We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Dog Over Peover

Wellbank Lane Over Peover, Knutsford WA16 8UP England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (105)
Dining (27)
Room & Suite (12)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 2 inns in Knutsford
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
If you need a place to stay in the Over Peover, Knutsford area then we have some of the best, bespoke rooms in Cheshire! Situated between the towns of Knutsford, Alderley Edge and Wilmslow, The Dog is an idyllic and unique place to stay. A stay designed with pleasure in mind… For those seeking a relaxing break, a chance to recharge your batteries and dine on delicious food, then The Dog Pub is for you. We're not far from Tatton Park, the Peak District and there are some fantastic walks straight from the pub. Our delicious menu is perfect for dinner and a hearty breakfast before you head out for the day. …or a comfortable business stay If you're fed up with 'run-of-the-mill' hotel rooms, then try The Dog. We have affordable rates, free Wifi, plenty of parking and everything you need for a business night away. We're located close to the motorway and train network too. Whatever your reason for staying, we can offer you a comfortable and relaxing stay in a beautiful environment.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Show more
Room features
Desk
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Quaint
553Reviews2Q+A53Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 353
  • 98
  • 47
  • 34
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
cheshiretraveller57 wrote a review 13 Feb
Knutsford, United Kingdom202 contributions67 helpful votes
We went with a group of 14 friends in total to a celebratory evening meal. The service from beginning to end was impeccable. Chef John came out to explain the provenance of the food and to assist our meal choices which was so helpful and informative. I had the steak and ale pie (amongst other things !) which was delicious. Fellow diners were equally delighted with their choices. I thoroughly recommend this pub. We will return.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Dog Peover, Marketing at The Dog Over Peover
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review! We're very glad to hear your great feedback and glad Jon was able to assist in your meal choices! We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
EastCheshireReviewer wrote a review 11 Feb
Knutsford8 contributions7 helpful votes
Good traditional range of Pub food with lots of choice. One of the best lunches we have enjoyed in years. The food was excellent and presented professionally. The staff team were very attentive and amiable. We will definitely return to The Dog at Over Peover.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Dog Peover, Marketing at The Dog Over Peover
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review! We're very glad to hear your great feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Digby98 wrote a review 3 Feb
Warrington, United Kingdom539 contributions303 helpful votes
Chose to eat here for my birthday lunch as it had decent reviews and a nice menu. Booked in advance as was busy when we arrived. Service was lovely - friendly, warm and felt genuine. Food was good quality and nicely presented with a good choice of traditional pub food options – ham, egg and chips, fish and chips and so on. Enjoyable lunch.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Dog Peover, Marketing at The Dog Over Peover
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review! We're very glad to hear your great feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Janet C wrote a review Jan 2024
3 contributions
Very friendly staff but food disappointing - very little flavour. Ridiculously large Yorkshire puddings served which swamped the plates and spoiled what could have been an attractively served meal. Very nicely decorated dining rooms and all very clean. I wouldn’t recommend Sunday lunch as it is so busy and noisy. Staff remain helpful and friendly throughout however.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Avoid Sunday lunch
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Dog Peover, Marketing at The Dog Over Peover
Responded 16 Jan 2024
Hello - Thank you for your review. I'm really sorry to hear your feedback regarding the food and I will make sure this is passed onto the head chef. I'm glad the staff however were helpful and friendly on your visit. We hope to see you back at The Dog in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Janey M wrote a review Dec 2023
Stockport, United Kingdom3 contributions
We called in to The Dog for lunch. It felt so homely with such a lovely vibe. The pub was really busy but Charlie managed to fit us in, and he was so charming and lovely! Charlie and the young ladies serving were outstanding and couldn’t do enough for us! Amazing food. Loved it!!! Thank you!!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Dog Peover, Marketing at The Dog Over Peover
Responded 3 Jan 2024
Thank you for your review! We're very glad to hear your great feedback and that Charlie & the team were able to find you a table and make the visit a positive one! We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
keith b wrote a review Dec 2023
Manchester, United Kingdom33 contributions22 helpful votes
Just got back from having are xmas lunch at the Dog.Party of 16 and the service and food was outstanding.They had a good selection of drinks at the bar.Everyone in the party was very happy with the service and food will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Dog Peover, Marketing at The Dog Over Peover
Responded 14 Dec 2023
Thank you for your review! We're very glad to hear your great feedback and that you enjoyed your xmas lunch! We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Helen B wrote a review Dec 2023
Tarporley, United Kingdom11 contributions6 helpful votes
Very busy as usual , however they always manage to fit us in, lovely welcome, place was really busy. I had the nut roast and my husband had the roast pork. Both very tasty and really filling. We were both very full , but had to fit the festive crumble in, glad we did. This was our 3rd visit and we will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Dog Peover, Marketing at The Dog Over Peover
Responded 7 Dec 2023
Thank you for your review! We're very glad to hear your great feedback and that you enjoyed our festive crumble! We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Silas wrote a review Nov 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Lovely cosy pub with open fires as it was winter. It was the perfect location for us as we had a wedding at Merrydale Manor and it’s only five minute drive away. We had great food for both dinner and breakfast. I’d recommend if you’re staying the night you would need to book for dinner as the pub gets very busy, especially if it’s at the weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There is a large car park at the rear of the pub.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Dog Peover, Marketing at The Dog Over Peover
Responded 30 Nov 2023
Thank you for your review! We're very glad to hear your great feedback. We hope you also had a great event at Merrydale Manor!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
sharon c wrote a review Nov 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
What a lovely place to eat and stay. We had a wonderfully cooked dinner, stayed a night in a very clean and quite room, had a beautiful breakfast, all staff were friendly and helpful, especially the best local history story telling Dawn, so happy to have found it. Strongly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Dog Peover, Marketing at The Dog Over Peover
Responded 28 Nov 2023
Thank you for your review! We're very glad to hear your great feedback, we will especially pass on the feedback to Dawn! We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Denise wrote a review Oct 2023
9 contributions6 helpful votes
Very comfortable and clean room. Well stocked bathroom. Tea /coffee availability in room.Beautiful decor throughout. Breakfast fresh, hot and plentiful. Staff friendly and very helpful. Will definitely visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Dog Peover, Marketing at The Dog Over Peover
Responded 24 Oct 2023
Thank you for your review! We're very glad to hear your great feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Knutsford area.
PRICE RANGE
£88 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the dog hotel knutsford
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCheshireKnutsford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE DOG OVER PEOVER - Updated 2024 Reviews (Knutsford)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Dog Over Peover
Which popular attractions are close to The Dog Over Peover?
Nearby attractions include White Peak Alpaca Farm (4.2 miles), Pulse of Perfumery (4.1 miles), and Dexter & Jones (4.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Dog Over Peover?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Dog Over Peover?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a walk-in shower.
What food & drink options are available at The Dog Over Peover?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Dog Over Peover?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Dog Over Peover?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tatton Perk, De Trafford Arms, and Bengal Tiger Lily.
Are there any historical sites close to The Dog Over Peover?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tabley House (5.0 miles), Capesthorne Hall (3.0 miles), and Nether Alderley Mill (3.5 miles).