We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Woodcombe Lodges

Woodcombe Lodge Bratton Lane, Minehead TA24 8SQ England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (54)
Room & Suite (55)
Videos (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Package deal
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 lodge in Minehead
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Self Catering Holiday Lodges and Cottages set in 3 acres of gardens with fabulous views over the slopes of the Exmoor National Park within 1.5 Miles of the shops, pubs and restaurants with the sandy beach and sea beyond. Sleeps 2 to 10. Disabled access. Dog Friendly.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Beach
Bicycle rental
Children's playground
Indoor play area for children
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Outdoor furniture
Car park
Wifi
Canoeing
Game room
Golf course
Hiking
Horseback riding
Mini golf
Windsurfing
Billiards
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Patio
Table tennis
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Water park offsite
Board games / puzzles
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Picnic area
First aid kit
Private check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Additional bathroom
Dining area
Private balcony
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Dishwasher
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Bath / shower
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Family
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Short Breaks October to week before Late May Bank Holiday
159Reviews2Q+A15Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 140
  • 16
  • 2
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Kara D wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
On arrival we were welcomed by the beautiful views framed by a lovely sunset. We were looking for accommodation to cater a family of 10 as we come several times a year to visit our Nan in the care home. Holly lodge did not disappoint! Sometimes you think there will be tight space for 10 of us to squidge into but we could all sit together, eat dinner and sit and play games in the lounge area and 2 showers so we could all get ready in the mornings! Andrew and Nicola were fantastic hosts, with great communication and suggestions for sleeping arrangements with a 3 year old and 8 month baby, such a relief to be provided with highchair and cot free of charge, as the car was already so full! We are already discussing our next trip as the more the word gets out, the more this will be booked up. Thank you and hope this becomes one of our second homes….. imagine if it had a hot tub!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
penny b wrote a review Nov 2023
7 contributions13 helpful votes
Property's Favourite Review
Holly Lodge....Didn't let us down. The lodge is spacious, filled all our needs, was fully equipped. We loved our week and loved how it accommodated the needs of my mum. She uses a walker and the walk in shower and no steps throughout were amazing. The view is to die for...so tranquil and peaceful. We took 2 dogs and found this so lovely that they were welcome. The wifi is amazing no one had any problems. I am looking a re booking i felt the price was very reasonable. loved the games room, laundry room and information set out for sharing. the mini golf lawn was fun. Our lodge actually had a washing machine in the lodge which we found very helpful. parking right next to the lodge and very well kept surroundings. i highly rate this break and encourage you to go for it.....
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: whilst there we visited the local beach, town and cheddar gorge....we really never felt the need...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Hanson, Owner at Woodcombe Lodges
Responded 5 Nov 2023
Wow what a great review, thank you so much, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and all we have to offer. Do come and see us again. Kind regards Andrew and Nicola
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Marie S wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
Nice size lodge with stunning views and ideally situated for visits to Minehead, Dunster. Also lovely walks. nearby. Nice idea to have printed walk instructions to take away. Unfortunately could do with new pillows for the beds and with some cushions for the sofa. The lodge also needs a thorough clean, especially the family bathroom. Also a coat of paint. Another drawback was having to pay extra for using electricity and as it was November it was cold so we needed to have the heating on. Should be included in overall cost of lodge and not as an extra (even if this means an increase in price when booking) people could then budget for this and not worry about a potential hefty bill at the end of their holiday
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Hanson, Owner at Woodcombe Lodges
Responded 15 Nov 2023
Thank you for your feedback, we are immensely disappointed that you did not speak to our manager, whom you saw regularly while you were with us, about any of your issues. We and our staff pride ourselves on the cleanliness and presentation of our properties and are extremely surprised if not hurt by your comments so if we had let you down would have immediately corrected any issues. We have long debates about the electricity charge as it is obviously one which can worry our guests. We make sure they are aware at the time of booking, leave full details of the calculations, full access to the meter readings and full control of the power they use. Most acknowledge that they would be paying for heating etc at home if they were there so there should be little difference as we charge below cost. We believe managing the environmental and cost impact of our properties should be a joint responsibility. We were disappointed ourselves that the Lodge was left with mould beginning to grow in a number of areas as obviously no windows had been opened to allow proper ventilation which caused us to have additional cleaning costs to prepare the Lodge for the next occupants. The decoration issue if not caused by the above is one we have to accept at the end of a long season so can only apologise as it will be picked up as part of the winter refurbishment campaign. We are pleased you enjoyed the location and your stay, surprised that you were so disappointed by the condition of the Lodge which is so contrary to almost all our other guest’s experiences and can only apologise if we fell short of your expectations. Thank you again for your feedback which you will realise we take very seriously.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rosemary T wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
Had a lovely week at woodcombe lodges stayed in Laburnum Lodge as I am disabled . Access brilliant would recommend it nothing to much trouble . Area absolutely beautiful lots to see and do for all abilities.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Hanson, Owner at Woodcombe Lodges
Responded 9 Oct 2023
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are so pleased you found the facilities suited your needs and you enjoyed the area. Do come and see us again. Kind regards Andrew & Nicola
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Patricia P wrote a review Aug 2023
2 contributions
Just got back from our second holiday at Woodcombe Lodges with our family. Andrew and Nicola are very welcoming and do everything to make your stay perfect. The accomodation here is first class, our lodge was very clean, comfy and very well equipped and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here again. A home from home! The site is in a lovely setting, quiet and peaceful with wonderful views. Its very well maintained with a putting green, launderette and games room. It is a great base for Minehead, only a 20 minute walk through lovely parks and also for walks in the woods. It you want a totally relaxing holiday away from it all, you can do no better. We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Hanson, Owner at Woodcombe Lodges
Responded 9 Oct 2023
We were sorry to have missed this when it was first posted probably being too preoccupied with our busy time of year. We were so pleased to read your superb review and look forward to hosting you again. It is so rewarding for us to hear our guests have enjoyed their stay and appreciate all we have to offer here and in the local area. Thank you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mac Bride wrote a review Jul 2023
1 contribution
We took three lodges for a family gathering, and were very happy there. We fitted 12 around the table in Holly Lodge, and the lounge and outside spaces gave us plenty of room to spread ourselves. Comfortable beds, good size bathrooms, everything clean and tidy (when we arrived...). The kids enjoyed the games room and the putting green. Our hosts were friendly and obliging. Overall an enjoyable stay and good value for money
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Hanson, Owner at Woodcombe Lodges
Responded 6 Aug 2023
We were so pleased to hear you all enjoyed your stay and were happy with your accommodation and facilities. We were surprised you did not find the location five star with the fabulous views across the slopes of Exmoor down to the sea yet the town with its pubs and restaurants, beach and seafront only a five minute drive or 20 minute walk but obviously everyone has their own individual requirements. Do come and see us again so we can make sure you get to experience all the area has to offer. Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback kind regards Andrew & Nicola
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Youngsagagirl wrote a review Jul 2023
Worcestershire, United Kingdom10 contributions10 helpful votes
We had a fabulous family holiday at Woodcombe staying in Holly Lodge and Pine Tree Lodge - both were well equipped, very comfortable and in a lovely, quiet situation with great views of coast and surrounding countryside. After a very traumatic 6 months, the holiday really aided our healing process. Owners very nice and helpful, grounds well kept and ablaze with fabulous roses + dog friendly. Holly Lodge was particularly well equipped, with a wetroom for our daughter who is now a wheelchair user. We enjoyed Minehead, Exmoor and the surrounding area. A few nice wheelchair accessible walks close by, including one across lovely parks into Minehead. Had a great time on the West Somerset Steam Railway, stopping for lunch and an afternoon at Watchit, a lovely little harbourside town. All in all a brilliant holiday which catered well for our changed circumstances and was enjoyed by all - we hope to return.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Hanson, Owner at Woodcombe Lodges
Responded 13 Jul 2023
We are delighted to hear that your holiday went so well and that we were able to play our part in providing suitable facilities. We are so lucky to live in this area and to be able to enjoy it with our guests. Do come and see us again soon. Kind regards Andrew & Nicola
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Displeased wheelchair Customer wrote a review Jul 2023
3 contributions3 helpful votes
When we arrived at Laburnam Lodge it was difficult to get the manual wheelchair over the stone chippings to reach the ramp up to the door. On entering the lodge we were shocked to find a very grubby looking settee suite with no cushions that sank, very uncomfortable. Tiny kitchen with no room for food in the cupboards. Wet room good size which flooded really needed doors around shower area for containing the water, broken mop for use. No disabled toilet. Found filthy iron but no board. Was not cheap to stay but decor was cheaply done. A real let down.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Think twice
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Hanson, Owner at Woodcombe Lodges
Responded 13 Jul 2023
We were so disappointed to read your comments being so at odds with the majority of our guests experience. We have responded directly in detail by email to illustrate how much we care about our guests experience and to show we take on board any criticism. We always respond to any issues raised during a guests stay and do our best solve any problems. We would note there is a disabled toilet in the wet room for the sake of accuracy. We do show a full 360 degree walk through on our website to ensure guests know what they are booking. We can only apologise for the issues with the mop and iron and shown you where the ironing board was if you had raised these at the time. Kind regards Andrew & Nicola
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Martha J wrote a review Jul 2023
1 contribution
This was our first visit to Woodcombe Lodges but it won't be our last. My husband and I stayed in Cherry Tree which has a ramp for wheelchair access, a wet room with shower chair, pull down bench and grab bars and plenty of room to move around in his wheelchair. WiFi is provided and there is a Games Room and Laundry (pay as you go electric) well stocked with local brochures and walking trip information. Set on a hillside above Minehead, you are close to amenities and you can choose to go out and explore or stay in and enjoy the serenity of the mature grounds (with glorious roses!). The lodge was exceptionally clean and tidy with thoughtful attention to details and decor. A welcome folder was provided with local information and the website gives further info about accessible things to do in the area. The owners, Andrew and Nicola, have clearly put much thought and love into their beautiful property. We thoroughly enjoyed our two weeks at Woodcombe Lodges and have already recommended it to some friends. We'll have to book well ahead to return next year!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Hanson, Owner at Woodcombe Lodges
Responded 5 Jul 2023
Thank you for a lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back. It is so rewarding to hear when our guests appreciate all we have to offer here. Kind regards Andrew & Nicola
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
graham472015 wrote a review Jul 2023
Wirral, United Kingdom49 contributions50 helpful votes
Well equipped, clean and comfortable. There was plenty of space in the accomodation; well secluded from the chalets on the site. We didn't use the laundry or the games room but they were very nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Hanson, Owner at Woodcombe Lodges
Responded 3 Jul 2023
Many thanks for coming to stay and for taking the time to give us a lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the cottage and hopefully all Exmoor has to offer. Kind regards Andrew & Nicola
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Minehead area.
PRICE RANGE
£54 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandSomersetMinehead
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WOODCOMBE LODGES - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews (Minehead)

Frequently Asked Questions about Woodcombe Lodges
Which popular attractions are close to Woodcombe Lodges?
Nearby attractions include The Golden Retriever Experience (1.3 miles), Dunster Castle (3.1 miles), and Dunkery Beacon (4.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Woodcombe Lodges?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and kids activities.
Which room amenities are available at Woodcombe Lodges?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and an additional bathroom.
Is parking available at Woodcombe Lodges?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Woodcombe Lodges?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tea Room at Chapel House, Bramdowns, and Hathaways.
Are any cleaning services offered at Woodcombe Lodges?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Woodcombe Lodges?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Woodcombe Lodges?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Dunster Castle (3.1 miles), Church of All Saints (1.9 miles), and St Peter's Church, Minehead Quay (1.4 miles).
Does Woodcombe Lodges have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Woodcombe Lodges accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.