering served quickly and hot. The location is very good, being within walking distance of the town centre and the wonderful sea front; and if you have never been to Sidmouth before it is well worth a visit, with a good beach, wonderful cliff walks and views; and a quirky and attractive range of shops and sights. It also provides a good base for visting along the coast to jurassic Dorset or back towards the Exe Estuary and East Devon's attractive villages as well.

All in all a pleasant visit, with the hotel offering good facilities and comfort at reasoable cost. Oh, and they have a beautiful pair of labradors as well!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RichardSa2014 wrote a review Aug 2020
Bramley, United Kingdom35 contributions74 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Pleasant enough stay the Breakfast was quite sparse and the selection was again limited. The room was large and nicely decorated 10 minute walk to Sidmouth beach which is stones/pebbles. But expected a little bit more for the price we paid
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Annette B wrote a review Jun 2021
Bedford, United Kingdom4 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 4 nights at the Woodlands Hotel in June 2021 staying in a superior room. The hotel has a relaxed and friendly vibe. Our room was bright, airy and well maintained and had a modern bathroom with separate shower cubicle. During these times of Covid they make it clear they will not come in to service the bedrooms unless you request them to do so and we asked for this to be done only once during our stay, but someone came in daily to replenish the tea/coffee and also to refresh the very welcome carafe of fresh drinking water. They even took the trouble to straighten the bed covers while there. The breakfast was good and included lovely free range eggs from the resident hens. There is an honesty bar which we found very useful and a wonderfully large terrace in the pretty garden we made much use of. We only ate here on 1 evening and enjoyed our dinner, the only downside is the meal must be booked and ordered from a fairly limited menu before 5pm. The hotel has a large car park, another huge bonus, and it was just a 5 minute walk to the town and seafront. Hard to fault this hotel and we hope to return soon.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dan Cozens, Owner at Woodlands Hotel
Responded 24 Jun 2021
Thank you for your informative review, We look forward to seeing you again soon. Dan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andy M wrote a review Mar 2020
Sheffield62 contributions61 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sidmouth may not be the first place on people’s minds when they are thinking of taking a relaxing break in the UK, but a stay at the Woodlands Hotel is enough to make it top of the list!

Dan & Megan provide a fabulous place to stay, with beautifully decorated rooms, spotless bathrooms and a wonderful, relaxing, home from home atmosphere. The beds are comfortable and allow a great night’s sleep.

Pets are allowed at this hotel and there is a beautiful, large rear garden to relax in the sun. Although pets are allowed at the hotel, those without pets will not see, nor smell any evidence of this, as the hotel is spotlessly clean and fresh smelling. It makes for the perfect setting, whether you are with, or without, man’s best friend.

The hotel has a well stocked ‘honesty’ bar, allowing guests to relax as if they were in their own home.

The restaurant area is a pet free area and the quality of the food is excellent. Dan, Megan and the staff do a great job of making you feel welcome and ensure you have a wonderful stay.

I can definitely recommend this for anyone wanting a relaxing break, whilst being walking distance to the town and seafront.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Dan C
Sidmouth, United Kingdom3 contributions4 helpful votes
yes we can
Answer from Dan_Woodlands
devon3 contributions
Hi there are a lot of coastal walks that can be done locally along with walking along the river, where the dogs are free to run. The main beach is off limits for dogs but the far beach beyond Jacobs ladder permits dogs too. on top of that pets are welcome at several of the pubs in town along with Bicton Gardens, The Donkey Sanctuary and Escot House. Please call us to book and we can advise on other locations. Dan
a5hl3y t asked a question Apr 2017
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
any pubs or places to eat nearby due to us having a dog with us
Answer from Dan_Woodlands
devon3 contributions
Hi, Yes there are several places all within walking distance. We suggest however that if you are booking that you call us directly as not all of our rooms are dog friendly, and this is not shown on any of the websites. kind regards Dan 01395513120
Answer from Dan_Woodlands
devon3 contributions
Hello Dawn, We are open at Christmas , However we only offer B & B for the period. Our rates are £130 per room in a standard room or £160 in our superior rooms. if this is of interest Please call us on 01395513120 Kind regards Dan
Destination315504 wrote a tip Mar 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book so your not dissapointed."
Read full review
Margaret H wrote a tip Oct 2023
Crowborough22 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you want to bring your dog make sure you tell them beforehand so that you are allocated a dog friendly room. "
Read full review
John D wrote a tip Aug 2023
Birmingham, United Kingdom20 contributions24 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"GET BOOKED ASAP"
Read full review
Margaret H wrote a tip Jun 2023
25 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The bus service runs really well and Drivers the most friendliest we've ever met.If you want fantastic food eat at the Anchor Inn in the town"
Read full review
ian t wrote a tip May 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms overlooking the garden are quieter than the road - but the road's not very noisy!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sidmouth area.
PRICE RANGE
£133 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
woodlands hotel sidmouth
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDevonSidmouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WOODLANDS HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Woodlands Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Woodlands Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Sidmouth Museum (0.2 miles), Sidmouth - Valley, Ridge and Jurassic Coast walk (0.3 miles), and Sidmouth Toy & Model Museum (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Woodlands Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Woodlands Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, extra long beds, and a walk-in shower.
What food & drink options are available at Woodlands Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Woodlands Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Woodlands Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Someday Something, The Courtyard, and Neil's Restaurant.
Is Woodlands Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the centre of Sidmouth.
Are pets allowed at Woodlands Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Woodlands Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Bicton Park Botanical Gardens (3.2 miles), Blackbury Camp (5.0 miles), and Margells (4.2 miles).
All Sidmouth HotelsSidmouth Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SidmouthHotels near Woodlands Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire