We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Elephant at the Market

Save
Share
8 Market Place, Newbury RG14 5BD England
eDreams
Priceline
Booking.com
StayForLong
ZenHotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (50)
Room & Suite (30)
Dining (14)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#13 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Newbury
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We are delighted to be reopening outdoors on Wednesday 28th April! Head over to our website for full details of our reopening
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Wine / champagne
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
148Reviews1Q+A42Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 43
  • 41
  • 30
  • 11
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Lin P wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
We are local so want to The Elephant in the Market just as a restaurant .... We booked 2 tables of 4 ... on our table we had 1 x Coeliac and 1x Gluten intolerant. We had a 3 course meal .... starters : one ordered dough balls, 2 ordered roast carrot salad .... dough balls were so hard one flew across the table when trying to cut it and both the ROAST CARROT salads had NO roast carrots so 3 out of 4 dishes returned ... roast carrots added, dough balls replaced ... uncooked in the middle so we only had 3 out of 4 starters (the staff member said they wouldn’t charge for the dough balls 🙃) Right, now main course .... 1 order of Thai Mussels, I have seen larger starter portions and it had no liquid/sauce .... 2 ordered burgers ... one was totally raw in the middle, so obviously returned .... it then came to desert only 2 ordered .... again very small serving but I guess edible ... on getting home the Gluten Intolerant person was extremely ill so there was some contamination ... gluten in the food .... never again would we eat at The Elephant in the Market in Newbury, Berks
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Elephant Market, General Manager at The Elephant at the Market
Responded 19 Sep 2020
Hi 165linp, We are sorry to hear that your visit to us was not a positive one. After speaking with our team we, we have spoken with your server that evening. We have investigated your experience fully with the team that was on during visit. Although your visit has clearly highlighted some areas our head chef and our kitchen team need to focus on for training to make sure that your experience is not repeated. We pride ourselves on serving quality food and using the freshest ingredients and it is disappointing to hear that we were so far from the mark here. With regards to the gluten free diner we are sorry to here they were unwell the next day. We can assure you that seperate utensils and cooking equipment were used to cook the gluten intolerant meal. However, we can never 100 percent guarantee that any meal prepared in our kitchen contains no trace of gluten. If you would you would like to discuss your dining experience in further detail then please feel free to email us at info@theelephantatthemarket.com Sincerest apologies, The Elephant at the Market
Read more
Richard C wrote a review Sep 2020
6 contributions1 helpful vote
Visited here on a Friday teatime and thought the pizza that I had was very nice. Didn’t think it was overly cheap, but seems to be about the going rate around Newbury. Service was really good and Covid measures were in place.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Elephant Market, General Manager at The Elephant at the Market
Responded 7 Sep 2020
Hi Richard, We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your Friday evening visit with us! We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, The Elephant at the Market
Read more
Lottie12178 wrote a review Jul 2020
Wigan, United Kingdom9 contributions6 helpful votes
Extremely COVID SAFE an excellent set up stayed for 2 nights and felt very safe was anxious about going away as I had been shielding since March but they couldn’t have done any better well organised, Staff very friendly and helpful, the food was lovely. Would definitely advise anyone who was anxious about going away in these strange times to stay with them and also later when things settle. Will see you again thank you and stay safe all xxx
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Elephant Market, General Manager at The Elephant at the Market
Responded 28 Jul 2020
Hi Lottie12178, Thank you so much for this great review! We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and most importantly felt safe with us. During these COVID times we have taken extra precautions to make sure all of our guests feel comfortable! Looking forward to your next visit. The Elephant at the Market
Read more
Sarah wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution
We have only visited the restaurant/bar and not yet the hotel. The food they offer is absolutely delicious. We have came two days in the row because we enjoyed their food so much. The staff there are very friendly, with amazing customer service, and very apologetic if anything goes wrong. I am very please to have this pub/hotel near us. They offer great deals too such as half price steak tuesday! The food is definitely worth the money. They offer a Kids menu as well as normal menu and sunday menus. They are taking COVID really seriously with hand gel, social distancing rules and we can order food via phone rather than coming in contact with the waiter which made us feel safe. However, you may have the waiter if you'd like. Honestly, come to The Elephant at the Market, you will not regret it.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Room Tip: Hotel and Bar
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Elephant Market, General Manager at The Elephant at the Market
Responded 24 Jul 2020
Hi xshxn3y, Thank you for your glowing review. We are really pleased you have enjoyed your recent visits to the Elephant and can not wait to see you again soon. Its been our pleasure making you feel comfortable during these unusual times. Best, The Elephant at the Market
Read more
Ian G wrote a review Mar 2020
34 contributions9 helpful votes
Stayed again as we went to Newbury races. New chain now but the rooms are still the same. Clean and with room and good facilities. The service was very good and we had a good night in the restaurant. Sharing pork platter was the star. Pizzas are good and the wine list comprehensive and had a different bottle of red and white which was very good. Maybe a little expensive.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Elephant Market, General Manager at The Elephant at the Market
Responded 4 Mar 2020
Hi Ian G, Thank you for your glowing review! We hope you return again soon :) Kind Regards, The Elephant Team
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$115 - US$123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBerkshireNewbury
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Elephant at the Market
Which popular attractions are close to The Elephant at the Market?
Nearby attractions include Corn Exchange (0.01 miles), Newbury Wharf (0.08 miles), and West Berkshire Museum (0.08 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Elephant at the Market?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Elephant at the Market?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Elephant at the Market?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Elephant at the Market?
Conveniently located restaurants include Henry & Joe's, The Sushi Maki, and The Flower Pot Cafe.
Is The Elephant at the Market located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the centre of Newbury.
Are there any historical sites close to The Elephant at the Market?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Donnington Castle (1.5 miles), Shaw House (0.9 miles), and Greenham Control Tower (2.1 miles).