Central Gate by House of Fisher
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Central Gate by House of Fisher

41 West Street Central Gate, Newbury RG14 1BF England
Traveller (6)
En Suite
Room & Suite (21)
Lounge 2
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 5 apartments in Newbury
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Central Gate comprises the apart-hotel, an exclusive development of studio suites, one and two bedroom apartments aimed at both the corporate and leisure market.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Ironing service
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Desk
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Bath / shower
Telephone
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Hungarian, Polish and 1 more

Location

41 West Street Central Gate, Newbury RG14 1BF England
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 87 out of 100
87
Heathrow Airport
37.8 mi
See all flights
Eastleigh Airport
31.3 mi
See all flights
26Reviews0Q+A2Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 16
  • 4
  • 4
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Calogero M wrote a review Aug 2020
St. Albans, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location if travelling in the Cotswolds nice town with great restaurants the apartment was very clean well maintained and had everything you needed for a comfortable stay. Parking on site but you need to pay we were granted free parking which we were very grateful for. The apartment has an amazing shower and very modern kitchen with all the essentials to cook if you want, bed was very comfortable really cozy apartment!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AmandawHeathfield wrote a review Aug 2022
Heathfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The apartment was extremely clean and well maintained. I needed to ask a few questions and book another day so emailed the company. The staff must be working all the time - they replied within minutes. My damages deposit was returned within hours of checking out.

The apartments are in a great location - just 5 minutes walk (slow walk!) to the town centre. Parking plentiful either at the apartments or in the two car parks opposite.

Everything went really smoothly. Loved it. Would definitely book through House of Fisher again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Doesn’t matter _ all good
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
N Sunuwar wrote a review Jun 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had really great time and apartment was highly maintainted. Self Check in and check out was made very easy. Only down side was window blind. It could have been better if they put curtain instead.
Highly recommended and would love to visit again.

Mr Sunuwar
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
shar0n0wen72 wrote a review Aug 2023
South Wales, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent Customer Service with booking Direct. The Apartment in Central Gate was Excellent, Clean, Well Equipped Great Parking Facilities. The added bonus of Both a Bathroom and Ensuite. Excellent Location Very close to Town Centre. Prefect for Shopping, Visiting Newbury or a Trip to the Races. Would 100% book again and Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrewkeel7 wrote a review Dec 2019
Berkshire
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Looked so forward to coming into Newbury to meet my children on Xmas day, nothing unusual about that as I come once a month to visit them, decided to try house of fisher over my normal booking with Flying Butler at the other end of town! Arrived xmas eve and was happy with overall look of apartment and cleanliness, cooked my Turkey in the more than adequate kitchen, slept in the comfortable bed and then Boom 6.30 xmas morning you would have thought I was back in a war zone, Not sure if bombs were going off in the distance or just three thousand football supporters passing through the apartment above, The noise was unbelievable, my Family arrived to see me and felt so sorry that we decided it would be best if I went home with them rather than stay there. The next morning I returned to to retrieve my bags only to find the noise level exactly as I left it! Unbelievably unacceptable, people have no respect for others! I did email guestservices@houseoffisher.com but they were not able to come out and deal with the situation, all they could say was “we will reallocate you if the noise persists” not what you want to hear when you have a turkey in the oven and vegetables cut on the job! For me this apartment was a complete waste of money and I won’t be coming back to central gate in a hurry. I can imagine if you are fortunate to stay here and you have older more respectful people above you then you would enjoy your stay! For me it was a living nightmare!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CraigWP91, Guest Relations Manager at Central Gate by House of Fisher
Responded 21 Jan 2020
Dear Andrewkeel7, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your unfortunate experience at Central Gate. I can totally understand that the inconvenience and disturbance you have experienced during your time with us have ruined your stay & I can only apologise for this. As far as I can see from your comments on the comfort, cleanliness & adequacy there are not any other factors that have contributed to your disappointment. As you are aware Central Gate is an unmanned location with no permanent staff on site. Given the time of your visit, we did not have someone on site too offer assistance in this case, which lead to the offer of an alternative apartment. I appreciate this not ideal with, as you say, the oven on & meal prep however this was the best solution available at the time and in my opinion more convenient than leaving the property entirely. Assuming that the whoever was responsible for the noise is no longer residing in the building, which I believe to be true as we have not received any other feedback of this kind, I believe that a future stay with us would bare much more positive feedback. I can only hope we will be given an opportunity to welcome you back for a much more comfortable and enjoyable stay with us. Please do contact me directly if you wish to discuss this further on craig@houseoffisher.com Best regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brisbane_Family_11 wrote a review Jul 2017
Brisbane, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed in a studio apartment . New, very clean and kitchen and laundry facilities were well equipped . Coffee maker and pods was an added bonus . The apartment was within walking distance of everything in Newbury . Bed was very comfortable . Would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Responded 18 Aug 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback and such a lovely comments. We are very pleased to hear you liked and enjoyed your stay with us at Central Gate. We hope there will be other occasions to welcome you again there in Newbury or in any other apartments at House of Fisher. Best regards Kamil Jakobczyk Guest Services Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amanda B wrote a review Jul 2017
Kent
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Central Gate as we could not find any other place to stay in Newbury to visit the Fairford Air Show. Booking seemed quite easy until, after booking, I received a phone call to pay for the parking. I said that was not on the website booking page and they said they would look into it and it was wavered. I was then sent an email to scan my ID in and send it to them whereupon I would receive an email to make payment. I said, as their website suggested, I wanted to pay on arrive, I was paying in cash. I was told that was not possible as there was nobody on site at Central Gate when we arrived. I was also told I would need to pay a £150 deposit!! I went to the link I was provided and made payment. That seemed easy enough, if only they had got their facts correct on the website.
On arrival at central gate I had been provided with a code to get into the door, that worked fine for us, other's had a real struggle with wrong codes being provided and all sorts. One couple late one evening. We heard as it was under our window they were having their conversation!
We should have been provided with a parking permit, it is a privately run car park, but we hadn't been. We had to make a phone call.
The apartment itself was extremely claustrophobic. Although it had everything it was not very functional. To say it was like a sauna is an understatement. We later discovered the radiators in all the halls were up full blast, in July!!! You could barely move in the apartment, and the contract we had to sign was extremely patronising. There was a fan but you could not get that anywhere near where you either sat or slept. You could not leave the windows open because of the noise and there was no air conditioning.
The crockery had not been washed properly and no washing up liquid had been left and no indication given that you would need to provide this yourself.
All in all it was really not somewhere we would have chosen to relax and feel only really suitable for a professional wanting to work, even that would be hard with nowhere to put/store your belongings.
We were scared to move in case we broke something, set off a smoke alarm or lose our key as the cost of replacing these or having people come out to us was astronomical!!!
We could not wait to get home!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: I'm not sure there are any
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Responded 18 Aug 2017
Dear Amanda, Thank you for taking your time and providing us with the detailed feedback about the booking process and your stay. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations at Central Gate. Regarding the booking process, I have found that you have booked via Late Rooms. The website content explains your booking process concerns and it is as follows: ‘’Car parking is available on request for GBP 6. 00 per 24 hours. Please note a 3. 5% surcharge applies to all payments via credit card. This is a Self-Check In property, we therefore require pre-payment prior to confirming your booking and this will be requested via a 3D Secure payment link via WorldPay. A Refundable security Deposit of GBP 150. 00 will be requested of you to guarantee your booking, this will be refunded to your account after your stay, once the Apartment has been checked. Photo Identification may be requested of you to confirm the booking. Regarding paying on the arrival, as there is no-reception on site we contact all our guest once they made the booking straight away to advise about available method of payments. In terms of temperature in the apartment Housekeeping is instructed to make sure that in the summer season all the heating systems are off in our apartments but we cannot explain and answer why was the apartment that hot on this occasion. We do provide fans in all our apartments all year around and they seem to help and cool down a lot. In regards to the cleaning issue this has been also addressed with Housekeeping Management and necessary action was taken so this does not happen again. We do not provide such as basic thing as washing up liquids as some of the guests used to add it to dishwasher instead of tablets which was causing a technical problem and make it not working. Apartments are provided with plenty of dishwasher tablets for each stay and we refill it on every service and we believe this works better for the guests. Washing up liquid can be also provided on the request and this point is also included in the apartment directory. Inventory list is for the guest in case guest wants to check if the stock of the apartment is complete. Usually most of the accommodation providers requires guest/occupant to ensure the apartment is left in the satisfactory condition and correct inventory and we follow the same making sure the standards are upkept across our portfolio. In terms of the size of the apartments it is worth to point out that studio apartment is 30% bigger than average hotel room however we absolutely appreciate your point of view about size, design and layout of the apartment. In future, we would recommend to consider choosing the option of 1 or 2-bedroom apartment which gives much more space. All in all thank you for your feedback. Each and all the comments are extremely important for us and help us to understand what areas need to be looked at by use and where we need to work further to improve. Many thanks & kind regards Kamil Jakobczyk - Guest Services Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nocares67 wrote a review Jul 2023
England, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent about a week here (unexpectedly) when our home was temporarily undergoing some unforeseen maintenance.

We appreciated that it was so fully furnished with things like kitchen necessities, drying racks for clothes, a plenty of drawers for storage. It's also centrally located to anything you'd need on the high street. We didn't have a car but parking seemed plentiful and was right next to the building. It was clean and the beds were comfortable. We've stayed in several serviced apartments in recent years and this was by far the most spacious - it would probably work very well for larger groups who want to stay together.

It's pet friendly but there's not a great space to walk dogs (little grass, lots of cars). We found it to be noisy as we were on the ground floor and could hear all the people right outside as though they were with us. Did not seem to be fully accessible for people in need of a lift, as even on the ground floor there were some steps and we could not make the lift function; this wasn't a major issue for us as we were simply trying to haul our bags on arrival, but if you had a wheelchair, stroller, etc it could be something to consider.

Our biggest complaint was the water, which smelled really strong (in an industrial sort of way) and even lingered on our hair and skin. Because of this, we did not feel comfortable using the laundry.

Overall, this place served its purpose but isn't somewhere I'm eager to return to.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Richard C wrote a review Sept 2019
Yarm, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a 1 bed apartment but unfortunately due to some maintenance issues it wasn’t available. We were allocated a studio which was adequate for a couple of days but would have been cramped for much longer. It was clean and tidy well serviced and right in the middle of town. Car parking was provided and was good. Would use any but only if an apartment was available. If you like to sleep with windows open ask to be allocated at the back as road at the front is quite busy.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CraigWP91, Guest Relations Manager at Central Gate by House of Fisher
Responded 26 Sept 2019
Good afternoon Richard C, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Central Gate. We are very sorry that the apartment you initially booked was not available for your stay with us, we totally understand that this would not have been ideal. However, as mentioned the maintenance issues in the 1 bedroom apartment were such that we were not able to let. The location is a Central one, meaning that sometimes the surrounding area can be a busy but we do not usually experience reports of excess noise at this location. We look forward to welcoming you back to a 1 bedroom apartment as preferred in the near future. Best regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Resort07634115901 wrote a review May 2019
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Really great accommodation, great equipment, great location, but too much of communication needed before arrival for just one night stay... and kind of discrimination of non UK citizens as they accept just UK driving Licence or Passport as an ID - nothing else even from EU
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CraigWP91, Guest Relations Manager at Central Gate by House of Fisher
Responded 6 Jun 2019
Good afternoon Resort07634115901 Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on your experience and stay with us at Central Gate. We are glad to hear that the apartment, facilities and location we offer were to your liking. We strive to offer great accommodation in a central location, giving good access to local amenities such as shops and restaurants. We are sorry you found the communication lengthy but due to a recent wave of fraud on credit cards and EU ID cards, we have had to take steps to improve our security checks and therefore our T&Cs. Our new procedures, we feel do protect both parties better now. Hopefully you will return to stay with us again in the near future, knowing the procedure before may also make this a smoother process for yourself. Best regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
AmandawHeathfield wrote a tip Aug 2022
Heathfield31 contributions47 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Doesn’t matter _ all good"
Read full review
Amanda B wrote a tip Jul 2017
Kent7 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"I'm not sure there are any"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Newbury area.
PRICE RANGE
£98 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBerkshireNewbury
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CENTRAL GATE BY HOUSE OF FISHER - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews, and Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Central Gate by House of Fisher
Which popular attractions are close to Central Gate by House of Fisher?
Nearby attractions include Forrest Motorsport (0.07 miles), West Berkshire Museum (0.3 miles), and Newbury Wharf (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Central Gate by House of Fisher?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at Central Gate by House of Fisher?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Central Gate by House of Fisher?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Central Gate by House of Fisher?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Central Gate by House of Fisher?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Sushi Maki, Lusso, and Lebanese House.
Is Central Gate by House of Fisher located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Newbury.
Are any cleaning services offered at Central Gate by House of Fisher?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Central Gate by House of Fisher?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Polish, Romanian, and Hungarian.
Are there any historical sites close to Central Gate by House of Fisher?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Donnington Castle (1.2 miles), Greenham Control Tower (2.3 miles), and Shaw House (0.7 miles).
All Newbury HotelsNewbury Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in NewburyHotels near Central Gate by House of Fisher
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire