We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Dickens Bar & Inn

Is this your business?
Save
Traveller (37)
Room & Suite (12)
Dining (5)
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good36%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“girl serving”(3 reviews)
“side salad”(2 reviews)
AMENITIES
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Bar/Lounge
Free Parking
Pool
Restaurant
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
50
37
9
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
50
37
9
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgirl servinghomemade coleslawside saladbig tvwaitress servicescampisunday lunchcomfy bedlovely roomone night staygrand hoteltown centrewould stay againpleasant stayvisit scarboroughfull english breakfasttea coffee
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 106 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Spent a weekend here , drink prices very reasonable. Staff very good and clean tables . Great place to watch sport and good nighttime dj . Great location but no food or menu in operation . Table service after 9 on a weekend .

Thank Steve S
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited for one night stay with friends this weekend. The accommodation is centrally located above the pub so it is quite noisey but we did expect this so no problem. Check in was quick and girl behind counter very good. She was even serving behind...More

Thank msbYorkEngland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came for drinks with friends of mixed age ranges last night (24-57) and we had a lovely visit. We enjoyed our drinks, which were the most expensive that we paid the whole weekend in Scarborough, but this didn't bother us as the staff were friendly,...More

Thank Joanna W
Response from Dickens Bar I, Manager at The Dickens Bar & InnResponded 2 weeks ago

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit at the Dickens Bar and we hope to maybe see you again in the future.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We popped in for a drink and very were pleased to be served promptly and efficiently. Plenty of screens around in you wanted to watch the sport being shown, but quiet and comfortable enough for a chat too.

Thank televisionsover
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

On a night out we nipped in for a drink. Bar is really nice and has a good ambience. But the drinks were poor. I had a Guinness which was flat and tasteless. Rather dissapointing as the venue is rather nice.

1  Thank Ryan W
View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Scarborough, United Kingdom
See all 26 hotels in ScarboroughSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$108 - US$113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$108 - US$113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (37)
Room & Suite (12)
Dining (5)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Den J
3 February 2018|
Answer
Response from neesy-ben | Reviewed this property |
We stayed last september, and the twin room we were in had a roomy ensuite.
1
Vote
773brenda
28 May 2016|
Answer
Response from Dickens Bar I | Property representative |
Unfortunately we cannot establish which room you're enquiring about. If you would like to provide more information, we will try to assist. We currently only have 2 double rooms available for the dates in question.
0
Votes
773brenda
28 May 2016|
Answer
Response from Dickens Bar I | Property representative |
The Pickwick is due to reopen 8th of July, under the new name The Dickens Bar and Inn.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Nice spot for a rest and a drink"
Read review
"Room 8 is a double with a seaview / bay window on the 3rd floor."
Read review
"We did not stay here. We just dined in the bar."
Read review
"Room 1 is a small twin with a rear view, its quiet at night for sleeping."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing