We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Palace Hotel Buxton & Spa

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (2258)
Room & Suite (332)
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!View Prices and Availability
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#6 of 6 hotels in Buxton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Victorian Palace Hotel sits in 5 acres of landscaped gardens in the spa town of Buxton. Ideally located for visiting Buxton Opera House and exploring the Peak District National Park, Britain's first National Park and one of the country's most popular walking destinations, this hotel has an imposing facade and opulent interior to provide an unforgettable backdrop for any occasion. With 186 bedrooms, including 12 premium rooms, a Health & Leisure club with swimming pool, gym and beauty rooms, and a restaurant using local ingredients to prepare British and Continental cuisine, it's the perfect spot for a country town retreat.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Classic
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:View Prices and Availability
4,962Reviews58Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 847
  • 1,261
  • 1,038
  • 847
  • 969
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Janet B wrote a review 9 Apr
80 contributions81 helpful votes
We booked a two night midweek which was really quite reasonably priced. The good - Beautiful old grand hotel, up high on a hill & very central. Close to all the shops & bars. The extra charge for breakfast was well worth it, it was all delicious. The room & the bathroom were very clean. The not good - We had to pay extra to use the pool & spa, didn't mind as we booked with some friends and we were all looking forward to it. - very grotty sauna & steam room, well and truly overdue for a revamp, and the temperature in the pool was too cold to even get in. Extra charges per day to park within the hotel grounds and more charges for wifi in your room.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from The Palace Hotel Buxton , Guest Services / Front Office at Palace Hotel Buxton & Spa
Responded 6 days ago
Dear J1084MKanthonyr Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visit to our hotel. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. Maybe next time look at booking one of our packages that include the extras
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Gill P wrote a review 7 Apr
Telford, United Kingdom13 contributions
Nice big period hotel, comfortable surroundings,we had twin room beds were comfy , shower nice , breakfast was good big selection and a very good price would definitely stay again only con was charging £7 for WiFi in room but my phone still worked in room without it so didn’t need to purchase it
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Parking was a bit tight but managed to get. Space
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Palace Hotel Buxton , Guest Services / Front Office at Palace Hotel Buxton & Spa
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Guest thank you for your feedback we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Palace and we look forward to welcoming you back
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Andrew R wrote a review 5 Apr
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Restaurant evening meal was hurried. Plates were taken before diners had finished. Limited menu choice. No allergen charts. On a forced 8pm start to be suddenly told kitchen closed at 9 was no excuse for bringing dessert out while still eating main course. What should have been a special family reunion was spoiled. Poor show.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from The Palace Hotel Buxton , Guest Services / Front Office at Palace Hotel Buxton & Spa
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Guest thank you for your feedback i will pass this information onto the correct manager then they can rectify
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Stephanie N wrote a review 1 Apr
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Awful, from the unfriendly welcome by the receptionist to walking to our room. A foul smell which got worse as we neared our room. The room allocated was a single, squeezed to be a double,so wardrobe did not open fully, but managed to hide the broken mirror. Chair in room broken, TV all channels scrambled (except 1). Lovely view of full skips at rear of hotel. On leaving receptionist did not say one pleasantry, just 'checking out?'. Would never stay here again. Raised with agent we booked with, Hotel would not listen to our complaint.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If using gift purchased via 'Buyagift' Do Not book this Hotel, felt like we were treated inferior...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from The Palace Hotel Buxton , Guest Services / Front Office at Palace Hotel Buxton & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest thank you for your feedback, we are sorry that you had issues during your stay with us at the Palace, we are unsure why you didnt ask to speak to the duty Manager while at the Hotel as we would of got the maintenance department to come and sort out your issues
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Anthony R wrote a review Mar 2024
Sheffield, United Kingdom39 contributions43 helpful votes
We spent 3 nights here on half board as part of a Citroen 2CV car club event. Really enjoyed our stay here. Large spacious room with refurbished bathroom and comfy bed. Kettle and coffee machine and small fridge fulfilled our room needs. Entrance, staircase and ballroom were stunning. Breakfast and evening meals were buffet with plenty of choice and good quality. Staff friendly and helpful. Would happily return for another stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Palace Hotel Buxton, Guest Services / Front Office at Palace Hotel Buxton & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear J1084MKanthonyr Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visit to our hotel. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lindsey E wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I was a bit worried about this booking after reading some negative reviews, but I'm so glad I went ahead anyway. This old hotel is simply beautiful. So much history. Yes, it's a little dated in some areas, but it's a Victorian hotel and that's part of it's charm. Our room was clean, spacious with a comfy bed and great views. Great shower, plenty of tea, coffee and biscuits included and a fantastic breakfast. I would thoroughly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from The Palace Hotel Buxton, Guest Services / Front Office at Palace Hotel Buxton & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay to our hotel. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Stay65667421194 wrote a review Mar 2024
2 contributions3 helpful votes
1. Indifferent welcome and poor attitude from reception staff; E.g. Asked for alternative room, as v small window in dark attic room: ungraciously shown a box. 2. Mattress hard, lumpy... 3. Bathroom, tatty; plaster exposed; mouldy lifting tiles around bath; toilet surrounded by pipes; window draft; sink slow to drain and when inspected plug hole...black and obviously full; tap movement 4. Pay for on site parking £5 per day!!!! (evident in booking.com) 5. Pay £7 per device per day for wifi!!!! (not evident in booking.com) 6. Breakfast: poor / tired 7. Gym / Pool - tired and in need of refurb (£6 per day evident in booking.com) Non hotel guests do not pay for parking to use the gym / pool 8. Elite flag flying high at hotel entrance...threadbare! 9. Poor policies: e.g, will only receive room service after 2 nights and only if requested!!!! A general tone on hotel information laminate of punitive tone! "If you don't comply, you will be fined, lose out etc" Would NEVER stay at a Britannia hotel again!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: You have to pay for parking (the hotel has car park) and use of Wifi per device in your room (£7...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from The Palace Hotel Buxton, Guest Services / Front Office at Palace Hotel Buxton & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear guest Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. All of our extra charges are listed on booking.com including the Wi-Fi which is just above the prices for parking. Without looking at your reservation we are unable to comment about your room type given however i am sure if you had asked to speak to the Duty Manager they could have arranged another room for you instead. It is a company standard across the entire group to not service rooms however we are more then happy to should you request this. The car park is managed by Parking eye and the instruction to make sure you entre your vehicle registration number on our tablets is to ensure that you don't get a parking fine causing unnecessary stress.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
stephen s wrote a review Mar 2024
Belfast, United Kingdom57 contributions70 helpful votes
Great hotel in such a lovely part of the UK. Within walking distance of all the interesting places in Buxton. Would definitely come back here again. It was a very relaxing experience and very comfortable. Had a small double room, it was a good room with comfortable bed, spotless, and a great shower and hot water. The staff I encountered were professional and friendly. The price of the room for two nights was great value.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Palace Hotel Buxton, Guest Services / Front Office at Palace Hotel Buxton & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent stay. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and do hope to see you again for a return visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
The Traveling Giant wrote a review Mar 2024
Stockport, United Kingdom2 contributions3 helpful votes
By far the worst hotel I've stayed in. Hotel room was dirty with stains on the wall. Bedside draws were dirty and dusty inside. Bedding had holes in it. Tiles missing in the bathroom, Bathroom door wouldn't close properly without forcing it, TV aerial had snapped off at the wall, All the screws in the bathroom were rusty as the plastic caps were missing, The rubber stopper was missing on the end of the door stop leaving a sharp edge which my partner court herself on. The room was very hot and the radiator wouldn't turn off. We joined the queue to complain and the receptionist just handed over a business card and told us to email complaints.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The hotel smells musty and damp. Expect complaints to be ignored.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from The Palace Hotel Buxton , Guest Services / Front Office at Palace Hotel Buxton & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest due to lack of information, and that you have said your were given the customer services e-mail we will answer your issues on this but we do have a duty Manager on Duty 24/7 who could of looked into your issues while you were at the hotel we did not have a queue of complaints so i am unsure on this comment
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
The Happy Wanderer wrote a review Mar 2024
Skipton28 contributions30 helpful votes
Despite all the negative reviews, the hotel has had and is still having a facelift. Clean rooms , very friendly staff, reasonable self service dinners, great choices for breakfast. The younger members of the weekend staff could benefit from lessons in stacking plates and cutlery to carry when clearing tables, it would avoid the odd loud crash when things are dropped which adds to their nervousness, not their fault. The old lift is fine when you work out how it works. An ideal location with large car park (you have to pay is the only down side) easy access to town and close to railway station for non motorists.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Palace Hotel Buxton , Guest Services / Front Office at Palace Hotel Buxton & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest thank you for your review and feedback we do have a few new staff at them moment who are being trained, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Palace
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Buxton area.
PRICE RANGE
£46 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
palace hotel buxton, palace buxton, buxton hotel palace, barcelo buxton, hotel palace buxton
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDerbyshireBuxton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
186
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PALACE HOTEL BUXTON & SPA - Updated 2024 Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Palace Hotel Buxton & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Palace Hotel Buxton & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Buxton Crescent Visitor Experiences (0.1 miles), Buxton Opera House (0.2 miles), and The Devonshire Dome (0.08 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Palace Hotel Buxton & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Palace Hotel Buxton & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Palace Hotel Buxton & Spa?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Palace Hotel Buxton & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Herb Garden Vegetarian bistro, Lubens, and Baileys Bar & Restaurant Buxton.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Palace Hotel Buxton & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Palace Hotel Buxton & Spa located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Buxton.
Are pets allowed at Palace Hotel Buxton & Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Palace Hotel Buxton & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Palace Hotel Buxton & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Buxton Visitor Centre | The Pump Room (0.1 miles) and Bath Road Resurface (0.5 miles).
Does Palace Hotel Buxton & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.