We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

639 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 629: English reviews
Wolverhampton
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Booked the room for our Daughter Stacey's baby shower. They showed my Wife and Daughter round the room which was modern and clean and the Lady who did this was both polite and professional and so the room was booked. My Wife arrived at 12pm to start setting up the room and all the Staff she encountered were both helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Checkmate55
northants
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed for two nights, and we agree and disagree with some of the other reviews. Staff from check in to check out were friendly and helpful. The lady who served us at breakfast was 'the best'. Yes the carpeting and decor upstairs left a lot to be desired, but the most important things I look for, are good staff,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NorthantsSapper
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights this week as I was working away from home. Hotel itself is ok, staff were very friendly, particularly the restaurant staff. My room was clean and comfortable, however there was no way to turn the radiator off and it was boiling hot in there. The hotel was also VERY noisy, especially at night. I ate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz C
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Really friendly, the staff are very pleasant and helpful and very hard working, the room was neat and clean, great value for money. Don't expect five star luxury for what you pay, breakfast and evening meal were fine, and a nice little bar area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gary853
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and will be sure to pass on your comments to the team. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

You would have heard the phrase S&#t sandwich in management speak, so here goes.......Kronenberg larger in the bar was tremendous and the food was good....but a lot of rooms are either sauna hot or freezing cold as they need new radiator valves and the management apparently won't pay for them. I had to move rooms which for the sake of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wob64
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience that had suffered due to having to move rooms. Replacing heating valves is not an easy task due to the age of the system, however we do try to do these as much as we possibly can. I am pleased that you found...

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Leisure facilities were limited and some even broken. Dinner menus weren't a variety and quality was average. Breakfast was worse. Limited options menu stated some items which weren't avaliable. However members of staff were delightful just the standard of food and facilities.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jodiet284
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in a room in the business centre which apart from a bit of dust was clean and comfortable. We were made to feel welcome upon arrival and the customer service received throughout our stay was exceptional, particularly from Luke, Faith and Lisa. The restaurant food was good. This hotel makes a great base for exploring what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrian B
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

For a mercure hotel I expected a reasonable standard. Instead we got a dirty, small shabby room which needed a good scrub. We had indicated we were bringing an infant but hardly had room for the travel cot. We couldn't use the bath for him as it was a sunken bath and we couldn't reach the bottom. The velour type...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank H24Nov
Cullompton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First thing... some of the staff are excellent and caring but the hotel is terrible , the rooms are a disgrace with mold and damp prevalent. window edges mouldy , (they had a roof leak 2 and half months ago but obviously not dried the place out properly.Our bathroom fittings were falling apart. the hotel evening food was beyond a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ourpetunia
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor. Please accept my apologies for the issues that you have described. All of your comments have ben taken extremely seriously and I know that you had spoken to Richard the Operations manager during your stay. We have addressed the issue with the window frame and the other issues...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here overnight enroute to a meet up with friends. Excellent staff welcome who were a credit to the hotel. Welcomed as a Le Club silver card holder with complimentary free drinks. Extra pillows and towels delivered to the room. Enjoyed free breakfasts using one of the very welcome collection of Mercure vouchers I had been sent so far so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Father Mike T
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor. I am pleased that you found the staff to be welcoming and friendly. However please accept my apologies for the housekeeping issues that you describe I have passed these on to the housekeeping and maintenance department to correct as soon as possible. I do hope that if you...

123 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (104)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wolverhampton hotels
0.9 mi away
Ramada Park Hall Wolverhampton
Ramada Park Hall Wolverhampton
#7 of 20 in Wolverhampton
817 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#3 of 20 in Wolverhampton
638 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Wolverhampton
Novotel Wolverhampton
#5 of 20 in Wolverhampton
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
A Park View Hotel
A Park View Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wolverhampton
314 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Wolverhampton City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Barons Court Hotel
Barons Court Hotel
#2 of 20 in Wolverhampton
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Within easy reach of M6/M54/M5 and NEC, the Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel offers some pleasant surprises. With original features throughout the bar area and a contemporary restaurant, the hotel provides an excellent setting from which to base your visit to the Midlands. There is also the opportunity to upgrade to one of six, four poster rooms, besides the other 76 well appointed en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel

Address: 126 Penn Road, Wolverhampton WV3 0ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Wolverhampton
Price Range: £44 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR and Travelocity so you can book your Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goldthorn Hotel Leisure
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Langport, United Kingdom
5 months ago
11 months ago
Birmingham, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles Ourpetunia, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“room 76 on rear corner, duel aspect and no road noise. Others did comment that road could be heard from front rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles mumma-hobbs, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The rooms in the annexe with four poster beds are wonderful.”
 of 5 bubbles mandyclaire, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you want a clean room with all facilities working upgrade to an Executive Room”
 of 5 bubbles Donkey1969, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“the back we whwhere was quite”
 of 5 bubbles maryhp123, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5