We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grand Hotel Scarborough

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

6,110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Scarborough
See the most recent reviews
Showing 6,100: English reviews
London
Reviewed 22 June 2015 via mobile

My wife and I stayed last Saturday night at this hotel. We stayed in a sea view room on floor 5 B&B. The room was booked on line as a double. What we got was a small room with 2 single beds. The bathroom was ok and had a jacuzzi but that didn't work. It was all very basic, but...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank andrewjhart
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear andrewjhart Thank you for your review. Our on-going refurbishment programme continues to address many of the areas highlighted. We will ensure that you feedback is passed to the relevant departments for further review. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Liversedge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 June 2015

stayed here midweek not too busy room was clean and tidy and well maintained breakfast was good food busy and slightly disorganised drink reasonably priced with friendly staff beware the room location though there was no lift access to our rooms fine normally but difficult on arrival and leaving with luggage

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank michael w
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear michael w Thank you for your review and taking the time to share with the traveller community. Only this week we have changed our style of operation for Breakfast and Dinner to enhance our guests experience. Thank you for your kind comments in relation to our team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 June 2015

I am not a snob and have stayed in many budget hotels, which if I am honest have not been as clean as the grand hotel, however when we were placed in a room that had no window we immediately asked to be moved. Looking at other reviews on our return it looks like we were given the standard reply...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank 41becky
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear 41becky Many thanks for your review. We are really sorry to hear that we never met with your expectations for your stay with us. Our city bedrooms offer amazing value for money for the budget traveller. We are currently experiencing intermittent errors with our TV signal across the hotel, this is being addressed and will be fully operational shortly...

Reviewed 21 June 2015

Booked for me and my partner. Arrived at the hotel and had to queue for around 10 minutes to check in. Once given our key for the room we had to get a lift down to the minus 3 floor.( basement) The room was damp and our TV didn't work, we asked to upgrade our room and the staff said...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Philip B
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Philip B Thank you for your review. Oh dear doesn't sound like we ticked all your boxes during your stay with us. It seems like you did not enjoy our amazing value for money City Bedrooms, many of our customers do find these great value for money. Our on-going refurbishment programme continues to address many of the areas highlighted.

Reviewed 21 June 2015

Stopped here 20/06/15 for one night thank god the only way I would describe this hotel is a slum, the room was a disgrace the taps on the sink were odd one was chrome the other was white.The carpet was stained and the fittings were something I would put my tools in in my shed. The best thing for this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Glenn W
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Glenn W Many thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet with your expectations for your stay with us. Our team work effortlessly to offer a seamless service. We continue our on-going refurbishment across the hotel which many fellow travellers have commented on. We do hope you spoke to our team during your...

Reviewed 21 June 2015 via mobile

I like to read reviews & often find that some people have very high expectations & so wasn't expecting too much with this hotel but certainly my expectations were not that low! It is a beautiful building on the outside & has some lovely features inside, such as the fantastic staircase & lovely ceilings & pillars, though in need of...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Elaine H
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Elaine H Many thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet with your expectations for your stay with us. Our team work effortlessly to offer a seamless service. We continue our on-going refurbishment across the hotel which many fellow travellers have commented on. We do hope you spoke to our team during your...

Reviewed 20 June 2015 via mobile

Beautiful hotel! Clean and staff so welcoming. Me and my other half stayed here for my birthday! it's a beautiful hotel and we loved it, it had everything we could have needed or wanted and the view from our room was breath taking, really did make me birthday staying here - we hope to return next month :) I can't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SarahnAd
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear SarahnAd Thank you for your review. It certainly sounds like you had an amazing stay, thank you for sharing this with the traveller community. Our hotel offers a unique opportunity as you said to stay in an amazing historic hotel with great atmosphere. Thank you for your kind comments in relation to our team. We look forward to welcoming...

Skipton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2015

This hotel is very, very tired, to say the least. Certain members of staff were miserable, unhelpful and rude to say the least, particularly in the 'Java Lounge'. We requested a ground floor room and were placed in a room on floor 5. This was not a problem as there is a lift in the hotel to all floors. However,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank nannyjan55
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear nannyjan55 Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to learn of your experience, as the evening Duty Manager commented on all your feedback has been addressed, your initial bedroom should have been given to yourself and as commented on by the Duty Manager glazers were in the hotel to repair this damage. As part of the hotels...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2015

Booked 4 nights at Grand Hotel. After reading reviews, was very worried. Actually pleasantly surprised. Big room overlooking the bay. bedding & towels spotless. Food more than adequate. The staff were lovely. Special thanks to Lucy & Jay. If i had one complaint it would be lack of parking. Would go back again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lynn B
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Lynn B Thank you for your review. It certainly sounds like you ignored the negative reviews and experienced a true holiday experience with us, thank you for sharing this. Our team work seamlessly day in day out to ensure we offer amazing customer experience thank you mentioning to of our team directly. We look forward to welcoming you back...

Reviewed 20 June 2015

We booked 2 rooms for 3 nights and upgraded them to Premier Twin Executive rooms, and found rooms I struggle to be believe still exist in this day and age. Everything that can be horrendous in a hotel was from reception, to filthy rooms, doors that we were told to stick something into hole and wiggle in order to open;...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MargaretENM
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear MargaretENM Thank you for your review. We do appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with the traveller community. We will address the points you have raised regarding your bedrooms, sorry things were not exactly to our usual standards. The hotel is currently under a refurbishment programme where by many of the areas of you have commented...

2,135 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2007)
Viewed
Room/Suite (393)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (412)
Viewed
View from Room (100)
Viewed
Bathroom (100)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (33)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (906)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (78)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Beach (2)
Viewed
Double Room with Sea View (29)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,306 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,624 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
801 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: £40 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Hotel Scarborough staff and other travellers.
121 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (121)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Hotel Scarborough staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best views are overlooking the sea”
Jonah61, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“up grade is worth it for the view”
151paulinec, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't be mis-lead by the name”
billyboy2802, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“another hotel”
211garthd, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Please for your own sake, dont stay here.”
ameliahallx, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5