We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Quorn Country House Hotel

66 Leicester Road Charnwood House, Loughborough LE12 8BB England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (326)
Dining (60)
Room & Suite (49)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#9 of 12 hotels in Loughborough
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
This award wining hotel, originally known as Charnwood House, dates back to the time of the Doomsday book. The hotel is created around the original 17th century listed building. The outstanding cuisine, the delightful surroundings and the tranquility of the gardens leading down to the River Soar are appreciated by many of the guests who return time and again for either business or pleasure.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Meeting rooms
Show more
Room features
Desk
Room service
Telephone
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
1082Reviews6Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 353
  • 217
  • 178
  • 162
  • 173
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
mrslicious wrote a review Yesterday
lancashire england26 contributions28 helpful votes
We booked this hotel as we were going to a family wedding locally .We were very apprehensive going to this hotel after seeing the most recent reviews however we were pleasantly surprised . Although the hotel is old and dated , it was clean and the bedding was fresh . The bathrooms again are dated but not dirty . The staff all went out of their way to be helpful
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Michael M wrote a review 8 Feb
London, United Kingdom108 contributions11 helpful votes
+1
Very shabby experience. On the positive first, the staff were very friendly and as helpful as they could be with the limitations of the hotel. Our room which was an executive room was far from luxurious as described. It was dirty with unclean floors, including dead bugs and bluebottle. There were cobwebs by the curtains and other areas, the furniture was tired and in need of repair. The mattress was lumpy and the base was stained. The bathroom was disgusting, with black mould around the grout and bath sealant, around the edges. The shower curtain was dirty and stained, hanging on a disgusting rusty shower rail. The so called luxurious bath soaps/shampoos were just cheap and basic. While the staff tried to find us a better room, they all suffered with the same issues. Do not be deceived by the inaccurate description of this place, provided by the owners. The food wasn’t too bad, surprisingly, though the dining area was a little basic and not very inviting, like it was almost an afterthought. Despite owners previous comments with other guests, to address these issues, clearly his has not been done. So far, my wife’s emails to the management have been ignored. We will certainly never return which is a shame as the hotel could be so much better.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Amanda P wrote a review Jan 2024
4 contributions
We attended a murder mystery evening at the hotel which included an overnight stay. Yes the rooms are a little tired but they are warm and comfortable. There were tea and coffee making facilities (and delicious biscuits), clean towels and plenty of toiletries. The murder mystery evening was great fun and the 3 course dinner was delicious. We had a great night’s sleep (the beds were really comfortable) and the breakfast was lovely - plenty of cereals, fruits, pastries, yoghurt etc and the cooked breakfast was perfect (lovely bacon and sausages). The staff were all kind, friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Rick W wrote a review Jan 2024
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom2120 contributions706 helpful votes
There aren't many hotels in Quorn, but this one was ideally located close to the Great Central Railway where I was taking photographs early in the morning. On a cold January night when I arrived, much of the car park was flooded but the welcome was genuine and warm. My room was spacious with a separate bathroom (with a bath) a table for working, a wardrobe and very comfortable double bed. Also good wi-fi, a good flat screen TV and tea and coffee facilities. I did not use the restaurant at all but the dining room looked pleasant. I would happily come again! I paid £46.75 bed only - very reasonable.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Charles 1st wrote a review Jan 2024
Loughborough, United Kingdom99 contributions203 helpful votes
Walked in for a drink on a Friday Evening to be told it was residents only. Argued with the guy behind the Bar who looked like he was a guest the way he was dressed. Still being refused we asked if we could book a table for dinner in the future. His response was"dont eat here you would be better off going in to the village" Load of rubbish and forget it
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Oz O wrote a review Jan 2024
Warrington, United Kingdom15 contributions20 helpful votes
+1
On arrival, I was booking it at reception. There had clearly been a children's birthday party in the room behind reception, which is great to see it being used for. Members of staff were now stamping on balloons trying to pop them as they cleared up. However, the bangs echoed around reception, then there was a loud shout of "oh, f**k off" that came from the room. Maria on reception heard this and apologised. It would have been more professional to have closed the adjoining room door whilst banging was going on, and obviously for a member of staff not to have sworn at the top of their voice. On entering the bedroom, there were marks on the desk surfaces that looked like grease and liquid but I initially put it down to marks in the polish, rather than the desk not being cleaned. However, I then saw clearer marks on the drinks cabinet surface and it was clear these surfaces were dirty and had not been cleaned down at all. My stay got worse when I returned from being out for dinner with friends and went to my room to go to sleep about 9:45pm. On pulling back the duvet I was shocked and sickened to see a pen, grass and body fluids from the previous occupant. From the location of the stains it is clear to see what body fluids had stained the sheets! How is it acceptable to hire a room out that has not been cleaned and the basics of fresh sheets. Looking further there were also what looked like further semen stains on the bed throw. I went to reception to request a room change. Once again, Maria apologised and found me a new room that she checked herself first to make sure it was clean. With a 3 hour Sunday training session starting at 9:30am I went down to breakfast for it's 8am start, having been briefed on the timings when checking in. It soon became apparent that breakfast was not ready and was still to be set up. I sat down to wait. After a while members of staff in grey hoodies and black puffa coats began bringing out glasses, water etc. Eventually the female in the puffa coat brought menu's in and began putting them on each table, leaving mine till last. As I was the only person in the room, I would have thought my table should have been addressed first. Having decided on what to order I sat and waited, but no member of staff returned. Time was running out for me, so I decided to leave and drove to the Co-Op to purchase my own coffee, smoothie and limited breakfast. On checking out the new receptionist asked about my stay, so I informed her of my thoughts, that it was unacceptable and of my disappointment. She made a list that she said she would pass onto the General Manager. From my perspective a hotel has three basic customer requirements: 1). A warm inviting and professional welcome. 2). A clean, sanitised and welcoming bedroom with amenities fit for purpose. 3). The ability to feed guests for the day ahead. Unfortunately, my stay at The Quorn Country Hotel failed on all three of these basic requirements. 1). Swearing by staff shouting from an adjoining room to the reception ar check in. 2). A room that had clearly not been cleaned. This is a basic and having spent 8 years working for the hygiene company compulsory requirement with the likes of Norovirus, Influenza and MRSA rampant between November and April. 3). Food simply wasn't available at the advertised and required time, so I had no option but to leave and find an other alternative. In all honesty, having seen the cleanliness of the rooms, and front of house staff walking round leisurewear whilst customer facing I would not have been confident eating on the premises. In addition to the notes made by reception when I left, I have since written an email of complaint to the General Manager and given 5 days which I feel is sufficient to at least acknowledge my email, or address the points I raised. To date I have not received any acknowledgement or answers from the hotel or General Manager, this is extremely disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Bloomsbury60 wrote a review Dec 2023
London, United Kingdom31 contributions18 helpful votes
Over the years my partner and I have stayed in many hotels. This is the second worst. We were on the ground floor. The corridor to the room was filthy and looked as if it hadn’t been hoovered for some time. The carpet in the room also looked filthy. The furniture was stained. The walls were in need of painting. Marks all over the walls and woodwork. The bed linen was surprisingly clean and fresh. No bottles of water and no telephone to reception. A number of the plugs didn’t work. The whole place remained me of the film “The Shining” Huge empty public rooms with no staff to be seen. When we did find someone to serve us in the bar, we were told we couldn’t charge anything to our room but had to pay by card or cash. We made the huge mistake of having dinner in the restaurant. The food was disgraceful. My partner’s food….some sort of three bean curry was either boil in the bag or straight from the microwave. My carrot something was like a very bad Greggs pastie drowning in a gluttonous sea of gravy. The crowning moment came when I saw a cigarette butt in the middle of the floor. When I pointed it out I was told “Oh yes, we had a function a couple of days ago that was a bit rowdy.” It was still there the following morning. Breakfast was just as bad. The staff were on the whole pleasant enough…all four of them. They gave the impression of coming from the local Youth Club. Who ever owns this place is either running it down deliberately or is totally incompetent. I’m not sure even “The Hotel Inspector” could save this place.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t stay here
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Shaun Rollinson, General Manager at Quorn Country House Hotel
Responded 8 Jan 2024
Thank you for your review. I have taken your comments on board and will certainly be looking into this with the team. We will certainly endeavor to improve on the areas that you have highlighted. I apologise for any inconvenience caused. Kind Regards Shaun Rollinson Cluster General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Zoe V wrote a review Dec 2023
London, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
Me and my partner stayed here for a wedding nearby, we chose the hotel as it was close to the wedding venue. I wish we hadn’t! Worst hotel experience I have ever had! Hotel is disgusting and run by a load of kids. The night we were staying there was a huge party downstairs which carried on until 2 am with pounding music into our room… I went downstairs to complain or try & move rooms so we could sleep … and there were a load of kids at the reception desk, drinking beer and clearly did not care. Horrific customer service. Do not stay at this hotel! I am shocked this place is still in business!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Shaun Rollinson, General Manager at Quorn Country House Hotel
Responded 8 Jan 2024
Thank you for your review. I have taken your comments on board and will certainly be looking into this with the team. We will certainly endeavor to improve on the areas that you have highlighted. I apologise for any inconvenience caused. There was a party on this particular night, and you spoke with my staff as well as the Duty Manager, who informed me about the horrific behaviour and language used by your self, which is not acceptable in any shape or form. The kids drinking beer at the hotel desk were actually customers of the party concerned, and the party did shut down at midnight, not 2am as stated. Kind Regards Shaun Rollinson Cluster General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Traveler504882 wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
Simply shocking. I felt like an extra in Fawltey Towers. The food was unbelievably bad, the only saving grace were the tiny portions both at dinner and breakfast. My room was grubby too I'm not one to complain usually!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Quorn Country House Hotel
Responded 8 Dec 2023
Thank you for your review. I have taken your comments on board and will certainly be looking into this with the team. We will certainly endeavor to improve on the areas that you have highlighted. I apologise for any inconvenience caused. Kind Regards Shaun Rollinson Cluster General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Steve S wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Arrived with group booking Thursday evening. Rooms not allocated correctly. One set of towels for twin room. Two out of three draught beers off at bar. Group were asked to place order for evening meal so kitchen could close to be then told 2 of main menu items (sirloin and rump steak run out-one other table was eating in hotel). Advised by staff would get better food and drink in the local pubs/Indians anyway. Breakfast supposed to be served from 8 after an alternating hot and lukewarm shower. Front of house in breakfast room ignored guests at table until we went to order from them. Hot water urn and coffee machine not switched on at 8AM. Hot breakfast ordered. 40 minutes before food came out, incomplete orders and all group served lukewarm food on cold plates with debatably raw sausage and eggs. Served table orders out of sequence despite only maybe 15 people at breakfast. No apologies from staff. Good job we weren't in a rush!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Avoid the hotel. Cracking Indian down the street!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Quorn Country House Hotel
Responded 8 Dec 2023
Thank you for your review. I have taken your comments on board and will certainly be looking into this with the team. We will certainly endeavor to improve on the areas that you have highlighted. I apologise for any inconvenience caused. Kind Regards Shaun Rollinson Cluster General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Loughborough area.
PRICE RANGE
£51 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
quorn country loughborough
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLeicestershireLoughborough
NUMBER OF ROOMS
36
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

QUORN COUNTRY HOUSE HOTEL - Updated 2024 (Loughborough)

Frequently Asked Questions about Quorn Country House Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Quorn Country House Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Quorn & Woodhouse Railway Station (0.7 miles), Scotts Wine Bar (0.2 miles), and St Bartholemew's United Church (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Quorn Country House Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Quorn Country House Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Quorn Country House Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Quorn Country House Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Monk, Ferrari's Restaurant, and The White Horse.
Does Quorn Country House Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Quorn Country House Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Loughborough Carillon (2.7 miles) and The Old Rectory Museum (2.8 miles).
Is Quorn Country House Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.