We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Best Western The Hotel Hatfield

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (330)
Room & Suite (77)
Dining (49)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Lowest Price When You Book Direct! CLICK HERE to view
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#7 of 11 hotels in Lowestoft
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Best Western The Hatfield Hotel is located in the seaside town of Lowestoft, on the coast of Suffolk. Positioned just a stones throw away from the golden sands of Lowestoft Beach, the Hatfield Hotel retains a truly magical feeling for anyone who loves the sounds of the sea. Lovingly restored and refurbished, the hotel fuses both contemporary and traditional design, making it a popular destination for both locals and visitors.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Beach
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Lowest Price When You Book Direct! CLICK HERE to view
1,077Review1Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 420
  • 282
  • 164
  • 103
  • 108
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Dreamer715311 wrote a review 10 Apr
102 contributions31 helpful votes
Had brunch of poached eggs and avocado crush on artesian bread in Library - delicious- but there wasn’t a dining table in there only small low tables. Logan managed to get me a proper dining table which I was extremely grateful for. The tv fire 🔥 makes it very cosy and the staff are very friendly and efficient. Five star treatment for food and staff.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Susan B wrote a review Feb 2024
Attleborough, United Kingdom27 contributions20 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
For a 3 star hotel this did not disappoint. We stayed for just the one night on a b&b basis. We were off to the Marina Theatre. The service was impeccable. Friendly welcoming. On check in and all the way through. At the bar late at night to breakfast food and waitress the next morning. Clean and warm room. really hot water for the shower, tea and coffee making facilities. I know it’s dated, it’s been in Lowestoft for many years and you don’t expect luxury for the price, yes I know I am a local. But if you want a night away or longer you couldn’t go far wrong. Breakfast was absolutely delicious, those eggs and that porridge. All cooked and home made at the time of ordering. Impressed so much so I am thinking of calling there for lunch. Great location, virtually on the beach and only a short walk to the town. Only thing is the bed was a bit hard and uncomfortable for me but they said they would look into it. Would I stay there again, the answer is yes. Thank you all for a very pleasant stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t have room 112, bed uncomfortable.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Curls38 wrote a review Mar 2024
2 contributions
+1
This place is an absolute gem ! The bar staff Millie and kaylan were so helpful and the cocktails were amazing and was lovely to be served by them . The room was adequate enough for both of us and the sea view was amazing . The food/ restaurant was 10/10 as did not fault in taste and value . The cake and coffee bar was amazing all homemade cakes by Jenny ! Amazing taste . As well as the service from them . We will definitely be booking again . Great place to stay and very welcoming.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The double bed could be bigger .
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
FarAway56883557569 wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
Not a good experience from start to finish. Bed had springs sticking through mattress, noticed around 10pm when actually getting into bed after a full on day. No sleep apart from the first couple of hours as so tired. Shower head just lay on the soap dish as holder too big to attach to. Awkward!! Complained early the next morning but receptionist suggested I should have done this at the time and they would have moved me. Well I'd have moved myself as they would have given me another room. Don't think so, not in my pjs!! Cant have porridge and a cooked breakfast as porridge is a hot meal and i would have to pay for cooked full english! Also, on our first night we asked for a cheese board. They hadn't got enough cheese in the hotel to do this. Unbelievable! Next day was offered an upgrade to sea view room which had scaffolding infront of the window, (I understand they have to upkeep) No compensation offered for the sleepless night I had ,so asked to see manager. He arrived.... no smile,no greeting, already on the attack. Offered 30% off my bill, which was better than nothing but still not impressed. I could go on with countless niggles but wont be staying here ever again
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Malcolm A wrote a review Mar 2024
Lowestoft, United Kingdom26 contributions11 helpful votes
Carvery was as usual first class, food was hot, excellent quality, all staff very friendly and helpful especially the chefs and Becca, Nat and Ella. Went again yesterday 21/03/24 for breakfast, which was excellent, and staff saw to our every need which being aged and infirm my wife and I much appreciated.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Mel M wrote a review Mar 2024
Lowestoft, United Kingdom18 contributions16 helpful votes
We went to a mother's day meal 6 adults 2 children, firstly warmly welcomed and shown to the table loads of room nice decor as well. we all opted for the carvery at £13.45 each and cheaper for the children, well what a very pleasant surprise, Loads of options for meats and vegetarian and tge veggies and yorkies were absolutely lovely. We as a whole family really enjoyed everything, I would say the best Carvery we've had in a long long time and the chef, really informative and very funny. Thankyou for a great afternoon!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: They have thier own car park opposite, just remember to log your registration number in reception.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Duncflint17 wrote a review Feb 2024
Cottesmore, United Kingdom237 contributions97 helpful votes
A very impressive job done by the team. The bar and restaurant is well appointed, the food and drinks were very reasonable and of good quality. The staff were genuine and professional. Either the training they have had is excellent or they appoint really nice people or maybe both! It's s in a great spot in the nicer part of town, literally a 10 step walk to the beach. We will definitely be back in the summer.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Remember to register your car at reception. Go to Stanford Arms for a drink if you like German...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
worlly2003 wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
There was no hot water to wash before going out for the evening. When we mentioned it at reception we were just told it was because the hotel was full and not offered any compensation. The dining area was very dusty and looked unclean. The hotel seemed to have a general aroma of cooked cabbage.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Annmarie wrote a review Jan 2024
Watford, United Kingdom9 contributions2 helpful votes
Bad stay here from set go. Bed bad broken and wouldn't change us to new room . Bad flooring outdated hotel. Wouldn't allow to change my item on breakfast even when I'm allergic to mushrooms which I even told them when I booked in. Rude staff and just not good stay at all
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
SmartDamo wrote a review Jan 2024
Costessey, United Kingdom4592 contributions1058 helpful votes
+1
Stayed in the lodge which was awful. Attended a birthday party in the basement bar function room which was awfully staffed, 40 minute wait for drinks which left people going upstairs to buy drinks to bring down. Had a breakfast here in the morning which was ok, although we got white cheap bread instead of what was on menu.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Look for somewhere else
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from The Hatfield Hotel Management Team, General Manager at Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
Responded 10 Jan 2024
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent visit to The Hatfield Hotel, Please accept our apologies that this visit didn't meet your expectations. As stated to the birthday girl, family and friends attending the party were offered complimentary upgrades and special rates on their rooms if booked directly, as you booked through a third party agent the room choice was out of our control. Had we of been made aware of the issues of the rooms when you were present at the hotel we would of been able to rectify the issues you faced. It is unfortunate we weren't offered the chance to redeem ourselves in person and offer you compensation. Rest assured we will be taking the appropriate measures to address the problems and prevent future occurrences
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lowestoft area.
PRICE RANGE
£59 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hatfield hotel lowestoft
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaSuffolkLowestoft
NUMBER OF ROOMS
33
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BEST WESTERN THE HOTEL HATFIELD - Updated 2024 (Lowestoft)

Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western The Hotel Hatfield?
Nearby attractions include Mincarlo -Floating Maritime Museum (0.3 miles), Hollywood Cinema (0.2 miles), and Iconic Style Bar (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western The Hotel Hatfield?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western The Hotel Hatfield?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western The Hotel Hatfield?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western The Hotel Hatfield?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fortune Cookie, Spring Tide, and The Harbour.
Does Best Western The Hotel Hatfield offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Best Western The Hotel Hatfield?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Somerleyton Hall Gardens (5.0 miles) and A Lowestoft Man (1.1 miles).
Does Best Western The Hotel Hatfield have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Best Western The Hotel Hatfield accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.