The Angel & Blue Pig Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Angel & Blue Pig Hotel

High Street, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Lymington SO41 9AP England
Traveller (211)
Room & Suite (33)
Great selection...
Dining (30)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#7 of 8 hotels in Lymington
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Quirky Hotels
Languages Spoken
English
Property amenities
Free parking
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Street parking
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms

Location

High Street, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Lymington SO41 9AP England
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 86 out of 100
86
Eastleigh Airport
15.7 mi
See all flights
Bournebouth Intl Airport
676Reviews9Q+A0Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 269
  • 203
  • 98
  • 49
  • 57
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
K Rones wrote a review Feb 2020
9 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I found the Angel and Blue Pig hotel and restaurant when looking for “spooky” locations to stay for a birthday night away (it was listed on some blogs as supposedly haunted and the birthday girl is big on ghost stories). The hotel aesthetic is fantastic and a lot of care and attention has clearly gone into cultivating it’s style, emphasising it’s historical features, and making it what it is. If you’re looking for something with genuine character then you wont go wrong here. The food was fantastic on both occasions we’ve visited. The fish and chips might be the best I’ve had anywhere. They were also able to cater to my coeliac wife, guaranteeing no cross-contamination, unlike some restaurants that offer “gluten-free” dishes but can’t accommodate actual coeliacs. We were initially let down on our first visit by some issues with our booking but I reached out via their website and was helped by Olivia who went FAR above and beyond to sort it out. A definite recommendation from me and I have no doubt we will return again and again. Additionally, we suffered no hauntings (I was not personally expecting to) and I had two of the best nights of sleep that I’ve had anywhere in the hotel so that may be disappointing or reassuring depending on your perspective.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Call ahead and check bookings for food and stay over the phone.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
andy s wrote a review Jan 2020
Reading, United Kingdom16 contributions37 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
After reading some of the recent reviews after I had booked I have to say I was a little dubious about our stay. Our room was large, comfortable and quite well appointed ok it was a little tired around the edges but in some ways it added to its charm. Our meal in the restaurant on our first night was excellent. The food was very good and our waitress was cheerful and attentive. The inclusive breakfast was fine, nice croissants and pan au chocolate, cereals, etc if you want something more substantial there is an additional menu at extra cost but the continental was more than enough. Our waitress at breakfast was also very polite and helpful. We ate out on our second evening but think our meal in the The Angel. & Blue Pig the night before was actually better. If you looking for the Ritz it’s probably not for you but if your look for somewhere traditional, welcoming and offering good value for money give The Angel & Blue Pig a go.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sean L wrote a review Sept 2020
Dagenham, United Kingdom177 contributions53 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel has been designed great inside. Lovely little touches . Comfy and parking available. Good location. Breakfast was ok - for the price we went for complimentary offering - cereal yoghurt croissant toast. Think the hot offering could be free as well but they charge for fried egg bacon etc.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
35janis wrote a review Sept 2020
London, United Kingdom25 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Went in here for lunch whilst on holiday. One of the party uses a wheelchair so we needed step free access, we were led to the back entrance and lo and behold - a step! A couple sitting outside kindly gave up their table for us and we chose meals from the menu which looked very promising however 3 of us chose the gammon & chips - the gammon was dry as if it had been left out for some time and the chips were practically cold. One of the party had the fish cakes but said he couldn’t taste any fish! When we went in to use the toilets we were amazed to see an “accessible “ toilet - funny as anyone using an electric wheelchair cannot even enter the building. We would never go there again or recommend it to anyone else!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Simon Behan, General Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig Hotel
Responded 12 Sept 2020
Hi I'm sorry to hear you have not enjoyed your recent visit with us. Reading that you have not enjoyed your meals is disappointing and i have shared your comments with the kitchen team as the gammon and fishcakes is very popular. We are very honest regarding our business and always take seriously and feedback from guests. However your comments regarding disabled access are totally inaccurate and wildly misleading. We have no step at either the front door or the back doors and as for access to our disabled toilets, we have a regular guest who does have an electic disabled chair and he has no problems getting into the building from both the front and back. He also has no trouble gaining access to the toilets. It is sad that you didn't feel able to discuss these issues with us at the time.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
thecoves wrote a review Jul 2020
Dagenham, United Kingdom46 contributions63 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Still here at this hotel that I had such high hopes for. We decided to have a short break to Lymington and chose this place as it’s very central and a pub/hotel, we’ve had many breaks like this and always been very satisfied.
It started off ok, the car park was very difficult to find and you needed a code to access it, would be handy if the hotel gave you directions and the code before you arrived.
We arrived in a time for Sunday lunch which I really could not fault, it was outstanding.
Our room was number 15, Bilsdale, up 3 very steep flights of stairs, not a problem as the guy checking us in said it was well worth it!!
We’d booked a super king and this was nothing like the pictures shown on their website, the bathroom was absolutely tiny and there was a very small window, overall the room was very bland - COVID related ??
We decided to sleep on it and see how we felt the following day. Breakfast was a shambles, we had pre-ordered our continental breakfast and went down to the restaurant at our allocated time. We then waited 20 minutes for our drinks to arrive, when I questioned this I was told they were very busy which was completely untrue. When our tea finally arrived so did everything else including cold toast and a slither of butter; needless to say we won’t be having breakfast here again.
After breakfast I enquired about changing rooms but were told they were fully booked but they would see what they could do, the lady I spoke to also said that all rooms had very small windows, another lie.
On our first night I asked if they could put a bulb into my bedside light which they did but it still didn’t work, when I enquired about this the following day I was told “ oh yeah it’s broken” Also on our first night we arrived back at the hotel just after 10 and asked if the bar was still open, we were told it wasn’t which was fine but many of the staff were sitting around drinking so it wouldn’t have hurt then to serve us a nightcap to take up.
This morning I enquired about whether rooms were being made up and tools no, I completely understand this due to the current pandemic but other hotels are managing to do this and it would have been nice to be told this before we booked.
Finally, before we went out this evening I asked for our tea, cups and water to be replenished, came back and no water. I can’t say I’m surprised but I am very disappointed in our whole experience here, we really needed this time together away after working from home for 4 months, the sadness of the pandemic and the loss of a very dear friend.
If you chose this hotel, please at least check which room you are allocated before you arrive
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Olivia Tyler, General Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig Hotel
Responded 28 Jul 2020
We are very sorry you haven't enjoyed your stay with us. It is always disappointing to read negative comments however we have tried to minimise the effect of Covid 19. Guest and our teams safety is of great importance to us hence some of the changes that have been forced on us, I.E we have bottles of water at the bottom of the stairs if required for all guests to take and yes we did have to remove some of the lovely touches we normally display in the rooms. With regards to the bar being open, your first night was a Sunday so my apologies as the bar does shut at 10pm and our team start cleaning the beer lines. I will certainly discuss the breakfast service with the team as I have shared your comments with them. Sorry we couldn't move your room, however all the rooms are occupied had this not been the case we would of happily moved you. I am sorry we couldn't do more for you at this difficult time and a loss of a friend is deeply upsetting we understand. This review does not reflect the standards we have set and I'm sure had we been able to move your room the outcome may have been different. Once again my apologies for not giving you the experience you were expecting
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Philip B wrote a review Jun 2022
Reading, United Kingdom163 contributions103 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Having booked this place based on the company marketing see photo and other reviews on here imagine our disappointment at the reality!

We checked in at 4pm, went to our room upon entering you can see the bedroom door appears to have had a tough life. The light was flickering like a strobe in the bathroom, the light on one of the walls was hanging off, the bathroom shower screen had no seal where it meets the bath edge so the bathroom floor gets soaked. The bathroom floor, sink and bath all needed a good clean with the silicon around the bath going black.
There was no bath mat either to soak up the water.

There was an old door painted and screwed to the wall to act as a table to house the Nespresso machine which needed a good clean, there was also an angle poise lamp on the table that was in an upright position as if you tried to use it all it would do is droop forwards. There was also a crumpled coffee stained menu card, coffee or tea stained wooden tray with cups on.

The double bed base was in two halves that didn’t line up.

There was a radio on the floor with a broken aerial

The paintwork was worn and tired and ceiling was cracked and stained.

Clearly the management and cleaning staff displayed no love for this place at all.

In the morning despite having booked a room with breakfast I was informed that it was only a continental breakfast and if I wanted English breakfast it was an extra £9.25 each. There was no mention of this when I booked. Clearly an issue I will take up with trading standards.

On checking out I spoke to a member of staff about my thoughts of my stay and she wasn’t at all surprised indicating my views she had received many times before. Sorry I didn’t get her name as she had no badge on.

If you check out my my reviews you will see I travel and mostly my reviews are positive.

If you can find somewhere else to stay in Lymington I would sincerely recommend it rather than stay here.

Marstons need a swat team in here to refurnish the room and generate some positivity into the staff.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jay Smith, General Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig Hotel
Responded 17 Jun 2022
Hi 11PhilipB, Thank you for your feedback, we are more than aware we are in-need of investment, the team cannot be to blame for that, I take full responsibility and am asking the question every day, we did however 3 months ago decide not to let that define us as a business and have made several investments in both equipment in the rooms and plumbing and electrical contractors to improve what we have, not that the rooms are bad in any way. Things like leaking ceilings etc are part and parcel of a building built in 1358 as are creaking floorboards etc, but this all adds to the character of the place. We do have a new housekeeping team who have worked miracles in re-installing standards in cleanliness etc but are a young team who from time to time focus so much on shower screens, cobwebs etc miss the little things such as your menu, again for this I take full responsibility and offer my apology. The breakfast is again a little confusing as has been set up our end as continental but Booking.Com have not quite caught up, if I was on breakfast would I have just given it to you...without doubt, the team are following my instructions so again I hold my hands up. All in all we take your very extensive review and as a team pick ourselves up, dust ourselves down and push on to rectify these issues so the next customer does not have the issues you have had, and for that I thank you. All the best Jay
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Notrightnow wrote a review Mar 2023
Bristol, United Kingdom53 contributions26 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here recently. Hotel is old and quirky which is lovely. It’s also situated in a great position on Lymington high street with parking which is a bonus. However without wishing to sound like a contestant from Four in a Bed, the bedding and towels were lovely. The bathroom sadly was very tired if a little on the grubby side. The shower gel ran out during our stay and was not refilled, the room was not cleaned one day and generally it just felt as if the owners were desperately cutting back. The bathroom was quite big but the towel rail did not work/was turned off permanently so felt cold. The metal shelf in the shower was rusty, the hand soap filthy and the carpet in the restaurant had clearly seen better days. We did see another room one morning which was being cleaned which looked a lot brighter and cleaner than the one we stayed in so felt we drew the short straw.
On a positive note though, breakfast was good but in all the years I’ve ever stayed in hotels, I’ve never before been charged for tea or coffee at breakfast as a hotel guest which sadly I find outrageous. It’s such a shame as feel with a little more effort this place would be amazing.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jay Smith, General Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig Hotel
Responded 13 Mar 2023
Hi Notrifhtnow, I will pass on your comments to our Head Office, thank you for taking the time to review. All the best Team Angel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
3CNJ3 wrote a review Oct 2022
Westerham, United Kingdom81 contributions63 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Avoid, it’s dreadful on every level, the room bore no resemblance to the website, it was extremely tired, peeling paint, damp patches on the walls, the bed was very uncomfortable, the bedside shelf was sticky and very dirty, the bathroom was extremely dirty and falling apart the WC did not flush, the food we had last night was at best expensive and average, the noise of the chef screaming and swearing from the kitchen was off putting, the bar is very tired and every surface was sticky. We did not sleep you can hear every rooms activity below and above, Tesco which is next door had a delivery at 4 am, the noise was terrible. The check out this morning was beyond rude the gentleman who checked us out, one had to be found by us and two never spoke a word to us ……beyond rude
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Book somewhere else
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jay Smith, General Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig Hotel
Responded 29 Oct 2022
Hi 3CNJ3, Thank you for your review, as stated the rooms are due for refurbishment though I can hand on heart say they are more than clean and still more than fit for purpose, I very much doubt the shouting was from the kitchen, I know after TV programmes that chefs have that reputation however our chef is always calm respectful and an utter professional. I have said it before and I will say it again as a very experienced manager I know when there is issues that need resolving but our housekeeping team work extremely hard and are extremely conscientious, my front of house team are always there to go the extra mile and make everybody welcome, my kitchen team will again move heaven and earth for customers, and it makes me really depressed that they then have to read such low scoring reviews. To you, you may be airing frustrations, but these can have a profound impact on a young new team striving to make sure every customer leaves happy. All the best Jay
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tina S wrote a review Sept 2020
Watford, United Kingdom41 contributions13 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We decided to stay in Lymington as great location for a relaxing few days away. The Angel & Blue pig is a lovely hotel /restaurant /bar with quirky rooms. The room we had was quite small but had an ensuite shower. Our room overlooked the garden which wasn't too busy or noisey but probably due to covid?. The room felt quite dark with the colours and had some marks on the walls and the carpet too which is a shame as all it needs is a fresh paint and carpets cleaning but it was clean no dust!. The bathroom was quite quirky but all worked well apart from the black painted door! Personal choice but it made it feel so victorian and gloomy. The bed linen needs replacing as the duvet was flat and the pillows although aware of not having any additional cushions /throws. All said we slept well and felt warm & cosy and enjoyed having a night cap in the bar which was well organised. Breakfast we had to pre-order erm not a fan plus it came out luke warm as if it had been sitting around but the waitress was so lovely I couldn't bring myself to complain. I would go back but probably try a room at the
front looking out onto the street. Staff were lovely and for a nice relaxing break I would recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KSM wrote a review Jul 2022
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom6 contributions5 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My friend and I stayed for just one night after a Michael Bublè concert. We arrived a bit early before the concert and was bluntly reminded of our check in time. It was the hottest day of the year so we were happy to get a drink and wait, but I wouldn’t say we were made to feel welcome, quite the opposite. Slowly more guests arrived and we were allowed to check in, literally ‘on the dot’. This meant we had to queue and wait our turn, like we were at school. The room itself was nice and we were grateful for the fan which was on. It was very creaky but to be expected for such an old building. The bathroom had no window and the extractor didn’t work which meant it was very steamy and very hot and uncomfortable. Our booking said breakfast was included. However we discovered it was a very basic continental breakfast and there was a menu for hot food but you had to pay. There were three pain au chocola and we waited ten minutes for plain crosssaint, There was jam, natural yoghurt and cereal. A jar of museli was in fact granola. I was disappointed to read a review from a month ago complaining about the misleading fact that you had to pay for a hot breakfast, You blamed Booking.com and said you’d put it right! You haven’t! I’d say this could be a nice hotel if the staff were happier, friendlier and polite. We weren’t travelling home until late afternoon the following day but the hotel said they couldn’t look after our luggage! We eventually came to an agreement to leave it in the stairwell and at our own risk.
It’s a shame that staff member (Amelia) was so unpleasant to people. We observed her speaking to other guests, and they too said they didn’t like her attitude, For this reason I definitely wouldn’t return, and you really need to stop misleading people about the breakfast!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jay Smith, General Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig Hotel
Responded 1 Aug 2022
Hi Ksmart, Thank you for your review, I have attempted to reach out to your friend who I spoke with on Saturday to try and put this right for you, I cannot now seem to get through on the number provided, I think the other feedback a little unfair, our housekeeping team were doing their very best to get the rooms ready on time, but as you mentioned its was 40 degrees outside however our team upstairs were working in heats closer to 50. I instructed them to take regular water breaks which meant a slight delay. The breakfast issue is now company standard and as we said please book direct through us of which then breakfast is included. We appeared to have good banter both before you left and on your return so am bitterly frustrated to read your review. My offer is still there so please do get in touch. All the best Team Angel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lymington area.
PRICE RANGE
£99 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
angel hotel lymington
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshireNew Forest National Park HampshireLymington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE ANGEL & BLUE PIG HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about The Angel & Blue Pig Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Angel & Blue Pig Hotel?
Nearby attractions include St Barbe Museum and Art Gallery (0.1 miles), Lymington Charter Market (0.1 miles), and The Imaginarium (0.04 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Angel & Blue Pig Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Angel & Blue Pig Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Angel & Blue Pig Hotel?
Yes, free parking, paid public parking nearby, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Angel & Blue Pig Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Elderflower Lymington, Lanes, and Cafe Tres Bon.
Is The Angel & Blue Pig Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.07 miles away from the centre of Lymington.
Are pets allowed at The Angel & Blue Pig Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Angel & Blue Pig Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hurst Castle (3.6 miles), Yarmouth Castle (4.0 miles), and St Thomas and All Saints Church (0.3 miles).
All Lymington HotelsLymington Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LymingtonHotels near The Angel & Blue Pig Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire