Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Hope and Anchor

Traveller (99)
Menu on web site when booked!
Dining (10)
Room & Suite (9)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#2 of 4 inns in Ross-on-Wye
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Hope & Anchor is a beautiful riverside pub, restaurant & inn situated in the heart of Ross-On-Wye. We currently have The Pavilion restaurant & bar offering an unrivalled contemporary dining experience and we are in the process of developing the main pub along with 12 ensuite rooms - due to be finished in Spring 2022.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Picnic area
First aid kit
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
River View
148Reviews1Q+A36Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 97
  • 13
  • 8
  • 12
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
amandajane2303 wrote a review Jul 2022
Greater London, United Kingdom43 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very impressed with our visit for dinner.
Good menu choice, well cooked, well presented, large portions, good value compared to other local menus we’ve seen and very tasty food. Staff friendly and helpful.
Very smart restaurant, clean and recently re-opened I believe.
Outdoor space was great with lots of seating and big outdoor cabin serving cocktails, drinks and non-alcoholic drinks and cakes.
There was also another restaurant, although not open when we visited.
We were surprised it was so quiet on a Saturday night and if this is because of previous reviews or reputation, I would say, give it a go, as I think you’ll be pleased to see how good it is. If we were local to the area we would be back on a regular basis. Thanks to everyone at the Hope and Anchor for a lovely meal to round off our short stay in Herefordshire.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Car park on site and free parking in adjacent road.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Team at The Hope and Anchor, General Manager at The Hope and Anchor
Responded 15 Jul 2022
Amanda thank you very much for your response. We are so thrilled that you like the menu choice and food was great. We do hope you will return again and enjoy the same experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steven K wrote a review Jul 2023
9 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A brilliant pub sat on the river Wye, my group of friends were on a canoe trip and attended at lunchtime for a brilliant meal and stop off out of the weather. We also went back to the pub for the evening.
The facilities and building were lovely and in great condition, outdoor covered areas were really well done and hosted a brilliant Pink Floyd gig on the evening.
The food we ate at lunch and in the evening were amazing! Great work by the kitchen to make classics with interesting twists (I had a pork schnitzel with chimichurri which was great) , and the woodfired pizzas were nice as well.
One of the best things about the visits though were the lovely and attentive staff. They were happy and relaxed to interact with customers. Bar staff and waiting staff were really efficient to bring food and drinks but also keep the areas tidy.

The only downside to our visit was at one point during lunchtime a large dog was allowed to poo with no action from the owner towards clearing it up. I approached the owner and politely inquired if they were planning on sorting it out, I was a waved away and after a minute the dog owner sauntered over to inform me that "it was his dog, but it was also his land and the dog could sh1t wherever he wanted." He didn't have any bags or a lead for the dog so suggested he would get one of the staff to scrape it onto a plate.. He came across like a complete tool and missed an opportunity to encourage the polite challenging of dog owners not picking up mess on his land. (it started to rain and we later saw one of his staff had been tasked to pick the poo up in the rain..). I've no idea if he was having a bad day but when we come again in the future it would be nice to see him being more willing to be nice to customers he wasn't already friends with, and also to not give tasks to people working hard, that he should absolutely be doing himself!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Good landing spot for canoe trips Great in wet weather due to the covered outdoor tables
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hope Anchor, Other at The Hope and Anchor
Responded 4 Nov 2023
Hi Steven, Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate you taking the time to write such quality feedback. We have made the team aware of your comments regarding the lovely and attentive staff, and the praise for their efficiency. We hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andy wrote a review Mar 2023
Pontypool, United Kingdom6 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Visited this wonderful place for food and drinks previously, this time my wife booking us in overnight.

Didn't disappoint! A few Moretti outside in the Pavilion, toasties and some sun, shown to our room which was predictably well furnished in keeping with their whole set up. Seated bay window overlooking the Wye, high level fittings, super comfy bed, generous shower, warm and cosy.

We eventually headed into Ross for some cocktails and dinner.

Breakfast was served until 10.30am, local produce, fab choice of coffee, chose the full English, struggled to eat it all but managed 🤪

Just think it's the friendliness of the service which means we'll go back, not overlooking the great range of drinks, the dog friendly bar & the exquisite food!

Well done team! Thank you for looking after us 👍
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hope Anchor, Other at The Hope and Anchor
Responded 28 Jun 2023
Thank you so much for your review! We're so glad your stay was so good. We hope you'll come back soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Grahame MW wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
As a resident of Ross on Wye, we Just popped in for a beer and to check this newly refurbed pub out. Ordered a beer at 4 pm. Not many customers, yet lots of dirty plates on outside table. Girl took one tray of plate whilst we were there, and never returned. Three old potato chips squashed into the floor in front of the inside bar area, that looks nice otherwise, but the manager seemed oblivious too the chips I looked at twice. No hand towels in we.. The rotor of toilet cleaning on the door has never been signed. Given the massive investment, I am surprised how the owners of this establishment have no sense of quality and cleanliness, and attention to detail of what this imply for future custom. We had thought to go there with friends, but sadly, we will be giving it a miss from this experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Diane H wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I do not like giving negative feedback but had spoken to your staff whilst at the restaurant on Saturday evening so it should not come as a surprise. We had booked a table for dinner to celebrate a special birthday with family and were really looking forward to enjoying the ambiance and food. We arrived early and ordered drinks at the bar in the Pavilion and sat to await their arrival. There was a flurry to customers from the garden after we had sat down and we realised that all of those orders were being fulfilled prior to ours. Not a great start to the evening. Having been shown to our table we duly ordered starters and mains. Bread and olives were brought up to us and we ate this whilst awaiting the first course. We then realised that we had been seated for an hour and no food had appeared. This did seem strange given that we were the only people in the restaurant. Starters eventually arrived and were eaten, they looked very appetising although the cod croquettes were very dry. Another 15 minutes passed by with no sign of any food so I did go downstairs and question the reason for the delay and was advised that all the food was cooked from fresh so could take a little while. Another 15 minutes went by with no sign of food and when it did eventually arrive we did question why things were so incredibly slow. Your manager did apologise but again stated that food was cooked from fresh and that you were also very short staffed. We had all ordered the duck breast - unfortunately they were inedible. Two of the plates contained almost raw ducks - mine bled when cut into another was really tough. We called the waitress and asked her to take the plates away. When the manager came to see us we again talked to her about the delays and then how awful the main courses had been. She did apologise again, stating that the hospitality sector was shortstaffed and that this could happen at any establishment. She did say she was sorry but did not offer any compensation so we advised that we were not prepared to pay for the main courses. She stated that she was not able to take anything else off the bills so we would have to pay for our starters and drinks which we duly did and left. This was supposed to have been a celebratory evening with family but ended up a very disappointing and embarassing situation for us as your restaurant had been our choice. We did not feel that the apology was sincere and the fact that no compensation was offered without prompting has meant that we would be very unlikely to visit again or indeed recommend your restaurant to anyone we know.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
the4ofus032 wrote a review Aug 2023
Suffolk, United Kingdom21 contributions26 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent one night here, visiting the area. Nice room, recently done up, we were particularly impressed how quiet it was, despite overlooking the river and we weren't disturbed by the live music outside. Not the biggest bed (just a regular double) but comfortable. The shower was good too, only complaint was the sink which was the smallest I have ever seen, and it was very difficult to brush your teeth!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book a table for dinner, it gets very busy at the weekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hope Anchor, Other at The Hope and Anchor
Responded 4 Nov 2023
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It's great to hear how quiet your visit was and that you had a comfortable stay. Your comments have been noted. We hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TravelBuddies789 wrote a review Jul 2023
London, United Kingdom86 contributions55 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This riverside pub has a lot to offer on paper .. By the river, lovely wood bar for outside drinks service and wood fired pizza ovens. Plenty of tables and live music .. what's not to love?

A) The drinks prices
B) The appalling food portion

On a) .. I get that you pay over the odds for location but to pay £14 for a pint of cider and large glass of wine in a plastic is a joke. Same round was £9.50 200yds up the road

On b) even worse. £13.50 for bangers and mash gave you just that .. three anemic, tastless bangers; a lump of not very great mash, with a bit of gravy. Usual price where I live - £10.50 with at least some brocoli or peas or something to liven it up and proper butchers sausages with flavour, texture and good colour.
This had to be the worst bangers and mash I've had in 50+ years of existing on this planet.
Go for one drink by the river by all means .. but no more; then move on
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: One drink then go ...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hope Anchor, Other at The Hope and Anchor
Responded 4 Nov 2023
Thank you for your review. We’re sorry the food wasn’t up to standard on this occasion and wish you’d brought these things to our attention at the time as we would have happily addressed them to ensure you had a great experience with us. We hope you will join us again in the future and give us a second chance.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jane B wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a fabulous 2 night stay at this gorgeous hotel/pub/restaurant (27 & 28 Feb). We would highly recommend staying here. We gave this amazing hotel 10 out of 10. We would definitely revisit - maybe in the summer so that we could take advantage of the gardens and the lovely Log Cabin that sells Baileys Hot Chocolate, cakes etc. There is even a "beer barrel" full of water to fill the dog bowls.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
397marien wrote a review Sept 2023
Worcestershire, United Kingdom6 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Weekend stay at The Hope And Anchor Ross On Wye, Looking over the River, We was greeted by helpful friendly staff, Bar was busy, but we was booked in and shown to our room very quickly, Staying in a Annexe to the side of the pub. The Room was up too short flight of stairs, so not accessable for disabled people.
The Room was lovely over looking the River it was very nicely decorated, So Comfortable, Very clean, with Television, Tea & Coffee Facilties, and Ensuite.
We went for a drink in the bar, there is a vast seating outside for the warmer and sunny days with a kiosk that is open all day for drinks, Coffee, Tea Ice cream for people that walking along the River and park area around.
The young man who served us at the bar was so pleasant and helpful. we had a meal at the Bar as the Restaurant was fully booked, so we recommend that you book early as they get busy.
Food was delicious we had the Burgers, my husband had BeefBurger i had Chicken and it was a real Chicken fillet Gorgeous, and service was quick as was the Breakfast next morning, It was a delicious Breakfast.
Ross On Wye is a lovely pretty Town with so much around it to visit, well worth a stay, and i recommend a stay at the Lovely very Friendly Hope and Anchor.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book early for the Restaurant. Check in advance, if you have a disability as the rooms in Annexe...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Aly Claydon-Mills, Marketing at The Hope and Anchor
Responded 14 Feb 2024
Thank you Marien for taking the time to leave a fabulous review which will be shared with the team. Do come back and see us again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jojolol wrote a review Aug 2023
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom22 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We ate lunch here and overall had a very enjoyable meal and good service.

We had late Sunday lunch 4 of us @ 2.30pm. Restaurant was fairly quiet as it was past the peak lunch time so we got attentive service. Staff were friendly and efficient but as it was quiet, may not be a true reflection.
Starters of mushroom Arancini were tasty, but for the price only 1 ball with a few salad leaves was overpriced we thought. Minor criticism would be to add some kind of dressing to the salad. They had run out or had no soup and as the menu is very limited, this should be addressed and should not happen if you are serving until early evening.

Our roasts were lovely, 3 of us had Pork (they ran out of crackling which is a shame) 1 person had Beef. Good portions and nice flavours, Yorkshires on all meals, tasted homemade and the veg was cooked well, not soggy. We had side of cauliflower cheese and that was really nice too. Minor criticism - mustard service in plastic squeezy bottle lets the standards and image down - all condiments in the restaurant should be served in ramekins or similar with a spoon.

We will return and hope that the issues mentioned are noted to improve customer service but to also help improve the business as the place is lovely, fabulous outdoor spaces right by the lovely River Wye with a lot to offer.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hope Anchor, Other at The Hope and Anchor
Responded 4 Nov 2023
Thank you for your review, and your comments are noted. We're glad that our Sunday Roast went over well with your party and hope you'll join us again soon, whether it's for Sunday lunch or dinner!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John asked a question Jun 2023
Bath, United Kingdom50 contributions15 helpful votes
Why do they think itscok to play superpoud music in the garden
Answer from Paul M
Wokingham, United Kingdom1 contribution
Because their WEB page makes it clear that there is live music on some nights, usually weekends, and not every night. I personally enjoyed it. Certainly wouldn’t stop me returning.
Phil wrote a tip Mar 2024
Lichfield, United Kingdom8 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Good number of parking spaces, make sure reception have your reg. number. The walk along the river is flat, stairs up to the top of the town"
Read full review
Alicia M wrote a tip Mar 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"definitely worth a visit "
Read full review
FranC1111234 wrote a tip Mar 2024
Assisi, Italy28 contributions28 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Eat well before you dine!"
Read full review
cupcake554 wrote a tip Feb 2024
Blaina, United Kingdom87 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There was plenty of parking but it is off season so in the summer will probably be a lot busier , make sure you give your registration details when you go in to avoid a fine "
Read full review
Dave T wrote a tip Dec 2023
Gloucester, United Kingdom23 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Excellent parking, next to the river, lovely riverside garden"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ross-on-Wye area.
PRICE RANGE
£92 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHerefordshireRoss-on-Wye
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE HOPE AND ANCHOR - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about The Hope and Anchor
Which popular attractions are close to The Hope and Anchor?
Nearby attractions include Truffles Delicatessen (0.1 miles), St Mary The Virgin Church (0.1 miles), and Made in Ross (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Hope and Anchor?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Hope and Anchor?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Hope and Anchor?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Hope and Anchor?
Conveniently located restaurants include No 3 Restaurant, Avellino Italian restaurant, and Tweet Bar & Kitchen.
Is The Hope and Anchor located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the centre of Ross-on-Wye.
Are pets allowed at The Hope and Anchor?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Hope and Anchor?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Goodrich Castle (2.9 miles).
All Ross-on-Wye HotelsRoss-on-Wye Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Ross-on-WyeHotels near The Hope and Anchor
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire