We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cromwell Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cromwell Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

517 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Cromwell Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 514: English reviews
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2015

I recently dined with my family at The Cromwell Lodge, other members of my family have previously stayed and have always had great comments to say about the place so we thought we'd try it out. I can now understand why they rave about it so much. The service was fantastic, every member of staff that we saw was friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments about your stay with us at The Cromwell Lodge. We are pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience and that you found our food gorgeous! I shall pass on your comments to the rest of the team. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2015

I stayed over whilst visiting family in Banbury recently. Perfect location in town, hotel is dated but as it's an old English inn, this is to be expected and I find adds tons of character to the place. We had dinner in the restaurant and was served by lovely staff who were efficient and really friendly. Food was lovely and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bryan S
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your stay with us here at The Cromwell. Pleased your whole experience with us was an enjoyable one. I shall pass on your comments to the rest of the team who will be glad there service is up to standard. We pride ourselves on our breakfasts so glad yours was lovely also. We...

Camberley
Reviewed 17 June 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night to attend a funeral. Not many hotels provide single rooms at single rates. This one does. The room was fine, although the en-suite showed signs of needing decorating. The basin plug didn't work. The service in the bar and restaurant was excellent and they made me feel really welcome. The burger was good with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us at The Cromwell. Apologies that the plug in your room didn't work, I shall pass the message on and get that looked at. Pleased your dining experience was a welcoming one, I will pass on your kind comments to the team who will be glad there service is up...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 June 2015

I stayed here on a recent business trip, the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was great and the bar had a good selection of gins, Unfortunately the room was poor, the street is very noisy, the window didn't shut properly and every time a person in an adjoining room went to the toilet or showered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David C
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our staff and Management team, we are very proud of them. We are so pleased you enjoyed your breakfasts, it is certainly one of the things we pride ourselves on. We apologise that you found the hotel noisy, as we are a town centre hotel, traffic noise is unavoidable. We really...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 June 2015

For £50 a night this would be bearable. At £100, it's pretty dreadful value. All a bit tatty with a broken iron, damaged lampshade, kicked paintwork, windows - street side - that won't close properly. The list goes on. And then a shower that you can't stand up in (I'm tall, but not freakishly tall!). Small towels. No shampoo. It’s...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent visit to the Cromwell Lodge, all feedback is invaluable to us to ensure that we are always meeting the standards of you, the customer. We apologise for the experience you had and have taken your comments on board and will be addressing these to the kitchen. We hope...

Thisted, Denmark
Reviewed 4 June 2015

The place looked tacky stepping into the place. Polite service and a token for the parking. The room was a superior, but was very small, and the windows could not close. Had to use all the towels around the window to restrain the draught. £ 120 for a small tired room with windows that could not close! The food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Klavsen
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking time and giving us your feedback. We are sorry you didn't find everything to your satisfaction. It is shame we did not have opportunity to resolve the issue at the time so you could have had a different experience with us.

Gloucestershire, UK
Reviewed 1 June 2015 via mobile

Stayed for just the 1 night. We were kindly upgraded to a superior room. It was right at the top and other than a bit of traffic and bells(!) it was quiet. Very comfy bed, we slept well which was surprising as I thought the bells from the church would keep us awake. Also very clean. Lovely lady working in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JC9079
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

We are really pleased that your stay with us was an enjoyable one, we endeavour to make our guests feel at home when staying here at The Cromwell. I am glad your dining experience was good, we pride ourselves on our breakfasts here. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 May 2015

Ideal location in the centre of Banbury. Room spacious and well appointed. Good breakfast, service at reception and at breakfast very professional and friendly. Great old building with loads of history.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janllew
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you ever so much for your lovely comments regarding your stay with us at The Cromwell and about our staff. Glad your breakfast was good as this is something we pride ourselves on. We shall look forward to seeing you again in the near future

St. Annes-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 May 2015

We've stayed here 3 times now and though the management has changed the standards are still high. We stay here because the staff are so friendly and we were not let down this time. Kirsty was very helpful and moved things around so we got our favourite room. The food was lovely in the restaurant and its in a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bridgette B
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments about your stay at The Cromwell. I will pass on your comments to the team who will be very pleased to hear that there hard work is being noticed. We will look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Banbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 May 2015

We all had a fantastic time staff very helpful and friendly, manwel in particular was extremely helpful not only did he join in he also made everyone feel very welcome even helping the elderly guests.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank donna522

137 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (111)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
414 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
5.6 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Cromwell Lodge

Address: 9-11 North Bar Street, Banbury OX16 0TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Price Range: £58 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cromwell Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Cromwell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromwell Hotel Banbury
Cromwell Lodge Banbury, Oxfordshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cromwell Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Marlow, United Kingdom
2 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Cromwell Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only saw our room!”
 of 5 bubbles del316, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid room 3 - noise from generators/fans”
 of 5 bubbles WLT83, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms available for those with mobility issues who cannot manage stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles patw523, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the room over the function room or bar”
 of 5 bubbles 41lesg, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“No wifi worked not suitable for business”
 of 5 bubbles Lainie-Bramerton, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5