We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Ambassador Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ambassador Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 1,111: English reviews
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Went to the hotel today for a Christmas drink with friends. However the hotel was all in darkness and locked up.The hotel looked very run down with a notice board in the garden which is falling to pieces with broken glass all over the place.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 687alanb
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Just returned from a great wkend in Scarborough and a comfortable stay at the Ambassador. The sea view family room is fantastic! My only suggestions for improvement would be not to have plastic cups to hold your tooth brush i as they just fall over! And maybe provide a shower cap as the amazing shower is fab but difficult if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jwistow73
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

A very pleasant hotel near the South Bay and town centre staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. Added bonus is free use of pool and spa, breakfasts are amazing altogether a great hotel at extremely competitive prices.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was in a good location for us as we like to stroll into town. Obviously Scarborough is quite hilly therefore an elderly couple might find it a little too far out. Our room had a sea view which we chose purposely and on a night you could see the seafront all lit up which was lovely. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janis R
CustomerService3638, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janis R Thank you for taking time to leave us great feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at the Ambassador Hotel We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope to see you again sometime in the future Kind Regards

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I recently stayed at the ambassador hotel with my 3year old son. We had a lovely family room but unfortunately had a leak in our room so got moved with no fuss what so ever to a nicer Seaview family room! Staff were lovely and polite and breakfast was great. Rooms were clean and tidy and very spacious. When it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christina B
CustomerService3638, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Christina B Thank you for taking time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay with us I am so happy that you son liked his treats and that you all had a wonderful time at our hotel. We hope to see you back here again in the future Kind Regards

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Found this place online and decided to ignore the comments, and I'm glad we did! We had a double sea view rooms. Beautiful rooms. All clean fresh towels etc. Comfy bed and slept well! Showers great and powerful. With it being November the heating was on which is lovely and cosy. Staff lovely and friendly. Bar area lovely. Breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Deb L
CustomerService3638, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Deb L Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay and for keeping an open mind and making your own mind up - if only more people was like you. Its always nice to hear good feedback as I have a small but very hard working team and they will be very happy with your comments We hope...

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Second most expensive hotel in Scarborough. Dirty, shabby room and bathroom. The whole of the 3rd floor smelled of damp. Grimy upholstery in the dining area, breakfast was the blandest food I Have ever eaten, even the coffee was awful. The Ensuite bathroom was a joke. As was the swimming pool, surrounded by windows at street level so anyone walking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heidihY405LH
CustomerService3638, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you providing feedback although I find it a little unjust Firstly there are a lot more expensive hotels in Scarborough then us but not many that offer FREE parking FREE cooked breakfast FREE wifi and FREE Leisure facilities As you can see from all the comments on here our breakfast is one of the best if not...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

my boyfriend and i spent a weekend away in room 305 , the only complaint was the cold shower this was dealt with by the offer of a room change but despite the shower i was very pleased with the original room given so we decided to stay put, the breakfast at the hotel was lovely lots of variety. highly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alice L
CustomerService3638, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alice L Thank you for providing feedback regarding you recent stay with us We are sorry you had a problem with hot water while you was with us and I can assure you this has now been fixed - thank you for being so understanding We really hope you come to visit us again soon Kind Regards

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked into an executive room first through booking dot com. The room overlooked the next doors bins and we had hardly any sleep as both the twin beds creaked like you wouldn't believe. We asked to be moved and was offered a twin with sea view. What a difference! Bigger room altogether and the beds did not creak! The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kathyspeedone
CustomerService3638, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback and I am happy to hear that we was able to provide you with a room that was more suitable. I will be sure to pass your nice comments on to my very hard working housekeeping team who will be delighted as they do sometimes get over looked We do hope you return...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We came for one night away and stayed in room 307.the room was lovely- big, clean, modern with a huge bed, nice view over sea. Breakfast was nice good variety to choose from. Didn't get chance to use the spa but will definitely be returning to try it out. Was easy to park straight outside the hotel No complaints from...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lorraine w
CustomerService3638, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lorraine W Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at the Ambassador Hotel I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us and its a shame you did not use our spa facilities hopefully next time you will get more time We look forward to seeing you again soon Kind Regards

392 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (365)
Viewed
Bathroom (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (86)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Other (155)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#7 of 28 in Scarborough
4,144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#15 of 28 in Scarborough
324 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
577 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.6 mi away
Beiderbecke's Hotel
Beiderbecke's Hotel
#13 of 28 in Scarborough
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ambassador Hotel combines wellbeing and relaxation with contemporary luxury, all framed beautifully by our stunning Sea-Views of the Harbour and Scarborough Castle.Indulge in complimentary Breakfast each morning. Escape to our boutique bolthole by the sea! We're perfect for group getaways, relax breaks and beach breaks. All guests receive a boutique bedroom, free wi-fi, free breakfast and free parking permit. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: | The Esplanade, Scarborough Y011 2AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Price Range: £56 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Scarborough
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#8 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#13 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ambassador Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Ambassador Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some rooms gave sea views best Ines are those with bay windows”
 of 5 bubbles 664maryw, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor room with harbour and sea view. Quiet although out of season in terms of possible traffic noise but there was no hotel noise.”
 of 5 bubbles , 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Sea Views are excellent”
 of 5 bubbles kathyspeedone, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The corner room with a bay is a preference,if you intend using it.”
 of 5 bubbles PHedar, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 750craige, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay