We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
85 Cheriton Road, Folkestone CT20 2QL England
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
eDreams
View all 11 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (15)
Dining (1)
Bathroom (2)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#10 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Folkestone
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Guest House in Folkestone near Town Center and Train Station. The Victorian property once owned by the Earl of Radnor. Although fully modernised, it still maintains its period looks and comfort with added flare and warmth. Sunny Lodge is south facing, living up to its name with the warm sun shining into the rooms. We are open all year round for your convenience, offering an excellent service. Providing free parking for up to 7 vehicles, however this is a first come first served basis.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Breakfast available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
80Reviews0Q+A5Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 65
  • 11
  • 1
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
karencupit wrote a review Nov 2020
Weymouth, United Kingdom7 contributions2 helpful votes
Stayed at the Sunny Lodge for a night prior to heading over to France. Shelley and Mick were warm, friendly and welcoming when I arrived. My room was very comfortable and clean. My dog enjoyed his stay too :-) I'll definitely check to see if they have any available rooms next time I'm down that way. Highly recommended guest house!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
V white wrote a review Jan 2020
6 contributions3 helpful votes
Left a young lady stranded in Folkestone. Opened the door told her to go away even though the young ladies parent had booked her a room and had arranged for someone to be there when she arrived in early morning when her coach arrived.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Shelley D, Owner at Sunny Lodge Guest House
Responded 21 Jan 2020
The room was booked for Tuesday and not the Monday. Booking in time is from 4pm to midnight but we had a message that the person would not be turning up until after midnight on the Tuesday. She turned up after midnight on the Monday. We were fully booked Monday night. We did not turn anyone away as we did not answer the door as we were asleep and did not hear anything. We do not have a 24 hour reception we are a small b&b. There was an event across the road an apparently one our guests opened the front door because the person kept ringing the bell and stopping him from sleeping. Clearly the problem here was that the wrong day was booked by the customer and this is not our fault. We cannot be responsible for their mistake.
Read more
LoveTravel2anywhere wrote a review Jan 2020
Ripon, United Kingdom26 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
We stayed here the night before catching the eurotunnel (which is only 10 mins away) Mick and Shelley are so friendly, can't do enough for you. Easy to find with parking at the front. A lovely big christmas tree greeted us as soon as we walked through the front door and the place smelt lovely. We went up to our room which was a really nice family room with a huge window, we had our 2 dogs with us so they gave us a large room which was really thoughtful. The room itself was spotlessy clean as was the bathroom and the shower was really powerful! Tea and coffee making facilities in the room were also a nice touch. I can't fault it at all. Thank you for all your help we will definately stay again (with dog leads!) and recommend you to our friends and family. Thanks again x
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Sue W wrote a review Sept 2019
4 contributions
Was visiting folkestone and decided to stay the night. Rang through to sunnylodge room available very friendly on the phone so made our way there. Mick and shelley greeted us made sure we had parking space. So friendly and welcoming. Room was bright and clean. Gave advice where to eat that evening couldn't be more helpful. Great night sleep breakfast really good accomdated me as vegetarian very good poached eggs. Will be back with rest of family great stay. Good location and lovely hosts.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Shelley D, Owner at Sunny Lodge Guest House
Responded 29 Sept 2019
Thank you very much Sue for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to you and your family visiting us in the future. Once again thank you for your review it is much appreciated.
Read more
Mffm4444 wrote a review Aug 2019
Madrid390 contributions113 helpful votes
I stayed there a couple of nights, 40GBP the price, the place was well located close to the train station, owners very kind, however the room they gave me was not good, lot of spiders in the walls, spidersnet hanging in window, wifi not arrived to the room (third floor), mattress was a total disgrace, still don't understand why they don't change It. Shared toilet was not very clean either. I was hoping more comfortability however they made me pay on advance so I had yo stay. Will not come back and not recomend to go
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Shelley D, Owner at Sunny Lodge Guest House
Responded 20 Aug 2019
Thank you for your review, however it would have been helpful if you had told us of your disappointment while you were here. I did ask you if everything was ok but you told me it was. As you saw when you came we are making significant changes to the house. The shared toilet has had a total refit since you came. August is the time of year when the spiders are active and unfortunately I cannot control this. Our WIFI provider had problems that weekend and again this is beyond my control. Everybody has to pay in advance which is no different to any other hotel or B&B. I am sorry you did not have a good experience with us.
Read more
N Rose wrote a review Jun 2019
3 contributions
I don’t normally have a lot to say but I spent 2 nights 3 days in sunny lodge. It is very nice well kept and comfortable as well as clean place. I stayed in a lovely double room with an en suite. The couple that run the place is Mike and Shelly and they’re so welcoming and made me feel like royalty. They helped me out with where to go and it was a pleasure to stay here and meet Mike and Shelly. May God bless them and trust me this place is worth going to stay. Thanks guys. Mr N Rose x
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Shelley D, Owner at Sunny Lodge Guest House
Responded 26 Jun 2019
It was a pleasure to look after you. We enjoyed your company as well and look forward to seeing you in the near future. Thank you for your lovely kind review.
Read more
King David wrote a review Jun 2019
Bristol, United Kingdom82 contributions89 helpful votes
I booked via booking.com. Owner phoned me and was extremely rude and unpleasant. He told me a booking.com payment in advance had been declined. He said I had 12 hours to decide and then he said he was cancelling it, which is what he did. Thank god for that, as I do not fancy taking my family to a place owned and run by such an unpleasant person.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Shelley D, Owner at Sunny Lodge Guest House
Responded 18 Jun 2019
I checked your name with our reservations through booking.com and you have never made a booking with us. It would seem that you have made a mistake with who you booked with but it certainly was not Sunny Lodge. For future reference if there is an issue with card payment then it is booking.com that give you 24 hours to rectify this and if there is no response then booking.com cancel the booking. We cannot cancel any booking unless it is verified by booking.com. best wishes. Shelley (owner)
Read more
JDeurs wrote a review Mar 2019
Deurne, The Netherlands28 contributions3 helpful votes
Very nice couple who runs this excellent guesthouse. I came at 22.00 with car and trailer. Both could park at their own free parkingplace. He helped me with parking the trailer and put a wheelclamp around one of the wheels. Extra service. The room itself was nice, with own shower and double bed. No noise from outside. In whole guesthouse, free WiFi. Breakfast was excellent. Real English breakfast. When I have this trip again, I come back.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Shelley D, Owner at Sunny Lodge Guest House
Responded 18 Mar 2019
Thank you for your very lovely review. I am glad we were of help to you and that you enjoyed your stay. It would be great to see you again and hope that this will be soon.
Read more
Matt W wrote a review Feb 2019
6 contributions
The room was spotless and the welcome impeccable. We will be coming back. We stayed over before a morning tunnel crossing. Absolutely perfect and great Value for money. My daughter loved the bunk beds
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Shelley D, Owner at Sunny Lodge Guest House
Responded 18 Mar 2019
Thank you for your great review. I am glad your daughter enjoyed the bunk beds. We hope to see you again in the future.
Read more
Jouni V wrote a review Oct 2018
Wroughton, United Kingdom289 contributions120 helpful votes
Place was decent but rooms were quite small. Bed's were a bit outdated but you could sleep in them. Bathroom was quite ok but as well slightly worn out. Breakfast we unfortunately couldn't enjoy because we had to catch up the ferry early in the morning. Price quality ratio average.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$72 - US$112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandKentFolkestone
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sunny Lodge Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Sunny Lodge Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Leas Lift Lockout (0.3 miles), Locked In escape rooms (0.3 miles), and Escape60 (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sunny Lodge Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Sunny Lodge Guest House?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Sunny Lodge Guest House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sunny Lodge Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Annapurna Nepalese Restaurant, The Bouverie Tap, and Sotirio's Bar & Restaurant.
Is Sunny Lodge Guest House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the centre of Folkestone.
Are pets allowed at Sunny Lodge Guest House?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Sunny Lodge Guest House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Crypt of St. Leonard (3.9 miles), Saltwood Castle (3.9 miles), and War Memorial 1914-18 - Folkestone (0.4 miles).