East End Arms
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

East End Arms

Lymington Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Lymington SO41 5SY England
Our huge bed!
Traveller (41)
Dining (9)
View from our bed
Room & Suite (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#12 of 35 B&Bs in Lymington
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value

Finding an ideal romantic bed and breakfast in Lymington does not have to be difficult. Welcome to East End Arms, a nice option for travellers like you.

The rooms offer a flat screen TV, and getting online is possible, as free wifi is available, allowing you to rest and refresh with ease.

In addition, as a valued East End Arms guest, you can enjoy an on-site restaurant that is available on-site. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking.

Close to some of Lymington's most popular landmarks, such as The Solent Way Walk (1.8 mi) and Goodall's Strawberry Farm (1.9 mi), East End Arms is a great destination for tourists.

While in Lymington, you may want to check out one of the nearby wine bars, which include The Ferryman Bar & Dining and The Cellar Tasting House & Wine Merchant.

If you are interested in exploring Lymington, check out a garden, such as Apple Court Garden and Nursery.

East End Arms puts the best of Lymington at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Darts
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Special diet menus
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Romantic
222Reviews0Q+A38Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 134
  • 42
  • 25
  • 15
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
David N wrote a review Mar 2020
Lymington, United Kingdom263 contributions137 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Delicious home cooked roast (beef, lamb, pork £17-18) followed by home made desserts served by lovely staff in a well laid out restaurant room in the pub. The food was very good. Ten per cent optional service charge automatically added to bill which is a bit cheeky in a pub, but as it happens I was fine given the service was good and friendly. Good wine and Ringwood Brewery beers with a guest ale. Car park is small so most parking is on the lane itself which is relatively quiet.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marcell Markus, General Manager at East End Arms
Responded 8 Sept 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely feedback & comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dave Z wrote a review Aug 2021
Harlow, United Kingdom7 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
we stayed at the East End Arms this weekend (07/08/2021) for 2 nights . There were 10 of us as wedding guests ,the room we stayed in was very comfortable and well equipped with tea and coffee. The staff very fantastic as there was a problem in the kitchen so no evening food was available but they quickly sorted it. had a lovely breakfast each day and was made to feel at ease .the service was very good and made sure we had everything we wanted
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marcell Markus, General Manager at East End Arms
Responded 8 Sept 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely feedback & comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LuluAtt wrote a review Mar 2020
Southampton, United Kingdom28 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We've been visiting the East End Arms for roughly 6 months now for a Sunday roast and we have found that absolutely nowhere else compares to the quality of the food. The beef really is something special, the gravy is beautifully rich and everything on the plate is always cooked perfectly with a unique taste.

We live in Southampton roughly 30 minutes away but have no problem travelling due to the quality. Best roast we've had to date.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ashley Procter, General Manager at East End Arms
Responded 16 Sept 2020
Thank you! Such lovely comments 😊
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LJP wrote a review Sept 2020
Dorking, United Kingdom11 contributions7 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I had high hopes for staying at The East End Arms. It was recommended by the Alastair Sawday guide which I have always trusted. The person who checked me in was helpful and pleasant.My room was OK clean and comfortable. The noise from people outside was very loud and went on until late. I had to go downstairs to request fresh milk which should have been in the room . . I was awoken at 3 am by a very loud fire alarm. There was no guidance or explanation given. It eventually stopped but I slept very badly after that. Breakfast was OK but fairly underwhelming. The coffee was not of very good quality. The person who served me was very pleasant and apologetic about the fire alarm but didn’t know anything about it. When I checked out the person dealing was it was fairly off hand and not apologetic about the fire alarm. I also mentioned that there was no chocolate in the room as promised on the room information. She said she’d inform housekeeping!! I thought that at £125 a night for single occupancy and a disappointing stay it was very overpriced. I will be updating Alistair Sawday.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ashley Procter, General Manager at East End Arms
Responded 16 Sept 2020
Thank you for your review. We were sorry to read that you didn’t enjoy all aspects of your stay. We don’t leave fresh milk in the room, as there is no refrigerating facility in the room, usually we give the milk to guests either after dinner or upon request. We have looked into offering UHT milk however the majority of our guests prefer fresh milk. Our housekeeping staff unfortunately forgot the chocolate in the room for which we apologise. As explained the intruder alarm was activated at three in the morning which we believe from our service engineer was due to a moth flying around. With regards to noise, we are a local country pub with a very strong close community which upon departure sometimes there is some noise. We are really glad to hear you liked our check in staff and the comfort and cleanliness of the room
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gill A wrote a review Oct 2020
Beauvais, France92 contributions24 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at this pub for 5 days. It is very welcoming. There are a row of picnic tables outside where locals meet, plus walkers and cyclists stop for a sandwich and/or a drink. Some very interesting people! Plus cows passing by and daily visits from two donkeys. The rooms are stocked with very good quality products plus a coffee maker and kettle. Particularly nice early morning.
Meals are of a very high quality, a menu plus daily specials. Really enjoyed a crayfish and advocado salad, red pheasant and delicious trout
The last night we were there the owner and his wife both spoke to us whichwe greatly appreciated as they were very quietly there and we would not have known they were there
I can only say thank you for everything
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ashley Procter, General Manager at East End Arms
Responded 25 Oct 2020
Thank you for choosing the east end arms and we are all delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again in the future
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JensAddictions wrote a review Oct 2023
Chepstow, United Kingdom20 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed for one night very recently at the East End Arms, and it's a fabulous little place.
The bar is quite small and can only be described as rustic but it has a very welcoming, friendly and warm feeling about it. The staff snd the regulars are very welcoming and we enjoyed our evening exchanging banter with everyone in the bar.
Prices are very reasonable with a good selection of beers on tap.
The room we stayed in was just wonderful, everything was just about perfect and to even try to find anything to criticise would just be churlish, not that I think I could.
It feels quite modern without losing the country pub vibe. The carpets are soft and thick, the room is spacious and finished to a high standard and the bed was just gorgeous - huge and very, very comfortable with luxurious pillows to sink in to. Needless to say, we both slept very well.
The bathroom was equally impressive with some nice touches and the shower was just amazing.
Being in the country it was lovely and quiet at night, even with the windows open and it was so nice just to experience the peace of the place.
Unfortunately, during our stay the pub was between chefs so we couldn't book a table for dinner. However, we were advised of this at the time of booking so it didn't come as an unexpected surprise and we were able to take a short drive into Lymington for dinner.
Breakfast the next morning was cooked to perfection, though!
Overall, we really enjoyed the East End Arms and I really hope we will be able to return again in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter H wrote a review Sept 2022
Suffolk UK164 contributions128 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for one night prior to getting the ferry to the Isle of Wight from Lymington. This is an excellent location, just a few minutes drive from the ferry terminal.
The pub itself is set in a country location with dedicated parking for guests which is very handy as parking is limited nearby. The pub has a warm and welcoming atmosphere and the staff were all happy, polite and engaging.
The room was a deluxe double, plenty of space and a lovely king size bed. The room was very clean and well decorated.
Unfortunately we couldn't eat in the pub on the night of our arrival as they don't cook on a Monday and Tuesday which was disappointing but understandable.
In the morning breakfast was severed with a very good choice of healthy and not so healthy options, I of course went for the super healthy fully english! My wife had scrambled egg and salmon. Both breakfasts were excellent and the food was of great quality.
Overall a very good place to stay and good value for money.
My only disappointment was not meeting the owner John, who I'd recently seen performing in Norfolk when he mentioned a pub he owned in the New Forest but we made this booking without realising it was his until we read the newspaper cuttings in the bar!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marcell Markus, General Manager at East End Arms
Responded 21 Sept 2022
Dear Peter, Thank you for your lovely feedback and comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us & we hope you will come and visit us again in the near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John Hartley wrote a review Sept 2021
140 contributions101 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed recently and we’re very impressed with the friendly staff and the standard of facilities in the comfortable small room. En suite bathroom with a proper bath and detachable shower head rather than an inflexible monsoon type. Great little detail is the automatic little low level light that comes on in the bathroom if you go in at night. Just shows the attention to detail. Unfortunately we were booked to have dinner somewhere else but the breakfast was great.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: I think all 5 rooms are similar, on the first floor. Doubles can be made into twin.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marcell Markus, General Manager at East End Arms
Responded 8 Sept 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely feedback & comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MummyBarrow wrote a review Feb 2020
Hampshire, United Kingdom61 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We googled “best places for lunch in the New Forest” on a rare midweek day off and this came up. We weren’t disappointed! We went into the bar rather than the restaurant and sat at one of only three tables. Open fire, local beers, a great menu, everything you want from a good pub. The locals were chatty and friendly, sharing stories of the pub and the owner and making sure we felt welcomed.

What a find. We will definitely come again

Top tip. Come hungry. The haddock and chips was superb, but huge

Thanks Hannah for the great service, and Glen for the chat
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marcell Markus, General Manager at East End Arms
Responded 8 Sept 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely feedback & comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DWater2013 wrote a review Sept 2021
Ashford, United Kingdom14 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the East End Arms for two nights which included breakfast. I chose this venue due to the good location and the excellent reviews. What a fantastic place, the rooms were comfortable and quiet. There was a very wide choice of food for breakfast and we also enjoyed an evening meal which was beautifully cooked. Our hosts and the team of staff made us feel welcome throughout. Thank you for a lovely stay! Mr & Mrs W
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marcell Markus, General Manager at East End Arms
Responded 8 Sept 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely feedback & comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Liz wrote a tip May 2024
Launceston, United Kingdom9 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking for a few cars but ample parking on the road outside in an almost lay-by"
Read full review
Annie wrote a tip May 2024
Eastleigh, United Kingdom24 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try the Mussels and Steak Sandwich, they are to die for."
Read full review
mracw wrote a tip Oct 2023
Hastings, United Kingdom43 contributions73 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Lookout for the donkeys at the pub door , they are so gentle"
Read full review
Chickadee wrote a tip Aug 2023
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom11 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Call and book Check availability of menu items and advise of allergies"
Read full review
Jonny Hobson wrote a tip Apr 2023
Malmesbury, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go there."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lymington area.
PRICE RANGE
£126 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshireNew Forest National Park HampshireLymington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

EAST END ARMS - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about East End Arms
Which popular attractions are close to East End Arms?
Nearby attractions include New Forest Activities (3.2 miles), Beaulieu National Motor Museum (4.1 miles), and Beaulieu Palace House (4.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at East End Arms?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at East End Arms?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at East End Arms?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to East End Arms?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Elderflower Lymington, The Beaulieu Bakehouse, and The Sail Inn.
Are there any historical sites close to East End Arms?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Beaulieu Palace House (4.1 miles), Buckler's Hard (3.5 miles), and Yarmouth Castle (4.4 miles).
All Lymington HotelsLymington Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LymingtonHotels near East End Arms
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire