We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal Hotel Scarborough

TripAdvisorUS$63*
View Deal
May 7 May 8
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lowest price we found
US$63*
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Royal Hotel Scarborough
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,303 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Royal Hotel Scarborough
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,299: English reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2015

well me and my wife stayed here on numerous occasions and every stay is the same. the staff cannot do enough for you always helpful and polite, the rooms are clean and spacious. The entertainment is always good something different every night ,prices are good too , if you are going away to feel special for a few days then...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank oberonsghost
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Simon Powell

Reviewed 19 June 2015

On arriving at the hotel at first things looked alright. Though like most old hotels in the UK a bit tired. Then went up to the room found that were no chest of draws in the room( on speaking to other residents others rooms also had no draws),the room had 2bedss,1 small wardrobe, & glass bedside tables & a coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Katey C
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer. Kind regards,

Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2015

We stay at the Royal Hotel every time we go to Scarborough because of the location and we love the hotels facilities and value for money. We stayed for 3 nights on the 24th May with friends (who booked the wrong GRAND hotel opposite). As repeat visitors we loved the newly refurbished room(s) number 206 with large flat screen TV...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank mtbtlr
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Simon Powell

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 June 2015

Bought Dinner Bed and Breakfast package via Hotels.com for £104.00. The Royal Hotel did not inform Hotels.com that the leisure facilities were at a cost. When I raised this with the duty manager he rolled his eyes and said i need to call hotels.com. Aside from the poor service at the front desk, the floor boards are very noisy and...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank ANewbury
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer. Kind regards, Simon Powell

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 June 2015

I heard some terrible reviews about this hotel and was quite concerned. However on arrival we checked in and first impressions on the hotel was stunning, the staff were polite and professional, so a great start. It got even better as we had a complimentary upgrade into room 207 which was a twin suite. The suite was stunning and had...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Paul P
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer. Kind regards, Simon Powell

Reviewed 15 June 2015 via mobile

What could be a wonderful hotel needs some money spending on it. Booked last minute for me, my partner and our 3 year old. People saying you get what you pay for, I've paid less for a lot better. Corridors carpets were a mess, very uneven, child tripped several times. Staff seemed friendly enough (didn't see or speak to them...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Briony84
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer. Kind regards, Simon Powell

Reviewed 15 June 2015 via mobile

Had a one night stay at the royal while going to concert at open air theatre. While the hotel was ok it was slightly passed its best & needs an update.Though the room was adequate it was not the cleanest room I've stayed in (cobwebs in curtains & such) & the uneven floors & particularly the small step to the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Jackie M
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer. Kind regards, Simon Powell

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2015

Arrived & the building is very old & scruffy from outside. Amazing old building inside. Room ok just basic but like the building all could do with money spending on it to bring it up to a better standard but I guess that is why it is 3* & not 5*. You definitely get what you pay for here. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mummykins1962
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer. Kind regards, Simon Powell

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2015 via mobile

grand entrance n looks really nice but Poor housekeeping. Dirty towels and bedding. Paper coming down off ceiling in bedroom.nails sticking out of bedroom walls. Poor accommodation. On the plus side...good location

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank debnfrank
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer. Kind regards, Simon Powell

Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 June 2015 via mobile

This hotel is situated at the top of the walkway from the sea front so is in a very good position.it is a very nice hotel although dated in its. decoration it is clean and comfortable with a feeling of grandeur, food is good and the bar is well stocked with a good selection of drinks, rooms with a sea...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Eddie B
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Simon Powell

878 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (867)
Viewed
Bathroom (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (187)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (143)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from Room (46)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
1:34
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (407)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
May 7 May 8
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,614 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Hotel Scarborough staff and other travellers.
57 questions
Ask a question
5 days ago

See all questions (57)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Hotel Scarborough staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“book a superior sea view room”
323GillB, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“From travellers pics all rooms seem in poor state. We were at back brick walls for a view. The best tip don't go.”
alisonl2013, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Sea view seem to be the better rooms”
VickyG83, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go some where else!”
648bernied, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Paid for a sea view and can hardly see the sea. Just don,t come. Absolute mess of a warren.”
JoyM987, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$63* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Hotwire.com
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates