We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Edgerton Hotel

86-88 New North Road, Huddersfield HD1 5NE England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (42)
Room & Suite (48)
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#12 of 15 hotels in Huddersfield
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A Family run Hotel, featuring a beautiful period property with great hospitality and service.Offering free on-site car parking and free Wi-Fi, Edgerton Hotel is a 10-minute walk from Huddersfield town centre and 0.5 miles from the bus and railway stations. It's 1 mile away from Huddersfield University, only 1.3 miles from Galpharm Stadium and 1.1 miles away from Huddersfield Royal Infirmary. There's a bus stop right outside the Hotel with buses running regularly towards town centre. The beautiful Victorian Hotel is based on the A629 towards Halifax. It's approximately 5 mins away from Greenhead Park and 2 mins away from Kirklees college. about 2.5 miles (4 km) from junction 24 of the M62.Free private parking is available on site, with closed-circuit TV surveillance for additional security and our reception is open 24 hours a day so you can check in at your leisure.There are 30 spacious and comfortable rooms, all of which are en suite with POWER showers. Each room has a TV, a telephone, a fridge, tea/coffee making facilities Ironing boards, irons and hair dryers. Guests also have access to a microwave to warm up their food if required and there are plenty of local take aways, restaurants and pubs to eat out.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Ironing service
Secured parking
Wifi
Breakfast in the room
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Urdu
187Reviews1Q+A36Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 85
  • 47
  • 18
  • 11
  • 26
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
gibbsy44 wrote a review Mar 2022
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom3 contributions3 helpful votes
I start with why I give this place 2 stars instead of 1, the staff were very friendly throughout our stay. And the rooms were ok considering the first impressions!! Rooms are Generously sized with a good size bathroom. Now the real part, what the hotel or any booking app choose to declare is. The hotel is majority used as a doss house for bag heads!! Greeted on check-in from a nutcase women having joint outside in the car park, once let into the building. You’re greeted to a dirty greasy sweaty smell as you walk in!! At 2.30am that night, what sounded the like the same women from earlier. Screaming on about being unable to walk due to being in some sort of drug hold, reaching to be sick!! To the full clientele screaming for her to shut up in a more diverse language. That morning, we went for breakfast at 7, Sitting our breakfast to see 4 zombies coming to the front door!! The young lass had to be ushered in by the rest, who turned out to also be stopping at the hotel. The next 2 nights weren’t too bad but we’re very noisy throughout due to the creatures stopping here!! Personally, I’d stay away from here and find somewhere like the Cambridge for instance.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Lee wrote a review Feb 2022
Silverstone, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
The staff are extremely friendly and welcoming however, I’ve rated 2 stars because the way the rooms are situated at the bottom of the hotel near a noisy kitchen. Honestly do yourself a favour and ask for a room change if they put you down there. Lots of noise around 11pm-12am of pots and pans clattering, you’ll also get woken up at 5am by this. The electric box inside the room buzzes too loud and if you take your card out to get peace, you can’t charge your phone! Apart from this, the room and bathroom was clean. No complimentary toiletries included so make sure you bring your own. The breakfast could of been better but it’s edible.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Avoid getting placed downstairs next to the kitchen. My room also had a noisy electric box which...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Andrew L wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
Upon check-in we were greeted with a kind and respectful recetionist who offered us a free upgrade to a family room. Ive got to say the building being a listed building is definitely up to a great standard. Room was very spacious and beautifully presented. Furthermore, full english breakfast was very nice and served hot. Would definitely recommend and will come back next time we are in Huddersfield.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Megan T wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
We had a lovely stay, the building is beautiful, we got a free upgrade to a stunning room, staff was friendly, helpful and informative when we asked questions about where to visit in the local area. It’s also close to the town centre which is always a benefit.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Gemma S wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
Worst place ever, hair on bed, dirty, rude staff, rude manager, thieves. Refused refund..... do not ever stay..... 0 star if I could.... You will catch something. Does not have regular paying customers, funding like a hostel. If looking for a luxury break don't be fooled by made up reviews.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Hanson, General Manager at Edgerton Hotel
Responded 7 Feb 2022
Dear Gemma, you and your partner were given a free upgrade to a quad room (the biggest room with the biggest bathroom in the hotel) when you arrived late at night, you spent 5 minutes in the room and came out stating it was not up to your expectations. We asked if we could change your room for you and you refused and asked for a refund. We specified that we have a 24 hour cancellation policy and that the staff member on sight was unable to grant one since refunds are discussed with the manager in office hours. Yourself and your partner became angry and threatened the staff member with violence on numerous occasions and even tried to get behind the reception area. You partner then attempted to steal a £3,000 coffee machine stating he would get his money back one way or another and that was when the police were called. The form you signed upon your arrival states; 'any guests causing disruption with noise levels or any kind of aggression will be asked to leave, and no refund will be issued.' This is why you were refused your refund in the end. I'm sorry your experience was a negative one however we tried to do whatever we could to make your stay a good one and yet you proceeded to abuse our staff, including phone calls later that day.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
David P wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
Warning stay clear this the hotel or else you will regret it.. decor is very out dated staffs are rude need to be trained better.. overall it has been the worst hotel I've visited im writing this review to let everyone know how bad this hotel is
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Hanson, General Manager at Edgerton Hotel
Responded 7 Feb 2022
Hello, we are sorry to hear you were unhappy with your stay, I assure you if any issues were brought up to our staff they would have been dealt with appropriately however I am unsure of where your claim of stolen money is coming from. Should you wish to please email us and we can discuss this matter and hopefully turn your experience into something more positive.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sally C wrote a review Nov 2021
4 contributions
Our stay was for one night as attending a friends surprise birthday party. Up to check in was probably the only good part! We were awoken at 5.00am with a fight taking place outside our room, it was so bad that we barricaded our door with a chair as we were scared the individuals were going to come in, and my child was absolutely shaking with fear. No one checked on us after the event, not certain if Police was actually called as they didn't attend, based on the fight they should have! When leaving this morning we brought up the issue, no one at hotel was even going to apologise and no compensation offered. It has been the worst experience of our life and we will never stay again!😡
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Hanson, General Manager at Edgerton Hotel
Responded 7 Feb 2022
Hello, we sincerely apologise about the experience you had staying with us. Firstly, I'd like to assure you that you were always safe, there was no way for the individuals to get into your room. It was a heated disagreement between two guests and I can assure you the police were called to deal with the situation and our staff was preoccupied with the events taking place, I'm sorry you felt the situation wasn't dealt with as it should have been. We are so sorry for the disruption as well as the fear yourselves and your child experienced, this was a one time event and of course the guests involved were asked to leave the property.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Anthony Paul wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
I was greeted by very lovely staff who were helpful and provided us with everything we needed to know. The room was very spacious and had a great aesthetic, along with a large ensuite bathroom with quite a good shower. Originally I didn’t opt for a breakfast plan, but I thought I’d try it and I’m happy that I did. They had their own little buffet style setup which meant I could go back for seconds, thirds even! The food was lovely and again the staff were very friendly and checking up on to make sure we were fine. It was great value for money and even left the kids happy. I would 100% recommend this hotel to anyone and look forward to staying again soon!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Itinerantur17 wrote a review Oct 2021
United Kingdom871 contributions382 helpful votes
The pluses - good value for a limited market in Huddersfield. Bathroom looked like it had been refurbished over the past couple of years. Good level of cleanliness and large room. The downsides; The carpets and furnishings are very dark, and the bulbs very low wattage and I came away feeling very depressed and wanting some fresh air and daylight. There is limited parking at the rear and the climb from there to reception is very steep. If you are in a basement room it is incredibly noisy - I was constantly disturbed by the buzzer on the back door, doors closing and the kitchen in the morning. I also had a full sized fridge in the room which made a lot of noise. The breakfast is served at 7am and it was not ready on time and it is very basic in offer
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
P J wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Visited as a family of three. Asked for a wheelchair accessible room which it was, but the shower is a standard shower, no seat or level access. We managed though. We asked for the safe to be opened as it was locked shut. They didn’t do this. The next day we returned from a day out to find my perfume missing and all our bags had been gone through, including medical supplies. Immediately we told reception staff who were apologetic and suggested we reported it to the police which we did. The manager was more dismissive, there was no evidence. Not many people come away to spend their time talking to the police! The room was comfortable enough, but the whole experience left us feeling uneasy. We had to ask for towels and toilet rolls, bins weren’t emptied. Overall the accommodation is good for families but sadly we didn’t feel safe there due to our experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Huddersfield area.
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Edgerton Guest House
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireWest YorkshireHuddersfield
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

EDGERTON HOTEL - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews (Huddersfield)

Frequently Asked Questions about Edgerton Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Edgerton Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Stuck in the Riddle (0.5 miles), Greenhead Park (0.3 miles), and Magic Rock Tap (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Edgerton Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Edgerton Hotel?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Edgerton Hotel?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Edgerton Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Harvey's Westgate, Apadana, and The Scullery Kitchen and Bar.
Is Edgerton Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the centre of Huddersfield.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Edgerton Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Urdu.
Are there any historical sites close to Edgerton Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Slack Roman Fort (3.2 miles).