We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

342 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 332: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Returned recently to Donnington,sadly only had time for 2 nights break.On our last visit enjoyed shopping in Newbury town very near to hotel.This time stayed in one of the lodges little away from hotel.Wonderful very clean quiet and peaceful,on arrival greeted by helpful staff and had enjoyable lunch in the bar.We put a bottle of wine in the fridge,had slow...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra G
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Just returned from a fabulous break through travel zoo at this gem of a hotel. Impressive from the moment you enter the long winding drive. We stayed in room 7 which overlooked the lake. Well-equipped, Modern, large and suitable for disabled guests with a very large wet room. The hotel itself is charming and quirky with a period feel. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KFancett
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We recently stayed at Donnington Grove on a TravelZoo deal which was brilliant value for money. The staff are great, they can't do enough for you and all with a smile on their faces. The hotel is set in 550 acres which has been turned into a Golf Course but you don't have to play golf to appreciate this hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sue15Aber
Danbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Having seen the hotel has average 4 out of 5 stars i had hopes. So disappointed. Very much at the bottom of hotels in Newbury in my opinion and i have stayed at most of them. Lacks soul, very limited room service menu, and staff permanently out of breath on the phone like they have been running themselves ragged.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank handy271
Bournemouth
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed one night in room 303 - top of the turret. Our bedroom had four bay windows overlooking the beautiful lake and grounds. The sunrise through the trees was magical. We strolled through the grounds of the hotel to reach the Watermill Theatre and enjoyed a performance of Sleeping Beauty. It was all very special and we will not hesitate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gonestrolling
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

10 of us stayed overnight, great weekend and good vale for money !!! Rooms are very large and comfortable. Fair to say not most modern of rooms, but still has everything you could possibly need. Food is pretty good, breakfast especially. Golf course was superb for November and is a good challenge and the greens were superb. Only slight issue...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barnandy
Essex
Reviewed 1 week ago

When we arrived we were really happy - the hotel was in lively grounds and it looked like a castle. However inside it's like a rabbit warren. We went to the bar (which i expected to be cosy) but it was really brightly lit, bland with no frills or charm. We had booked a table in the restaurant but it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank feline007
County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel was mightily disappointing. Worn out decor. Rooms large but again shabby. Dinner well did not eat my starter of a duck salad as the duck smelled off...breakfast very disappointing...would not stay here again. Nothing wrong with the service . This place has no soul and is in need of a major renovation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona D
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Interesting hotel with large room and even larger bathroom. Dinner was included on the first night - dreadful, barely edible. Was it the chef's night off? If this is their normal standard - avoid it. We returned food, passed comments back to the Manager but our complaints have been ignored.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alemap352
Nigel G, General Manager at Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review

Dear alemap352, Firstly thank you for taking the time to write your review, I was very sorry to read that you were disappointed with the dining last Thursday evening, noting you enjoyed breakfast and afternoon tea. May I sincerely apologise for any shortfalls you experienced, I value feedback greatly as a measure of the hotel's performance and this is certainly...

Thatcham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a stunning time at this hotel, location is a totally magical experience with acres and acres to wonder around and explore. We enjoyed exploring the Japanese gardens and lobby and then wondering the well kept friendly hotel. Our room was stunning and has a real wow factor of high celings, beautifully ornate furniture and shuttered windows to add...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZoeHammond
Nigel G, General Manager at Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review

Dear ZoeHammond, Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our wonderful hotel. It sounds like you enjoyed one of the eight rooms in the manor house, they retain their original characteristics and quirky charms, while the Summer house has a more modern feel to it. All...

176 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (156)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
1.1 mi away
The Vineyard At Stockcross
3.7 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 15 in Newbury
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Donnington Valley
Donnington Valley
#4 of 15 in Newbury
818 reviews
3.1 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#5 of 15 in Newbury
684 reviews
2.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
18Th Century manor House set in 500 acres of Berkshire's finest countryside. Offering rooms in the Manor House, Sunmer House and lodges. 18 Hole championship golf course, Clay shooting and Fly fishing by appointment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club

Address: Grove Road, Newbury RG14 2LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Price Range: £82 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donnington Grove And Country Club Hotel Newbury
Donnington Grove Hotel And Country Club Newbury, Berkshire
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Alvor, Portugal
2 months ago
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in Room 212 which was on the first floor and was quiet. There is no outlook. It is a big room with a very big bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles sue15Aber, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Any Room is lovely”
 of 5 bubbles ZoeHammond, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“perhaps the lodges could be better”
 of 5 bubbles StephenMann, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Lake view is away from the main house so quiet no upstairs so no noise from above but need good eyes to see the lake”
  • the lake view from our lake vie room yes it is there in the distance
 of 5 bubbles PhilSClark, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Not sure if there is a lift ,probably not. Baths a bit difficult for anyone with a mobility problem ,”
 of 5 bubbles bebejam2015, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay