We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Central Gate by House of Fisher

Save
Share
41 West Street Central Gate, Newbury RG14 1BF England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (6)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (2)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
  • Contactless check-out
Read more
Updated 19/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Central Gate by House of Fisher
Updated 19/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 14 Speciality lodging in Newbury
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Central Gate comprises the apart-hotel, an exclusive development of studio suites, one and two bedroom apartments aimed at both the corporate and leisure market.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Desk
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Bath / shower
Telephone
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Hungarian, Polish and 1 more
23Reviews0Q+A1Room tip
Traveller rating
  • 14
  • 4
  • 3
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
N Sunuwar wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
We had really great time and apartment was highly maintainted. Self Check in and check out was made very easy. Only down side was window blind. It could have been better if they put curtain instead. Highly recommended and would love to visit again. Mr Sunuwar
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Calogero M wrote a review Aug 2020
St Albans, United Kingdom15 contributions
Great location if travelling in the Cotswolds nice town with great restaurants the apartment was very clean well maintained and had everything you needed for a comfortable stay. Parking on site but you need to pay we were granted free parking which we were very grateful for. The apartment has an amazing shower and very modern kitchen with all the essentials to cook if you want, bed was very comfortable really cozy apartment!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Andrewkeel7 wrote a review Dec 2019
Berkshire35 contributions22 helpful votes
Looked so forward to coming into Newbury to meet my children on Xmas day, nothing unusual about that as I come once a month to visit them, decided to try house of fisher over my normal booking with Flying Butler at the other end of town! Arrived xmas eve and was happy with overall look of apartment and cleanliness, cooked my Turkey in the more than adequate kitchen, slept in the comfortable bed and then Boom 6.30 xmas morning you would have thought I was back in a war zone, Not sure if bombs were going off in the distance or just three thousand football supporters passing through the apartment above, The noise was unbelievable, my Family arrived to see me and felt so sorry that we decided it would be best if I went home with them rather than stay there. The next morning I returned to to retrieve my bags only to find the noise level exactly as I left it! Unbelievably unacceptable, people have no respect for others! I did email guestservices@houseoffisher.com but they were not able to come out and deal with the situation, all they could say was “we will reallocate you if the noise persists” not what you want to hear when you have a turkey in the oven and vegetables cut on the job! For me this apartment was a complete waste of money and I won’t be coming back to central gate in a hurry. I can imagine if you are fortunate to stay here and you have older more respectful people above you then you would enjoy your stay! For me it was a living nightmare!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from CraigWP91, Guest Relations Manager at Central Gate by House of Fisher
Responded 21 Jan 2020
Dear Andrewkeel7, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your unfortunate experience at Central Gate. I can totally understand that the inconvenience and disturbance you have experienced during your time with us have ruined your stay & I can only apologise for this. As far as I can see from your comments on the comfort, cleanliness & adequacy there are not any other factors that have contributed to your disappointment. As you are aware Central Gate is an unmanned location with no permanent staff on site. Given the time of your visit, we did not have someone on site too offer assistance in this case, which lead to the offer of an alternative apartment. I appreciate this not ideal with, as you say, the oven on & meal prep however this was the best solution available at the time and in my opinion more convenient than leaving the property entirely. Assuming that the whoever was responsible for the noise is no longer residing in the building, which I believe to be true as we have not received any other feedback of this kind, I believe that a future stay with us would bare much more positive feedback. I can only hope we will be given an opportunity to welcome you back for a much more comfortable and enjoyable stay with us. Please do contact me directly if you wish to discuss this further on craig@houseoffisher.com Best regards
Read more
Richard C wrote a review Sep 2019
Yarm, United Kingdom167 contributions87 helpful votes
We booked a 1 bed apartment but unfortunately due to some maintenance issues it wasn’t available. We were allocated a studio which was adequate for a couple of days but would have been cramped for much longer. It was clean and tidy well serviced and right in the middle of town. Car parking was provided and was good. Would use any but only if an apartment was available. If you like to sleep with windows open ask to be allocated at the back as road at the front is quite busy.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from CraigWP91, Guest Relations Manager at Central Gate by House of Fisher
Responded 26 Sep 2019
Good afternoon Richard C, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Central Gate. We are very sorry that the apartment you initially booked was not available for your stay with us, we totally understand that this would not have been ideal. However, as mentioned the maintenance issues in the 1 bedroom apartment were such that we were not able to let. The location is a Central one, meaning that sometimes the surrounding area can be a busy but we do not usually experience reports of excess noise at this location. We look forward to welcoming you back to a 1 bedroom apartment as preferred in the near future. Best regards,
Read more
Resort07634115901 wrote a review May 2019
1 contribution
Really great accommodation, great equipment, great location, but too much of communication needed before arrival for just one night stay... and kind of discrimination of non UK citizens as they accept just UK driving Licence or Passport as an ID - nothing else even from EU
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from CraigWP91, Guest Relations Manager at Central Gate by House of Fisher
Responded 6 Jun 2019
Good afternoon Resort07634115901 Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on your experience and stay with us at Central Gate. We are glad to hear that the apartment, facilities and location we offer were to your liking. We strive to offer great accommodation in a central location, giving good access to local amenities such as shops and restaurants. We are sorry you found the communication lengthy but due to a recent wave of fraud on credit cards and EU ID cards, we have had to take steps to improve our security checks and therefore our T&Cs. Our new procedures, we feel do protect both parties better now. Hopefully you will return to stay with us again in the near future, knowing the procedure before may also make this a smoother process for yourself. Best regards,
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$96 - US$1,259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBerkshireNewbury
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Central Gate by House of Fisher
Which popular attractions are close to Central Gate by House of Fisher?
Nearby attractions include Corn Exchange (0.2 miles), West Berkshire Museum (0.3 miles), and Newbury Wharf (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Central Gate by House of Fisher?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at Central Gate by House of Fisher?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Central Gate by House of Fisher?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Central Gate by House of Fisher?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Central Gate by House of Fisher?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Sushi Maki, Lusso, and Arigato.
Is Central Gate by House of Fisher located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Newbury.
Are any cleaning services offered at Central Gate by House of Fisher?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Central Gate by House of Fisher?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Polish, Romanian, and Hungarian.
Are there any historical sites close to Central Gate by House of Fisher?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Donnington Castle (1.2 miles), Shaw House (0.7 miles), and Greenham Control Tower (2.3 miles).