We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Jug and Glass Inn

Ashbourne Road Hartington, Buxton SK17 0BA England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (76)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (7)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 3 inns in Buxton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Traditional service since the 17th century this small quintessential English Coaching Inn in the parish of Hartington atop the White Peak area of the National Park with views across the Derbyshire Dales. Stay in one of our nine modern comfortable centrally heated en suite rooms and dine in the old pub. Sleep, eat, drink and be merry with candlelight, wine and good food to refresh the mind and cheer your soul. Sit by a roasting fire on snowy winter days or walk in panoramic glory in every season. Perfectly central to the Park giving visitors a great overnight stay or a memorable holiday experience. Our partnership with local farmers, food producers and suppliers who share our values helps to sustain the social, environmental and economic fabric of the National Park for future generations.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Hiking
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Breakfast available
Picnic area
Show more
Room features
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Great View
330Reviews6Q+A50Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 208
  • 82
  • 22
  • 15
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Tanja S wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We were visiting the area and called in by chance! A lovely surprise awaited us! A beautiful warm welcome from the friendly owner and crew, delicious food and an extra bonus of two gorgeous friendly dogs to keep you entertained! Favourite place in the area!!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Emma S wrote a review Nov 2023
Manchester, United Kingdom24 contributions23 helpful votes
Such a fantastic place to chill and recharge. Very friendly and welcoming taverna. Vicky and Daryll are the most welcoming and friendly hosts you could wish to meet! . A nice and chilled out place to relax. Lovely clean and cannot recommend it in any more!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Vicky Bonsall, Owner at The Jug and Glass Inn
Responded 22 Dec 2023
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you again. Vicky & Daryll
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Steve E wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Ideal place to stay when visiting various attractions in the area. Welcoming and friendly owners. Nice clean room (No 3). Good pint for me and prosecco for the better half, evening meal lovely, all at very reasonable price. Breakfast also good. Also Dylan, our border Collie was very welcome and happy with his stay!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from vicky bonsall, Owner at The Jug and Glass Inn
Responded 25 Sept 2023
Thank you for your review we are glad you both and Dylan 🐶 enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again. Vicky & Daryll
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Elaine wrote a review Sept 2023
Bath, United Kingdom2 contributions3 helpful votes
What a great little pub. We went in on a whim just for drinks. We were offered a tall table amongst what appeared to be regulars to the pub. And that was the start of a very enjoyable evening, we were made to feel welcome by everybody including all the staff and the amusing lady behind the bar. Who we suspect was the landlady and had such an amazing time. Laughing and joking and being invited to join in with all the conversations. It was so good we decided to order some food. This was very enjoyable indeed and priced right too. All in all it was one of the best none organised evenings we have had for a long time. Please don’t drive by, pull in and enjoy this fantastic pub. We even managed to acquire some much needed toothpicks when we left. We will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from vicky bonsall, Owner at The Jug and Glass Inn
Responded 25 Sept 2023
Thank you for your lovely review. Pull in next time you are passing , I’ll save some toothpicks just incase 🤪🍻 Vicky & Daryll
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Naimi W wrote a review Sept 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
What an absolute gem! Vicky and Darryl were the perfect hosts, very friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean, we slept so well. The food....every meal we had, from the full English breakfasts to the home cooked evening meals were delighful. The locals were very welcoming and we can't wait to go back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from vicky bonsall, Owner at The Jug and Glass Inn
Responded 5 Sept 2023
Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon. Vicky & Daryll
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sarah D wrote a review Aug 2023
5 contributions
Just a fantastic break from start to finish. Vicky and Darryl were wonderful hosts and nothing was too much trouble. Our room which was pet friendly was luxurious and impeccably clean with the biggest bed I’ve ever seen. Breakfast was delicious and vegetarians are catered for at breakfast and if you eat during the day. The dogs were treated as well as the humans and they are with us in the bar. The surroundings are beautiful with Buxton one way and Ashbourne the other with lots of things to do. We will definitely be coming back soon!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from vicky bonsall, Owner at The Jug and Glass Inn
Responded 5 Sept 2023
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon. Vicky & Daryll
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Janet B wrote a review Aug 2023
Swanland, United Kingdom26 contributions10 helpful votes
The Jug & Glass is a lovely old country pub. I wouldn't say the rooms are luxury as they advertise, but clean and have all amenities. We booked for 2 nights. After a friendly welcome we were allocated a twin room. One mattress was fine, the other you could feel every spring which gave a very uncomfortable night. At breakfast we informed the male server who said the mattress probably needed turning, but reported it to the landlady who came through to see us. Her attitude was not one of apologies, but of impatience and defence saying that no one had reported this to her, that both mattresses were only 1 year old and saying she would have to buy a new one. With no offer of a solution, I asked her if she would arrange for the mattress to be turned, to which she replied I will when I have time. The mattress was turned which offered a slight improvement but it sagged and you could hear the springs on every movement. There was no comment at breakfast the next morning. At no time were we asked if we had enjoyed our stay or given an apology.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: This venue has a staff shortage. Rooms are not serviced and they do not have time to resolve any...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from vicky bonsall, Owner at The Jug and Glass Inn
Responded 5 Sept 2023
Thank you for your review. As I told you when you were here if nobody reports anything to us we don’t know and I wouldn’t have thought after a year the mattress would have been uncomfortable. I was impatient with you as you said as it was in the middle of breakfast service and I was cooking the other guests breakfasts, and I did go and turn your mattress as soon as like I said I had time. Vicky
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Denbutch wrote a review Aug 2023
Staines, England199 contributions118 helpful votes
We pulled in here for lunch on the way to Buxton and, wow, what lovely place! The welcome we got, the beer and the food were all brilliant! Well presented and delicious food, quickly delivered and extremely good value, together with well kept beer - and all with a friendly smile and chat! What more could you want? Pity we don't live in the area as this would become our local.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Go here!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from vicky bonsall, Owner at The Jug and Glass Inn
Responded 15 Aug 2023
Thank you for your lovely review. Hope to see you again. Vicky & Daryll
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
martinborland wrote a review Jul 2023
Stapleton, United Kingdom22 contributions16 helpful votes
Called in with our 3 dogs and were warmly welcomed. Food all home made (lasagne, soup, and rhubarb crumble) and delicious, also reasonably priced. Well worth a visit. We will definitely be back whilst in the area. Thanks, Angie,Martin and our 3 dogs.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from vicky bonsall, Owner at The Jug and Glass Inn
Responded 31 Jul 2023
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you again. Vicky & daryll
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Julie M wrote a review Jul 2023
Larbert, United Kingdom51 contributions9 helpful votes
Very dog friendly, we were allowed to bring the dog inside, even got a bowl of ice-cream for the dog when we asked. Food was hot and tasty. The staff were friendly and welcoming, to us all including the dog. We will be going back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from vicky bonsall, Owner at The Jug and Glass Inn
Responded 20 Jul 2023
Thank you for your lovely review. Look forward to seeing you and Zeus soon Vicky & daryll
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Buxton area.
PRICE RANGE
£109 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the jug and glass hotel buxton
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Jug and Glass Inn
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDerbyshireBuxton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE JUG AND GLASS INN - Updated 2024 Reviews (Buxton)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Jug and Glass Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Jug and Glass Inn?
Nearby attractions include Pendragon Project Team Adventures (3.9 miles), Tagg Lane Dairy LTD (3.1 miles), and Hartington Cheese Shop (1.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Jug and Glass Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at The Jug and Glass Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Jug and Glass Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Jug and Glass Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pack Horse Inn, Staffordshire Knot Inn, and Old School Tea Room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Jug and Glass Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Arbor Low Stone Circle & Gib Hill Barrow (2.1 miles) and Magpie Mines (4.3 miles).
Is The Jug and Glass Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.