We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Bedford Hotel

1 Plymouth Road, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8BB England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (212)
Dining (58)
Room & Suite (57)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#4 of 5 hotels in Tavistock
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Bedford Hotel in the heart of the historic Devon market town of Tavistock. 31 individually styled rooms, including Four Poster rooms with spa baths. Welcoming lounges packed with antiques, and a bustling bar popular with locals and residents alike. Full Devon breakfast to set you up for the day. Delicious lunches (from a bowl of homemade soup to a three course meal), and candlelit dinners in the award-winning Woburn restaurant. Or just enjoy a hearty meal in the bar in the evening. Local, seasonal produce is at the heart of all the menus at The Bedford. The Bedford Hotel is an ideal base for exploring the wild majesty of Dartmoor National Park, or the Tamar Valley Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
822Reviews6Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 400
  • 267
  • 89
  • 45
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Kerry B wrote a review 20 Feb
5 contributions2 helpful votes
Room small but clean and bathroom was very good everything in room we needed staff where great thank you Zoe on reception was perfect. Drinks was well priced for hotel there was a wedding but this did not impact on our stay at all. Food was very good quality I ask for a omelette at breakfast and this was beautiful my husband enjoy his but was a little small may be 2 eggs but that's his choice thank you
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike C, Marketing at The Bedford Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
We were so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay, and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Dorothy H wrote a review 17 Feb
Paignton, United Kingdom9 contributions4 helpful votes
The service and welcoming staff were superb. We arrived early and our room was ready for us. Such a central location with parking on site. So much to do and explore close by. The bedroom and bath were so comfortable and a very enjoyable visit. We plan to return.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Opt for a premium room, it's worth it.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike C, Marketing at The Bedford Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
We really appreciate your kind comments, and were delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us here in lovely Tavistock. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Patricia Stevenson wrote a review 15 Feb
17 contributions9 helpful votes
My husband booked the Valentines Package for us and we were not disappointed. We had a superior room with four poster bed and could not fault anything in the room. Bed was huge and very comfortable. Plenty of wardrobe and draw space. Bathroom was also quite large. The Valentine Dinner in the restaurant on the evening of the 14th was superb. We chose scallops for starter, beef for main and rhubarb and custard for sweet. A fine dining experience with plenty of attentive waiting staff. Nothing was rushed and we thoroughly enjoyed the meal, compliments to chef and his kitchen brigade. Breakfast was again excellent, husband had full english and I had continental. Our room was up one quite steep flight of stairs and my husband decided to take the two cases down first. He met a member of the housekeeping staff by the stairs (a lovely Ukrainian lady) who took one of the cases off him. A very big thank you to her, sorry did not get her name. All in all an excellent stay, what a shame the weather was so awful. We will be back in the summer to explore the area.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Lift only goes from lower ground floor to main reception area not up to bedrooms.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike C, Marketing at The Bedford Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for choosing The Bedford Hotel for your Valentines celebration - and for your kind comments. We were delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay, and that you were well looked after by the team. We look forward to seeing you in the summer!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
idh62022 wrote a review 7 Feb
15 contributions3 helpful votes
I have known this hotel for 30 years; never stayed there. For a number of reasons it was convenient that I did, so planned to get there for dinner, food usually good, and relax before a tricky weekend. Checked in at 1910, asked to book a table for dinner to be told the ‘kitchen will close early tonight’’ asking when, ‘now’ bit of a faff, the menu said 8:30pm. Long story short, table set up in the bar, the fritter was over cooked, the pie dry a with dressing gravy, ie nothing to moisten. It looked good, yet I was an irritation to the early closing. All in all disappointed. I know the food can be great. Be ready to be disappointed with service times and quality.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Check what service is being delivered from that adverised
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike C, Marketing at The Bedford Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
I am very sorry indeed if we fell short of our usual high standards on this occasion. Without knowing the date of your visit, it is difficult for me to comment in detail, but we do normally offer dinner service until 8:30pm. It is possible that a function was taking place, or that we were fully booked in the restaurant - and we do recommend booking ahead for dinner, in order to ensure that we can meet your requirements. I hope that you will consider another visit, and that we will be able to restore your faith.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Katrina P wrote a review 2 Feb
4 contributions1 helpful vote
A delightful hotel in the lovely town of Tavistock. Top quality food and staff. The hotel displays traditional charm and is well worth a visit. The bedrooms are spacious and clean, ours had a whirlpool bath. There is plenty to do in Tavistock with the Pannier market just a few minutes walk from the hotel, a large park and the canal.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike C, Marketing at The Bedford Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Many thanks indeed for your kind comments. We were pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to Tavistock and The Bedford Hotel again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nigel S wrote a review Jan 2024
6 contributions1 helpful vote
The hotel staff are lovely, faultless from start to finish, the hotel is really old but very well loved and looked after, the restaurant food and service is probably the best i have had in any hotel any where, completely brilliant. The location is right on the edge of Dartmoor and if thats your thing you could not be in a better location,...15 mins to the middle of nowhere...quite literally. I could not recommend anywhere more for a stay
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike C, Marketing at The Bedford Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Your kind comments are very much appreciated - thank you! We were delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay, and that you enjoyed your meals in the restaurant. Hope to see you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Paula G wrote a review Jan 2024
Devon, United Kingdom2 contributions
Room was perfectly clean, everything in excellent working order. All the staff we came across were friendly, attentive and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble! The food was absolutely delicious, we had 3 courses and couldn't fault anything. Would highly recommend staying and eating here.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike C, Marketing at The Bedford Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
We were so pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us here in lovely Tavistock. Thank you for your kind comments - we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Linda L wrote a review Jan 2024
20 contributions9 helpful votes
A lovely building and the town of Tavistock is always worth a visit. We have only had drinks here but were disappointed recently to find out they are happy to host the fox hunting fraternity. We wont be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Edith C wrote a review Jan 2024
Oxford, United Kingdom20 contributions5 helpful votes
Great stay in very comfortable, good size room. Good food in restaurant with high quality locally sourced meats etc, cakes baked in house. Above all very welcoming, friendly and helpful staff - a real atmosphere of working together as a family
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike C, Marketing at The Bedford Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
We were delighted to hear that you had such a comfortable stay, and that you were so well looked after by the team. Hope to welcome you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Roderick H wrote a review Jan 2024
2 contributions
Went for Sunday lunch.There were plenty of choices on the £32 three course lunch. The dishes were well presented showing considerable care in their preparation and were delicious. There was a generous selection of cheeses with no supplementary charge. The ambience was very agreeable and tables were well spaced out. All in all a thoroughly enjoyable experience.We will be returning in the not too distant future.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike C, Marketing at The Bedford Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Many thanks indeed for your kind comments. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us, and hope to welcome you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Tavistock area.
PRICE RANGE
£117 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bedford hotel tavistock
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDevonDartmoor National ParkTavistock
NUMBER OF ROOMS
31
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE BEDFORD HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews (Tavistock)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Bedford Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Bedford Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Tavistock Pannier Market (0.08 miles), Country Cheeses (0.2 miles), and Tavistock Farmers Market (0.07 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Bedford Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Bedford Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at The Bedford Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Bedford Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Annex, Bob's East End Cafe, and Cornish Arms.
Is The Bedford Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the centre of Tavistock.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Bedford Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Bedford Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Bedford Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to The Bedford Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Buckland Abbey, National Trust (4.9 miles), Tavistock Town Hall (0.08 miles), and Morwellham Quay (3.7 miles).
Is The Bedford Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.