We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Argyll Hotel

Show Prices
#1 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Argyll Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

913 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 906: English reviews
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here couple times before, which were enjoyable enough, but this time...well wont be back, to say the least. The room we had this time was big enough but looked quite dated and the furniture looked cheap. The hairdryer didn't work properly and the ironing board had seen better days. We have no idea what the breakfast was like this...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank watsonma2011
Management response:

Good afternoon Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for our hotel. However, after looking extensively through all of our bookings for December we have no booking under your name and no notes of any complaints that relate to what you have written. If i could ask you to contact the hotel directly on 01369 702059 if...

Stevenston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent one night here with my granddaughter. Lovely old building. Yes the rooms need a bit of revamping but they were clean, and our room was large, as was the bathroom. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Plenty of teabags, coffee etc in the rooms, and loads of hot water filled the really deep bath. Very novel using the toilet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
Gourock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

An overnight stay in a reasonable room. Bed was ok, tv almost at roof height but the main problem was the noise from Dunoon Main Street from rowdy drunks.....there is no double grazing in the room so you just have to toss and turn and get up in the morning tired. Breakfast was clearly pre cooked and kept warm. Has...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lambretta101
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Just spent a great weekend at this hotel,got a room upgrade without asking,four poster bed with great views,staff great ,food good ,drinks reasonable priced,good for a weekend away .You can buy discounted ferry tickets for western ferry's at pauls shop in gourock

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank william751
Management response:

Good morning Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a great review. We always like to know that our guests have enjoyed their stays with us as much as we hope they do. I wish you all the best for 2017 and hopefully see you back at the Argyll Hotel very soon. Kind regards Scarlett

Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017

I stayed in the argyll and this is a truly great hotel the staff are great and the location is perfect the only problem was that the rooms themselves need totally revamping as they are very old and not in a period way the single room was so small you couldn't move in it and the bathroom was not very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank neil c
Auckland
Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

My husband and I decided to stay here last minute and were delighted with all aspects of our stay! The staff were friendly and accommodating. The 2 restaurants provided a brilliant variety of menus and the quality of food was good. Our room was clean and tastefully decorated and the ensuite the same. The shower was really powerful and the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AucklandHaggis
Management response:

Hi there! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a great review! I am thrilled that you had such a lovely time during your stay with us. We really love to know that our guests are as happy as we hope they will be. I will be sure to pass on all your comments to our...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

What a letdown this place is told lies when phone to see about email I received about upgrading your room staff very unfriendly and rude only interested in taking your money no offer of anywhere to eat bearing in mind there is a restaurant on site bed uncomfortable like bricks hardly any room to use the toilet walk in shower...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank George M
Management response:

Good afternoon Thank you for taking your time out to leave your feedback of your recent stay which is valuable for us to further improve ourselves. Unfortunately as your complaint was only made evident after your left the hotel, this then limited our ability to rectify any concerns or issues that you had during your actual stay. Which i can...

Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Hotel was good staff where polite and helpfull food was really good but the only thing missing from the beds was nails actually that might have been more comfortable I've had a better nights sleep up a mountain shame otherwise nice place

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Paul O
Management response:

Good morning Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review about your recent stay with us. Thank you for bringing to my attention the issue with your bed, i will be sure to mention to this to our house keeping and maintenance teams. I do hope this small issue doesn't deter you from staying with us again and...

Glendale, Arizona
Reviewed 27 November 2016

My room was booked with a confirmation number months ahead of time. When I got to the hotel, my room had been sold out from under me, to a "sick old lady." I was told they would get a taxi to take me to the hotel where they had rebooked me without telling me ahead of time. Well, they ordered...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Holly B
Management response:

Good morning Many thanks for your review. I wonder if you could perhaps contact the hotel on 01369 702059 to have a chat as we have no record of such an out booking and we would like to investigate further. Kind Regards Sandie

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

The barman Perry took our order for food and drink. He was immediately inundated with a coachwork of ladies wanting drinks quick as the buses engine was running! He ensured our order was dealt with without delay. Well done Perry The food was excellent and the coffee hot and strong. Will

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil R
Management response:

Hello there! Many thanks for your review. Thank you also for your paitenece during your visit. I'll be sure to pass your kind comments over Perry. I look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future. Kind regards Sandie

174 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (152)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.3 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
627 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
159 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
443 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#8 of 11 in Dunoon
212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Address: 54 Argyll Street, Dunoon PA23 7NE, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Argyll Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Price Range: £73 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunoon
Argyll Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dunoon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Argyll Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Glasgow, United Kingdom
4 months ago
scotland
8 months ago
scotland

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Argyll Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a sea view lovely watching the boats on the water especially at night.”
 of 5 bubbles 112carolinem, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room 104”
 of 5 bubbles william751, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles Flo_18_csc, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“been in a few rooms and all very very good”
 of 5 bubbles mcquadeian, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ask for sea view”
 of 5 bubbles landoug, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5