Hatfield Lodge
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hatfield Lodge

Traveller (7)
Room & Suite (8)
Bathroom (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

2.5
#2 of 2 small hotels in Lowestoft
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
1.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Value

Finding an ideal small hotel in Lowestoft does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Hatfield Lodge, a nice option for travellers like you.

The rooms offer a flat screen TV and a desk, and getting online is possible, as free wifi is available, allowing you to rest and refresh with ease.

Hatfield Lodge features baggage storage. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking.

While staying at Hatfield Lodge, visitors can check out Triton Sculpture (0.3 mi) and Sparrow’s Nest & Gardens (1.4 mi), some of Lowestoft's top attractions.

When you’re feeling hungry, be sure to check out The Harbour Inn, The Jolly Sailors, and Rope Works, which are some pubs that are popular with locals and out-of-towners alike.

Plus, during your trip, don't forget to check out a historic site, such as Somerleyton Hall.

Hatfield Lodge puts the best of Lowestoft at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Desk
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget

Location

24A Victoria Terrace, Lowestoft NR33 0QJ England
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 75 out of 100
75
Norwich Airport
24.5 mi
See all flights
20Reviews1Q+A6Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 4
  • 0
  • 7
  • 2
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
hss507 wrote a review Aug 2021
Northampton, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Positives
Excellent location on the seafront.
Staff friendly, Tristan was especially helpful and happy.
Food lovely in the restaurant but expensive.

Negatives
Room-bed sheets to small for the beds, no mattress protectors, long dark hairs found in bed, large dark hairs found In the bath, red marks dotted across the carpet looked like blood stains, very dusty, didn’t feel or smell very clean, found the previous people’s clothes and trainers in the wardrobe. Tv remote full of grime.
Restaurant and bar could do with a deep clean eg carpets and soft furnishings need replacing or a good deep wash, didn’t like to sit on the soft chairs.
For what we paid for two night stay it was very expensive, please invest in getting this place updated you will get more customers.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AlanHathaway wrote a review Mar 2020
Stradbroke, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked this last min via a booking site, I actually thought is was another place closer to the centre of lowestoft and only worked it wasn't when I really looked into it. Thankfully though we got a reduced price though and I thought it looked ok from the pics so went ahead.

I really wanted to love this place though but it certainly seems like best western (BW) have messed up buying it. It was obviously the old winelodge and BW had done very little to hide the fact.

We had room 2 for one night, a nice large room, which was clearly one of the old accessible room but some of these featured removed. Ground floor and security windows so no view, it did feel a bit like a prison.

Good points though, a massive TV, minifridge (Although didn't quite cool), large clean room. Despite being by the room, triple glazing meant a good nights sleep. Just over the room from the main hotel, so car parking available (although small) and a good resturant and sea view bar area. Despite other reviews too, although next door to KFC I wouldn't say it's in a dodgy area and wasn't concerned about safety, this is the nicer part of town really. We didn't do breakfast but the sea view looked amazing though.

The bad points, I'm really not one to go around looking for things to moan about and looking at bits of mould etc, I did want to be positive on this one but yup the shower mixer was broken, it only pumps out scolding water (god knows why the boiler is set to make water that hot in the first place), the shower hose was also broken so the shower couldnt be used. I tried having a bath but it took an hour to cool down enough (even trying to add in cold water). We did report to reception but just got a "Oh maintenance need to go and look" no apology at all. This is clearly dangerous, they must know about as surely the cleaners use it to clean the bath?

It's pretty evident really that best western brought this but haven't invested in it and really don't care to. We won't be staying and I'd think twice about booking at a BW in the near future, it really needs a little more attention or selling on to someone else to invest.

I marked as average as I think it has potential though and we did have a nice nights sleep and a nice dinner in the main restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Book in the main hotel!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robert T wrote a review Aug 2022
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The room was very small and noisy at night with the doors banging from people coming in from nights out. The staff were not that helpful when you have a problem. Location is perfect and the hotel is clean. A very average hotel with lot’s of competition in the area, must try a bit harder for customer satisfaction.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lindsay wrote a review Aug 2021
London, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Covered in dust, unbearably hot with minimal ventilation and no air conditioning (although there was an extra heater!) hot, shower door didn’t close properly so bathroom flooded, toilet only flushed some of the time, lights didn’t work, loud whirring noise outside due to extractor fan. Ironing board but no iron. Springs on bed poking out into our backs, horribly uncomfortable anyway but that made it worse. The room was already inconceivably hot but the plastic sheeting underneath the sheet made for a very sweaty night.
Entry system not working, had to find employee from main hotel which was never easy. Reception usually unmanned so has to wonder around the bat/ restaurant area. That employee then had to find the master key and come across the road and let us in the main door and come up the stairs to our room and let us in there too.
Genuinely awful. Was massively overpriced and I feel robbed.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Car park is limited. If out late you may struggle to get a space.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paula W wrote a review Dec 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had our Christmas day lunch here
We booked it quite late and I explained that there would be three special needs children coming too and would it be possible to have a quiet table. Scott the manager was amazing! He and all the staff involved were so kind and helpful. The food and where we were seated were great. We all had a fantastic time
Thank you so much for such a happy and unforgettable day 😇🥰
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mahdiafan wrote a review Aug 2020
london
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in the lodge for 5 nights. First impressions were of disappointment as the overwhelming stench of sewage and damp greeted us. We had 2 rooms, one upstairs which was a family room and one downstairs which was a prison cell! (Room 2)
The cell had no view as the windows were opaque and couldn’t really be opened. The room was very hot and uncomfortable. The noise that came from the bathroom was intrusive and kept us awake on our first night. It’s caused by the chemical style toilet. We did get used to it eventually.
The family room was quite pleasant in comparison to ours.
On the positive side, the rooms were kept clean. The staff in the main hotel were lovely and very hardworking. The meals that we ate there were delicious and filling. Beds were comfy. Very good location for beach and shops.
I would stay again but not in the lodge.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dave H wrote a review Oct 2020
Gosport, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The room was on the first floor but a number of stairs to climb up and down to get to ours. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean if a little hot as all the radiators were on full. Staff in the restaurant were amazing despite the announcement that all non essential services will have to close again in a few days. The food in the restaurant was fantastic and was very reasonably priced. Would certainly visit the restaurant again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rachel H wrote a review May 2023
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This is an extremely disappointing place. Do not book. Tiny, noisy, superheated room, no towels, door didn’t lock reliably, and all but one of the staff exuded unhelpfulness. Really sorry but I expected better from a best western
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SmartDamo wrote a review Jan 2024
Costessey, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Absolutely shocking accommodation, I had to change key by walking over to hotel three times to get it to work! The room had mould round windows and some vents that made one side of the room really uncomfortable. The bed was awful too. We got one cup despite being two guests! I would not stay here again! We were attending a birthday party at the hotel opposite of the same owners!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Hatfield Hotel Management Team, General Manager at Hatfield Lodge
Responded 10 Jan 2024
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent visit to The Hatfield Hotel, Please accept our apologies that this visit didn't meet your expectations. As stated to the birthday girl, family and friends attending the party were offered complimentary upgrades and special rates on their rooms if booked directly, as you booked through a third party agent the room choice was out of our control. Had we of been made aware of the issues of the rooms when you were present at the hotel we would of been able to rectify the issues you faced. It is unfortunate we weren't offered the chance to redeem ourselves in person and offer you compensation. Rest assured we will be taking the appropriate measures to address the problems and prevent future occurrences
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kernow Kruiser wrote a review Jul 2020
Plymouth, United Kingdom
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Don’t usually ever leave bad reviews, but if your thinking of staying you need to know what your paying for. If a place is run down but still clean, then I tend not to review. But in this case it was both. Our rooms were so we could COVID isolate before testing to go to work. Well these rooms were never cleaned at all. Dust and dirt everywhere. Grotty is the word. So pleased I didn’t have to pay for this.
Plus the decor is in need of modernisation. Shame as the main location on the sea front and the bar and restaurant is lovely. But if you can get it cheap enough then maybe you maybe happy enough.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SmartDamo asked a question Nov 2023
Costessey, United Kingdom5,842 contributions995 helpful votes
Is this little dog friendly
SmartDamo wrote a tip Jan 2024
Costessey, United Kingdom5,842 contributions995 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay somewhere else"
Read full review
Paul H wrote a tip Nov 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Need someone sitting in the lodge at all times to manage any noise "
Read full review
Paula wrote a tip Feb 2023
Norfolk, United Kingdom10 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is 1st come 1st served , Take your own pillows"
Read full review
lindsay wrote a tip Aug 2021
London, United Kingdom6 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Car park is limited. If out late you may struggle to get a space."
Read full review
AlanHathaway wrote a tip Mar 2020
Stradbroke, United Kingdom175 contributions48 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book in the main hotel!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lowestoft area.
PRICE RANGE
£51 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaSuffolkLowestoft
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HATFIELD LODGE - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Hatfield Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Hatfield Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Mincarlo -Floating Maritime Museum (0.3 miles), Hollywood Cinema (0.2 miles), and Iconic Style Bar (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hatfield Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and baggage storage.
Is parking available at Hatfield Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hatfield Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fortune Cookie, Spring Tide, and The Harbour.
Are there any historical sites close to Hatfield Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Somerleyton Hall Gardens (4.9 miles) and A Lowestoft Man (1.1 miles).
All Lowestoft HotelsLowestoft Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LowestoftHotels near Hatfield Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire