We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Osborne

44 Shore Road Innellan, Dunoon PA23 7TJ Scotland
Traveller (42)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#3 of 6 hotels in Dunoon
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Beautifully situated on the River Clyde our Bar/Restaurant has fantastic panoramic views of the River and all it's traffic. Our conservatory is the main dining area with a lounge and bar behind. We also have licensed outside seating to the front and side for the "Exceptional" Scottish Summers. Come and join us for friendship & fun and sample some of our excellent, fresh, home cooked food, great beer & spirit selection. B&B rooms are now available. We have 3 double rooms and a single. For bookings and room rates please call on the telephone number on our home page. Web site to follow very shortly.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Fishing
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Mid-range
156Reviews1Q+A23Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 113
  • 23
  • 9
  • 2
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Eilidhmaciver wrote a review Dec 2023
Dunoon, United Kingdom52 contributions13 helpful votes
Thank you for wonderful food, all our different choices were just superb, one of the best christmas dinners! Thanks for great service and such a lovely atmosphere. Once again our christmas party at the Osborne was a great success.Huge thanks to Elliot, Pete Corey and all staff. Merry christmas
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
hevvybevvy wrote a review Dec 2023
Scotland17 contributions28 helpful votes
Just back from The Osborne,and can honestly say my wife and I had the best food we've had in ages. We both had the 2 course Sunday roast dinner,which I was recommend by someone,and it was STUNNING....roasting hot,large portion,and tasted like a Real homemade meal,and served by a lovely,friendly waitress. We will certainly be returning.....thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Graham Kelly-Blyth wrote a review Oct 2023
8 contributions6 helpful votes
Our stay at the Osborne was made even better by the most welcoming hosts Peter and Elliot. Nothing was too much trouble for the hosts and staff. Our room was double aspect with the most wonderful view out to Bute and Arran. Our expectations of the food were exceeded by Chef Elliot. We will be returning for a longer visit in the not too distant future.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Relax and enjoy this wonderful B&B and please enjoy Elliots food.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Stu G wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
From arrival to departure, Peter and his staff were so welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. My room was exactly what I needed for the 2 night stay, my bed was so comfortable with gorgeous views in the morning overlooking the water. The bar staff are friendly and the pub has a real local feel to it. And then there's the food! I have no words, we had a family event and got together for the meal in the evening as well as breakfast the next day. Again, nothing was too much trouble. The quality of the food is superb, the menu isn't huge (which is great for those of us who struggle with too much choice!) and the meals which make the cut are fantastic. Thank you Osbourne for being so welcoming of our family.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Lady Carole McLean-Smith wrote a review Aug 2023
6 contributions1 helpful vote
The perfect hotel. Pete and Elliot are the most caring, attentive and professional hosts I have ever come across in all my hundred years of hoteling.---A very very comfortable place to stay. Lovely conservatory dining room (with dishes which can only be described as cordon bleu-and a sitting out in the sun area too. Rooms have everything you could possibly need--- In fact Shangri La. Don't go anywhere else in Dunoon.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
YorkshireMinnie wrote a review Aug 2023
yorkshire102 contributions37 helpful votes
2nd visit, food as good as the first. Highly recommend. If the weather is good it's nice sitting outside. No dogs allowed inside which is a shame as most places do now allocate a dog friendly section. Just meant we had to wait for good weather so we could visit.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Chris Z wrote a review Jul 2023
2 contributions
Amazing location, amazing staff, amazing view... Its an older location, so have proper expectations accordingly... That being said, I can't imagine you'll find anything better in the area. Highly recommend - Can't stress this enough, but it's the hands down BEST hotel in that area. Anyone who giving negative review is being irrational.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Rosalyn Y wrote a review Jun 2023
Blackpool, United Kingdom8 contributions
The Osbourne is a great favourite of ours and we stay at least once a year. Peter and Elliot are the perfect hosts, bar and food amazing, the outlook is serene and perfect to sit outside and enjoy a cool drink.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Ronald S wrote a review Jun 2023
Henfield, United Kingdom20 contributions8 helpful votes
Fantastic atmosphere,very delicious food and very attentive service . Well recommend. Staff could not do enough for us.Staying in area for a week ,so going back on Wednesday.It's lovely to see a restaurant ,with lovely atmosphere and serving fresh local food
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Nubira12 wrote a review Jan 2023
Bedworth, United Kingdom51 contributions73 helpful votes
Sorry that you decided not to stay with us. The oil-filled radiator in your room is more than adequate to heat the room to a high temperature. The Restaurant is closed tonight as The Chef is entitled to a couple of days off holiday. Very well deserved This is the response from The Osborne Hotel, Dunoon, don’t know who responded, neither am I interested. So, let’s look at this, I stay away 8 to 10 times per month all over the country and get to know the difference between a good and poor hotel, unfortunately this place was the latter. I booked this because of the reviews and was looking forward to a descent meal, and a chill out after driving over 300 miles on some pretty treacherous roads to get there. On my arrival when shown to my room I was told there was no food tonight as the cook was off, no mention on the Hotels.com site that there was only food on some nights, I was also informed there was a local pub that served food but only until 7 to 7.30 pm but would have to drive there, if I wanted anything later I would have to drive into Dunoon. When in my room the first thing that hit me was how cold it was, in fact it was 11.1 degrees, the oil filled radiator was already cycling on and off so it’s obvious the room wasn’t getting any warmer, I sat there feeling pretty miserable, no food, the prospect of spending the night here very depressing, the room it self was also very basic, and it was cold, unfortunately I didn’t have any thermals with me. I made the decision to check out and fortunately another hotel locally had room, was a breath of fresh air, warm room, nice food, I have stopped there before, lesson for future, stick with what you know! I requested a refund through Hotels.com, just found out it has been rejected by the hotel, well mate, you keep you £60, your need is greater than mine, the hotel was not as described, poor customer service. No doubt this will provoke a response which I’m not interested in, if you had been more reasonabl then wouldn’t have left this review.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Peter Ramsay, Owner at The Osborne
Responded 22 Jan 2023
Thank you for your very expected bad review. We are a very good & popular little B&B as previous reviews clearly state. I understand the fact that we were not doing food on the night you had booked was a big issue, just bad timing I'm afraid. We only have a small amount of staff and as I've already said, the chef/business owner was away. This unfortunately happens but I can assure you not very often. You were advised that you could have walked 90 seconds along the road to another pub for dinner but you couldn't be bothered. As for your money, you still have it!!! We take payment on checkout and as you never stayed with us, no money changed hands. I don't need or want your £60.00. Enjoy it elsewhere. The heating issue, think that was just an excuse for you to moan, as whatever we could have done was never going to be good enough. In a way, I'm glad you won't stay here again, because quite frankly you wouldn't be welcome. Small independent businesses are having a real tough time right now and I don't say things like that lightly as all customers are very welcome. I hope other potential guests read this review and accept that your negativity was the only issue with your short visit. Regards, Pete Ramsay Owner / The Osborne.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Dunoon area.
PRICE RANGE
£96 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandArgyll and ButeCowal PeninsulaDunoon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE OSBORNE - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews, and Photos (Dunoon)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Osborne
Which popular attractions are close to The Osborne?
Nearby attractions include Castle House Museum (3.6 miles), Ardencraig Gardens (4.9 miles), and Studio Cinema - Dunoon (3.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Osborne?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Osborne?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Osborne?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Osborne?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Lorne Bar, The 51st State Bar & Grill, and The Ardentinny Restaurant.
Are there any historical sites close to The Osborne?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Skelmorlie secret bunker (4.0 miles).
Does The Osborne have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the bay view available here.